Exegesis eBooksExegesis Online Resources
Ministry Matters Individual Resources
This is the "Biblical Research" page of the "Biblical Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biblical Research  

Last Updated: Apr 10, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/content.php?pid=635185 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Biblical Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Warner University Online Library Catalog

Bible and Other Links

More Links

 

APA Style - Adult and Graduate Students

 

Reference

ABC-CLIO - Daily Life Through History

ABC-CLIO - Daily Life Through History

Description: Discover everyday details about past eras.

Note: To see religion through various eras, type "religion" in the search box.

American National Biography Online (Oxford)

American National Biography Online (Oxford)

Description: The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.

Searching by Occupation/Realm of Renown such as Religion and Spirituality:

The subjects of the ANB Online are categorized according to the work they did (occupation) and any other reasons for which they were considered to be notable (realm of renown). There are several ways to search by Occupation/Realm of Renown. You can choose a General Area, select items from the Occupation list, or type in a term.

Britannica Image Quest

 

Britannica Image Quest

Description: (Two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world).

Biography in Context (InfoTrac)

Biography in Context  - Religious Leaders (InfoTrac)

Description: Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people.
It merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

 

Credo Reference

Credo Reference - Religion

 eLibrary - Christianity & Related (ProQuest)

eLibrary - Christianity & Related (ProQuest)

Description: Selected periodicals, reference books, maps, pictures, and newspapers from around the world, along with transcripts of news and public affairs broadcasts.

The Dictionary of the Christian Church (Oxford)

The Dictionary of the Christian Church (Oxford)

Description: A trusted resource since its first publication in 1957, this authoritative one-volume reference covers all aspects of the Christian church. Building on earlier editions, this revised version features more than 6,000 A-to-Z entries on theology, denominations, patristic scholarship, popes, saints, the Bible, and more. Many articles and bibliographies have been updated to reflect the most recent scholarship.

The Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls (Oxford)

The Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls (Oxford)

Description: When Bedouin shepherds discovered the first of the Dead Sea Scrolls in 1947, one of the most fascinating mysteries of ancient history was exposed. Embedded in the 850 manuscripts eventually uncovered were questions about everything from the Qumran community that produced the scrolls to their impact on our understanding of biblical studies. Why were the scrolls preserved in caves? What do they reveal about such contemporary events as the life and death of Jesus, the rise of Talmudic Judaism, and the flourishing of the Essenes, Pharisees, and other Second Temple groups?

 

Credo Reference

Credo Reference

Credo Reference


Description: Credo Reference is a general reference resource with full-text, aggregated content covering every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

CredoBible

 

 

Credo Video Collection Videos

Credo Logo

 

Image Quest Poster/Usage Ideas

 

Hot Topics


 Global

Global Issues in Context

Description: Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.

 Opposing Viewpoints In Context (InfoTrac)

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Description: Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

 .

Student Resources In Context (InfoTrac)

Student Resources in Context

Description: Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events.

 

 

Restricted Access Note

 The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.

Log-in: Warner email account.

 

Religious Databases/LibGuides

ASC

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

This multi resource database includes Philosophy and Religion.

mm

Ministry Matters

Description: Ministry Matters is a community of resources for church leaders.

NOTE: If you see this message "Missing something? Our legacy library is still online," click on "legacy library."

ProQuest Religion

ProQuest Religion

(Journal articles)

Religion and Philosophy Collection (InfoTrac)

Religion and Philosophy Collection (InfoTrac)

Description: Religion and Philosophy Collection provides access to scholarly journals
and magazines of interest to both researchers and general users. The database offers balanced content that covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.

Other Resources

Journal of Family and Community Ministries - Baylor

Journal of Family and Community Ministries

Description: The Journal of Family and Community Ministries: Resources for Christian Leaders launched in 2012 as an online, peer-reviewed continuation of the journal, with Co-Editors Diana Garland, Dean of the Diana R. Garland School of Social Work, and David Garland, Dean of George W. Truett Theological Seminary, both at Baylor University.

D.S. Warner LiGuide

Am Doc Dissertations

 American Doctoral DIssertations, 1933-1955

Description: American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955 provides electronic access to the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during that time period, the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. Containing twenty-two years of dissertation research and amounting to over 93,000 citations, it was created with the generous support of the H. W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston.

 

Academic Search Complete User Guide

ASC

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

 

eBooks

Holy People of the World: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia (ABC-CLIO)

Holy People of the World: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia

Description: Saints and shamans. Avatars and righteous men. Friends of God. In practically every religion and culture throughout history, individuals have been recognized for their uncommon connection to the divine or their exceptional service to faith and humanity. The stories of these "holy people" reflect both the spirituality of specific cultures and the universal impulse to find meaning through faith.

 Science, Technology, & Environment: ABC-CLIO

 

 

ABC-CLIO eBooks

eBooks on EBSCOhost - Religion

eBooks on EBSCOhost - Religion

Description: Christianity, Ethics, Integrity, Judaism, Philosophy, etc. eBooks

ebrary eBooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Religion

Project Gutenberg - Christianity Bookshelf

Project Gutenberg - Christianity Bookshelf

WorldRel

Milestone Documents of World Religions, Second Edition (Salem Press)

Description: Milestone Documents of World Religions examines the key sacred texts and foundational documents of the world's primary religions, from ancient times to the present, providing researchers with a fresh perspective on how critical religious texts have influenced both the past and the present. Each entry begins with an Overview of the importance of the document, Context, Timeline, About the Author, Explanation & Analysis of the Documents, Audience, Impact, Essential Quotes, Bibliography, Glossary and Full Text of the Primary Documents.

Relpol

Religion and Politics in America: An Encyclopedia of Church and State in American Life 

Description: There has always been an intricate relationship between religion and politics. This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive overview of the interrelation of religion and politics from colonial days to the present.

 

Individual eBooks on EBSCOhost

bibEC

Biblical Economic Ethics : Sacred Scripture's Teachings on Economic Life

NOTE: THERE IS A ONE USER LIMIT FOR THIS TITLE.

Description: Written in non-technical language accessible to non-specialist readers, this book is a theological synthesis of the findings of scripture scholars and ethicists on what the Bible teaches about economic life.

 

eBooks on EBSCOhost

EB

eBooks on EBSCOhost

 

The Digial Story of the Nativity

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip