EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
American Social PolicyClient GroupsHistorySocial IssuesCredo Reference eBooksCredo Reference - Other Reference Resources
More Social Work booksSocial Work - Children booksSocial Work - Elderly/Ethics booksSocial Work - Practice books
Human Trafficking eBooksCurrent IssuesDatabasesInternational ResourcesHuman Trafficking Links
Social Work Subscription eBooks
Social Work DatabasesEBSCO - Individual Social Work DatabasesOther Electronic ResourcesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesSocial Work LinksKhan Academy - Health and MedicineInternational Resources
This is the "Client Groups" page of the "Social Work Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work Research  

Library's Social Work Research Resources.
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/socialwork Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Client Groups Print Page
  Search: 
 

Children

  • Acculturation
    From The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
    The modern concept of acculturation traces its disciplinary roots to anthropology and sociology, where scholars sought to understand the effects of cultural contacts arising from various forms of colonization, immigration, and modernization taking place during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. MORE
  • Child custody
    From Encyclopedia of Women's Health
    Child custody means the legal responsibility for a child. When the parents of a child are married and live with the child, questions of child custody are rare. But when parents separate from each other or divorce, or when parents live separately from their child, there is often a question as to who has custody of the child. MORE
  • Child depression
    From Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
    ‘Depression’ refers to an alteration in mood state that consists one of or more of three components: a feeling of sadness, an accompanying sense of unease (dysphoria), and a loss of the positive sense of pleasure (anhedonia). In children and adolescents, irritability may dominate the mood state perhaps as a consequence of dysphoric elements. MORE
  • Foster care
    From World of Sociology, Gale
    Foster care denotes a situation in which an individual is cared for outside the parental home, in an individual family, group setting, or other children’s institution. Although many youngsters may spend their entire childhood in foster care, this situation is not intended to be permanent. MORE

People Living in Poverty

  • Adult education: Topic Page
    Extension of educational opportunities to those adults beyond the age of general public education who feel a need for further training of any sort, also known as continuing education. MORE
  • Minimum wage: Topic Page
    Lowest wage legally permitted in an industry or in a government or other organization. The goal in establishing minimum wages has been to assure wage earners a standard of living above the lowest permitted by health and decency. MORE
  • Nutrition: Topic Page
    Study of the materials that nourish an organism and of the manner in which the separate components are used for maintenance, repair, growth, and reproduction. MORE
  • Standard of living: Topic Page
    Level of consumption that an individual, group, or nation has achieved. The evaluation of a standard of living is relative, depending upon the judgment of the observer as to what constitutes a high or a low scale. MORE
  • Unemployment: Topic Page
    Lack of paid employment. The unemployed are usually defined as those out of work who are available for and actively seeking work. Unemployment is measured either as a total or as a percentage of those who are available for work, known as the working population, or labour force. MORE
  • Vocational education: Topic Page
    Training designed to advance individuals' general proficiency, especially in relation to their present or future occupations. The term does not normally include training for the professions. MORE

People With Disabilities

  • Autism: Topic Page
    One of a spectrum of disorders defined by problems with communication, imagination, and social interaction. The symptoms may be present from birth or may develop in early childhood, around the third year. In rare cases, autistic individuals may show extraordinary talents in some areas . . . MORE
  • Blindness: Topic Page
    Partial or complete loss of sight. Blindness may be caused by injury, by lesions of the brain or optic nerve, by disease of the cornea or retina, by pathological changes originating in systemic disorders (e.g., diabetes) and by cataract, glaucoma, or retinal detachment. MORE
  • Deafness: Topic Page
    Partial or total lack of hearing. It may be present at birth (congenital) or may be acquired at any age thereafter. A person who cannot detect sound at an amplitude of 20 decibels in a frequency range of from 800 to 1,800 vibrations per second is said to be hard of hearing. MORE
  • Down Syndrome: Topic Page
    Congenital disorder characterized by mild to severe mental retardation, slow physical development, and characteristic physical features. Down syndrome affects about 1 in every 730 live births and occurs in all populations equally. MORE
  • Mental retardation: Topic Page
    Below average level of intellectual functioning, usually defined by an IQ of below 70 to 75, combined with limitations in the skills necessary for daily living. Daily living skills include such things as communication, the ability to care for oneself, and the ability to work. MORE
  • Special education
    From Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
    Special education is a service provided to students with educational disabilities. This article provides a general overview of the history, current practices, and contemporary issues regarding special education. MORE

Senior Citizens

  • Alzheimer's disease: Topic Page
    Common manifestation of dementia, thought to afflict 1 in 20 people over 65. After heart disease, cancer, and strokes it is the most common cause of death in the Western world. Attacking the brain's ‘grey matter’, it is a disease of mental processes . . . MORE
  • Dementia
    From The Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing
    The relationship between dementia and ageing - which justifies the inclusion of several chapters on dementia in this handbook - was the subject of much examination and re-evaluation in the second half of the twentieth century. On the one hand, the prevalence of the dementias increases sharply with age . . . MORE
  • Geriatrics: Topic Page
    The branch of medicine concerned with conditions and diseases of the aged. Many disabilities in old age are caused by or related to the deterioration of the circulatory system (see arteriosclerosis), e.g., mental deterioration and disturbances of motor and sensory function are often associated with an insufficient blood supply. MORE
  • Medicare: Topic Page
    Medicare is a government-funded health insurance program for the elderly, which started in 1965, as part of President Lyndon Johnson's Great Society initiative. Medicare covers everyone over sixty-five years of age. It was added as an amendment to the Social Security Act. MORE
  • Parkinson's disease: Topic Page
    Degenerative disease of the brain characterized by a progressive loss of mobility, muscular rigidity, tremor, and speech difficulties. The condition is mainly seen in people over the age of 50. MORE
  • Pension: Topic Page
    Periodic payments to one who has retired from work because of age or disability. Pensions, originally thought of as charity, are now viewed as an essential part of the social responsibility of employers or of the state. MORE
  • Social Security: Topic Page
    Government program designed to provide for the basic economic security and welfare of individuals and their dependents. The programs classified under the term social security differ from one country to another, but all are the result of government legislation. MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip