eBooksDatabasesOther Electronic ResourcesCredo Reference - MathematicsKhan Academy - MathGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesMath LinksInternational Resources
More Statistics BookseBooksDatabasesHot TopicsCredo Reference - StatisticsGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesStatistics LinksInternational Resources
This is the "More Statistics Books" page of the "Mathematics and Statistics Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mathematics and Statistics Research  

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/mathematics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

More Statistics Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

More Statistics Books

Cover Art
Dictionary of Statistics and Methodology: a nontechnical guide for the social sciences - W. Paul Vogt (Editor)
Call Number: HA 17 .V64 2005
ISBN: 0761988556
Publication Date: 2005-04-27
`Have you ever sat in a meeting/seminar/lecture given by extremely well qualified researchers, well versed in research methodology and wondered "what kind of language are these people using"? Well, W Paul Vogt has the solution to your problem with the publication of the revised and expanded edition of his statistics and methodology dictionary' - Social Research Association News The Third Edition of Paul Vogt's bestselling Dictionary of Statistics and Methodology continues where the Second Edition left off with updated terms and additions. The book aims to provide anyone interested in learning statistics with the sourcebook of simple definitions and explanations of statistical and statistics-related concepts. The majority of terms offer additional references to use if more information is needed on a particular topic. Additionally, many terms are accompanied by graphical material to aid understanding.

Cover Art
The 50 States - Charles F. Bahmueller (Editor)
Call Number: qE 180 .A5 2007
ISBN: 1587653672
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
This volume is designed to serve the needs of students and members of the public seeking basic and up-to-date information on individual states and the District of Columbia. One of its central objectives is to help users find the information they want as quickly and efficiently as possible. To this end, each state is the subject of its own chapter. Moreover, every chapter presents the same kinds of information, in the same formats, and in the same order. The chapters themselves are arranged alphabetically, by the states' names. Each chapter opens with a profile listing basic data on population, geography, history, and other facts. This section is followed by a brief history of the state, emphasizing the events and forces that have worked to make the state what it is today. Additional historical details are provided in a time line, which is followed by study notes on both published books and resources on the World Wide Web. Every chapter contains a list of all the counties in the state, giving their populations and areas. Each county list is complemented by a map of the state's counties. Each chapter also has a list of the cities and towns of at least ten thousand residents, as well as a map of cities and towns. In addition to these maps, every chapter contains a map showing the state's major physical features. The bulk of each chapter is made up of 40 statistical tables. Drawing mostly on the latest federal government statistics, these tables emphasize current data on the subjects likely to be of greatest interest to readers. Moreover, the Editors have made every effort to present data in forms that can be readily understood. Many tables contain special features not found in government compilations of statistics: figures showing how each state ranks in important statistical categories and figures showing each state's share of a national total. More than 30 appendixes summarizing data on state population, land area, and other subjects related to the information in the chapter tables can be found at the back of the volume. The selection of appendixes also includes a comprehensive bibliography and a guide to Web resources. Users should be able to find most of the information they seek by simply turning to the chapters on the states that interest them. If they need additional help, they can refer to the subject index at the end of the volume.

Cover Art
Almanac of American Education 2014-2015 - Deirdre A. Gaquin (Editor); Gwenavere W. Dunn (Editor)
Call Number: LA 210 .A463 2015
ISBN: 9781598887365
Publication Date: 2015-03-09
The Almanac of American Education helps users understand and compare the quality of education at the national, state, and county levels. Compiled from official U.S. government and reliable private sources, the book contains historical and current data, insightful analysis, and useful graphs that provide compelling insights into the state of education in America. The appendix to this title functions as a guide to education resources on the Internet. It provides site descriptions and evaluations along with URLs, giving users the information they need to go directly to the sites that will be of greatest use to them. The Almanac provides national coverage of school enrollment and educational attainment, looking at American education from a variety of different angles. This edition contains numerous figures including the percentage of high school and college graduates in the population and enrollment status by age and level of education. State-level statistics include: average SAT and ACT scores per-student expenditures private and public school enrollment student poverty public school teacher salaries and teacher characteristics regional comparative data County-level statistics include: information on student/teacher ratios free lunch eligibility numbers of students and graduates attainment levels per-student expenditures"

Cover Art
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics - Brian S. Everitt
Call Number: QA 276.14 .E84 2002
ISBN: 052181099X
Publication Date: 2002-06-27
If you use statistics and need a useful, up-to-date reliable sourcebook of simple definitions and explanations of statistical and statistics-related concepts, then look no further than this dictionary. Over 3,500 terms are defined, a 16% increase over the first edition, covering medical, survey, theoretical, applied statistics, and other topics. The second edition features new entries in the areas of genetics and bioinformatics, and includes short biographies of over 100 important statisticians. The majority of definitions include a reference to a book or article where the user can seek an extended account of a term, and many are accompanied by graphical material to aid understanding. Brian Everitt is Head of the Biostatistics and Computing Department at the Institute of Psychiatry in the University of London. He is the author of nearly forty books on statistics and over eighty journal articles. He has served on numerous journal editorial boards and international conference committees, and is a well-known figure in the world of statistics and statistical computing. 1st Edition (1998) Hb. 0-521-59346-8

Cover Art
The SAGE Dictionary of Statistics : a practical resource for students in the social sciences - Duncan Cramer; Dennis Laurence Howitt
Call Number: HA 17 .S129 2004
ISBN: 076194138X
Publication Date: 2004-06-09
`The authors make excellent use of illustrative examples' - Reference Reviews The SAGE Dictionary of Statistics provides students and researchers with an accessible and definitive resource to use when studying statistics in the social sciences, reading research reports and undertaking data analysis. Written by leading academics in the field of methodology and statistics, the Dictionary will be an essential study guide for the first-time researcher as well as a primary resource for more advanced study. This is a practical and concise dictionary that serves the everyday uses of statistics across the whole range of social science disciplines. It offers basic and straightforward definitions of key concepts, followed by more detailed step-by-step explanations of situating specific methods and techniques. It also contains lists of related concepts to help the user to draw connections across various fields and increase their overall understand of a specific technique. A list of key readings helps to reinforce the aim of the Dictionary as an invaluable learning resource. Designed specifically for students and those new to research, and written in a lively and engaging manner, this Dictionary is an essential reference work for students and researchers across the social sciences.

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

More Statistics Books

Cover Art
Statistical Handbook on Infectious Diseases - Sarah B. Watstein; John Jovanovic
Call Number: qRA 643 .W33 2003
ISBN: 1573563757
Publication Date: 2003-02-28
This statistical handbook is designed to offer students, researchers, practitioners, and the general adult population a comprehensive statistical overview of the status of infectious disease worldwide. The availability of this information has increased dramatically on the Internet, yet the data are often too extensive, hard to find, or difficult to interpret. A carefully selected array of tables and charts present authoritative statistical information, placing valuable statistics into context with introductory text. Detailed source information in each table, figure, and chart allows the user to pursue further information and uncover the stories behind the numbers. The book concludes with a glossary of key terms, bibliography, guide to information sources available on the Internet, and a detailed index.

Cover Art
Statistical Handbook on the World's Children - Chandrika Kaul
Call Number: qHQ 767.9 .K38 2002
ISBN: 1573563900
Publication Date: 2001-12-30
At the beginning of the 21st century, there is a growing global consciousness of the issues affecting children and a commitment to address them. The Statistical Handbook on the World's Children responds to the significant need for a comprehensive collection of international statistical material on children that can be quickly accessed and easily understood by the general researcher. Organized into eight sections covering such general subject areas as demography, education, health and nutrition, disease, economics, social life, and crime, the Handbook offers data on some of the most important aspects of these broad-ranging topics. Each section begins with a general introduction and explanation of indicators to help the user make sense of the data, which is drawn from a wide range of recognized sources including: the United Nations, the World Health Organization, the International Criminal Police Organization, the U.S. Census Bureau, the World Bank, as well as regional and government reports, studies from nongovernmental organizations, and private research papers. Care has been taken to capture the latest available data for all indicators and Web citations, where available, are included in the source notes. More than just another statistical reference, the Handbook concludes with an appendix containing the text of several of the most important international documents related to children as well as a glossary of useful terms, and a list of key organizations devoted to children.

Cover Art
World Christian Encyclopedia : a comparative survey of churches and religions in the modern world - David B. Barrett (Contribution by); George Thomas Kurian (Contribution by); Todd M. Johnson (Contribution by)
Call Number: qBR 157 .W67 2001 v. 1 - v. 2
ISBN: 019510319X
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
This two-volume reference presents a comprehensive overview of contemporary Christianity in all its many versions and in both its religious and secular contexts.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip