- Digital Collections Center (DCC) - Florida International University
The mission of the Digital Collections Center is to build online collections of enduring value for the university and broader user community by identifying, digitizing, and preserving information resources of scholarly, educational, and civic interest.The Center's digital collections focus on local and regional materials of historical, scientific, cultural, and educational importance.
- Digital Collections – University of Miami
The University of Miami Digital Collections provides online access to primary source materials to support teaching, learning, and research at the University and worldwide. The Digital Collections feature unique items from the University of Miami Libraries, including the Cuban Heritage Collection, Special Collections, and the University Archives, as well as distinctive collections developed in collaboration with non-library partners.
- Digital Collections – University of South Florida Libraries
Contains a variety of digital collections.
- Florida Department of State: Florida Facts – Kids
Need help with your Florida projects and assignments? Use the links below to learn about Florida's people from 12,000 years ago to the present, people of all cultures who have made our state their home, and other Florida facts. You can also find out Florida's state symbols like the state bird or the state song.
- Florida Digital Newspaper Library
The Florida Digital Newspaper Library exists to provide access to the news and history of Florida. All of the over 1.5 million pages of historic through current Florida newspapers in the Florida Digital Newspaper Library are openly and freely available with zoomable page images and full text.
- Florida Facts – Florida Department of State
Florida State Symbols, Statistical Information, Florida History, and Also of Interest.
- Florida Folklife Program (Florida Department of State)
The Florida Folklife Program, a component of the Florida Department of State's Division of Historical Resources, documents and presents the folklife, folklore, and folk arts of the state. The Florida Folklife Program (FFP) coordinates a wide range of activities and projects designed to increase the awareness of Floridians and visitors alike about our traditional culture.
- Florida Frontiers Articles
Florida Frontiers: The Weekly Newspaper Articles of the Florida Historical Society is a weekly newspaper article covering history-based events, exhibitions, activities, places and people in Florida. The newspaper articles premiered in January 2014. We explore the relevance of Florida history to contemporary society and promote awareness of heritage and culture tourism options in the state.
- Florida Frontiers: The Weekly Radio Magazine
Florida Frontiers: The Weekly Radio Magazine of the Florida Historical Society is a weekly, half-hour radio program airing on public radiostations throughout the state beginning in January 2009. The program is a combination of interview segments and produced features covering history-based events, exhibitions, activities, places and people in Florida. We explore the relevance of Florida history to contemporary society and promote awareness of heritage and culture tourism options in the state.
- Florida Handbooks
The Florida Handbook is a comprehensive reference source and the official guide to Florida government and history, with additional information on the state's lands, culture, economy, and people.
- Florida Heritage Collection - State University Libraries of Florida
The Florida Heritage Collection is an ongoing cooperative project of the State University System (SUS) of Florida to digitize and provide online access to materials broadly representing Florida's history, culture, arts, literature, sciences and social sciences. Thematic areas in this growing collection include Native American and minority populations, exploration and development, tourism, the natural environment, and regional interests. Materials are taken from archives, special collections, and libraries of the ten state universities which make up the SUS.
- Florida Historical Quarterly
Florida Historical Quarterly is the online version of Florida Historical Quarterly, the academic journal of the Florida Historical Society. The Quarterly has served to expand understanding of Florida's historical development and offers a broad spectrum of articles in scholarly research and appreciation for the peoples, places, themes, and diversity of Florida's past. The Quarterly through 2003 is available online and most issues are fulltext searchable. Continuous Work is underway to place the more recent issues online as well.
- Florida Historical Society – Educational Resources
The Florida Historical Society houses a wide array of both primary and secondary source materials from the colonial era to present day tourism trends available to researchers and students. However, when a visit to the library is not optional, our Teacher’s Resource Page will give students and educators the ability to access as much of our archived materials as possible.
- Florida History - University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries
The Florida History Collection contains primary and secondary sources documenting Florida’s history, culture, arts, literature, and social sciences. Thematic areas in this growing collection include Native American and minority populations, exploration and development, tourism, the natural environment, and regional interests.
- Florida History Fair - National History Day - Useful Web Links
The NHD web site (http://www.nationalhistoryday.org) contains a wealth of information for students, teachers, and parents about the program, conducting research, creating entries, and competing successfully. Useful links are listed.
- Florida History Fair - Tips for Success - Florida Research Directory
Useful links to libraries, museums, and historical societies.
- Florida History Fair – Museum of Florida History
Sponsored by the Museum of Florida History, the Florida History Fair (FHF) is an annual, statewide activity that
- Florida History Online – University of North Florida
Florida History Online is a digital archive of textual and visual documents of Florida history produced by students and faculty at the University of North Florida. The web pages explore the complex historical legacy of Florida with interactive maps, primary documents, time-lines, portraits, biographies, searchable databases, scholarly analysis, interpretive narratives, lesson plans for educators, and other tools of digital technology. Florida history will be placed in the wider context of American and Atlantic World history.
- Florida Memory Collections: State Library and Archives of Florida
Description: More than 300,000 individual records from select collections housed in the State Library and Archives of Florida. Most collections on this page have been digitized in their entirety.
- Florida Memory: State Library and Archives of Florida
Description: Access Florida collections, documents, educational resources, exhibits, photos, etc.
- Florida on Florida
Description: Florida On Florida is a catalog of digital materials related to Florida. It includes all sorts of items including maps,photographs, postcards, books, and manuscripts.
- Florida Photographs - University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries
Florida Photographs is comprised of several collections that visually document Florida and the University of Florida in particular. Among the holdings, Florida is documented in photographs, postcards, three-dimensional artifacts, and other visual resources that capture the spirit of old and contemporary Florida alike.
- My Florida - History and Culture
Description: Links to Historical Records & Resources, Libraries, Newspapers & Media, Online Magazines, Museums, About Florida, Associations & Programs, Dining & Cuisine, and Cultural Affairs.
- My Florida - People and Place
Description: Links to People, Photographic Collections, and Places & Maps.
- Old Florida Maps – University of Miami Libraries
Old Florida Maps tells the story, using digital reproductions of maps from monographs and private collections held locally in South Florida, of how Florida came to be represented in the current geographic form familiar to us all. The author of this scholarly endeavor is Dr. Joseph Fitzgerald, founder and chairman of the Miami International Map Fair at the Historical Museum of Southern Florida, whose keen scholarly interest in the history of the cartographic representation of Florida evidences itself in the many detailed descriptions of maps he has authored for the project's digital presentation.
- The Florida Handbook 2013-2014
- The Institute on World War II and the Human Experience (Florida State University) - WWII Links
- The University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC)
The University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC) hosts more than 300 outstanding digital collections, containing over 8 million pages, covering over 78 thousand subjects in rare books, manuscripts, antique maps, children's literature, newspapers, theses and dissertations, data sets, photographs, oral histories, and more for permanent access and preservation. Through UFDC, users have free and Open Access to full unique and rare materials held by the University of Florida and partner institutions.
- Viva Florida
Description: Learn about Florida's rich history and diverse cultural heritage through events resources about historic sites and educational information geared to teachers and students of all ages