EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
American Social PolicyClient GroupsHistorySocial IssuesCredo Reference eBooksCredo Reference - Other Reference Resources
More Social Work booksSocial Work - Children booksSocial Work - Elderly/Ethics booksSocial Work - Practice books
Human Trafficking eBooksCurrent IssuesDatabasesInternational ResourcesHuman Trafficking Links
Social Work Subscription eBooks
Social Work DatabasesEBSCO - Individual Social Work DatabasesOther Electronic ResourcesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesSocial Work LinksKhan Academy - Health and MedicineInternational Resources
This is the "Social Work - Practice books" page of the "Social Work Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work Research  

Library's Social Work Research Resources.
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/socialwork Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Social Work - Practice books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Social Work - Practice Books

Cover Art
Advances in Social Work Practice with the Military - Joan Beder (Editor)
Call Number: U 22.3 .A36 2012
ISBN: 9780415891349
Publication Date: 2012-04-12
With the United States' involvement in numerous combat operations overseas, the need for civilian social workers with the clinical skills necessary to work with members of the military returning from combat, as well as their families, has never been more critical. In this practical and important book, each chapter is written by specialists in a particular area devoted to the care of service members and includes case material to demonstrate assessment and intervention approaches. The reader is introduced to the world of the military and the subsequent development of mental health services for returning men and women. Chapters look at special populations of service members with specific needs based directly on their experience in the military, discussing post-traumatic stress disorder, traumatic brain injury, sexual harassment and assault during their service, and the physiology of the war zone experience. The challenges faced by reintegrating service men and women are explored in detail and include family issues, suicide, and substance use disorders. A section on services available to returning service members looks at those offered by the Veterans Administration and at the use of animal-assisted interventions. The book concludes with a section devoted to unique concerns for the practitioner and explores ethical concerns they may face and their own needs as clinicians working with this population.

Cover Art
An Introduction to Group Work Practice - Robert F. Rivas; Ronald W. Toseland
Call Number: HV 45 .T68 2001
ISBN: 0205307639
Publication Date: 2000-06-01
"This book provides the most comprehensive information available about group dynamics and working with people in a variety of treatment and task-oriented groups." The reader receives a thorough grounding in how to work with either treatment (ongoing) or task (special focus) groups, in settings that vary from treatment to organizational and community settings. Chapters on the history of groups, group dynamics, group leadership, and diversity help the reader build a solid knowledge base about groups." For anyone in group organizations and/or in social work.

Cover Art
Group Work Practice to Advance Social Competence : a specialized methodology for social work - Norma C. Lang
Call Number: HV 45 .L286 2010
ISBN: 0231151373
Publication Date: 2010-10-14
Small social groups are fundamental for achieving personal growth, social development, socialization, and the skills of sustaining relevance, relationships, and connections to society. Unfortunately, those who would benefit most from small groups often find themselves unable to achieve membership. Lacking the necessary skills for entry, these individuals may never enjoy the advantages of group membership. Advancing a practice methodology that specifically targets the socially unskilled, Norma C. Lang provides much-needed guidance to practitioners helping individuals become part of group life. Grounded in extensive practice, Lang's methodology addresses the special needs and anomalous functioning of individuals who lack the skills to form and use groups. She outlines the unique pregroup processes of socially unskilled populations and provides a methodology for advancing social competence. She also identifies the professional and agency requirements for working with presocial processes. Widely applicable to practice with social work groups, Lang's method greatly expands the literature on social work theory and practice with individuals and groups.

Cover Art
Human Behavior Theory and Social Work Practice - Roberta R. Greene; Roberta Greene
Call Number: HV 40 .H783 2008
ISBN: 0202361802
Publication Date: 2008-06-16
Human Behavior Theory and Social Work Practice remains a foundation work for those interested in the practice and teaching of social work. Roberta Greene covers theoretical areas and individual theorists including classical psychoanalytic thought, Eriksonian theory, Carl Rogers, cognitive theory, systems theory, ecological perspectives, social construction, feminism, and genetics. She discusses the historical context, its philosophical roots, and major assumptions of each theory. The general theme, which distinguishes this volume, is that the person-in-environment perspective has been a central influence in the formation of the profession's knowledge base, as well as its approach to practice. Greene provides perspective on how individuals and social systems interact. This book examines how social workers can use theory to shape social work practice by increasing his or her understanding of and potential for enhancing human well-being. Greene covers the relationship between human behavior theory and professional social work practice. She also explores the challenges and limitations of each theory and addresses the following issues: how the theory serves as a framework for social work practice; how the theory lends itself to an understanding of individual, family, group, community, or organizational behavior; what the implications are of the theory for social work interventions or practice strategies; and what role it proposes for the social worker as a change agent. Throughout the profession's history, social workers have turned to a number of theoretical approaches for the organizing concepts needed to define their practice base. The aims of social work--to improve societal conditions and to enhance social functioning of and between individuals, families, and groups--are put into action across all fields of practice and realized through a variety of methods in a range of settings. This third edition, completely revised, represents a fundamental contribution to the field, and like its predecessors, will be widely used as a basic text.

Cover Art
International Social Work Policy and Practice practical insights and perspectives - Carolyn J. Tice (Editor); Dennis D. Long (Editor)
Call Number: HV 40 .I556 2009
ISBN: 9780470252864
Publication Date: 2009-06-29
In order for social and economic justice to flourish globally, a greater understanding of global practice and policy efforts is essential for today′s professionals in the human services. International Social Work Policy and Practice presents practice and policy concerns in a country-by-country format. Engaging examples of social work practice and policy appear in each chapter. Insights and contributions by professionals who have worked in agencies in various countries are included. Professionals and academics in the social work field will be inspired by the international content of this book.

Cover Art
Professional Development in Social Work: complex issues in practice - Janet Seden (Editor); Sarah Matthews (Editor); Mick McCormick (Editor); Alun Morgan (Editor)
Call Number: HV 10.5 .P72 2011
ISBN: 0203842987
Publication Date: 2010-10-20
Social work practice in the twenty-first century is continually changing. Contemporary practitioners work in complex areas and have to do so quickly and competently. This text helps qualified social workers, as well as those about to qualify, to build on their initial studies in order to develop professionally. The volume considers not just what you need to know to practice, but how you develop in criticality and capability - in particular, how you can respond effectively in times of uncertainty and change to become more effective. It examines new roles, identities and contexts, including some international perspectives and the impact of globalisation. Each chapter discusses the contexts of practice (such as law, policies and theories); the contributions made both by those who practice social work and those who use its services; and the capabilities and skills that social workers need to develop in order to deal with complexity in social work. Making use of The Open University's expertise in providing cutting edge but accessible course materials and its distinct approach to social work practice, this textbook includes underpinning knowledge, practical applications and critical reflexivity. It includes questions for further reflection and application , plentiful examples and suggestions for further reading. Aimed at the newly qualified practitioner and the developing professional, Professional Development in Social Work is written by a team of authors with extensive practice and teaching experience. It will be particularly useful to students undertaking post-qualifying training or in the final year of their qualifying studies.

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

More Social Work - Practice Books

Cover Art
Social Work and Human Rights: a foundation for policy and practice - Elisabeth Reichert
Call Number: HV 41 .R433 2011
ISBN: 023114993X
Publication Date: 2011-09-13
Social Work and Human Rights has become a standard text highlighting the role of social work in protecting the rights of vulnerable populations. Through rigorous analysis, classroom exercises, and a frank discussion of the implications for practice both within and outside of the United States, the volume effectively acquaints readers with the political, economic, and social dimensions of rights issues and the documents that guarantee them. New material covers international events, such as the United Nations' Millennium Declaration (2000) and its effort to reduce the poverty and suffering of billions worldwide. The volume now emphasizes cultural rights and includes a probing lesson in cultural relativism. It turns a critical eye toward the failure in the United States to address social welfare issues and its reluctance to rectify policies favoring one group over another. Praise for the first edition: "A human rights compass -- a preliminary guide for the translation of human rights for social workers.... It is to be welcomed." -- European Journal of Social Work "Foundation documents provide an essential tool for understanding the issues and applying the understanding to concrete social policy advocacy and action." -- Canadian Association of Social Workers Bulletin "This is a text which is overdue for social work students and faculty." -- Rosemary Link, coauthor of Human Behavior in a Just World: Reaching for Common Ground "Reichert makes human rights concepts come alive. Practice case examples and human rights analysis of the National Association of Social Worker's Code of Ethics are particularly valuable in orienting the reader to the domestic practice applications of the global human rights movement." -- Lynne M. Healy, author of International Social Work: Professional Action in an Interdependent World

Cover Art
Social Work and Social Care Practice - Danielle Turney; Mark Hughes; Deborah Setterlund; Jill Wilson; Ian O'Connor
Call Number: HV 40 .S61765 2006
ISBN: 0761940634
Publication Date: 2006-03-23
This lively and engaging book is an adaptation of the bestselling introductory social work book available in Australia. This edition has been thoroughly revised to reflect wider changes that have characterized social work training and practice in recent years. It offers readers an essential grounding in the knowledge, values, and skills needed for successful completion of their degree.

Cover Art
Social Work Practice: assessment, planning, intervention and review - Jonathan Parker; Greta Bradley
Call Number: HV 245 .P268 2010
ISBN: 9781844458318
Publication Date: 2010-06-25
This bestselling and widely recognised textbook is now into its Third Edition and has been fully updated to reflect the recent changes in social work practice. New features and case studies are included throughout, as is a greater emphasis on safeguarding and protection issues. By working through this book, student social workers can ensure that they understand the features of a good assessment, how it is conducted and some of the difficulties that might arise during the process.

Cover Art
Social Work Practice: concepts, processes, and interviewing - Marion Bogo
Call Number: HV 40 .B5465 2006
ISBN: 0231125461
Publication Date: 2006-02-07
Social Work Practice synthesizes the latest theories and research findings in social work and related fields and demonstrates how this information is used in working with clients. Because the interview is the medium in which much of social work practice takes place, learning the processes and skills to conduct a productive interview is a critical part of social work education.

Cover Art
Social Work Research and Evaluation: foundations of evidence-based practice - Richard M. Grinnell; Yvonne A. Unrau
Call Number: HV 11 .S589 2011
ISBN: 9780199734764
Publication Date: 2010-08-26
Over thirty years of input from instructors and students have gone into this popular research methods text, resulting in a refined ninth edition that is easier to read, understand, and apply than ever before. Using unintimidating language and real-world examples, it introduces students to thekey concepts of evidence-based practice that they will use throughout their professional careers. It emphasizes both quantitative and qualitative approaches to research, data collection methods, and data analysis, providing students with the tools they need to become evidence-basedpractitioners.

Cover Art
Social Work Skills for Beginning Direct Practice : text, workbook, and interactive web based case - Alvin Wolf; Jack Zevin; Linda K. Cummins; Laura Pedrick; Judith A. Sevel
Call Number: HV 40 .C853 2012
ISBN: 0205055222
Publication Date: 2011-10-28
Social work practice skills text/workbook plus web-based case studies   This book is part of the Connecting Core Competencies Series. This series helps students understand and master CSWE's core competencies with a variety of pedagogy highlighted competency content and critical thinking questions for the competencies throughout. Social Work Skills for Beginning Direct Practice, 3/e, guides students through all stages of the helping process and assists them in developing time-tested social work skills.   By using the text/workbook PLUS the web-based, interactive case studies in MySocialWorkLab, students will gain a greater understanding of how to use social work skills in the context of each of the stages of the helping process -- from intake through termination.  In addition, individual chapters are devoted to values and ethics; theory directed practice; cultural context of practice; basic skills for direct practice; and advanced skills for direct practice.   The interactive case studies found on the book-specific MySocialWorkLabcontain video segments demonstrating different social worker-client case studies across a variety of practice contexts. Students can view the video, stop the action and respond to questions, look up references, or obtain more in-depth information about each skill segment.   Teaching & Learning Experience Personalize Learning -- MySocialWorkLab delivers proven results in helping students succeed, provides engaging experiences that personalize learning, and comes from a trusted partner with educational expertise and a deep commitment to helping students and instructors achieve their goals. Improve Critical Thinking -- Interactive, web-based case studies, in MySocialWorkLab encourage critical thinking.   Engage Students -- The entire text/workbook is a practical guide to teaching practice skills, designed to engage students throughout; Interactive Case Studies in MySocialWorkLab allow students to interact with virtual clients. Explore Current Issues -- Includes the most recent data,  new coverage of ethics, intersectionality, and more Apply CSWE Core Competencies -- Integrates the 2008 CSWE EPAS throughout -- highlights competencies and practice behaviors and includes expensive pedagogy. MySocialWorkLab adds value with book-specific interactive case studies, core competency videos and hundreds of competency-based questions. Support Instructors -- Instructor's Manual and MySocialWorkLab with Pearson eText are included in the supplements package. Note: MySocialWorkLab does not come automatically packaged with this text. To purchase MySocialWorkLab, please visit: www.mysocialworklab.com or you can purchase a valuepack of the text + MySocialWorkLab (at no additional cost). VP: 0205085350

Cover Art
Social Work: from theory to practice - Marie Connolly; Louise Harms
Call Number: HV 40 .C658 2012
ISBN: 0521133629
Publication Date: 2011-09-30
Social workers practice across a wide range of settings with many different people. Some work primarily with individuals, some work with families or groups of people in therapeutic or community contexts, while others focus on community advocacy, community action and social change. In such diverse disciplinary contexts, the notion of theoretically informed practice can seem complicated. Written as a core text, the book captures the critical information students need to feel confident in the application of theory to practice. Integrated case studies from both Australasian and international perspectives illustrate how theory works in practice and how theory facilitates change. Social Work Theory and Practice provides a comprehensive exploration of knowledge in practice, the use of evidence as a basis for practice, and the ways in which theory helps practitioners to understand, make sense of, and respond to complex human needs.

Cover Art
The Changing Face of Health Care Social Work professional practice in managed behavioral health - Sophia F. Dziegielewski
Call Number: HV 687.5 .U5 D95 2004
ISBN: 0826181457
Publication Date: 2003-11-01
Updated and revised, this text advocates a proactive stance for health care social workers. It will serve as a practical guide that addresses the principles of practice in our current health care environment. With the advent of numerous health care changes such as managed health care with its focus on behaviorally-based outcomes and objectives, this volume illustrates the "new" face of health care social work. This comprehensive text is full of practice-oriented tips, professional "profiles" in such diverse arenas of practice as the emergency room, home care, case management, and hospice, questions for further study, and select Website resources per chapter. It will help prepare social workers for the practice change needed in order to become viable clinical practitioners.

Cover Art
The Practice of Research in Social Work - Russell K. Schutt; Rafael J. Engel
Call Number: AV Kit HV 11 .E57 2005 Book
ISBN: 1412913853
Publication Date: 2005-02-15
Based on Russell Schutt's Investigating the Social World, the most successful and innovative social research text  in the last decade, The Practice of Research in Social Work introduces research methods as an integrated set of techniques for investigating social work research and practice problems.   

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip