EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
DatabasesInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesReferenceHealth Videos
eBooksDatabasesInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Health Professions and DisciplinesDentistryDiseases and DisordersPublic Health Policy
Health Issues: BooksMore Health Books
eBooksDatabasesReference/VideosInternational Resources - Google Scholar/Writing Resources
eBooksDatabasesImage Quest/Google Scholar/ Writing/International ResourcesCredo Reference: Human AnatomyHuman Anatomy: OrgansAnatomy /Health Links/Health Videos/Khan Academy: Anatomy and Physiology
eBooksCurrent Issues/Nutrition LinksDatabasesReferenceCredo Reference: NutritionInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Florida Health/Calculators/Khan Academy: Health and Medicine
Individual eBooks: HealthIndividual eBooks: Health CareIndividual eBooks: Health Issues eBooksebray Academic eBooks Searchable Information Centers
This is the "Public Health Policy" page of the "Health and Medical Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health and Medical Research  

Last Updated: Nov 21, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/medical Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Public Health Policy Print Page
  Search: 
 

Government Agencies

  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
    From Science in the Contemporary World: An Encyclopedia
    Founded in 1946 as part of the United States Public Health Service, the Communicable Disease Center (CDC) first used a building from the defunct Office of Malaria Control in War Areas in Atlanta, Georgia.
  • Department of Health & Human Services (HHS)
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    Federal executive department charged with administering government health programs.
  • Environmental Protection Agency (EPA): Topic Page
    Agency established to safeguard the environment.
  • Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
    From the The Columbia Encyclopedia
    Agency of the Public Health Service division of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. It is charged with protecting public health by ensuring that foods are safe and pure, cosmetics and other chemical substances harmless, and products safe, effective, and honestly labeled.
  • Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
    from Nursing Leadership
    The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) was created in 1982 when two parent agencies, the Health Resources Administration and the Health Services Administration, combined. The HRSA is an agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and is the principal federal division aimed at improving health care access to vulnerable and special needs populations (HRSA, 2010a). Six bureaus and 13 offices are coordinated through HRSA, thereby offering specialized grants to medical and nursing professionals across the United States and to U.S. territories. Examples include the HIV/AIDS Bureau, which houses the Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program that gives core medical treatment and support programs to roughly 530,000 low-income Americans (HRSA, 2010b). The Bureau of Primary Health Care financially supports 7,900 health clinics that provide health care services to 19 million low-income and uninsured Americans (HRSA, 2010c).
  • National Institutes of Health (NIH)
    From the The Columbia Encyclopedia
    Agency of the U.S. Public Health Service, with headquarters in Bethesda, Md. It was established initially in 1887 as a laboratory in the U.S. Marine Hospital on Staten Island in New York City, and was given its present name in 1948.
  • National Library of Medicine (NLM)
    from Macmillan Dictionary of Toxicology
    A division of US Health and Human Services, located in Bethesda, Maryland. As well as serving as a central library for such government organizations as the National Institutes of Health and the Armed Services Medical School, also located in Bethesda, the National Library of Medicine maintains and makes available computer databases, several of which are of importance to toxicology. They include the Toxicology Data Base, Toxline, Medline and others.
  • Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
    From The Great American History Fact-Finder
    A federal agency of the Department of Labor established by Congress in 1970 to maintain safe conditions in the workplace.
  • Surgeon General of the United States
    From The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
    The chief general officer in the medical departments of the US Army, Navy, or Air Force.
  • United Nations: Topic Page
    The United Nations (U.N.) is both an international organization and a transnational association of countries. Its primary mission is to maintain world peace and security and promote social development and human rights.
  • United States Department of Agriculture (USDA): Topic Page
    Federal executive department established in 1862, whose head was made a cabinet member in 1889. The department administers federal programs related to food production and rural life.
  • World Health Organization (WHO)
    from Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
    Definition: The World Health Organization (WHO) is the directing and coordinating agency for health within the United Nations (UN).

Policies & Topics in Public Health

  • Air Pollution: Topic Page
    Contamination of the air by noxious gases and minute particles of solid and liquid matter (particulates) in concentrations that endanger health.
  • Biodiversity: Topic Page
    Biodiversity is generally used to refer to all aspects of variability evident within the living world, including diversity within and between individuals, populations, species, communities, and ecosystems.
  • Environmentalism: Topic Page
    Emerged out of concerns over pollution, global warming, soil erosion, deforestation, waste disposal, and resource depletion.
  • Food Poisoning: Topic Page
    Acute illness following the eating of foods contaminated by bacteria, bacterial toxins, natural poisons, or harmful chemical substances.
  • Health Care: Topic Page
    Health care refers to services provided by medical professionals aimed at promoting physical and mental welfare, through the prevention, treatment, and management of illness.
  • Health Promotion
    From Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine
    Health promotion is any planned combination of educational, political, regulatory and organizational supports for actions and conditions of living conducive to the health of individuals, groups, or communities.
  • Human Nutrition: Topic Page
    Securing adequate food supplies and necessary nutrition is a global concern. The production, distribution, and consumption of food are matters that concern governments, corporations, and individuals everywhere.
  • Human Rights: Topic Page
    A right is an entitlement that is usually encoded in a legal context (see law). One can distinguish between human rights and citizenship rights.
  • Immunization: Topic Page
    Process of conferring immunity to infectious disease by artificial methods, in other words making someone not liable to catch a disease.
  • Pollution: Topic Page
    The concept of pollution consists of the inappropriate or undesirable mixing of items or elements that may in themselves be quite appropriate or desirable.
  • Population Studies
    From Science in the Contemporary World: An Encyclopedia
    Since 1950, scientists and other people have become increasingly worried about the growing human population of Earth. ... Many commentators have pointed to modern medicine as the major cause of this upsurge in population.
  • Science and Public Health
    From the Encyclopedia of American Studies
    The connection between science and the health of the American public evolved late in the nineteenth century. Innovations during the twentieth century brought radical changes to health care.
  • Standard of Living: Topic Page
    Level of consumption that an individual, group, or nation has achieved.
  • Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)
    The food stamp program is a federal program to help low-income people buy food.
  • Vaccination: Topic Page
    Means of producing immunity against pathogens, such as viruses and bacteria, by the introduction of live, killed, or altered antigens that stimulate the body to produce antibodies against more dangerous forms.
  • Water Pollution: Topic Page
    Contamination of water resources by harmful wastes.
  • Water-supply: Topic Page
    Process or activity by which water is provided for some use, e.g., to a home, factory, or business. The term may also refer to the supply of water provided in this way.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip