- Animal Diversity Web – ADW (University of Michigan Museum of Zoology)
Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
- Ben Portal - Digital Library Portal for Teaching and Learning in the Biological Sciences: National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
The BEN Collaborative mission is not only to provide seamless access to e-resources but to also serve as a catalyst for strengthening teaching and learning in the biological sciences. Materials that users find via the BEN portal are unique in several ways. First, BEN resources have been reviewed by the individual societies for standards of quality and accuracy. Although each BEN collaborator has unique review criteria, users find resources that are scientifically accurate and educationally sound.
- Catalog of Fishes Online Database (Institute of Biodiversity Science and Sustainability, California Academy of Sciences)
The Catalog of Fishes is the authoritative reference for taxonomic fish names, featuring a searchable on-line database.
- Coral Reef Database System (CoRis) Coral Data & Publications Catalog
Coral Reef Database System (CoRIS) Coral Data & Publications Catalog, also known as the CoRIS virtual library, offers scientists, resource managers, and other coral enthusiasts direct and indirect access to coral ecosystem datasets and products. The Catalog is home to thousands of metadata records, citations of peer-reviewed journal articles, NOAA scientific publications and technical memoranda, conference proceedings, educational and outreach materials, and much more. It also provides direct links to other coral ecosystem websites, both internal to and outside of NOAA. Online access to literature is provided as available.
- FishBase - A Global Information System on Fishes
FishBase is a relational database with information to cater to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more. FishBase on the web contains practically all fish species known to science.
- Fisheries and Aquaculture Department: Statistics – Introduction (Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
The FAO Fisheries and Aquaculture Department provides advice and objective information to Members to help promote responsible aquaculture and fisheries. To fulfil this role, the Department compiles, analyses and disseminates fishery data, structured within data collections.
- Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
Mission: Managing fish and wildlife resources for their long-term well-being and the benefit of people. Look for useful resources in: Wildlife & Habitats. Research, Education, and Conservation.
- MarLin: The Marine Life Information Network
MarLIN provides information to support marine conservation, management and planning. Our resources are based on available scientific evidence and designed for all stakeholders, from government agencies and industry to naturalists and the public. MarLIN hosts the largest review of the effects of human activities and natural events on marine species and habitats yet undertaken.
- National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) – National Oceanographic and Atmosphere Administration (NOAA)
Contains: Ocean Climatology, Parameters, and Project Data Sets.
- NOAA Fisheries
NOAA Fisheries is responsible for the stewardship of the nation's ocean resources and their habitat. We provide vital services for the nation: productive and sustainable fisheries, safe sources of seafood, the recovery and conservation of protected resources, and healthy ecosystems—all backed by sound science and an ecosystem-based approach to management.
- OBIS (Ocean Biogeographic Information System)
VISION - To be the most comprehensive gateway to the world’s ocean biodiversity and biogeographic data and information required to address pressing coastal and world ocean concerns.
Search by: Common Name, Scientific Name, Glossary, Country/Island, Ecosystem, Topic, Tools, and References.
- Tree of Life Web Project
Description: The Tree of Life Web Project is a collection of information about biodiversity compiled collaboratively by hundreds of expert and amateur contributors. Its goal is to contain a page with pictures, text, and other information for every species and for each group of organisms, living or extinct.