More Exercise /Exercise for Children BookseBooksIndividual Weight Issues eBooksCurrent IssuesJAMA and PubMedDatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesExercise and Exercise Career LinksFlorida Health and Exercise Calculators LinksInternational Resources
eBooksCurrent IssuesDatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesCredo Reference - NutritionGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesNutrition
Physical Education - K-12 BookseBooksCurrent IssuesDatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesCredo ReferenceGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesPhysical Education/Health and Sports Medicine LinksInternational Resources
DatabasesOther Electronic ResourcesCredo ReferenceGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesSports - Careers, Media, Research LinksSports - Individual Sports LinksMore Sports Links/Sports StatisticsHealth & Sports Medicine/Health Statistics LinksInternational Resources
Christian Sports/History of Sports BooksCoaching/Sports Injuries & Sports Medicine booksIndividual Sports/Issues in Sports bookseBooksIndividual eBooksMission Bell Media Leadership eBooks
eBooksAnatomy - Library's Subscription DatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesHuman AnatomyHuman Anatomy - OrgansHealth VideosAnatomy/Health LinksInternational Resources
International ResourcesHistorical NewspapersProQuest US NewspapersNewspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesKhan Academy - Health and Medicine
This is the "More Exercise /Exercise for Children Books" page of the "Physical Education and Sports Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physical Education and Sports Research  

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/PEsports Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

More Exercise /Exercise for Children Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

More Exercise Science Books

Cover Art
Fitness and Exercise Sourebook - Amy L. Sutton (Editor)
Call Number: GV 436 .F53 2007
ISBN: 0780809467
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Regular physical activity offers exercisers a variety of health benefits, including a reduced risk of obesity, diabetes, high blood pressure, heart disease, stroke, dementia, and cancer. Recent research has also shown that regular exercisers experience a mental boost from physical activity. Despite these benefits, however, most Americans fail to make fitness a priority For people who want to commit to a fitness program, however, there is good news. In as few as 30 minutes a day several days a week, formerly inactive people of all ages can begin to experience the positive effects of physical activity.

Cover Art
Focus on Fitness : a reference handbook - Nicholas Karolides; Melissa Karolides
Call Number: RA 781 .K27 1993
ISBN: 0874366623
Publication Date: 1993-05-01

Cover Art
Physiology of Sport and Exercise-3rd Edition w/ Web Study Guide - Jack H. Wilmore; David L. Costill
Call Number: qQP 301 .W6749 2004
ISBN: 0736044892
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
This work presents a solid foundation of basic exercise physiology. Including more than 300 colour graphs and illustrations explaining key concepts, it captures significant research findings in a reader-friendly format.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Exercise, Sport and Health - Peter Brukner; Karim Khan; John Kron
Call Number: GV 481 .B886 2004
ISBN: 1741140587
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
This encyclopedia contains a comprehensive alphabetical guide for more than 2,000 entries on the full array of topics related to sports health including training, nutrition, psychology, injuries, illness, prevention, and alternative therapies. Clearly illustrated with photos and clear anatomical line drawings, this book has jargon-free explanations for thousands of questions about the health- and fitness-related aspects of exercise and sports. For those who have suffered a sports injury, have children involved in sports, are studying physical education, or just want to know about health-improving exercises, this is an invaluable reference guide.

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Exercise for Children Books

Cover Art
101 Fun Warm-Up and Cool-Down Games - John Byl
Call Number: GV 443 .B94 2004
ISBN: 0736048499
Publication Date: 2004-02-17
Until now, warming up and cooling down have been seen as drudgery—a boring start to a game or class. But not anymore. 101 Fun Warm-Up and Cool-Down Games provides the antidote to the age-old warm-up and cool-down routines of jogging and stretching. When students take part in these games, they will be fully engaged, having fun, and effectively preparing their minds and bodies for the game or activity that lies ahead. This innovative book provides complete information for implementing 101 core games: -The theory behind warm-ups and cool-downs (why they're important and what they should consist of) -41 fun games that can be used in a variety of situations -60 sport-specific games in 7 sports (badminton, baseball, basketball, football, hockey, soccer, and volleyball) -113 variations of the core games to help leaders shape the activities to their group's needs -An easy-to-follow format with illustrations for the more complicated games to ensure proper setup and understanding of the game -A game finder to help leaders easily locate games and determine which are suited to their needs The game descriptions include group size, age, and skill level, making it easy to find the game that's just right for your group. They also can be used as stand-alone activities that promote fitness and fun. And the sport-specific games help kids warm up while working with the ball or equipment that they'll use in their games. The variety of games, the sport-specific applications, the adaptability to different groups, and the multiple uses of the games make this book a valuable resource for any leader working with students or athletes. The illustrations and easy-to-use format make it straightforward and reader-friendly. These games are so engaging that students and athletes will hardly know they're warming up or cooling down. Come game time, they'll be charged up and ready to go. And after the game, they won't mind cooling down.

Cover Art
Overcoming Obesity in Childhood and Adolescence - Donald Schumacher; J. Allen Queen
Call Number: RJ 399 .C6 S38 2007
ISBN: 1412916658
Publication Date: 2006-11-02
This authoritative guide discusses the "do's," "don'ts," and "can'ts" that school leaders must consider when creating and implementing new school policies for wellness, nutrition, fitness, and health.

Cover Art
Pedometer Power: 67 lessons for K-12 - Robert P. Pangrazi; Aaren Beighle; Cara L. Sidman
Call Number: QP 301 .P34 2003
ISBN: 0736044841
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
Inexpensive and easy to use, the pedometer is proving to be a very accessible technology in a variety of school and community settings. Now >Pedometer Power> shows you how to use pedometers to teach, promote, and assess physical activity.>Pedometer Power> provides concrete evidence that the pedometer is an effective tool for teaching students about physical activity, improving teaching, and facilitating program accountability. Based on the research of Dr. Bob Pangrazi (a respected physical education professor, researcher, and author) and two coauthors, Aaron Beighle and Dr. Cara Sidman, it presents a wealth of information and ready-to-go activities to help you apply this technology.For those who are new to the use of pedometers, Pedometer Power covers all the basics of starting a pedometer program-including how to use and store the devices, plus special considerations for school settings:- Minimizing breakage and loss- Recording and storing data- Fundraising- Involving parents and classroom teachers>Pedometer Power> offers 67 activities for grades K through 12 that you can start using today. Even those who've used pedometers in the classroom for years are sure to find lots of fresh new ideas. Some activities are designed to get students' families involved-a great way to reinforce the benefits of physical activity and using pedometers outside the classroom, too.Each chapter concludes with a list of books, articles, and Web sites that provide additional information about integrating pedometer programs into physical education, as well as companies to contact for more information about different types of pedometers.Pedometers help students learn about the many aspects of monitoring physical activity and about the value of maintaining an active lifestyle. Show your students how to get in step with >Pedometer Power.>

Cover Art
¡Muévete!= : Get moving! - Mari C. Schuh; Gail Saunders-Smith (Consultant Editor); Strictly Spanish LLC. Staff (Translator)
Call Number: CMC RJ 133 .S3618 2013
ISBN: 9781620659441
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Exercise is fun, easy, and healthy. Learn about how the MyPlate tool helps kids be active every day.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip