EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
InfoTrac/Hot TopicsNewspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesHistorical Newspapers/ProQuest US Newspapers CollectionOther Electronic Resources/Literature VideosInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Terms & ConceptsAmerican PoetsAmerican NovelistsAmerican PlaywrightsCredo Reference eBooks
Pre-17th Century17th and 18th Century19th Century20th Century I20th Century IICredo Reference eBooks
GrammarFigures of SpeechAcademic IntegrityBooks
Classics: Greek and Other LiteratureClassics: Latin LiteratureFeminist Literature
LiteratureAmerican LiteratureAfrican-American/British LiteratureChristian/Women LiteratureWorld/Writers Literature
American Literature and Drama/Plays/RhetoricEnglish/World Literature /Literary Criticism/TheoryGothic Literature/ShakepeareMedieval/Renaissance Literature and PoetryKhan Academy: Grammar
ebrary Academic eBooks /eBooks on EBSCOhost
This is the "Credo Reference eBooks" page of the "Literature and English Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Literature and English Research  

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/literature Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Credo Reference eBooks Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Reference

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols - Michael Ferber
Explains and illustrates the literary symbols that we all frequently encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold), and gives hundreds of cross-references and quotations.

Cover Art
Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature - Steven R. Serafin
Composed of signed biographical-critical entries, this Encyclopedia serves as both guide and companion to the study and appreciation of American literature.

Cover Art
Critical Terms for Literary Study - Frank Lentricchia and Thomas McLaughlin
Exploring the concepts that shape the way we read, the essays combine to provide an extraordinary introduction to the work of literature and literary study. Each essay provides a concise history of a literary term, critically explores the issues and questions the term raises, and then puts theory into practice by showing the reading strategies the term permits.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Twentieth Century - Eric L. Haralson
Contains entries that treat a broad range of individual poets and poems, along with many articles devoted to topics, schools, or periods of American verse in the century.

Cover Art
Key Terms in Literary Theory
This book provides precise definitions of terms and concepts in literary theory, along with explanations of the major movements and figures in literary and cultural theory and an extensive bibliography.

Cover Art
The Chronology of American Literature - Daniel S. Burt
An authoritative reference and an ideal browser's guide, this book outlines the indispensable information in America's rich literary past - from major publications to lesser-known gems - while also identifying larger trends along the literary timeline.

Cover Art
The Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story - Blanche H. Gelfant
With lucid essays on major writers and themes by some of the best literary scholars in the United States, this title offers readers a wealth of information and insight into the work of many of the finest short story writers in literary history.

Cover Art
The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
A comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of poetry: its history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology.

 

Topics in American Literature

Cover Art
African-American Writers: A Dictionary - Shari Dorantes Hatch and Michael R. Strickland
A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, African American Writers examines a multitude of black cultural leaders from the 18th century to the present.

Cover Art
Brewer's Curious Titles - Ian Crofton
The fascinating story behind titles including quotations, allusions, and odd or bizarre or otherwise intriguing titles.

Cover Art
Chambers Dictionary of Literary Characters
Provides an invaluable guide to the wealth of characters created by writers in English.

Cover Art
Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature - Verity Smith
Contains topic-based essays, geo-historical surveys of individual countries, critical biographies on individual writers, and critical summaries of representative works.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African-American Writing
Covers the role and influence of African-American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 17th century to the present.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 - Daniel Balderston and Mike Gonzalez
Draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.

Cover Art
Keywords for Children's Literature
Keywords for Children’s Literature presents original essays on the essential terms and concepts of the field. From Aesthetics to Young Adult, an impressive, multidisciplinary cast of scholars explores the vocabulary central to the study of children's literature.

Cover Art
The Edinburgh Encyclopaedia of Modern Criticism and Theory - Julian Wolfreys
Offers the student and scholar of literary and cultural studies the most comprehensive guide to the history and development of criticism in the humanities.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip