JAMA/PubMedHealth - Library's Subscription DatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesHealth VideosGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesHealth Links/Health StatisticsFlorida Health and Medical Calculators LinksKhan Academy - Health and MedicineInternational Resources
eBooksDatabasesCredo ReferenceGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesHealth Statistics
Health Professions and DisciplinesDentistryDiseases and DisordersPublic Health Policy
eBooksIndividual Nutrition eBooksCurrent IssuesDatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesCredo Reference - NutritionGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesNutrition Links
Health Issues - BooksMore Health BookseBooksIndividual eBooks - HealthIndividual eBooks - Health CareIndividual Health Issues eBooksebray Academic eBooks Searchable Information Centers
eBooksIndividual Anatomy eBooksAnatomy - Library's Subscription DatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesHuman AnatomyHuman Anatomy - OrgansHealth VideosAnatomy/Health Links
eBooksBiochemistry - Library's Subscription DatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesHealth/Biochemistry VideosBiochemistry Links
This is the "More Health Books" page of the "Health and Medical Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health and Medical Research  

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/medical Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

More Health Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

More Health Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia and Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health - Miller-Keane; Marie T. O'Toole
Call Number: R 121 .M65 2003
ISBN: 1416026045
Publication Date: 2005-02-23
The Miller-Keane Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Allied Health is highly regarded for its accuracy, the clinical usefulness of its entries, and its multidisciplinary approach that encompasses current topics across the entire spectrum of health care. Trademark features include comprehensive encyclopedic entries, portable size, soft cover, printed thumb tabs, unique "Windows" essays, and a color A&P atlas. Organized by major terms with related terms defined as subentries, Miller-Keane's organization provides easy access to information on a variety of closely related topics in one location. Encyclopedic entries are included for significant topics, such as diseases, disorders, or conditions. These encyclopedic entries include the definition along with a concise overview of the most important information related to Symptoms, Treatment, Patient Care, Prevention, etc. Miller-Keane also includes an extensive list of appendices. Dorland's spellchecker software and a companion Evolve website supplement this edition making it a powerful tool to building and using a medical vocabulary for all health professionals. Includes more than 40,000 terms. Entries are either main entries or subentries. Subentries are compound terms that are based on the main entry, (i.e. myocardial is a main entry; myocardial infarction would be a subentry). Windows boxes throughout feature distinguished leaders in the health sciences who expand on the entries. Pronunciation guides enhance verbal communication skills. Tables provide at-a-glance information on a variety of subjects such as insurance-related terms, abbreviations used in health care reform, and many other topics. The vocabulary of the Unified Nursing Language System (UNLS), including NANDA, NIC, NOC, and the Omaha system provides a quick reference for standardized nursing languages. 14 Appendices present important info in a concise, easy-to-use format. Approximately 3,900 new terms provide extensive coverage for all areas of nursing, medicine, and allied health. Smaller trim size (5 ½ x 8 ½) and soft cover enhance portability and ease of use. New NANDA information has been incorporated throughout. New hot topics, such as HIPPA and SARS, added. An updated 32-page full color atlas of human anatomy and an expanded 8-page full color atlas of common disorders provide detailed visual references. Medical spellchecker CD-ROM, packaged with each copy of the text, includes more than 275,000 medical, nursing, and health professions terms. This has been updated for compatibility with the most recent operating systems in use. Appendix 14-3 has been updated to include new interventions from the most current NIC and definitions for each intervention are now included

Cover Art
Florida Commission on the Status of Women and the Florida Department of Health / Florida Commission on the status of Women; and Florida Department of Health - Florida Commission on the status of Women
Call Number: RA 564.85 .W6542 2008
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
Grey House Rare Disorders Directory - Grey House Publishing (Created by)
Call Number: RC 48.8 .G74 2006
ISBN: 159237123x
Publication Date: 2006-07-01
Approximately 700 rare disorders (those affecting fewer than 1 in 200,000 people) are listed in this volume written by medical professionals from Yale School of Medicine, who drew from sources such as textbooks, articles, and web resources. Profiles of disorders are arranged alphabetically and include alternate names, affected body systems, a description of causes, symptoms, and treatment, and resources such as organizations and support agencies. The second section provides profile descriptions and contact information for these organizations, federal agencies, publications, and websites, all organized by body system. A sampling of disorders: botulism, bubonic plague, chromosomal anomalies, Creutzfeldt Jakob Disease, muscular dystrophy, malignant melanoma, and yellow fever. Annotation ©2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Cover Art
Macmillan Health Encyclopedia - Macmillan Library Reference Staff
Call Number: RA 776 .M174 1999 v. 1 - v. 9
ISBN: 0028650360
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
Since the publication of the original Macmillan Health Encyclopaedia, scientific and societal changes have taken place. Advances have been made in medicine and new diseases have appeared, old diseases re-emerged and new medications and health delivery systems have been established.

Cover Art
Our Bodies, Ourselves: a new edition for a new era - Boston Women's Health Book Collective Staff
Call Number: RA 778 .N49 2005
ISBN: 0743256115
Publication Date: 2005-04-19
America's best-selling book on all aspects of women's healthWith more than four million copies sold,Our Bodies, Ourselvesistheclassic resource that women of all ages can turn to for information about every aspect of their well-being. Completely revised for the first time in a decade, these pages give women everything they need for making key decisions about their health -- from definitive information from today's leading experts to personal stories from other women just like them. This updated edition ofOur Bodies, Ourselvesincludes the latest on:• Nutrition and exercise• Relationships, sexuality, and sexual health• Complementary health practices• Reproductive choices, pregnancy, and childbearing• Growing older• Medical testing and proceduresTogether with its companion website (www.ourbodiesourselves.org),Our Bodies, Ourselvesis a one-stop resource for women of all generations.Plus: The rearranged food pyramid, a chapter about sexual orientation and gender identity, advice for making safer sex more fun, the latest on breast-feeding, support for women experiencing pregnancy loss, and a section devoted to getting the best care in today's complicated health care system.

Cover Art
Smoking Concerns Sourcebook: basic consumer health information about nicotine addiction and smoking cessation ... - Karen Bellenir (Editor)
Call Number: RA 1242 .T6 S589 2004
ISBN: 078080323X
Publication Date: 2004-07-01
Basic Consumer Health Information about Nicotine Addiction and Smoking Cessation, Featuring Facts about the Health Effects of Tobacco Use, Including Lung and Other Cancers, Heart Disease, Stroke, and Respiratory Disorders, Such as Emphysema and Chronic Bronchitis Along with Information about Smoking Prevention Programs, Suggestions for Achieving and Maintaining a Smoke-Free Lifestyle, Statistics about Tobacco Use, Reports on Current Research Initiatives, a Glossary of Related Terms, and Directories of Resources for Additional Help and Information.

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

More Health Books

Cover Art
The Cornell Illustrated Encyclopedia of Health - Antonio M. Gotto (Editor)
Call Number: R 125 .C674 2002
ISBN: 0895261863
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
This enormous, comprehensive volume contains more than 1,200 illustrated pages of definitions and diagnoses on virtually every medical condition known to man, plus treatment and preventative tips for many ailments. This edition contains a special emergency and first aid section with more than 100 entries arranged alphabetically and elaborately presented for quick reference.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Brain and Brain Disorders - Carol Turkington; Joseph Harris
Call Number: QP 376 .T87 2009
ISBN: 0816063958
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Praise for the previous edition: "...recommended for school and public libraries..."—American Reference Books Annual "...[an] accessible reference...much of interest here..."—Booklist "...useful...extensive...well organized..."—Choice The Encyclopedia of the Brain and Brain Disorders, Third Edition is a significant update to the original that now also includes a substantial amount of new material on memory, updated from The Encyclopedia of Memory and Memory Disorders. More than 1,000 entries cover all aspects of the brain, from anatomy, function, and development to diseases and disorders. With a large focus on memory, one of the mind’s most important and mysterious functions, this extensive volume discusses the functions and elements of memory, how it works, how it breaks down, and various diseases and disorders that affect it. Helpful organizations, current advances in research, and up-to-date information on diagnosis and treatment of brain diseases complete this in-depth resource. Topics include: Aging and the brain Brain cancer and other diseases Causes of memory loss Development of thoughts, feelings, and memories Learning processes Nutrition and the brain Parts of the brain Technology for studying the brain and diagnosing diseases Treatments for diseases that affect the brain and memory Types of memory and more.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders - Dana K. Cassell; David H. Gleaves
Call Number: RC 552 .E18 C37 2006
ISBN: 0816061971
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Praise for the previous edition: "...accurate, concise information concerning eating behaviors in a user-friendly format...Certainly topical, this encyclopedia will be most welcome in both the young adult and adult departments of public libraries of any size, community college libraries and undergraduate libraries, and high-school libraries."—Booklist The entries, clearly written and easily understood, will help readers find more information...An important addition to most public, special, and academic libraries."—Choice The Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders, Third Edition is more relevant now than ever before. Presently almost two-thirds of American adults are overweight and 31 percent are obese. Eating disorders are now affecting a wider range of the population, particularly with increased diagnoses in men and boys, and the anti-carb craze has swept the country with potentially long-lasting ramifications for health and diet. New research has identified significant cultural and racial factors connected to obesity and eating disorders, and new products, such as neutriceuticals, have hit the market, contributing to misconceptions and uncertainty about healthy diets. This revised and expanded edition includes more than 450 entries, more than 140 of them new. Complete with a history of obesity and eating disorders; chronology of key events, research, and breakthroughs; tables listing key facts and statistics; and a directory of resources and Web sites, this single-volume reference is the first stop in any serious research of these troubling health afflictions. New and revised entries include: Advertising and obesity Anorexia nervosa Atkins diet Biotech foods Body mass index Bulimia nervosa Cancer links to obesity Dietary supplements Food addiction Genetic factors in eating disorders Infant eating disorders Media influence on eating disorders Mind hunger Obesity as a class issue Purging disorder School and obesity.

Cover Art
The Graying of America: an encyclopedia of aging, health, mind, and behavior - Donald H. Kausler; Barry C. Kausler
Call Number: HQ 1064 .U5 K39 2001
ISBN: 0252026357
Publication Date: 2001-03-20
This second edition of The Graying of America greatly expands and updates the most comprehensive reference book on aging that is readily accessible to the lay reader.Featuring nontechnical language, user-friendly indexes, and more than 150 new entries, the second edition covers new topics such as acupuncture, wheelchairs, adjusting to bifocals, preparing for traveling, improving communication with physicians, and avoiding eye strain in computer use. Among other updates are more detailed coverage of health problems including arthritis, diabetes, osteoporosis, and various kinds of cancer, as well as advice on reducing the stress of caring for a family member with Alzheimer's disease. In addition to discussing hundreds of common ailments and conditions, Kausler and Kausler provide constructive guidance on regular physical activity, mental stimulation, and other behaviors that promote "successful aging."

Cover Art
The Johns Hopkins Consumer Guide to Medical Tests: what you can expect, how you should prepare, what your results mean - Simeon Margolis; Johns Hopkins University Hospital Staff
Call Number: RC 71.3 .J64 2001
ISBN: 092966163X
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Intended to help patients understand the purpose of specific tests and to make informed decisions about diagnostic/treatement options. It provides detailed information on hundreds of sophisticated procedures.

Cover Art
The New Harvard Guide to Women's Health - Karen J. Carlson; Stephanie A. Eisenstat; Terra Ziporyn
Call Number: RA 778 .C2164 2004
ISBN: 0674013433
Publication Date: 2004-04-06
With the publication in 1996 of The Harvard Guide to Women's Health, women seeking answers to questions about their health had access to the combined expertise of physicians from three of the world's most prestigious medical institutions: Harvard Medical School, Massachusetts General Hospital, and Brigham and Women's Hospital. With complete information on women's health concerns, physical and behavioral, this A to Z reference quickly became a definitive resource, praised especially for its coverage of topics not previously considered under the umbrella of women's health. The New Harvard Guide to Women's Health reunites the authors to bring a valued health reference up to date for a new generation--and for those women who have come to rely on the Harvard Guide and are now wondering what to do about their health as they enter a new stage of life, asking questions like the following: I've been on hormone replacement therapy. Should I stop? How? Could this rash be lupus? I've been on the Pill. What is my risk for stroke? Fat is bad, fat is good: What should I believe? And what's left to eat? When does ordinary worry become chronic anxiety? What screening tests do I need now? In addition to revised recommendations reflecting the current medical thinking on menopause and hormone replacement therapy, the New Harvard Guide includes updated recommendations about cardiac health and heart disease--the #1 killer of women in the United States entries reflecting recent advances in the understanding and treatment of autoimmune diseases better coverage of health concerns throughout a woman's life span, from her first period to menopause and beyond, with a new entry on perimenopause expanded nutritional recommendations, including a unique chart of the U.S. government's Daily Reference Intakes for micronutrients, broken down for teens and women whose needs may differ because they are pregnant, breastfeeding, or postmenopausal updated information on over-the-counter medications, prescription drugs, procedures, screenings, and diagnostic tests

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip