Medieval/Renaissance Literature and Poetry
- Chaucer MetaPage
Its aims are: to organize and provide navigation aides for Chaucer resources on the WWW.
- Danteworlds (The University of Texas at Austin)
Danteworlds is an integrated multimedia journey--combining artistic images, textual commentary, and audio recordings--through the three realms of the afterlife (Inferno, Purgatory, Paradise) presented in Dante's Divine Comedy. The site is structured around a visual representation of Dante's worlds: it shows who and what appear where.
- Electronic Beowulf: Index and Guide (University of Kentucky)
The Third Edition of Electronic Beowulf is designed to meet the needs of general readers, who require a full, line by line, translation; of students, who want to understand the grammar and the meter and still have time in a semester to study and appreciate other important aspects of the poem…
- The Digital Scriptorium (Berkeley, University of California, Bancroft Library)
The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.
- The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL)
The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL) is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization. Browse by: Author, Title, Genre, and Language.
- The Piers Plowman Electronic Archive
The long-range goal of the Piers Plowman Electronic Archive is the creation of a multi-level, hyper-textually linked electronic archive of the textual tradition of all three versions of the fourteenth-century allegorical dream vision Piers Plowman.
- American Verse Project
The American Verse Project is a collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.
- British Women Romantic Poets, 1789 – 1832 (An electronic collection of texts from the University of California, Davis)
The British Women Romantic Poet's Project is producing an online scholarly archive consisting of E-text editions of poetry by British and Irish women written (not necessarily published) between 1789 (the onset of the French Revolution) and 1832 (the passage of the Reform Act), a period traditionally known in English literary history as the Romantic period.
- Emily Dickinson Archive (EDA)
Emily Dickinson Archive (EDA) provides high-resolution images of manuscripts of Dickinson’s poetry, along with transcriptions and annotations from selected historical and scholarly editions.
- Modern American Poetry (MAPS) [Department of English, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign]
MAPS contains thousands of pages of criticism on 161 modern and contemporary poets, including many original essays and excerpts from previously published works. This criticism can currently be searched by poet through the poet search page, or through the classic list of poets.
- Poetess Archive
This archive constitutes a resource for studying the literary history of popular British and American poetry. Much of it composed during what can be called the “bull market” of poetry's popularity(1), late eighteenth- and nineteenth-century popular poetry was often written in what came to be designated an "effeminate" style, whether written by men or women. Writings in the poetess tradition were disseminated in myriad collections: miscellanies, beauties, literary annuals, gift books. They achieved a place of prominence in virtually every middle-class household. The Poetess Archive Database now contains a bibliography of over 4,000 entries for works by and about writers working in and against the “poetess tradition,” the extraordinarily popular, but much criticized, flowery poetry written in Britain and America between 1750 and 1900.
- Poetry Foundation
The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.
Poets.org currently features biographies of more than 1,000 poets and more than 5,000 poems. Find something to suit every occasion.
- TEXT ETC.
Text Etc deals with the craft and theory of poetry: composition, analysis and improvement of literary work, including translation and the creation of good copies of well-known poems.
- The Poetry Archive
The Poetry Archive exists to help make poetry accessible, relevant and enjoyable to a wide audience.