EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
American Social PolicyClient GroupsHistorySocial IssuesCredo Reference eBooks
More Social Work booksSocial Work Children booksElderly/EthicsSocial Work: Practice
Human Trafficking eBooksCurrent Issues/Human Trafficking LinksDatabasesInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing Resources
eBooks
DatabasesEBSCO : Individual Social Work DatabasesReferenceInternational Resources - Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesSocial Work Links
This is the "Social Work Children books" page of the "Social Work Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work Research  

Library's Social Work Research Resources.
Last Updated: Nov 10, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/socialwork Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Social Work Children books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Social Work - Children Books

Cover Art
Child Welfare Research - Duncan Lindsey (Editor); Aron Shlonsky
Call Number: HV 741 .C53565 2008
ISBN: 0195304969
Publication Date: 2008-04-25
During the last decade there have been major advances in research in child welfare, the largest specialty within social work. The focus of this research has been on improving current child welfare practices and programs that protect children from abuse and neglect. The major policy and program changes in the child welfare system have been guided by these research studies, spurred by federal and state emphasis on monitoring child welfare outcomes and identifying best practices. This landmark collection gathers those research developments- and how they have been translated into policies, programs, and practice- in a single volume for the first time. Duncan Lindsey, one of the nation's foremost child welfare scholars, and Aron Shlonsky have assembled a case of the giants in the field who analyze developments in adoption, foster care, risk assessment, CPS work, welfare reform, poverty, decision making, and epidemiological studies. The final section of the book details new approaches to programs designed to combat child maltreatment and child poverty. This volume, with its unparalled breadth, depth, and up-to-date content, will define the state of the field and serve as an invaluable reference for child welfare scholars and practitioners alike.

Cover Art
Child Welfare: policies and best practices - Norma J. Harris; Patricia B. Lager; Jannah Mather
Call Number: HV 741 .M3469 2007
ISBN: 0495004847
Publication Date: 2006-08-15
Understand human behavior with HUMAN BEHAVIOR AND THE SOCIAL ENVIRONMENT! Three key tools are provided for theory-by-theory comprehension-models, metaphors and maps-that help you to easily compare and contrast theories as well as understand their relevance to social work practice. Detailed questions, learning activities, and a comprehensive list of references save you time when you study. Metaphors for each theory bring the content to life and make the applications of ideas and concepts specific to social work and social workers.

Cover Art
Children and Youth in Adoption, Orphanages, and Foster Care: a historical handbook and guide - Lori Askeland
Call Number: HV 875.55 .C45 2006
ISBN: 0313331839
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Adoption and foster care is a new and burgeoning area of historical and interdisciplinary research. Too often, however, birth parents, adoptive parents and foster parents, social workers, and the children themselves have been either ignored or demonized. This authoritative and accessible work is the first comprehensive introductory resource that gives a fuller portrait of the many individuals and groups that have contributed to the perceptions of what children are in need of care. Also discussed is the role of orphanages, the primary institution for children without parents, as well as a stopgap measure for poor children needing temporary care. Divided into three sections, original essays review the practice of adoption, orphanage placement, and foster care from the colonial period to the present day. Selected primary documents, including materials by children, as well as an in-depth bibliography section, provide crucial information and insight for high school and college students. Social workers, journalists, and others will also find much value in this historical overview and guide. Satz, and Claudia Nelson.

Cover Art
Developing Cross-Cultural Competence: a guide for working with children and their families - Eleanor W. Lynch (Editor); Marci J. Hanson (Editor)
Call Number: HV 888.5 .D48 2004
ISBN: 1557667446
Publication Date: 2004-05-01
Developing Cross-Cultural Competence highlights the cultural and ethnic diversity of families in the US The book is designed for a broad audience of pre-service professionals and interventionists who work with families and children with disabilities from diverse backgrounds, whose customs, beliefs, and values may differ from their own. This third edition has been thoroughly updated and includes a new chapter on South Asian roots. Also, each Roots chapter now includes an openended case example focused on ethical dilemma.

Cover Art
Exploring Child Welfare: a practice perspective - Cynthia Crosson-Tower
Call Number: HV 741 .T682 2009
ISBN: 0205672760
Publication Date: 2008-12-16
Exploring Child Welfare Fifth edition provides an overall look at all aspects of the provision of services for children and their families, from services that enhance and support family life to those that substitute for the child's own home.   The Fifth Edition of this accessible and engaging text continues to reflect the author's strong practice perspective and incorporates new developments in all areas of child welfare services. The author bases her work on more than 35 years of experience in almost all areas of children's services, including protective services, foster care, adoption, court services, residential treatment and school-based services.

Cover Art
Generalist Social Work Practice with Families - Stephen J. Yanca; Louise C. Johnson
Call Number: HV 699 .Y36 2008
ISBN: 0205470106
Publication Date: 2007-06-28
This text provides a comprehensive approach to generalist practice with diverse families using an integreated ecosystems and strengths-based approach. It includes schemas for developing family and subsystem social histories and case examples for working with diverse families.

Cover Art
Handbook for Working with Children and Youth : pathways to resilience across cultures and contexts - Michael Ungar (Editor)
Call Number: BF 723 .R46 H357 2005
ISBN: 1412904056
Publication Date: 2005-05-11
The Handbook For Working With Children & Youth: Pathways To Resilience Across Cultures and Contexts examines lives lived well despite adversity. Calling upon some of the most progressive thinkers in the field, it presents a groundbreaking collection of original writing on the theories, methods of study, and interventions to promote resilience. Unlike other works that have left largely unquestioned their own culture-bound interpretations of the ways children and youth survive and thrive, this volume explores the multiple paths children follow to health and well-being in diverse national and international settings. It demonstrates the connection between social and political health resources and addresses the more immediate concerns of how those who care for children create the physical, emotional, and spiritual environments in which resilience is nurtured.     

Cover Art
Reversing the Odds improving outcomes for babies in the child welfare system - Sheryl Dicker
Call Number: HV 741 .D53 2009
ISBN: 1557669619
Publication Date: 2009-04-17
Explores the needs of children in the child welfare system and offers ways to get them back on track. This book includes topics such as the history of child welfare advocacy, research and laws, legal advocacy, health care advocacy, early intervention advocacy, early childhood education advocacy, and future directions.

 

More Social Work - Children Books

Cover Art
Social Work and Family Violence: theories, assessment, and intervention - Joan McClennen; Joan C. McClennen
Call Number: HV 6626.2 .M42 2010
ISBN: 0826111327
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
To competently serve families, social work students must understand the theories and issues surrounding family violence. This innovative textbook comprehensively discusses three types of family violence: child abuse and maltreatment, intimate partner violence, and elder abuse. Discussions on assessments and interventions are provided for the adult victims of family violence, adult survivors of child abuse, child witnesses of domestic violence, adolescent victims of dating violence, elderly victims, and perpetrators of abuse. Assessment procedures and evidence-based treatments are also discussed. This book also covers a broad range of vulnerable populations and addresses their needs for particular services, legislative action, and strategies for effective intervention. The book meets the criteria of the Council on Social Work Education with its focus on ethics, populations-at-risk, and diversity. Intended for both bachelor's- and master's-level social work students, this text includes a variety of features such as case studies from real-life stories of family violence in every chapter, key terms, discussion questions, and more. Key topics: Court structures and procedures, specialized court services for families experiencing violence, investigative interviewing, and social workers' roles within the judicial system Identifying and investigating child maltreatment, discussing symptoms and consequences, child interviewing, ethical dilemmas of mandated reporting, and the foster care system Intimate partner violence, including theoretical perspectives, laws and policies, financial costs, learned helplessness, the battered woman syndrome, orders of protection, mandatory arrest, and more Elder abuse, including an overview of theories, assessments, risk factors, Adult Protective Services, caregiver interventions, and more Instructor's Guide: Available as an electronic file, the instructor's guide features a sample syllabus suitable for a Family Violence course. It also features chapter objectives, questions (multiple choice, true/false, and discussion) and answers, and PowerPoint slides for each chapter. Qualified instructors may contact us to receive the files. To request a copy, please email textbook@springerpub.com.

Cover Art
Social Work in Schools: principles and practice - Linda Openshaw
Call Number: LB 3013.4 .O64 2008
ISBN: 1593855788
Publication Date: 2007-09-28
This accessible and authoritative text gives social workers the tools they need for effective and ethical practice in school settings. Readers learn practical skills for observation, assessment, intervention, and research that will enable them to respond to the needs of diverse students from preschool through the secondary grades. The book presents strategies for dealing with particular problems, such as violence, trauma, parental absence, substance abuse, bereavement, and mental health concerns. Also reviewed are developmental issues that can interfere with school success. Specific guidelines for implementing interventions, including group work, are provided. Student-friendly features include many concrete examples; study and discussion questions; and reproducible letters, forms, and checklists.

Cover Art
Social Work Practice with Children, Second Edition - Nancy Boyd Webb; Cynthia Franklin (Foreword by)
Call Number: HV 713 .W39 2003
ISBN: 1572308869
Publication Date: 2003-06-06
Now in a revised and expanded second edition, this comprehensive text spells out the basics of social work practice with children and provides the specialized knowledge that students and practitioners need for helping young clients face a variety of difficult life situations. This edition offers expanded coverage of risk and resilience factors in assessment, goal setting and tracking progress. Particularly useful features include in-depth case examples, tables and charts, discussion questions, role-play exercises, and several reproducible assessment forms.

Cover Art
Social Work Practice with Children, Third Edition - Nancy Boyd Webb; James W. Drisko (Foreword by)
Call Number: HV 713 .W39 2011
ISBN: 1609186435
Publication Date: 2011-07-21
Widely adopted, this bestselling text provides the knowledge that social workers need for effective, culturally competent practice with children, adolescents, and their caregivers. The author presents a framework for developmentally informed assessment and intervention and describes a variety of powerful helping methods, illustrated with vivid case examples. Demonstrated are research-based strategies for working with victims of abuse and trauma as well as children affected by poverty, divorce, parental substance abuse, and other adverse circumstances. Special features include instructive discussion questions and role-play exercises. Reproducible assessment forms can be downloaded and printed in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size (www.guilford.com/p/webb). New to this edition updated to incorporate current research on child development, attachment, and trauma chapter on bullying new discussions of autism, childhood obesity, and blended families school social work chapter has been extensively revised expanded examples of group work, including groups for children with ADHD and crisis groups following disasters. nbsp;

Cover Art
Social Work Services in Schools - Paula Allen-Meares; Betty L. Welsh; Robert O. Washington
Call Number: LB 3013.4 .A45 2010
ISBN: 0205627129
Publication Date: 2009-07-31
American schools are on an innovation streak - public schools are implementing new assessment and accountability measures, charter schools are growing in number, and new technologies are becoming routinely integrated into every facet of school life.   The Sixth Edition Social Work Services in Schools by Paula Allen-Meares - available now - offers a timely and important guide to developing the optimal use of social work in schools in this rapidly changing environment.

Cover Art
Social Work with Children and Families - Martin Brett Davies
Call Number: HV 751 .A6 S583 2012
ISBN: 9780230293854
Publication Date: 2012-04-15
Martin Davies brings together contributors from a range of universities and practice backgrounds to provide incisive perspectives on this complex field. One half of a unique duet of texts, this book explores the issues within policy, law, theory and research, which will define practice for the next generation of child and family social workers.

Cover Art
Social Work with Children and Families : developing advanced practice - Penelope Welbourne
Call Number: HV 713 .W45 2012
ISBN: 9780415563802
Publication Date: 2012-05-17
There is an increasing emphasis on post-qualifying training for social workers, especially in the complex and demanding area of working with children and families. This essential textbook is especially designed for practitioners studying at this level. Accessible and thorough, the text focuses on a mixture of conceptual and organisational topics, skills, law, policy and key practice issues. It includes chapters on: Social work values and ethics Risk, uncertainty and accountability Direct work with children and young people Promoting security and stability Working with reluctant service users Assessment of parenting Working with poverty, drugs and alcohol Going to court and the legal framework Children and young people going home Supporting others in their professional development. Using case studies and activities to link research, theory and practice, Social Work with Children and Families takes a wider look at the role and tasks of an experienced social work practitioner, and the skills and knowledge needed to develop professionally from this point.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip