EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
eBooksDatabases - PhysicsGeneral InformationAstrophysicsDynamicsMechanicsNuclear PhysicsObservational AstronomyOptics, Magnetism, & ElectricityRelativityGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - PhysicsKhan Academy Physics Links
eBooksDatabasesCredo ReferenceConcepts and TermsAstrophysicsAdvances in AstronomyAncient AstronomyEarly AstronomyModern AstronomyThe Night SkyObservational AstronomyGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - AstronomyKhan Academy - Cosmology and Astronomy Links
eBooks - IndividualMore eBooks - IndividualSubscription eBooksDatabasesHot Topics/ReferenceMarine Biology Links
More Animals BookseBooksDatabases - AnimalsOther Electronic ResourcesCredo Reference/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesHabitatsUseful links - Animals, etc. (Birds) Links
eBooksDatabasesCredo Reference/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesBiology ABiology B and CAnatomy & PhysiologyBiochemistryEcology & BiodiversityScientists AScientists BZoologyUseful Links - Biology and Plant LinksKhan Academy - Biology
eBooksDatabasesCredo Reference/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - ChemistryKhan Academy - Chemisty/Organic Chemistry
More Ecology BookseBooksDatabases - EcologyOther Electronic ResourcesConcepts - Credo ReferenceHabitatsNatural PhenomenaThreats to the EnvironmentMovements and EnvironmentalistsGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - Ecology and Weather Links
eBooksIndividual eBooksScience Current Issues/ebrary Searchable Information CentersDatabasesScience - Other Electronic ResourcesGoogle Scholar/International/Writing ResourcesCredo Reference - Science OverviewKhan Academy - Health and Medicine/ScienceScience LinksScience Videos
This is the "More Ecology Books" page of the "Science Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science Research  

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/mainscience Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

More Ecology Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

More Ecology Books

Cover Art
A Companion to Global Environmental History - J. R. McNeill (Editor); Erin Stewart Mauldin (Editor)
Call Number: GF 13 .C63 2012
ISBN: 9781444335347
Publication Date: 2012-11-05
<i>The Companion to Global Environmental History</i> offers multiple points of entry into the history and historiography of this dynamic and fast-growing field, to provide an essential road map to past developments, current controversies, and future developments for specialists and newcomers alike. <ul> <li>Combines temporal, geographic, thematic and contextual approaches from prehistory to the present day</li> <li>Explores environmental thought and action around the world, to give readers a cultural, intellectual and political context for engagement with the environment in modern times</li> <li>Brings together environmental historians from around the world, including scholars from South Africa, Brazil, Germany, and China</li> </ul>

Cover Art
Dictionary of Ecology and Environment - Peter Hodgson Collin
Call Number: QH 540.4 .C65 2001
ISBN: 1901659615
Publication Date: 2001-04-01
A basic vocabulary of 8,500 words and expressions covering a range of topics relating to ecology, including climate, vegetation, pollution, waste disposal, and energy conservation. The definitions are in simple English with examples of the words used in context and encyclopaedic comments. Special supplements include a classification of living organisms, a table of population growth, lists of endangered species, and incidences of natural and man-made disasters.

Cover Art
Easier English Dictionary of Environment and Ecology - Peter Collin (Editor)
Call Number: QH 540.4 .C65 2004
ISBN: 1904970133
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
More than 8,000 terms are listed in this updated edition, covering topics that range from soil science, climatology, and agriculture (including genetically modified and organic foods) to non-governmental organizations, pollution, waste management, environmental protection, and endangered species. Includes a phonetic pronunciation guide and sample sentences to aid usage.

Cover Art
Ecology of Fishes on Coral Reefs - Camilo Mora (Editor)
Call Number: qQL 620.45 .E26 2015
ISBN: 9781107089181
Publication Date: 2015-04-23
The local diversity and global richness of coral reef fishes, along with the diversity manifested in their morphology, behaviour and ecology, provides fascinating and diverse opportunities for study. Reflecting the very latest research in a broad and ever-growing field, this comprehensive guide is a must-read for anyone interested in the ecology of fishes on coral reefs. Featuring contributions from leaders in the field, the 36 chapters cover the full spectrum of current research. They are presented in five parts, considering coral reef fishes in the context of ecology; patterns and processes; human intervention and impacts; conservation; and past and current debates. Beautifully illustrated in full-colour, this book is designed to summarise and help build upon current knowledge and to facilitate further research. It is an ideal resource for those new to the field as well as for experienced researchers.

Cover Art
Ecology of Freshwater and Estuarine Wetlands - Darold P. Batzer (Editor); Rebecca R. Sharitz (Editor)
Call Number: qQH 541.5 .M3 E266 2014
ISBN: 9780520278585
Publication Date: 2014-12-06
This second edition of this important and authoritative survey provides students and researchers with up-to-date and accessible information about the ecology of freshwater and estuarine wetlands. Prominent scholars help students understand both general concepts of different wetland types as well as complex topics related to these dynamic physical environments. Careful syntheses review wetland soils, hydrology, and geomorphology; abiotic constraints for wetland plants and animals; microbial ecology and biogeochemistry; development of wetland plant communities; wetland animal ecology; and carbon dynamics and ecosystem processes. In addition, contributors document wetland regulation, policy, and assessment in the US and provide a clear roadmap for adaptive management and restoration of wetlands. New material also includes an expanded review of the consequences for wetlands in a changing global environment. Ideally suited for wetlands ecology courses, Ecology of Freshwater and Estuarine Wetlands, Second Edition, includes updated content, enhanced images (many in color), and innovative pedagogical elements that guide students and interested readers through the current state of our wetlands.

Cover Art
Freshwater Algae of North America: ecology and classification - John D. Wehr (Editor); Robert G. Sheath (Editor); R. Patrick Kociolek (Editor); J. Patrick Kociolek (Editor)
Call Number: qQK 570.5 .F74 2015
ISBN: 9780123858764
Publication Date: 2015-06-26
Freshwater Algae of North America: Ecology and Classification, Second Edition is an authoritative and practical treatise on the classification, biodiversity, and ecology of all known genera of freshwater algae from North America. The book provides essential taxonomic and ecological information about one of the most diverse and ubiquitous groups of organisms on earth. This single volume brings together experts on all the groups of algae that occur in fresh waters (also soils, snow, and extreme inland environments). In the decade since the first edition, there has been an explosion of new information on the classification, ecology, and biogeography of many groups of algae, with the use of molecular techniques and renewed interest in biological diversity. Accordingly, this new edition covers updated classification information of most algal groups and the reassignment of many genera and species, as well as new research on harmful algal blooms. Extensive and complete Describes every genus of freshwater algae known from North America, with an analytical dichotomous key, descriptions of diagnostic features, and at least one image of every genus. Full-color images throughout provide superb visual examples of freshwater algae Updated Environmental Issues and Classifications, including new information on harmful algal blooms (HAB) Fully revised introductory chapters, including new topics on biodiversity, and taste and odor problems Updated to reflect the rapid advances in algal classification and taxonomy due to the widespread use of DNA technologies

Cover Art
How to Do Ecology: a concise handbook - Richard Karban; Mikaela Huntzinger; Ian S. Pearse
Call Number: QH 541.2 .K384 2014
ISBN: 9781400851263
Publication Date: 2014-07-21
Most books and courses in ecology cover facts and concepts but don’t explain how to actually do ecological research. How to Do Ecology provides nuts-and-bolts advice on organizing and conducting a successful research program. This one-of-a-kind book explains how to choose a research question and answer it through manipulative experiments and systematic observations. Because science is a social endeavor, the book provides strategies for working with other people, including professors and collaborators. It suggests effective ways to communicate your findings in the form of journal articles, oral presentations, posters, and grant and research proposals. The book also includes ideas to help you identify your goals, organize a season of fieldwork, and deal with negative results. In short, it makes explicit many of the unspoken assumptions behind doing good research in ecology and provides an invaluable resource for meaningful conversations between ecologists. This second edition of How to Do Ecology features new sections on conducting and analyzing observational surveys, job hunting, and becoming a more creative researcher, as well as updated sections on statistical analyses.

 

More Ecology Books

Cover Art
Ocean Sustainability in the 21st Century - Salvatore Aricò (Editor)
Call Number: GC 1018 .O238 2015
ISBN: 9781107100138
Publication Date: 2015-03-18
Describing the emerging and unresolved issues related to the oceans and the marine environment, this book presents the developments made in marine science and policy since the implementation of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS), and implications for the sustainable management of ocean areas and resources. This comprehensive volume also provides a number of scientific, policy, and legal tools to address such issues, and to ensure better science-based management of the oceans. Topics covered include the impacts of human-induced climate change on the oceans, the marine genetic resources debate, the current legal framework for the oceans, and a comparative study of the legal issues associated with outer space. Including practical examples and worldwide case studies, this book is a valuable resource for policy makers, students and academics, in marine science and policy, ocean affairs, and the law of the sea.

Cover Art
River of Interests: water management in south Florida and the Everglades, 1948-2010 - Matthew C. Godfrey; Theodore Catton; Army Corps of Engineers (US) Staff (Editor); Historical Research Associates Staff (Editor)
Call Number: qQH 105 .F6 G63 2012
ISBN: 9780160901348
Publication Date: 2012-07-24
nbsp;"River of Interests: Water Management in South Florida and the Everglades, 1948-2010," is a history of the construction of the Central and Southern Flood Control Project (C&SF) and the project's unintended impacts on the environment, and the evolution of the Comprehensive Everglades Restoration Plan (CERP). In 1948 Congress answered the outcry of Florida residents for both flood protection and a more reliable drinking water supply by authorizing the Central and Southern Flood Control Project, otherwise known as the C&SF Project. Shortly thereafter, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers began construction on one of the nation's largest infrastructure projects. While the project served its intended purposes far better than ever anticipated, it also caused extensive damage to the naturally occurring ecosystems of south Florida, including the Everglades ecosystem located within and beyond Everglades National Park.

Cover Art
Soil Microbiology, Ecology and Biochemistry - Eldor A. Paul
Call Number: QR 111 .P335 2015
ISBN: 9780124159556
Publication Date: 2014-11-13
The fourth edition of Soil Microbiology, Ecology and Biochemistry updates this widely used reference as the study and understanding of soil biota, their function, and the dynamics of soil organic matter has been revolutionized by molecular and instrumental techniques, and information technology. Knowledge of soil microbiology, ecology and biochemistry is central to our understanding of organisms and their processes and interactions with their environment. In a time of great global change and increased emphasis on biodiversity and food security, soil microbiology and ecology has become an increasingly important topic. Revised by a group of world-renowned authors in many institutions and disciplines, this work relates the breakthroughs in knowledge in this important field to its history as well as future applications. The new edition provides readable, practical, impactful information for its many applied and fundamental disciplines. Professionals turn to this text as a reference for fundamental knowledge in their field or to inform management practices. New section on "Methods in Studying Soil Organic Matter Formation and Nutrient Dynamics" to balance the two successful chapters on microbial and physiological methodology Includes expanded information on soil interactions with organisms involved in human and plant disease Improved readability and integration for an ever-widening audience in his field Integrated concepts related to soil biota, diversity, and function allow readers in multiple disciplines to understand the complex soil biota and their function

Cover Art
The American Sea: a natural history of the Gulf of Mexico - Rezneat Milton Darnell
Call Number: qQH 92.3 .D37 2015
ISBN: 9781623492823
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
For more than a decade, Rezneat Darnell worked on this major synthesis of what is known about the Gulf of Mexico. His goal: to bring a deeper understanding of "the American Sea" to students, scientists, managers, and educated citizens of the public at large. The American Sea builds on Darnell's own research, the research of his graduate students, government agency research reports, data synthesis reports, and literature summaries to present a holistic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Although he is recognized as a pioneer in the study of continental shelf ecology, Darnell largely resisted specialization, remaining throughout his career "the writer and bringer together of things." Here, he has written a book that embraces history, geology, geography, meteorology, chemistry, biology, ecology, and human relations in one comprehensive reference. Although it is thorough and meticulous in coverage, what comes through in these pages is the enormity, complexity, and mystery of the world that lies just beyond the Texas vacation beach, the Louisiana wetland, or the Mexico fishing village. In addition to photographs of deep water and other organisms that are included in the book, a number of illustrations have been added to provide excellent visual material, including historical and ocean floor maps and many works of original art depicting marine species, sea turtles, fish, and crustaceans.

Cover Art
The Ecology of Agricultural Landscapes: long-term research on the path to sustainability - Stephen K. Hamilton (Editor); Julie E. Doll (Editor); G. Philip Robertson (Editor)
Call Number: S 444 .E25 2015
ISBN: 9780199773350
Publication Date: 2015-04-02
Evidence has been mounting for some time that intensive row-crop agriculture as practiced in developed countries may not be environmentally sustainable, with concerns increasingly being raised about climate change, implications for water quantity and quality, and soil degradation. This volume synthesizes two decades of research on the sustainability of temperate, row-crop ecosystems of the Midwestern United States. The overarching hypothesis guiding this work has been that more biologically based management practices could greatly reduce negative impacts while maintaining sufficient productivity to meet demands for food, fiber and fuel, but that roadblocks to their adoption persist because we lack a comprehensive understanding of their benefits and drawbacks. The research behind this book, based at the Kellogg Biological Station (Michigan State University) and conducted under the aegis of the Long-term Ecological Research network, is structured on a foundation of large-scale field experiments that explore alternatives to conventional, chemical-intensive agriculture. Studies have explored the biophysical underpinnings of crop productivity, the interactions of crop ecosystems with the hydrology and biodiversity of the broader landscapes in which they lie, farmers' views about alternative practices, economic valuation of ecosystem services, and global impacts such as greenhouse gas exchanges with the atmosphere. In contrast to most research projects, the long-term design of this research enables identification of slow or delayed processes of change in response to management regimes, and allows examination of responses across a broader range of climatic variability. This volume synthesizes this comprehensive inquiry into the ecology of alternative cropping systems, identifying future steps needed on the path to sustainability.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Human Ecology - Julia R. Miller; Richard M. Lerner; Lawrence B. Schiamberg; Trustees of Tufts University Staff; Pamela M. Anderson
Call Number: GF 4 .E53 2003 v. 1 and v. 2
ISBN: 1576078523
Publication Date: 2003-08-13
The first-and only-source to integrate the multiple disciplines and professions exploring the many ways people interact with the natural and designed environments in which we live.

Cover Art
The Human Footprint: a global environmental history - Anthony N. Penna
Call Number: GF 13 .P46 2015
ISBN: 9781118912461
Publication Date: 2014-12-31
<i>The Human Footprint: A Global Environmental History, Second Edition</i>, presents a multidisciplinary global history of Earth from its origins to the present day. <ul> <li>Provides a comprehensive, global, multidisciplinary history of the planet from its earliest origins to the present era</li> <li>Draws on the most recent research in geology, climatology, evolutionary biology, archaeology, anthropology, history, demography and the social and physical sciences</li> <li>Features the latest research findings on planetary history, human evolution, the green agricultural revolution, climate change, global warming and the nature of world/human history interdependencies</li> <li>Offers in-depth analyses of topics relating to human evolution, agriculture, population growth, urbanization, manufacturing, consumption, industrialization, and fossil fuel dependency.</li> </ul>

Cover Art
Wetlands - William J. Mitsch; James G. Gosselink
Call Number: QH 104 .M57 2015
ISBN: 9781118676820
Publication Date: 2015-03-09
<b>The single most important book on wetlands, newly expanded and updated</b> <p><i>Wetlands</i> is the definitive guide to this fragile ecosystem, providing the most comprehensive coverage and in-depth information available in print. Recently updated and expanded, this latest edition contains brand new information on Wetland Ecosystem Services and an updated discussion on Wetland, Carbon, and Climate Change and Wetland Creation and Restoration. Due to popular demand, the authors have brought back five streamlined chapters on wetland ecosystems that had been removed from previous editions, and provided more robust ancillary materials including an online color photo gallery, PowerPoint slides, and several video case studies.</p> <p>As nature′s kidneys, wetland ecosystems help the environment process toxins and excess fertilizers and maintain the relative health of our aquatic ecosystems. As the understanding of their importance grows, their management and ecology have gained increased attention and have become an area of professional specialization over the past two decades. This book gives readers a solid understanding of wetlands, how they work, what they do, and why the Earth can′t live without them.</p> <ul> <li>Understand wetlands′ role in the ecosystem, from local to global scales</li> <li>Appreciate the fact that wetlands may be the most logical and economical way to sequester carbon from the atmosphere</li> <li>Discover the unique characteristics that make wetlands critically important for improving water quality, reducing storm and flood damage, and providing habitat to support biodiversity</li> <li>Learn how wetlands are being managed or destroyed around the globe but also how we can create and restore them</li> <li>Examine the ways in which climate change is affecting wetland ecosystems and wetland ecosystems affect climate change</li> </ul> <p>Wetlands are crucial to the health of the planet, and we′ve only begun to realize the magnitude of the damage that has already been done as we scramble to save them. A generation of ecologists, ecological engineers, land use planners, and water resource managers worldwide owe their knowledge of the wetlands to this book for the next generation to follow in their footsteps, <i>Wetlands</i> 5<sup>th</sup> edition is the quintessential guide to these critical systems.</p>

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip