JAMA/PubMedHealth - Library's Subscription DatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesHealth VideosGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesHealth Links/Health StatisticsFlorida Health and Medical Calculators LinksKhan Academy - Health and MedicineInternational Resources
eBooksDatabasesCredo ReferenceGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesHealth Statistics
Health Professions and DisciplinesDentistryDiseases and DisordersPublic Health Policy
eBooksIndividual Nutrition eBooksCurrent IssuesDatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesCredo Reference - NutritionGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesNutrition Links
Health Issues - BooksMore Health BookseBooksIndividual eBooks - HealthIndividual eBooks - Health CareIndividual Health Issues eBooksebray Academic eBooks Searchable Information Centers
eBooksIndividual Anatomy eBooksAnatomy - Library's Subscription DatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesHuman AnatomyHuman Anatomy - OrgansHealth VideosAnatomy/Health Links
eBooksBiochemistry - Library's Subscription DatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesHealth/Biochemistry VideosBiochemistry Links
This is the "Individual eBooks - Health" page of the "Health and Medical Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health and Medical Research  

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/medical Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Individual eBooks - Health Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Individual eBooks - Health

The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.

Log-in: Warner email account.

Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine (GVRL)

 Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine

Description: Offers an up-to-date, comprehensive, and accessible resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters

The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine (GVRL) 

The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine

Description: Covers all aspects of the subject including therapies, conditions/diseases, herbs/plants, and people. Identifies numerous types of alternative medicine being practiced today, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda and osteopathy.


The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence (GVRL)    

The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence

Description: Provides in-depth coverage of pediatric diseases and disorders, with issues related to physical and cognitive and behavioral development. Covers every major body system. There is a distinct emphasis on health issues affecting children under the age of four.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health (GVRL)

  

The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health

Description: This set provides more than 1,000 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health written for students and professionals in the field. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, and respiratory therapy.

  The Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness (GVRL)

The Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness

Description: Covers 300 topics on physiology and fitness, including coverage of Healthy People 2010/2020, the nationwide initiative sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to improve the nation's health, as well as topics on diseases and conditions related to fitness.

 The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders (GVRL) 

The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders

Description: Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine (GVRL)

The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine

Description: Includes information on more than 1,700 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders

The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders

Description: Provides understandable yet detailed information on mental disorders and conditions, written in language understandable to the adult layperson. Includes entries for all 150 disorders classified in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, text revision (DSM-IV-TR). It also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders (GVRL)

The Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders

Description: Provides in-depth coverage of neurological diseases and disorders, including stroke, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson disease, Tourette Syndrome, Alzheimer's disease, cerebral palsy, vertigo, amnesia, and epilepsy, targeted to patients, their families and allied health students. Related topics include communication aids, electric personal assistive mobility devices, medications, and the needs of Alzheimer patient caregivers among others.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health (GVRL)

The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health

Description: This set provides more than 1,000 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health written for students and professionals in the field. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, and respiratory therapy.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health (GVRL)

The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health

Description: Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia provides coverage of important public health concerns. Topics include diseases and conditions, health and wellness efforts, nutrition, ethics and law related topics and statistics, sanitation issues, and everyday environmental effects.

 

More Individual Health eBooks

The Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health: A Guide for Seniors and Their Caregivers (GVRL)

The Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health: A Guide for Seniors and Their Caregiver

Description: Covers various issues related to one's aging body, how diseases affect it, and treatment options, including medications, for said diseases for this population. Also includes topics specific to the aging population, but beyond descriptions of medical diagnoses.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests (GVRL)

 The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests

Description: Provides coverage of numerous surgical procedures, medical tests and related topics, such as anesthetics, common lab test and procedures, medications and postoperative care. Entries for medical test and surgical include definition; purpose; demographic information; diagnosis/preparation; aftercare; risks; morbidity and mortality rates; alternatives; and more.

 Growth Disorders (GVRL)

Growth Disorders

Description: Covers symptoms, causes and effects, treatments, cures and medical advances for growth disorders.

  Health Care (GVRL)

Health Care

Description: Explores the issues surrounding health care. Presents diversity of opinion on the topic, including both conservative and liberal points of view in an even balance.

Healthy Living (GVRL)

Healthy Living

Description: This set is designed to be a one-stop-shop for young student's first learning about healthy habits and health issues in general. Topics include nutrition, exercise, environmental health, medicine and healthcare, mental health and self-esteem.

Human Diseases and Conditions, 2010 (GVRL)

Human Diseases and Conditions

Description: Presents information on numerous diseases and conditions. Articles include a definition of the disease or condition, an explanation of how it works in the body, information on causes, symptoms and diagnosis, treatment or cure, and lifestyles.

Infectious Diseases, 2008 (GVRL)

Infectious Diseases: In Context

Description: Covers the history, politics, and ethical debate related to infectious diseases. Includes articles on how such diseases impact trade and commerce, travel, and the future of industrialized and impoverished nations.

 Medical Ethics 9GVRL)

Medical Ethics

Description: Covers the history, politics, and ethical debate related to infectious diseases. Includes articles on how such diseases impact trade and commerce, travel, and the future of industrialized and impoverished nations.

Stem Cell Research

Stem Cell Research

Description: Explores the issue of stem cell research by placing opinions from a wide range of sources in a pro/con format. Features articles that express various perspectives on this topic

Universal Health Care (GVRL)

Universal Health Care

Description: Provides model essays on a current controversial issue guiding students in writing a five-paragraph essay, including persuasive, descriptive, expository and cause-and-effect essays. Includes guided reading and discussion questions to help students understand the essays themselves and target persuasive techniques authors use to compose convincing arguments. This volume covers the issue of universal health care.

UXL Encyclopedia of Diseases and Disorders (GVRL)

UXL Encyclopedia of Diseases and Disorders

Description: Contains numerous entries on medical conditions, from avian flu to warts. Entries cover infectious diseases, injuries, genetic disorders, and others.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip