JAMA/PubMedHealth - Library's Subscription DatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesHealth VideosGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesHealth Links/Health StatisticsFlorida Health and Medical Calculators LinksKhan Academy - Health and MedicineInternational Resources
eBooksDatabasesCredo ReferenceGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesHealth Statistics
Health Professions and DisciplinesDentistryDiseases and DisordersPublic Health Policy
eBooksIndividual Nutrition eBooksCurrent IssuesDatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesCredo Reference - NutritionGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesNutrition Links
Health Issues - BooksMore Health BookseBooksIndividual eBooks - HealthIndividual eBooks - Health CareIndividual Health Issues eBooksebray Academic eBooks Searchable Information Centers
eBooksIndividual Anatomy eBooksAnatomy - Library's Subscription DatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesHuman AnatomyHuman Anatomy - OrgansHealth VideosAnatomy/Health Links
eBooksBiochemistry - Library's Subscription DatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesHealth/Biochemistry VideosBiochemistry Links
This is the "Health Professions and Disciplines" page of the "Health and Medical Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health and Medical Research  

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/medical Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Health Professions and Disciplines Print Page
  Search: 
 

Medical Specialties

  • Anesthesia: Topic Page
    Medical specialty dealing with anesthesia and related matters, including resuscitation and pain.
  • Cardiology
    From Reader's Guide to the History of Science
    Cardiology is now held to be the study of the heart and its diseases, although the field is at times taken also to encompass the study of blood vessels and their diseases.

  • Dermatology
    From Columbia Encyclopedia
    Branch of medicine concerned with diagnosis and treatment of diseases and disorders of the skin. Dermatologists also study the structure and function of the skin, and the relationship between skin pathologies and malfunctions of other organs of the body
  • Endocrinology
    From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
    Medical discipline dealing with regulation of body functions by hormones and other biochemicals and treatment of endocrine system imbalances.
  • Geriatrics: Topic Page
    The branch of medicine concerned with the care of the elderly, and with the diagnosis and treatment of diseases and disorders associated with aging.
  • Gynecology
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    Branch of medicine specializing in the disorders of the female reproductive system.
  • Neurology
    From the Encyclopedia of 20th Century Technology
    Study of the morphology, physiology, and pathology of the human nervous system. Since the brain, spine, and eye are integral part of the nervous system, the domain of neurology overlaps that of psychiatry, orthopedics and ophthalmology.
  • Obstetrics
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    Branch of medicine concerned with the treatment of women during pregnancy, labor, childbirth (see birth), and the time after childbirth. Obstetrics is often combined with gynecology as a medical specialty.
  • Oncology
    From The McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
    The study of cancer. There are five major areas of oncology: etiology, prevention, biology, diagnosis, and treatment. As a clinical discipline, it draws upon a wide variety of medical specialties.
  • Ophthalmology: Topic Page
    Branch of medicine specializing in the anatomy, function and diseases of the eye. Ophthalmologists specialize in the medical and surgical treatment of eye disorders, vision measurements for glasses (refraction), eye muscle exercises (orthoptics), and the prevention of blindness and care of the blind.
  • Orthopaedics: Topic Page
    Medical specialty concerned with the correction of disease or damage in bones and joints.
  • Pathology
    From Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
    The branch of medicine that deals with the essential nature of disease, especially of the structural and functional changes in tissues and organs of the body that cause or are caused by disease.
  • Pediatrics
    From The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
    Medical specialty dealing with the development, health, and diseases of children.
  • Primary Care
    From Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
    A physician who usually is the first health professional to examine a patient and who recommends secondary care physicians, medical or surgical specialists with expertise in the patient’s specific health problem, if further treatment is needed.
  • Psychiatry: Topic Page
    Branch of medicine that concerns the diagnosis and treatment of mental, emotional, and behavioral disorders, including major depression, schizophrenia, and anxiety.

Health Professions and Disciplines

  • Addiction: Topic Page
    State of dependence caused by frequent and regular use of drugs, alcohol, or other substances.
  • Alternative Medicine: Topic Page
    Approaches to the treatment of illness using procedures other than those recommended by orthodox medical science; also known as complementary medicine.
  • Anatomy: Topic Page
    Branch of biology concerned with the study of body structure of various organisms, including humans.
  • Dentistry: Topic Page
    The treatment and prevention of diseases of the mouth and teeth; with medicine and nursing, one of the major health professions.
  • Gene Therapy: Topic Page
    The application of genetic engineering techniques to alter or replace a defective gene or genes. The procedures are still at the experimental stage, but it is hoped that they could lead to the prevention of hereditary diseases such as haemophilia.
  • Medicine: Topic Page
    The science and art of treating and preventing disease.
  • Mental Health: Topic Page
    Well-being and soundness of mind, not only in terms of intellectual abilities, but also in terms of the capability to deal with everyday problems, and the capacity to get on well with other people and to form and sustain relationships.
  • Nursing: Topic Page
    Science of providing continuous care for sick or infirm people.
  • Nutrition: Topic Page
    Study of the materials that nourish an organism and of the manner in which the separate components are used for maintenance, repair, growth, and reproduction.
  • Pharmacology: Topic Page
    A branch of medical science which studies the actions, uses, and undesirable side-effects of drugs.
  • Pharmacy
    From The McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
    The health profession concerned with the discovery, development, production, and distribution of drugs. Drugs are substances (other than devices) used to diagnose, prevent, cure, or relieve the symptoms of disease.

Nursing Specialties

  • Clinical Nurse Specialist
    From Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
    A registered nurse who holds a master’s degree in nursing and who has acquired advanced knowledge and clinical skills in a specific area of nursing practice.
  • Midwife
    From Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
    (in traditional use) a (female) person who assists women in childbirth.
  • Nurse Anesthetist
    From Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
    A registered nurse qualified by advanced study in an accredited program in the specialty of nurse anesthesia to manage patient care during the administration of anesthesia in selected surgical situations.
  • Nurse Practitioner
    From Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
    A registered nurse who has advanced education in nursing (a master’s of science in nursing) and clinical experience in a specialized area of nursing practice. They collaborate with other health care providers to deliver primary care to patients.
  • Physician Assistant
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    Health-care professional who provides patient services ranging from taking medical histories and doing physical examinations to performing minor surgical procedures
  • Registered Nurse
    From Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
    A nurse who has graduated from an accredited school of nursing and has been registered and licensed to practice by a state authority.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip