EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
eBooksDatabases - PhysicsGeneral InformationAstrophysicsDynamicsMechanicsNuclear PhysicsObservational AstronomyOptics, Magnetism, & ElectricityRelativityGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - PhysicsKhan Academy Physics Links
eBooksDatabasesCredo ReferenceConcepts and TermsAstrophysicsAdvances in AstronomyAncient AstronomyEarly AstronomyModern AstronomyThe Night SkyObservational AstronomyGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - AstronomyKhan Academy - Cosmology and Astronomy Links
eBooks - IndividualMore eBooks - IndividualSubscription eBooksDatabasesHot Topics/ReferenceMarine Biology Links
More Animals BookseBooksDatabases - AnimalsOther Electronic ResourcesCredo Reference/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesHabitatsUseful links - Animals, etc. (Birds) Links
eBooksDatabasesCredo Reference/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesBiology ABiology B and CAnatomy & PhysiologyBiochemistryEcology & BiodiversityScientists AScientists BZoologyUseful Links - Biology and Plant LinksKhan Academy - Biology
eBooksDatabasesCredo Reference/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - ChemistryKhan Academy - Chemisty/Organic Chemistry
More Ecology BookseBooksDatabases - EcologyOther Electronic ResourcesConcepts - Credo ReferenceHabitatsNatural PhenomenaThreats to the EnvironmentMovements and EnvironmentalistsGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - Ecology and Weather Links
eBooksIndividual eBooksScience Current Issues/ebrary Searchable Information CentersDatabasesScience - Other Electronic ResourcesGoogle Scholar/International/Writing ResourcesCredo Reference - Science OverviewKhan Academy - Health and Medicine/ScienceScience LinksScience Videos
This is the "More Animals Books" page of the "Science Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science Research  

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/mainscience Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

More Animals Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

More Animal Books

Cover Art
A Field Guide to Coral Reefs: Caribbean and Florida - Roger Tory Peterson (Editor); Eugene H. Kaplan; Susan L. Kaplan (Illustrator)
Call Number: QL 125 .K36 1982
ISBN: 0618002111
Publication Date: 1999-09-01
With more than 500 species described and more than 400 illustrations, this guide provides quick and easy visual identification of fishes, mollusks, sponges, shrimps, lobsters, crabs, and much more of the fauna found on the coral reefs of the Caribbean and Florida.

Cover Art
Beneath the Surface : killer whales, SeaWorld, and the truth beyond Blackfish - John Hargrove; Howard Chua-Eoan
Call Number: QL 737 .C432 H3675 2015
ISBN: 1137280107
Publication Date: 2015-03-24
*Now a New York Times Best Seller* Over the course of two decades, John Hargrove worked with 20 different whales on two continents and at two of SeaWorld's U.S. facilities. For Hargrove, becoming an orca trainer fulfilled a childhood dream. However, as his experience with the whales deepened, Hargrove came to doubt that their needs could ever be met in captivity. When two fellow trainers were killed by orcas in marine parks, Hargrove decided that SeaWorld's wildly popular programs were both detrimental to the whales and ultimately unsafe for trainers. After leaving SeaWorld, Hargrove became one of the stars of the controversial documentary Blackfish. The outcry over the treatment of SeaWorld's orca has now expanded beyond the outlines sketched by the award-winning documentary, with Hargrove contributing his expertise to an advocacy movement that is convincing both federal and state governments to act. In Beneath the Surface, Hargrove paints a compelling portrait of these highly intelligent and social creatures, including his favorite whales Takara and her mother Kasatka, two of the most dominant orcas in SeaWorld. And he includes vibrant descriptions of the lives of orcas in the wild, contrasting their freedom in the ocean with their lives in SeaWorld. Hargrove's journey is one that humanity has just begun to take-toward the realization that the relationship between the human and animal worlds must be radically rethought.

Cover Art
Citizens of the Sea: wonderous creatures from the census of marine life - Nancy Knowlton
Call Number: QL 121 .K56 2010
ISBN: 1426206437
Publication Date: 2010-09-14
The astonishing diversity of ocean life will wow you in this riveting book, perfect for all ages, by marine scientist Nancy Knowlton. Citizens of the Sea reveals the most intriguing organisms in the ocean, captured in action by skilled underwater photographers from National Geographic and the Census of Marine Life. As you read lively vignettes about sea creatures' names, defenses, migration, mating habits, and more, you'll be amazed at wonders like . . . · The almost inconceivable number of creatures in the marine world. From the bounty of microbes in one drop of seawater, we can calculate that there are more individuals in the oceans than stars in the universe. · The sophisticated sensory abilities that help these animals survive. For many, the standard five senses are just not enough. · The incredible distances that seabirds and other species cover. Some will feed in both Arctic and Antarctic waters within a single year. · The odd relationships common in the marine world. From a dental hygienist for fish to a walrus's one-night stand, you'll find beauty, practicality, and plenty of eccentricity in sea-life socialization. Brilliantly photographed and written in an easygoing style, Citizens of the Sea will inform and enchant you with close-up documentation of the fascinating facts of life in the ocean realm.

Cover Art
Fifty Animals That Changed the Course of History - Eric Chaline
Call Number: QL 85 .L43 2011
ISBN: 1554078970
Publication Date: 2011-08-11
The fascinating stories of the animals that changed civilizations. Fifty Animals that Changed the Course of History is a beautifully presented guide to the animals that have had the greatest impact on human civilization. Entries are organized by scientific name, except for Homo sapiens, which is featured last. The 50 animals include the horse, dog, rat, whale, reindeer, beaver, flea, leech, dodo, falcon, oyster and shark. These creatures, great and small, have played central roles in the evolution of humankind, but they have remained at the periphery of our understanding of history. Whether it is an advancement in scientific knowledge, a trade war, disease and death, battles won and lost, or encounters with explorers in unknown lands, these animals have changed the course of history. More than 150 elegant drawings, photographs and paintings, as well as excerpts from literature, highlight the concise text. Each animal is judged by its influence in four categories: Edible -- animals that have shaped agriculture, such as the cow Medical -- animals that are "disease vectors," spreading bacteria and viruses, from malaria to plague Commercial -- animals used for trade or in manufacturing Practical -- animals used for transportation or clothing. The animals described in Fifty Animals that Changed the Course of History are familiar, but their roles in human history are easily overlooked. This attractive reference gives us a fresh perspective on our place in the animal kingdom.

Cover Art
Marine Mammals - Annalisa Berta; James L. Sumich; Kit M. Kovacs
Call Number: QL 713.2 .B478 2015
ISBN: 9780123970022
Publication Date: 2015-04-23
Marine Mammals: Evolutionary Biology, Third Edition is a succinct, yet comprehensive text devoted to the systematics, evolution, morphology, ecology, physiology, and behavior of marine mammals. Earlier editions of this valuable work are considered required reading for all marine biologists concerned with marine mammals, and this text continues that tradition of excellence with updated citations and an expansion of nearly every chapter that includes full color photographs and distribution maps. Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of the biology of all marine mammals Provides a phylogenetic framework that integrates phylogeny with behavior and ecology Features chapter summaries, further readings, an appendix, glossary and an extensive bibliography Exciting new color photographs and additional distribution maps

Cover Art
Reef Creature Identification:: Florida, Caribbean, Bahamas 3rd Edition - Paul Humann; Ned DeLoach; Les Wilk
Call Number: QL 125 .H86 2013
ISBN: 1878348531
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
The Reef Creature Identification book has been significantly expanded in a new 3rd Edition. The popular, user-friendly field guide, has grown to include 900 species beautifully documented with more than 1200 underwater photographs. This nearly doubles the total photos from the previous editions.

Cover Art
Sold into Extinction: the global trade in endangered species - Jacqueline L. Schneider
Call Number: QH 75 .S265 2012
ISBN: 0313359393
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
This revealing and compelling title analyzes the illegal trade in endangered species from a criminological viewpoint and presents specific crime reduction techniques that could help save thousands of species from extinction. * Illustrations, maps, and charts elucidate crime theory, import/export data on seizures of endangered species and products, and range states * Photographs depict the grim reality of the global trade in endangered species * An extensive bibliography contains over 30 pages of source materials

Cover Art
The Exotic Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida - Walter E. Meshaka; Brian P. Butterfield; J. Brian Hauge
Call Number: QL 653 .F6 M37 2004
ISBN: 1575240424
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
This work provides a complete account of the exotic reptiles and amphibians of Florida. The authors offer information on the history and nature of each species, the mode of dispersal, and its habitat and geographic distribution in the state at the end of the 20th century. Their impact is measured by their presence in natural systems of Florida and predator-prey interactions with native and other exotic species. Lastly, the role humanity has played in the success of these species is examined.

Cover Art
The Sierra Club Handbook of Whales and Dolphins - Stephen Leatherwood; Randall R. Reeves; Larry Foster (Illustrator); Valerie Foster (Illustrator)
Call Number: QL 737 .C4 L33 1983
ISBN: 0871563401
Publication Date: 1983-08-12
Through color and black-and-white pictures and an extensive text, 76 species are described.

Cover Art
Why Animals Matter: the case for animal protection - Erin E. Williams; Margo Demello
Call Number: HV 4764 .W55 2007
ISBN: 9781591025238
Publication Date: 2007-06-05
This is a concise yet complete overview of the problems of animal suffering, linking them to larger issues of human and environmental exploitation. Authors Erin E. Williams and Margo DeMello examine industries that exploit animals -- meat processing companies and agribusinesses; medical experimentation and cosmetic testing facilities; the entertainment industry (circuses, rodeos, zoos, racing, and film making); the pet industry; the fur and leather industry; and commercial and recreational activities centered on hunting. The authors also consider the adverse environmental effects of animal exploitation from pollution to deforestation and the depletion of biodiversity. In addition, they look at the connections between the poor treatment of animals and human exploitation of immigrants, slaughterhouse and farm workers, as well as the larger issues of globalization, hunger, and the negative consequences for Third World nations. Highly informative yet very reader-friendly, this book not only explores the connections between animal and human suffering, but also integrates solid information with positive case studies of rescued animals and inspiring stories of individual successes.

 

More Animal Books

Cover Art
Animal Behavior Desk Reference: a dictionary of animal behavior, ecology, and evolution - Edward M. Barrows
Call Number: QL 750.3 .B37 2001
ISBN: 0849320054
Publication Date: 2000-12-28
"Words are our tools, and, as a minimum, we should use clean tools. We should know what we mean and what we do not, and we must forearm ourselves against the traps that language sets us." -- The Need for Precise Terminology, Austin (1957, 7–8) It follows that, for effective and efficient communication, people should have, or at least understand, the same precise terminology. Such terminology is crucial for the advancement of basic, theoretical, and applied science, yet too often there is ambiguity between scientific and common definitions and even discrepancies in the scientific literature. Providing a common ground and platform for precise scientific communication in animal behavior, ecology, evolution, and related branches of biology, Animal Behavior Desk Reference, A Dictionary of Behavior, Ecology, and Evolution, Third Edition contains more than 800 new terms and definitions, 48 new figures, and thousands of additions and improvements. Using a dictionary format to present definitions in a standard, easily accessible manner, the book’s main body emphasizes conceptual terms, rather than anatomical parts or taxonomic terms, and focuses on nouns, rather than verbs or adjectives. Term hierarchies are handled with bulleted entries and terms with multiple definitions are included as superscripted entries. All sources are cited and most are paraphrased to conform to uniform style and length. The dictionary also includes nontechnical and obsolete terms, synonyms, pronunciations, and notes and comments, as well as etymologies, term originators, and related facts. Appendices address organism names, organizations, and databases. Devoted to the precise and correct use of scientific language, this third edition of a bestselling standard enables students and scientists alike to communicate their findings and promote the efficient advancement of science.

Cover Art
Classification of the animal kingdom - Blackwelder, Richard E.
Call Number: QL 352 .B58
Publication Date: 1963
Publisher: Southern Illinois University Press
Place Of Publication: Carbondale, Ill.

Cover Art
Endangered Animals: a reference guide to conflicting issues - Richard P. Reading (Editor); Brian Miller (Editor)
Call Number: QL 82 .E55 2000
ISBN: 0313308160
Publication Date: 2000-09-30
A New York Times Notable Book. "I can't remember coming across a more precise evocation of innocence lost since Golding's The Lord of the Flies. With The Death of Sweet Mister, Daniel Woodrell has written his masterpiece#151;spare, dark, and incandescently beautiful. It broke my heart."#151;Dennis Lehane, best-selling author of Mystic River "Put [The Death of Sweet Mister] on the shelf alongside Faulkner, Jim Thompson, and Cormac McCarthy. With this one, Mr. Woodrell has earned himself a piece of immortality."#151;George Pelecanos, best-selling author of The Way Home "The Death of Sweet Mister holds its own against anything in the canon of American literature. This is a book I'd place alongside Faulkner's The Reivers or Hemingway's 'Big-Two-Hearted River.'"#151;Kaye Gibbons, best-selling author of Ellen Foster "The Death of Sweet Mister is a strong contender for my all-time favorite novel, crime or otherwise."#151;Allan Guthrie, Edgar Award#150;nominated author of Slammer "Fiery, poetic, hair-raising."#151;Los Angeles Times "Compelling. . . . Woodrell's descriptions seem real and alive and linger long after reading."#151;The Boston Globe "Woodrell's Ozarks are cut as cleanly as Flannery O'Connor's Georgia and pocked with characters just as volatile and proud and unpredictable."#151;Chicago Tribune Set in the Missouri hill country, The Death of Sweet Mister presents one eventful summer in the life of Shug, a friendless, overweight thirteen-year-old living with his mother Glenda in the caretaker's cottage at the local cemetery.

Cover Art
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Animals - Robert Whitfield
Call Number: qQL 7 .I45 2005
ISBN: 0785819584
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
A Visual Who's Who of the World's Creatures by Dr. Philip Whitfield, General Consultation An unparalled guide to the animal kingdom, with full color illustrations of nearly 2000 animals: Mammals, Reptiles, Fish, Birds, and Amphibians.

Cover Art
Magill's Encyclopedia of Science, Animal Life - Carl W. Hoagstrom (Editor); Tracy Irons-Geroges (Editorial Coordinator); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: QL 7 .M34 2002 v. 1 - v. 4
ISBN: 1587650193
Publication Date: 2001-12-01
This four-volume set offers accessible, easy-to-understand scientific information. The 385 entries focus on nonhumans from the animal kingdom - from insects to reptiles to mammals. Entries on species discuss notable anatomy and physiology, habitat, behavior and reproduction and include a sidebar listing classification, geographical location, life span and special anatomy. Other entries cover anatomy, behavior and habitats.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Aquatic Life - Keith Banister (Editor); Andrew Campbell (Editor)
Call Number: qQL 120 .E53 1985
ISBN: 0816012571
Publication Date: 1985-10-01
This illustrated catalogue of water animals - from dolphins and whales to marine and freshwater fish - includes descriptions of the physical characteristics, life cycles, survival status and reproductive behaviour of aquatic life. It also examines coral and more primitive marine life forms.

Cover Art
The Exotic Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida - Walter E. Meshaka; Brian P. Butterfield; J. Brian Hauge
Call Number: QL 653 .F6 M37 2004
ISBN: 1575240424
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
This work provides a complete account of the exotic reptiles and amphibians of Florida. The authors offer information on the history and nature of each species, the mode of dispersal, and its habitat and geographic distribution in the state at the end of the 20th century. Their impact is measured by their presence in natural systems of Florida and predator-prey interactions with native and other exotic species. Lastly, the role humanity has played in the success of these species is examined.

Cover Art
The Fossil Vertebrates of Florida - Richard C. Hulbert; Roger Portell (Illustrator)
Call Number: qQE 841 .F655 2001
ISBN: 0813018226
Publication Date: 2001-02-25
"Hulbert's book provides the first comprehensive review of the fossil vertebrates of Florida, which has one of the richest Cenozoic fossil records of any state in the country. It will be an essential addition to the library of all professional paleontologists, students, and amateurs interested in the history of fossil vertebrates in Florida and the southeastern United States."-- Gary S. Morgan, assistant curator of paleontology, New Mexico Museum of Natural History "A wonderful mix of technical, state-of-the-art information . . . with commentary on everyday fossils that all may have experienced at one time or another. The book is both for the serious student of vertebrate paleontology and for anyone who has an interest in the fossils that may be encountered in Florida."-- David P. Whistler, curator of vertebrate paleontology, Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County Illustrated with hundreds of photographs and drawings, this authoritative yet readable book describes the fossil vertebrates found in Florida--many unique to the state--and summarizes more than 100 years of paleontological discoveries and research. It bridges the sometimes disconnected worlds of the professional paleontologist and the avocational collector and hobbyist. nbsp;Florida has the richest vertebrate fossil record of any state east of the Mississippi, extending back 45 million years. Beginning with an introduction to vertebrate anatomy, Richard Hulbert describes the geological history of the state and the history of vertebrate life in it. He then addresses such questions as what animals lived in Florida, how they are related to one another and to living animals, when they first appeared and when many of them became extinct, what they ate, and what they tell us about past environments. All types of vertebrates are covered, including sharks and other fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals. In addition to exceptionally detailed illustrations (many published for the first time), the book includes a comprehensive list of every verified fossil species ever collected in Florida. Based on the popular Plaster Jacket series of pamphlets written by renowned natural scientists and published by the Florida Paleontological Society, The Fossil Vertebrates of Florida brings information from the last 30 years into an up-to-date, greatly expanded, cohesive book form. Contributors Norman Tessman (sharks, carnivores) Elizabeth S. Wing (skates and rays and, with Camm Swift, bony fish) Walter Auffenberg (snakes, turtles, crocodilians) S. David Webb (proboscideans, peccaries, edentates, camels, ruminants) Robert A. Martin (aquatic rodents) John Waldropnbsp;(horses) Jesse S. Robertson (bison) Roy H. Reinhart (sea cows) Steve P. Christman (rattlesnakes) Clayton E. Ray (seals and walruses) Gary S. Morgan (whales and, with Ann E. Pratt, marine mammals) Bruce J. MacFadden (rhinoceroses) Jon A. Baskin (saber-tooth carnivores) Annalisa Berta (dogs) Jonathan J. Becker (birds) Peter A. Meylan (amphibians and reptiles) Richard C. Hulbert, Jr., collection manager for the Division of Vertebrate Paleontology at the Florida Museum of Natural History in Gainesville, is the author or coauthor of 30 essays and monographs published in scholarly journals, including Nature, Journal of Vertebrate Paleontology, and Journal of Paleontology.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip