EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
American Social PolicyClient GroupsHistorySocial IssuesCredo Reference eBooksCredo Reference - Other Reference Resources
More Social Work booksSocial Work - Children booksSocial Work - Elderly/Ethics booksSocial Work - Practice books
Human Trafficking eBooksCurrent IssuesDatabasesInternational ResourcesHuman Trafficking Links
Social Work Subscription eBooks
Social Work DatabasesEBSCO - Individual Social Work DatabasesOther Electronic ResourcesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesSocial Work LinksKhan Academy - Health and MedicineInternational Resources
This is the "More Social Work books" page of the "Social Work Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work Research  

Library's Social Work Research Resources.
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/socialwork Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

More Social Work books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

More Social Work Books

Cover Art
21st Century Sociology: a reference handbook - Clifton D. Bryant (Editor); Dennis L. Peck (Editor)
Call Number: qHM 585 .A13 2007 V.1 - v. 2
ISBN: 1412916089
Publication Date: 2006-11-17
21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook provides a concise forum through which the vast array of knowledge accumulated, particularly during the past three decades, can be organized into a single definitive resource. The two volumes of this Reference Handbook focus on the corpus of knowledge garnered in traditional areas of sociological inquiry, as well as document the general orientation of the newer and currently emerging areas of sociological inquiry.

Cover Art
Living with Dying: a handbook for end-of-life healthcare practitioners - Joan Berzoff (Editor); Phyllis R. Silverman (Editor); Phyllis Silverman (Editor)
Call Number: HV 3000 .L58 2004
ISBN: 0231127944
Publication Date: 2004-08-04
The first resource on end-of-life care for healthcare practitioners who work with the terminally ill and their families, Living with Dying begins with the narratives of five healthcare professionals, who, when faced with overwhelming personal losses altered their clinical practices and philosophies. The book provides ways to ensure a respectful death for individuals, families, groups, and communities and is organized around theoretical issues in loss, grief, and bereavement and around clinical practice with individuals, families, and groups. Living with Dying addresses practice with people who have specific illnesses such as AIDS, bone marrow disease, and cancer and pays special attention to patients who have been stigmatized by culture, ability, sexual orientation, age, race, or homelessness. The book includes content on trauma and developmental issues for children, adults, and the aging who are dying, and it addresses legal, ethical, spiritual, cultural, and social class issues as core factors in the assessment of and work with the dying. It explores interdisciplinary teamwork, supervision, and the organizational and financing contexts in which dying occurs. Current research in end-of-life care, ways to provide leadership in the field, and a call for compassion, insight, and respect for the dying makes this an indispensable resource for social workers, healthcare educators, administrators, consultants, advocates, and practitioners who work with the dying and their families.

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

More Social Work Books

Cover Art
Social Work Almanac - Leon H. Ginsberg
Call Number: HV 90 .G53 1995
ISBN: 0871012480
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
SOCIAL WORK ALMANAC, the profession's most comprehensive sourcebook, is now 61 percent larger, with 69 percent more tables & 73 percent more figures. The latest facts have been rigorously researched & compiled to update the second edition of this practical compendium of statistical data related to social welfare. SOCIAL WORK ALMANAC, 2ND EDITION, contains entries on many areas of the human services, including children; crime & delinquency; health & mortality; education; mental health; older adults; social welfare; economic assistance, housing & homelessness; & social work professional issues. It also includes basic demographic data on the U.S. population. SOCIAL WORK ALMANAC is widely used by social workers, administrators, organizers, & human services professionals. The new second edition makes it even easier to find social work facts by succinctly presenting, in one source, the most current social welfare data available. A useful tool for identifying trends, substantiating reports, preparing fund proposals, & more - & an invaluable resource for writing papers. By Leon Ginsberg.

Cover Art
The Social Work Dictionary - Robert L. Barker
Call Number: HV 12 .B37 2003
ISBN: 087101355X
Publication Date: 2003-06-01
The dynamic vocabulary of social work, like the profession itself, continues to grow and become more complex. Since the first edition of 'The Social Work Dictionary' in 1987, this essential reference work has been recognised as the definitive lexicon of social work. Now in its fifth edition, the dictionary captures over 9,000 terms, cataloguing and cross-referencing the nomenclature, concepts, organisations, historical figures, and values that define the profession. A special historical section represents a chronology of the significant developments in the United States and the world toward social welfare policies, practices, and the betterment of humanity. Used extensively in schools of social work, social service agency libraries, and in social work offices world-wide, this is a staple in professional libraries. It is unequalled as a study tool for preparing for licensing and certification exams. Every social worker -- from professor to student, from novice to experienced professional -- should own this unparalleled resource for understanding the language of social work and related disciplines.

Cover Art
Social Workers' Desk Reference - Albert R. Roberts (Editor)
Call Number: HV 40 .S6464 2009
ISBN: 0195369378
Publication Date: 2008-11-21
Following in the groundbreaking path of its predecessor, the second edition of the Social Workers' Desk Reference provides reliable and highly accessible information about effective services and treatment approaches across the full spectrum of social work practice. Succinct, illuminating chapters written by the field's most respected and experienced scholars and practitioners ensure that it will continue to be the sourcebook for all social workers. Social work practitioners and agency administrators are increasingly confronted with having to do more with less, and must make decisions and provide services as quickly as possible. The Social Workers' Desk Reference, Second Edition, builds on the landmark achievement of the first edition with thorough revisions and over 75 all-new chapters. Its outstanding wealth of well-tested knowledge, presented in a crisp, to-the-point manner, makes it an even more vital resource for time-pressed practitioners. Page after page offers an abundance of up-to-date information and key tools and resources such as practice guidelines, program evaluations, validated assessment scales, and step-by-step treatment plans necessary for success in today's managed-care environment. The growing importance of evidence-based practice in social work is reflected throughout the chapters, as well as by the inclusion of an entire section devoted to showing how to use evidence intelligently and efficaciously. The Social Workers' Desk Reference, Second Edition, speaks directly to the daily realities of social workers in private, non-profit, and public settings, whatever their expertise and in all areas of practice: assessment and diagnosis, ethics, risk assessment, program evaluation, and beyond. Case managers, clinical social workers, supervisors, and administrators alike who have come to rely on the previous volume will quickly find its successor just as indispensable.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip