EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
American Social PolicyClient GroupsHistorySocial IssuesCredo Reference eBooksCredo Reference - Other Reference Resources
More Social Work booksSocial Work - Children booksSocial Work - Elderly/Ethics booksSocial Work - Practice books
Human Trafficking eBooksCurrent IssuesDatabasesInternational ResourcesHuman Trafficking Links
Social Work Subscription eBooks
Social Work DatabasesEBSCO - Individual Social Work DatabasesOther Electronic ResourcesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesSocial Work LinksKhan Academy - Health and MedicineInternational Resources
This is the "Social Work Subscription eBooks" page of the "Social Work Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work Research  

Library's Social Work Research Resources.
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/socialwork Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Social Work Subscription eBooks Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ebrary eBooks and Oxford Individual Titles

ebrary Academic eBooks

 ebrary Academic eBooks

 Description: ebrary is an electronic book collection that covers all academic subject areas.

Encyclopedia of Social Work 20th ed. (Oxford Reference Online)  

Description: Encyclopedia of Social Work is widely considered the cornerstone of reference in its field and is a valuable resource to social work practitioners, scholars, and students alike.

   

hildhood Victimization: Violence, Crime, and Abuse in the Lives of Young People by David Finkelhor 

  

Childhood Victimization: Violence, Crime, and Abuse in the Lives of Young People

 Description: This book presents a vision of childhood victimization, one that unifies the conventional subdivisions like child molestation, child abuse, street crime, bullying, and exposure to community violence. It shows how children are the most criminally victimized segment of the population, with over one-in-five facing multiple, serious “poly-victimizations” during a single year. Developmental Victimology, the book’s term for this new integrative perspective, looks at how victimization changes across the span of childhood and offers insights about how to categorize juvenile victimizations and how to think about risk and impact developmentally. It presents new data about unexpected declines in childhood victimization during the 1990s and early 2000s and suggest some of the reasons for this drop. The book also provides a new model of society’s response to child victimization — the Juvenile Victim Justice System — and a fresh way of thinking about barriers that victims and their families encounter when seeking help.

 Child Welfare Research: Advances for Practice and Policy by Duncan Lindsey and Aron Shlonsky (Oxford Scholarshp Online) 

 Child Welfare Research: Advances for Practice and Policy

 Description: Research has already been a significant factor in child welfare policy in recent years, but this book demonstrates that it has taken a leading role in the field to spur and guide change. The chapters in this book assess the effect of research on the full spectrum of child welfare services. The book covers every base. The opening chapters situate child welfare research in the modern context; they are followed by discussions of evidence-based practice in the field, arguably its most pressing concern now. Recent years have seen historic rises in the number of children adopted through public agencies and, accordingly, permanent placement and family ties are critical topics that occupy the book's core, along with chapters broaching the thorny questions that surround decision-making and risk assessment. The urgent need for a more effective use of research and evidence is highlighted again with looks at the future of child protection and how concrete data can influence policy and help children. Finally, in recognition of the growing importance of a global view, closing chapters address international issues in child welfare research, including an examination of policies from abroad and a multinational comparison of the economic challenges facing single mothers and their children.

Guides and Tutorials

 

Social Work eBooks - Restricted Access Note

 The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.

Log-in: Warner email account.

 

eBooks on EBSCOhost and Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

eBooks on EBSCOhost - Amusement Parks SearcheBooks on EBSCOhost 

Description: A collection of over 100,000 eBook titles in 24 subject areas.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Social Science

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Social Science

 Description:  Contains numerous reference resources pertaining to social science including social issues that may pertain to science.

 

eBooks on EBSCOhost

EB

eBooks on EBSCOhost

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip