American Literature and Drama/Plays/Rhetoric Links
- American Authors on the Web
American authors websites links.
- American Literature Sites (Washington State University)
Contain organized links. Also, contains organized links to: Authors, Timeline, and Literary Movements.
- Library of Southern Literature (University Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
Documenting the American South (DocSouth), a digital publishing initiative sponsored by the University Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture. It supplies teachers, students, and researchers at every educational level with a wide array of titles they can use for reference, studying, teaching, and research.
- Mark Twain Project Online
Mark Twain Project Online applies innovative technology to more than four decades' worth of archival research by expert editors at the Mark Twain Project. It offers unfettered, intuitive access to reliable texts, accurate and exhaustive notes, and the most recently discovered letters and documents.
- PAL Perspectives in American Literature: An Ongoing research and reference guide (Paul P. Reuben)
This searchable site provides outlines and bibliographies of hundreds of authors, themes, and literary movements in the U.S. from colonial days to the present.
- The Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA)
The Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA) is a collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820. Open to the public for research and teaching purposes, EADA is published and supported by the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH) under the general editorship of Professor Ralph Bauer, at the University of Maryland at College Park.
- William Faulkner on the Web
Information in William Faulkner on the Web is divided into seven main sections: The Library, Sole Owner & Proprietor, The Town, The MovingPicture House, The Playroom, The Carriage House, and Resources.
- American Rhetoric
Contains: Online Speech Bank (Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two), Top 100 Speeches, Rhetorical Literacy, Movie Speeches, Christian Rhetoric, etc.
- EServer Drama and Theatre website
This site contains a collection of original plays and screenplays, criticism and links to other sites concerned with theatre. It publishes both classic and contemporary works, and would be delighted to consider your work if you'd care to submit it to our editors for review.
- Guide to Performing Arts Resources: Performing Arts Encyclopedia - Performing arts collections, resources, and exhibitions at the Library of Congress
Browse by: Subject, Name, or Title.
- The New Deal Stage: Selections from the Federal Theatre Project 1935-1939 (Library of Congress)
This online presentation includes over 13,000 images of items selected from the Federal Theatre Project Collection at the Library of Congress. Featured here are stage and costume designs, still photographs, posters, and scripts for productions of Macbeth and The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus as staged by Orson Welles, and for Power, a topical drama of the period (over 3,000 images). Also included are 68 other playscripts (6,500 images) and 168 documents selected from the Federal Theatre Project Administrative Records (3,700 images). The Federal Theatre Project was one of five arts-related projects established during the first term of President Franklin Delano Roosevelt under the Works Progress Administration (WPA).
- Theatre Database
Information on: Ancient Theatre, Medieval Theatre, 16th – 21st Centuries Theatre.