EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
More Exercise /Exercise for Children BookseBooksHot Topics/Individual Weight Issues eBooksDatabasesReferenceInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesExercise /Exercise Career/Calculators/Florida Health
eBooksCurrent Issues/Nutrition LinksDatabasesReferenceCredo Reference: NutritionInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Physical Education: K-12 BookseBooks/Current IssuesDatabasesReferenceInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesPhysical Education/Health and Sports Medicine Links
DatabasesReferenceInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Christian Sports/History of Sports BooksCoaching/Sports Injuries & Sports MedicineIndividual Sports/Issues in SportseBooksIndividual eBooks
Newspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesHistorical/ProQuest US NewspapersSports Careers/Media/Research LinksSports: Individual SportsSports Links/Sports StatisticsHealth & Sports Medicine/Sports Injuries/Health StatisticsSports Management
eBooksDatabasesImage Quest/Google Scholar/ Writing/International ResourcesCredo Reference: Human AnatomyHuman Anatomy: OrgansAnatomy /Health Links/Health Videos/Khan Academy: Anatomy and Physiology
This is the "Physical Education: K-12 Books" page of the "Physical Education and Sports Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physical Education and Sports Research  

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/PEsports Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Physical Education: K-12 Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Physical Education - K-12 Books

Cover Art
101 Fun Warm-Up and Cool-Down Games - John Byl
Call Number: GV 443 .B94 2004
ISBN: 0736048499
Publication Date: 2004-02-17
Until now, warming up and cooling down have been seen as drudgery—a boring start to a game or class. But not anymore. 101 Fun Warm-Up and Cool-Down Games provides the antidote to the age-old warm-up and cool-down routines of jogging and stretching. When students take part in these games, they will be fully engaged, having fun, and effectively preparing their minds and bodies for the game or activity that lies ahead. This innovative book provides complete information for implementing 101 core games: -The theory behind warm-ups and cool-downs (why they're important and what they should consist of) -41 fun games that can be used in a variety of situations -60 sport-specific games in 7 sports (badminton, baseball, basketball, football, hockey, soccer, and volleyball) -113 variations of the core games to help leaders shape the activities to their group's needs -An easy-to-follow format with illustrations for the more complicated games to ensure proper setup and understanding of the game -A game finder to help leaders easily locate games and determine which are suited to their needs The game descriptions include group size, age, and skill level, making it easy to find the game that's just right for your group. They also can be used as stand-alone activities that promote fitness and fun. And the sport-specific games help kids warm up while working with the ball or equipment that they'll use in their games. The variety of games, the sport-specific applications, the adaptability to different groups, and the multiple uses of the games make this book a valuable resource for any leader working with students or athletes. The illustrations and easy-to-use format make it straightforward and reader-friendly. These games are so engaging that students and athletes will hardly know they're warming up or cooling down. Come game time, they'll be charged up and ready to go. And after the game, they won't mind cooling down.

Cover Art
Adapted Games and Activities: from tag to team building - Pattie Rouse
Call Number: GV 445 .R68 2004
ISBN: 0736054324
Publication Date: 2004-07-29
Nothing sparks a child's or adolescent's interest like a new game! Adapted Games & Activities: From Tag to Team Building provides a wealth of games to get your students and participants moving and having fun, regardless of their cognitive or physical ability levels. By offering exciting activities that entice your students to participate, you'll not only help them reap the enormous physical benefits of exercise, but you'll also provide opportunities for them to learn to share, express feelings, set goals, and function independently. The activities in this book have been proven to work in the real world of school and recreation settings. Author Pattie Rouse, an experienced adapted physical educator and recreation and sport leader, has designed and pilot-tested these games to enhance success while challenging participants to think and use their physical abilities. The games and activities range from low to high organization, from teacher directed to community based. You'll find the following in Adapted Games & Activities: -Teacher-directed games and activities provide you with a way to work on specific skills and movements with your students and participants—and have fun at the same time. -Success-oriented tag, chase, and dodge games use a nonthreatening, interactive approach to give participants a sense of belonging and self-confidence, regardless of their physical abilities. -Team-building and cooperative games and activities teach group dynamics, self-esteem, respect, and trust. -Higher-organization games are for those students and participants who need a greater challenge. -Lead-up sport and leisure activities help your students and participants work toward playing sports in a school or community setting by developing sport-specific skills and tactics. Except for the higher-organization games, all games are simple, with few rules, so they're easy for students to comprehend. And since little or no equipment is required, your prep time is kept to a minimum. Better yet, you'll find variations for each game, as well as modifications and teaching tips, so that you can easily tailor each game to your participants' cognitive and physical abilities. And all the activities emphasize cooperation and team building to encourage social interactions, develop self-esteem, and build community spirit. Participants who enjoy and feel successful in physical activities are more likely to want to participate in the future, both in and outside of your program. Using Adapted Games & Activities will help you provide a foundation of success so that your students may experience a lifetime of physical fitness—and the sense of accomplishment that goes along with it.

Cover Art
FTCE Physical Education K-12 Secrets Study Guide - FTCE Subject Exam Secrets Test Prep Staff (Editor)
Call Number: qLB 1772 .F6 F80 2014
ISBN: 9781609717513
Publication Date: 2015-02-25
***Includes Practice Test Questions*** FTCE Physical Education K-12 Secrets helps you ace the Florida Teacher Certification Examinations, without weeks and months of endless studying. Our comprehensive FTCE Physical Education K-12 Secrets study guide is written by our exam experts, who painstakingly researched every topic and concept that you need to know to ace your test. Our original research reveals specific weaknesses that you can exploit to increase your exam score more than you've ever imagined. FTCE Physical Education K-12 Secrets includes: The 5 Secret Keys to FTCE Test Success: Time Is Your Greatest Enemy, Guessing is Not Guesswork, Practice Smarter, Not Harder, Prepare, Don't Procrastinate, Test Yourself; Introduction to the FTCE Series; A comprehensive General Strategy review including: Make Predictions, Answer the Question, Benchmark, Valid Information, Avoid Fact Traps, Milk the Question, The Trap of Familiarity, Eliminate Answers, Tough Questions, Brainstorm, Read Carefully, Face Value, Prefixes, Hedge Phrases, Switchback Words, New Information, Time Management, Contextual Clues, Don't Panic, Pace Yourself, Answer Selection, Check Your Work, Beware of Directly Quoted Answers, Slang, Extreme Statements, Answer Choice Families; Along with a complete, in-depth study guide for your specific FTCE exam, and much more...

Cover Art
Interdisciplinary Elementary Physical Education - Theresa Purcell Cone; Stephen L. Cone; Peter Werner
Call Number: qLB 1570 .I5669 2009
ISBN: 0736072152
Publication Date: 2008-10-30
The popular Interdisciplinary Teaching Through Physical Education is back and better than ever. This new edition guides you in integrating the content of language arts, math, science, social studies, and the arts (music, theater arts, and visual arts) with the content of physical education through active learning experiences. This book has the following features: -It provides 24 learning experiences in the five academic areas, 193 additional ideas for developing those learning experiences, and 37 new, ongoing strategies for teaching physical education through cross-curricular methods. -It is revised and expanded, offering you more teaching tools to supplement, support, and enhance your teaching. -It delivers new practical ideas and activities for classroom use, based on current theory and best practices. In part I, you'll learn about the theoretical need for and benefits of interdisciplinary teaching and learning. The authors identify models for planning and implementing interdisciplinary experiences and provide ideas for getting started, building a support network, and assessing learning. In part II, the authors describe sample learning experiences in each of the five academic disciplines and offer ideas for developing additional learning experiences. They also present suggested scope and sequence of concepts for each grade level and describe the concepts and skills that are appropriate for primary- and intermediate-grade students. Interdisciplinary Elementary Physical Education will give your students a wealth of knowledge while they're being active. They'll have fun while they conjugate, calculate, investigate, explore, dance—and move across the curriculum.

Cover Art
Old Favorites, New Fun: physical education activities for children - David Oatman
Call Number: qGV 363 .O15 2007
ISBN: 0736062823
Publication Date: 2007-01-05
Activities become old favorites for one reason: Throughout the years, kids enjoy participating in them. But even old favorites can become stale after a while. Not so with Old Favorites, New Fun: Physical Education Activities for Children. This book, written by a physical educator with 30 years of experience, provides creative twists and refreshing modifications of classic activities, resulting in a wealth of choices to fit into and supplement your existing physical education curriculum. This book provides more than 350 thoroughly field-tested activities addressing core physical education content themes. These revitalized traditional activities help you meet major content demands of quality physical education in fresh, fun ways your students will love. What's more, you'll receive creative guidelines for dividing groups, starting play, and modifying “classic” sports to give you even more ways to keep students active—and encourage their enthusiasm for lifelong fitness. Old Favorites, New Fun includes the following features: - Activities to develop locomotor, manipulative, rhythmic, body and spatial awareness, and health-related fitness skills—thus ensuring your students get the extensive practice they need to succeed - Popular themes, such as parachute, team-building, and cross-curricular units, to extend and reinforce learning of core content - Clear equipment lists, objectives, setup instructions, and descriptions to help you transition between activities and classes by showing you what you need and how to place equipment and students quickly - Prominent safety notes to help you head off potential injuries The suggested modifications let you tailor activities to the needs of all your students so that everyone will benefit from the experience. Collectively, these activities will help your students meet all the national standards in physical education as you strive to meet physical education objectives in systematic and inviting ways. Old Favorites, New Fun is an easy-to-use resource to help you develop and reinforce your quality physical education program. Have new fun teaching these old favorites!

Cover Art
Physical Best Activity Guide : elementary level - National Association for Sport and Physical Education
Call Number: qGV 365 .P5 2005
ISBN: 0736048030
Publication Date: 2004-09-15
Includes CD-ROM! Through the new Physical Best Activity Guide: Elementary Level, Second Edition, teachers can do the following: - Implement ready-to-use activities based on the latest national guidelines from NASPE - Provide appropriate activities for students of all abilities - Save time and program funds by using reproducibles from the CD-ROM This revised activity guide provides a comprehensive collection of health-related physical fitness activities—more than 50—that cover aerobic fitness, muscular strength and endurance, flexibility, and body composition. The new edition offers exciting, teacher-tested activities to help rejuvenate existing programs or develop new programs that encourage lifelong participation in health-related physical activity. The Elementary Level Activity Guide includes new activities for students at all levels, revised activities from the first editions, and expanded tips for involving students of all abilities. It has a sample newsletter for each component of fitness as well as a new “Special Events” section containing activities that coincide with national holidays and health observances throughout the school year. In addition, the Elementary Level Activity Guide comes with a CD-ROM containing PDF versions of numerous reproducibles, including posters, worksheets, station signs, flash cards, and other things to make the teacher's job easier and the activities more fun. The activity guide helps teachers do the following: - Meet the specific needs of the age groups they are teaching - Benefit from the real-world experience and fresh ideas of seasoned physical educators - Assist students in making informed health-related physical fitness choices beyond the classroom setting Designed to stand alone or be used in conjunction with Physical Education for Lifelong Fitness: The Physical Best Teacher's Guide, Second Edition, this cutting-edge resources will enliven programs, save time, and help teachers motivate students to become fit for life.

 

More Physical Education K-12 Books

Cover Art
Physical Best Activity Guide : middle and high school levels - NASPE
Call Number: qGV 365 .P49916 2005
ISBN: 0736048057
Publication Date: 2004-09-27
Includes CD-ROM! Through the new Physical Best Activity Guide: Middle and High School Level, Second Edition, teachers can do the following: - Implement ready-to-use activities based on the latest national guidelines from NASPE - Provide appropriate activities for students of all abilities - Save time and program funds by using reproducibles from the CD-ROM This revised activity guide provides a comprehensive collection of health-related physical fitness activities—more than 50—that cover aerobic fitness, muscular strength and endurance, flexibility, and body composition. The new edition offers exciting, teacher-tested activities to help rejuvenate existing programs or develop new programs that encourage lifelong participation in health-related physical activity. The Middle and High School Level Activity Guide includes four new chapters on activities that incorporate components of health-related fitness and emphasize lifetime physical activities such as climbing stairs, gardening, dancing, housework, and adventure pursuits. This material also is fully compatible with the award-winning Fitness for Life student text by Charles B. Corbin and Ruth Lindsey (now in its fifth edition and available from Human Kinetics). In addition, the Middle and High School Level Activity Guide comes with a CD-ROM containing PDF versions of numerous reproducibles, including posters, worksheets, station signs, flash cards, and other things to make the teacher's job easier and the activities more fun. The activity guide helps teachers do the following: - Meet the specific needs of the age groups they are teaching - Benefit from the real-world experience and fresh ideas of seasoned physical educators - Assist students in making informed health-related physical fitness choices beyond the classroom setting Designed to stand alone or be used in conjunction with Physical Education for Lifelong Fitness: The Physical Best Teacher's Guide, Second Edition, this cutting-edge resources will enliven programs, save time, and help teachers motivate students to become fit for life.

Cover Art
Physical Best Activity Guide for Secondary Level - Physical Best Staff; American Alliance for Health Staff
Call Number: qGV 365 .P4993 1999
ISBN: 0880119713
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
This guide helps teachers incorporate health-related fitness into secondary-level physical education curricula using over 60 activities organized by fitness type, with a progression of exercises for each section. Designed to help students meet NASPE's National Physical Education standards for health

Cover Art
Strategies for Inclusion: a handbook for physical educators - Lauren Lieberman; Cathy Houston-Wilson
Call Number: qGV 445 .L54 2002
ISBN: 073600324X
Publication Date: 2002-03-06
Get up to date on the latest and most useful strategies for successfully integrating children with disabilities in physical education. Strategies for Inclusion: A Handbook for Physical Educators dispels myths about instructing children with disabilities and provides guidelines for appropriate inclusion in the least restrictive environment. Strategies for Inclusion: A Handbook for Physical Educators sets the stage with a clear discussion of current disabilities legislation and its impact on K-12 teachers. Next, using real-life examples to illustrate each point, it provides solid advice on these issues: -Making placement decisions -Developing and implementing a physical education Individual Education Plan (IEP) -Assessing students using traditional methods or creating functional rubrics for any unit -Adapting activities sports and recreation to meet unique needs -Overcoming blanket medical excuses -introducing disability/ability awareness activities -training peer tutors -using support personnel -using homework in physical education -using the community to facilitate inclusion The authors present ready-to-use skill-related rubrics for the quantitative and qualitative assessment of children both with and without disabilities. The 38 units of instruction include -16 elementary units, -11 sports units, -8 recreation units, and -5 fitness units. In each unit you'll also find flexible and creative tips to make inclusion easier, including adapting the teaching environment, using rule changes, modifying equipment, and adjusting your teaching style and methods. The book includes these useful teaching tools: -Case studies with helpful questions and answers -Teaching tips that give hands-on solutions for teachers -Discussion and comparison of assessment tools -A Unit Finder that makes it easy to locate units according to the sport or activity involved -Resource indexes with a myriad of additional tools, including a glossary of disabilities in kid terms, a peer tutor training guide, disability awareness activities, a list of organizations, equipment companies, and a list of state directors of special education Strategies for Inclusion: A Handbook for Physical Educators empowers current and future teachers to create inclusive classrooms where every child can fully participate in fun and health-building physical education.

Cover Art
Teaching Middle School Physical Education: a standards-based approach for grades 5-8 - Bonnie Mohnsen
Call Number: qGV 365 .M65 2003
ISBN: 0736043810
Publication Date: 2003-04-01
This popular book provides- expanded standards-based assessments for students at each grade level,- self-assessments for evaluating your PE program, and- all the tools and information you need to create and implement a comprehensive middle school PE program.>Teaching Middle School Physical Education, Second Edition,> provides practical information that's flexible enough to use in a variety of settings. Written by a veteran middle school physical educator, it's packed with exciting ideas, proven strategies, and complete standards-based units that cover all aspects of planning, implementing, and teaching middle school physical education:- Selecting instructional units- Integrating with other subject areas- Developing unit and lesson plans- Assessing and grading students- Motivating students- Demonstrating positive teaching behaviors- Selecting teaching styles and strategies- Choosing instructional materials- Incorporating technology effectivelyThe book examines recent reform efforts in the middle school, discusses the physical and psychological environments of a quality program, and encourages physical educators to become equal partners in their school's entire education program. The book also includes sample programs for fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth grades that demonstrate how all of the elements of a successful program fit together.This updated edition also includes- added units for grade 5,- revised units for grades 6 through 8,- updated lists of sources for supplies and materials,- updated information about the uses of technology, and- all-new illustrations for lessons and activities.>Teaching Middle School Physical Education, Second Edition,> features expanded standards-based assessments for each grade level and self-assessment tools for evaluating your own physical education program.>Teaching Middle School Physical Education, Second Edition,> helps teachers to integrate physical education into the complete school curriculum and promote overall health and fitness. It provides everything a middle school physical education teacher needs for planning and teaching yearlong physical education classes.

Cover Art
Teaching Secondary Physical Education: preparing adolescents to be active for life - Gayle E. Hutchinson; John M. Roussell; Cathrine Himberg
Call Number: qGV 365 .H56 2003
ISBN: 088011939X
Publication Date: 2002-12-20
-Help teens become physically active for life. -Build physical education programs that keep pace with changing needs. -Introduce technology into the classroom. With the introduction of Teaching Secondary Physical Education, now there is a teaching methods textbook that meets the needs of todays diverse student populations. It outlines a contemporary approach that focuses on how teachers can help their students become active for life. A team of experts walks you step by step through the process of building and adapting quality programs to keep pace with changing needs. You will learn how to improve your effectiveness as a teacher while responding to the growing demand for quality secondary programs that are relevant in both todays world and tomorrows. Teaching Secondary Physical Education covers all the critical issues: developmental appropriateness, inclusiveness, appropriate use of technology in the classroom, and more. In addition, the text contains many distinctive, student-friendly features: -Technology n Techniques (T n T) side boxes throughout the text keep the theme of technology in the reader's mind. -The innovative GOT-IT model (goals, objectives, technologies, and instructional techniques) emphasizes a system for smoothly and effectively introducing technologies and techniques into the classroom. -The Diamond Framework expresses in one image how physical educators can create a program that leads their students on the road to an active life. Icons reinforce this key concept throughout the book. -Chapter introduction scenarios show real-life examples of issues that physical education teachers face. -Your Turn questions present opportunities for readers to interact with the information, both in class discussions and individual study. -Heavy emphasis of national standards and guidelines and the research on determinants for physical activity provide the authority and backbone for the authors' active-for-life philosophy. Teaching Secondary Physical Education is the cutting-edge text for teachers who want to keep up to date, continue to improve, and stay focused on the real purpose of the new physical education—to keep students active for life.

Cover Art
Teaching the Nuts and Bolts of Physical Activity: building basic movement skills - Vonnie Colvin; Nancy E. Markos; Pamela J. Walker
Call Number: qGV 443 .C59 2000
ISBN: 0880118830
Publication Date: 1999-09-20
Teachers need to provide children with the building blocks for participating in physical activity while the children are young so they'll have a strong foundation to build their future physical activity upon. Yet too often children are not given a chance to fully develop their locomotor and manipulative skills. >Teaching the Nuts and Bolts of Physical Education> describes sure-fire ways to get kids and teachers excited about learning these important lessons.The book's many features make teaching the skills fun and hassle-free. With 43 worksheets and 21 troubleshooting charts for assessment, instructions for basic movement and manipulative skills, tested activities to make the skills fun, illustrations of specific skills, and scripted lesson plans to help teachers explain the activities to the children, this book will become your primary tool in helping children learn to move with skill.Discussion of each of the 13 manipulative skills includes:- Introduction to the skill- Basic components of the skill with appropriate cues- Activities and games to reinforce the skill- Culminating activities, including assessments and integrative ideas- Troubleshooting chart that identifies typical problems and provides remedies- A sample lesson plan>Teaching the Nuts and Bolts of Physical Education> is a collection of teaching strategies and ideas the authors have developed over a combined 70+ years of teaching experience. The "kid-tested" activities are successful with a variety of elementary school children. Learning the nuts and bolts of these crucial skills enables children to build a sturdy foundation on which to base a lifetime of physical activity.

Cover Art
Young Athletes, Couch Potatoes, and Helicopter Parents: the productivity of play - Jessica Skolnikoff; Robert Engvall
Call Number: GV 709.2 .S495 2014
ISBN: 9781442229792
Publication Date: 2013-12-11
Major newspapers, news programs, and magazines across the country have recently addressed the current issues of childhood obesity, the link between exercise and improved academic focus, and the importance of diet and exercise in improving the health of our children. As many schools consider cutting recess and removing physical education from their curricula, it has become increasingly important to examine the possible effects of this decision and what it might mean for children and their physical and mental well-being. In Young Athletes, Couch Potatoes, and Helicopter Parents, Jessica Skolnikoff and Robert Engvall look at the important issue of play and its changing role in today s hyper-structured society. The authors conducted countless interviews combined with extensive research in order to gain a comprehensive theory on the current nature of play and how it has affected children s lives. Specific topics addressed include the impact of over-involved parents upon the play of their children, how kids are chosen for sports teams and the effect of these selections on the kids, the lack of unstructured play, and the lasting impression of society s competitive mindset on children. This book is not a criticism of parents who want to be involved in their children s lives, but addresses the structural and cultural issues around the changing role of play and the ways in which kids sports are viewed in today s society. Intended not only for childhood development studies, education, sociology, popular culture, and sports studies, this book will be of interest to parents, coaches, athletic directors, school administrators, and educators."

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip