InfoTrac and ProQuest DatabasesHot Topics/Other Electronic Resources/Literature VideosHistorical NewspapersProQuest US NewspapersNewspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesLiterature LinksAmerican Literature and Drama/Plays/Rhetoric LinksEnglish/World Literature; Gothic Literature; Literary Criticism/Theory; and ShakepeareMedieval/Renaissance Literature and PoetryKhan Academy - GrammarInternational Resources
Terms & ConceptsAmerican PoetsAmerican NovelistsAmerican PlaywrightsCredo Reference eBooks
Pre-17th Century17th and 18th Century19th Century20th Century I20th Century IICredo Reference eBooks
GrammarFigures of SpeechAcademic IntegrityBooks
Credo Reference: Classics - Greek and Other LiteratureCredo Reference: Classics - Latin LiteratureCredo Reference: Feminist Literature
Literature BooksAmerican Literature BooksAfrican-American and British Literature BooksChristian and Women Literature BooksWorld and Writers Literature Booksebrary Academic eBooks and eBooks on EBSCOhostMore eBooks
This is the "Literature Books" page of the "Literature and English Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Literature and English Research  

Last Updated: Aug 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/literature Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Literature Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Literature Books

Cover Art
120 Banned Books : censorship histories and world literature - Nicholas J. Karolides; Margaret Bald; Dawn B. Sova
Call Number: Z 658 .U5 K35 2005
ISBN: 0816060436
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
Tracing the censorship histories of 120 works from around the world, this title provides a summary of each work, its censorship history, and suggestions for further reading. Updates to existing entries cover new controversies regarding such classic books as 'Huckleberry Finn' and 'The Canterbury Tales'.

Cover Art
A Concise Dictionary of Phrase and Fable - Elizabeth Knowles (Editor)
Call Number: PN 43 .C63 2003
ISBN: 0192801252
Publication Date: 2003-05-15
This new reference work draws on Oxford's unrivaled bank of online language resources to provide a wealth of fascinating and informative background detail for over 10,000 phrases and allusions used in English today. Among this plenitude are entries on African Eve, Blair Babes, Custer's Last Stand, friend of Dorothy, ground zero, Oradour, Red Queen hypothesis, shoot the messenger, and Trojan horse.

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols - Michael Ferber
Call Number: PN 56 .S9 F47 1999
ISBN: 0521591287
Publication Date: 1999-11-04
This is the first dictionary of symbols to be based on literature, rather than 'universal' psychological archetypes, myths, or esoterica. Michael Ferber has assembled nearly two hundred entries clearly explaining and illustrating the literary symbols that we all encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold), along with hundreds of cross-references and quotations. The Dictionary concentrates on English literature, but its entries range widely from the Bible and classical authors to the twentieth century, taking in American and European literatures. Its informed style and rich references will make this book an essential tool not only for literary and classical scholars, but for all students of literature.

Cover Art
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations: a collection of passages, phrases, and proverbs traced to their sources in ancient and modern literature - John Bartlett; Justin Kaplan
Call Number: PN 6081 .B27 1992
ISBN: 0316082775
Publication Date: 1992-11-04
This 16th edition of the book, first published in 1855, has been expanded to include more than 20,000 quotations and more than 340 new authors both historical and contemporary - from Russell Baker, The Doors, Elvis, Nadine Gordimer, Stephen Hawking, Primo Levi, Norman Mailer, Salman Rushdie, the Talmud, Alice Walker and Elie Wiesel. This edition has been revised and edited by Pulitzer Prize-winning biographer Justin Kaplan.

Cover Art
Contemporary authors; a bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television and other fields. - Gale Research Co.
Call Number: REF Z 1224 .C6 v. 1 - v. 218

Cover Art
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters - Frank N. Magill (Editor); A. J. Sobczak (Editor); Janet Alice Long (Editorial Coordinator); Salem Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: PN 44 .M3 1998 v. 1 - v. 5
ISBN: 0893564389
Publication Date: 1998-02-01
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters provides critical descriptions of more than 20,000 characters that appear in 3,311 works of world literature, offering readers the opportunity to become familiar with both famous and less well-known personalities from the classics, popular fiction and plays.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Literary Terms - Chris Baldick
Call Number: PN 41 .C67 2004
ISBN: 0198608837
Publication Date: 2004-06-03
Containing over 1,000 of the most troublesome literary terms encountered by students and general readers, this gem of a book gives clear and often witty explanations to terms such as hypertext, multi-accentuality, and postmodernism. The dictionary also provides extensive coverage of traditional drama, rhetoric, literary history, and textual criticism. It offers pronunciation guides and suggestions for further reading for many entries, and includes a new preface and terms that have become prominent in literature in the last few years, such as cyberpunk and antanaclasis. This second edition is the most up-to-date and accessible dictionary of literary terms available, popular with both students and teachers of literature at all levels.

Cover Art
Early Periodical Indexes : bibliographies and indexes of literature published in periodicals before 1900 - Robert Balay
Call Number: Z 6941 .B35 2000
ISBN: 0810838680
Publication Date: 2000-12-20
This is a comprehensive guide to the indexing of periodical literature from the 16th century until the end of the 19th century. It lists and describes titles in a wide range of disciplines and includes indexes published prior to 1900 that are restricted to periodicals.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Allegorical Literature - David A. Leeming; Kathleen Morgan Drowne
Call Number: PN 56 .A5 L44 1996
ISBN: 0874367816
Publication Date: 1996-09-01
Entries cover the Western allegorical tradition, as well as selected Indian, Middle Eastern, South American, and African works.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature - Robert Thomas Lambdin; Laura C. Lambdin
Call Number: REF PN 669 .E53 2000
ISBN: 0313300542
Publication Date: 2000-07-30
Often misleadingly called the Dark Ages, the period between the fall of Rome and the Renaissance was a time of great creativity. The Middle Ages gave rise to some of the world's most enduring and influential literary works, including Dante's "Commedia," Chaucer's "The Canterbury Tales," and a large body of Arthurian lore and legend. This reference is a comprehensive guide to literature written between 500 and 1500. While the volume is primarily devoted to the early literature of England, it also includes entries for historical persons and subjects of cultural relevance which would have been discussed in literary works or which might have affected their creation. Multicultural in scope, the book also covers Islamic, Hispanic, Celtic, Mongolian, Germanic, Italian, and Russian literature and culture of the Middle Ages. Longer entries provide thorough coverage of major English authors such as Chaucer and Malory, and of entire genres, such as drama, lyric, ballad, debate, saga, chronicle, and hagiography. Shorter entries examine particular literary works; significant kings, artists, explorers, and religious leaders; important themes, such as courtly love and chivalry; and major historical events, such as the Crusades. The entries are written by scholars and each entry concludes with a brief bibliography. The volume closes with a list of the most valuable general works for further reading.

Cover Art
Fantasy and Horror: a critical and historical guide to literature, illustration, film, TV, radio, and the Internet - Neil Barron
Call Number: Z 6514 .F35 F35 1999
ISBN: 0810835967
Publication Date: 1999-06-17
More than 2,300 works of fiction and poetry are discussed, each cross-referenced to other works with similar or contrasting themes. Winners and nominees for major awards are identified. Books that are part of a series are flagged, with a complete list of books in series included in a final chapter, along with a comprehensive list of awards, of translations, and of young adult and children's books.

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

More Literature Books

Cover Art
Gothic Writers: a critical and bibliographical guide - Douglass H. Thomson (Editor); Jack G. Voller (Editor); Frederick S. Frank (Editor)
Call Number: PN 3435 .G68 2002
ISBN: 0313305005
Publication Date: 2001-11-30
Specialists in literature as well as students will find this work a valuable resource. The historiography of Gothic literature from the 18th century onward is provided in the introduction. The remainder of the volume contains entries for more than 55 writers dating from the 18th century to the prese

Cover Art
Magill's Bibliography of Literary Criticism selected sources for the study of more than 2,500 outstanding works of Western literature - Frank N. Magill (Editor); Stephen L. Hanson (Consultant Editor); Patricia King Hanson (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: PN 523 .M194 v. 1 - V. 4
ISBN: 0893561886
Publication Date: 1979-03-01

Cover Art
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Allusions - Merriam-Webster, Inc. Staff (Editor); Elizabeth Webber; Mike Feinsilber
Call Number: PN 43 .W384 1999
ISBN: 0877796289
Publication Date: 1999-09-01
A guide to references commonly used in speech and writing. Explains more than 900 allusions. Entries include examples from today's leading media. A must for language lovers and great for ESL students.

Cover Art
The Bedford Glossary of Critical and Literary Terms - Ross C. Murfin; Supryia M. Ray
Call Number: PN 44.5 .M86 1997
ISBN: 0312115601
Publication Date: 1997-12-01

Cover Art
The Facts on File Dictionary of Cliches - Christine Ammer
Call Number: PE 1689 .A48 2001
ISBN: 0816043566
Publication Date: 2001-10-01
Whether cliches make you happy as a clam or set your teeth on edge, it goes without saying that our language would be pretty dull without them. With more than 3,500 entries, The Facts On File Dictionary of Cliches is the largest, most comprehensive, and entertaining reference of its kind. This edition contains more than 500 new entries from basket case to where's the beef? Fully indexed and cross-referenced, this is an essential resource for students, writers, and anyone seeking a gift of gab. Book jacket.

Cover Art
The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism - Vincent B. Leitch (General Editor); William E. Cain (Editor); Laurie Finke (Editor); Barbara Johnson (Editor); John McGowan (Editor); Jeffrey J. Williams (Editor)
Call Number: PN 86 .N67 2001
ISBN: 0393974294
Publication Date: 2001-06-19
Edited by scholars and teachers whose interests range from the history of poetics to postmodernism, from classical rhetoric to ériture féminine, and from the social construction of gender to the machinery of academic superstardom, The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism promises to become the standard anthology in its field.

Cover Art
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Quotations - Peter Kemp (Editor)
Call Number: PN 6081 .O89 2003
ISBN: 0198662815
Publication Date: 2004-01-22
This newly expanded edition of the acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of Literary Quotations illuminates the world of the writer, from Shakespeare to Stephen King, from the quill to the PC. Covering all aspects of literary life, this edition is now enriched with new themes and memorable quotations from recent favorites such as Jonathan Franzen, J.K. Rowling, and Donna Tartt. Celebrating over 3,000 years of writing, the dictionary's 4,000 quotations are arranged thematically and chronologically by author within each topic. Full keyword and author indexes ensure that a favorite quotation or author can be located quickly. From "Tools of the Trade" to "Writer's Block", from "Fables and Fairy Tales" to "Earning a Living," The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Quotations brings us the wittiest, most profound, most surprising, and most memorable words of the world's greatest writers on all aspects of their lives and work.

Cover Art
The Vampire Gallery : a who's who of the undead - J. Gordon Melton
Call Number: GR 830 .V3 M46 1998
ISBN: 1578590531
Publication Date: 1998-09-01
The Vampire Gallery consists of more than 300 sketches covering fictional vampire characters of the 19th and 20th centuries. The first essay is an in-depth look at Dracula, describing the character from Bram Stoker's 1897 novel and detailing his major appearances over the last century. The remaining essays are arranged alphabetically and include vampires from literature, film, music, theater, poetry, graphic novels and other areas.

Cover Art
Thematic Guide to Popular Nonfiction - Lynda G. Adamson
Call Number: Z 1037 .A1 A285 2006
ISBN: 0313328552
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
This guide helps students, teachers, and librarians identify popular works of nonfiction related to particular themes. Included are alphabetically arranged entries on 50 themes, such as Animals, Exploration, Genocide, Immigrants, Poverty, and Race Relations. Each entry begins with a definition and discussion of the theme, followed by critical summaries of 3 or 4 works of nonfiction. The entries conclude with lists of additional nonfiction for further reading, and the Guide closes with lists of additional themes and related works.

Cover Art
Twentieth-Century Bibliography and Textual Criticism : an annotated bibliography - William Baker; Kenneth Womack
Call Number: Z 1002 .B28 2000
ISBN: 0313305374
Publication Date: 2000-08-30
This annotated bibliography of bibliographies and criticism has 769 consecutively numbered entries devoted to scholarly monographs and articles published during the 20th century and is geared toward undergraduates, graduates, book collectors, bibliophiles and teachers of bibliography. The six major

Cover Art
Twentieth-century literary criticism. - Gale Research Co.
Call Number: REF PN 771 .G27 v. 1 - v. 145

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip