Restricted Access Note
The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.
Log-in: Warner email account.
Marine Biology eBooks
Algae : Ecology, Economic Uses and Environmental Impact.
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
This book presents current research in the study of the ecology, economic uses and environmental impacts of algae. Topics include ultraviolet irradiation to control algal proliferation in the environment; alga Trachydiscus minutus as a new source of polyunsaturated fatty acids; systematics and taxonomic keys for the marine green algal family monostromataceae; the ecophysiology of soil algae; and an evaluation of the total phenolic content and antioxidant activities of crude extracts from red alga, Corallina elongata.
Benthic Foraminifera of the Gulf of Mexico
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
In 1981, Woods Hole researcher C. Wylie Poag published the book "Ecological Atlas of the Benthic Foraminifera of the Gulf of Mexico." In this new volume, Poag has revised and updated the atlas, incorporating three decades of extensive data collections from the open Gulf and from an additional seventeen estuarine systems to cover species of benthic foraminifera from more than eight thousand sample stations. "Benthic Foraminifera of the Gulf of Mexico" features 68 plates of scanning electron photomicrographs, 64 color figures, and a large color foldout map, indicating species distribution of forams. This book is designed to aid students and teachers of geology, biology, oceanography, and ecology, as well as micropaleontologists in government and industry laboratories, and other researchers and consultants who have an interest in benthic ecology or paleoecology.
Biological Oceanography : An Early History, 1870-1960.
Publication Date: 2012-01-30
First published in 1989, Eric L. Mills's comprehensive history of biological oceanography has been praised as 'superb' (BioScience) and 'proof that history need not be dull' (The Northern Mariner). This first history of the field, which chronicles the scientific work and creativity of its chief contributors, tells a riveting story that is far from narrowly scientific and thoroughly accessible to general readers. Mills shows how the work and ideas of the main actors are inseparable from some seemingly unrelated factors, including Prussian imperialism, agricultural chemistry, microbiology, and the problems of German universities. Mills also illustrates the significant roles played in the field's development by the failures of commercial fisheries, the development of analytical chemistry, the establishment of international scientific organizations, and sheer scientific curiosity. This new edition of Biological Oceanography includes a fresh introduction by the author, as well as an original foreword by noted oceanographer John Cullen. It makes an excellent companion to Mills's recent history of mathematical and physical oceanography, the multi-award-winning and widely acclaimed The Fluid Envelope of Our Planet.
Chlorophyll : Structure, Production and Medicinal Uses.
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Chlorophyll is a green pigment found in almost all plants, algae and cyanobacteria, and is an extremely important biomolecule, critical in photosynthesis, which allows plants to obtain energy from light. In this book, the authors present current research in the study of the structure, production and medicinal uses of chlorophyll. Topics discussed include the impact of molecular organisation on UV-irradiation effects to chlorophyll stability and biomedical applications; chlorophyll biosynthesis; genomics and phenomics of chlorophyll associated traits in abiotic stress tolerance breeding; chlorophyll fluorescence emission spectra in photosynthetic organisms and traditional medicinal uses of chlorophyll.
Coastal and Beach Erosion : Processes, Adaptation Strategies and Environmental Impacts.
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
The coastal environment is a dynamic system in which natural and human processes combine and interact, modifying geomorphological, physical and biological features, and in which beaches represent the most vulnerable areas. Coastal erosion is caused by many different processes like changes in prevailing wind direction, coastal currents, re-establishment of a new equilibrium profile, sea level rise, sea level fall, exceptional storms, hurricanes/cyclones, and tsunami events. This book discusses the processes, adaptation strategies and environmental impacts of coastal and beach erosion.
Coral Reefs : Biology, Threats and Restoration.
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
Coral reefs are ancient and extremely complex communities functioning as a single unit. They are the 'rain forests of the sea,' containing the richest biodiversity of all marine ecosystems. This book examines the biological aspects of coral reefs and the importance of their existence. Environmental threats to coral reefs are reviewed (i.e., global warming, overfishing), and ways in which the coral reef ecosystem can be restored are also discussed. Marine ornamental fish play an extremely important role today in the international fish trade. The data on breeding and rearing protocols for some of these high value marine ornamental species are reviewed. Phototrophic dinoflagellates called zooxanthellae and their possible role in coral reef management are also described. Furthermore, the causes of reef damage such as destructive fishing methods are examined. Other examples of adverse human impacts on coral reef sustainability, such as over-fishing, are also reviewed. It is suggested that coral calcification is closely coupled with carbon dioxide in seawater. This book describes the impact of anthropogenic surface ocean acidification with increasing atmospheric carbon dioxide on coral calcification. In addition, changes of caspases in the brains of hypoxic fish are examined by comparing a coral reef with a freshwater teleost. This book also provides a basic knowledge of tsunami effects on coral reefs to aid in the future evaluations of coral damage by tsunamis.
Coral Reefs of the USA
Publication Date: 2008-04-03
Coral Reefs of the USA provides a complete overview of the present status of knowledge regarding all coral reef areas within the USA and its territories. It is written by the most experienced authorities in their fields and geographic areas. Stretching from the Caribbean to the western Pacific, the coral reefs of the USA span extensive geographic and biotic diversity, occur in a wide variety of geomorphological settings, and provide a representative cross-section of Holocene reef-building. This book will therefore be of broad general interest. For the first time, complete scholarly reviews are given for the geology, geomorphology and the biology of reefs encompassing a vast area stretching from the Mariana Islands in the west, Samoa in the south, Hawaii in the north and the Virgin Islands in the east. This book is not a status report, but will provide up-to-date information about stressors and the biotic responses of the reefs, as well as the geological explanations why these reefs exist in the first place. It will be an invaluable baseline-reference for all those who are engaged in research or management of these coral reefs or to those who simply enjoy being well-informed about one of the most iconic ecosystems of the USA.
Deep-sea : Marine Biology, Geology, and Human Impact.
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The deep-sea ecosystems include waters and sediments at the lowest layer in the ocean, existing below the thermocline and above the seabed, at a depth of 1000 fathoms (1800 m) or more. They represent the world's largest biome, covering more than 65% of the world surface and including more than 95% of the global biosphere. This book examines the marine biology, geology and human impact of the deep-sea environment. Topics discussed include the stratigraphical distribution and evolutionary classification of the schackoinid planktic foraminifera; the biological characteristics of the skilfish, erilepis zonifer in the North Pacific Ocean; protein degradation at deep-sea sediment; primary production and carbon cycling in the deep-sea; and biodiversity and ecosystem function in the deep-Mediterranean Sea.
Ecology of Australian Temperate Reefs; The Unique South
Publication Date: 2014-01-10
Ecology of Australian Temperate Reefs presents the current state of knowledge of the ecology of important elements of southern Australian sub-tidal reef flora and fauna, and the underlying ecological principles. Preliminary chapters describe the geological origin, oceanography and biogeography of southern Australia, including the transitional temperate regions toward the Abrolhos Islands in the west and to Sydney in the east. The book then explains the origin and evolution of the flora and fauna at geological time scales as Australia separated from Antarctica; the oceanography of the region, including principal currents, and interactions with on-shelf waters; and the ecology of particular species or species groups at different trophic levels, starting with algae, then the ecological principles on which communities are organized. Ecology of Australian Temperate Reefs is well illustrated with line drawings, figures and color plates showing the many species covered, and will be a much valued reference for biologists, undergraduates, and those interested and concerned with reef life and its natural history. Key Features: * Well illustrated with line drawings, figures and color plates to illustrate the many species discussed * Includes accounts of geological origin, biogeography and the oceanography of the region, including principal currents, and interactions with on-shelf waters
Evolution of Primary Producers in the Sea
Publication Date: 2007-08-15
This text reference examines how photosynthesis evolved on Earth and how phytoplankton evolved through time - ultimately to permit the evolution of complex life, including human beings. The first of its kind, this book provides thorough coverage of key topics, with contributions by leading experts in biophysics, evolutionary biology, micropaleontology, marine ecology, and biogeochemistry. This exciting new book is of interest not only to students and researchers in marine science, but also to evolutionary biologists and ecologists interested in understanding the origins and diversification of life. Primary Producers of the Sea offers these students and researchers an understanding of the molecular evolution, phylogeny, fossil record, and environmental processes that collectively permits us to comprehend the rise of phytoplankton and their impact on Earth's ecology and biogeochemistry. It is certain to become the first and best word on this exhilarating topic. * Discusses the evolution of phytoplankton in the world's oceans as the first living organisms and the first and basic producers in the earths food chain * Includes the latest developments in the evolution and ecology of marine phytoplankton specifically with additional information on marine ecosystems and biogeochemical cycles * The only book to consider of the evolution of phytoplankton and its role in molecular evolution, biogeochemistry, paleontology, and oceanographic aspects * Written at a level suitable for related reading use in courses on the Evolution of the Biosphere, Ecological and Biological oceanography and marine biology, and Biodiversity
Fire in the Sea: Bioluminescence and Henry Compton's Art of the Deep
Publication Date: 2014-01-27
The cold, stygian dark of the extreme sea depths is home to some of our planet’s strangest creatures. Even their names evoke a science fiction adventure: dragonfishes, greeneyes, viperfishes, mirrorbellies, lanternfishes. Marine biologist Henry "Hank” Compton (1928-2005) of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department’s Rockport Marine Lab was present on some of the earliest Gulf of Mexico cruises on which these fishes were collected for the first time in Texas waters. Upon returning, Compton would retire to the darkroom he had constructed beneath a stairwell at the lab and photograph the specimens. A talented artist, Compton then painted watercolors based on his photographs. He allowed free rein to both his scientific judgment and his artistic vision as he constructed representations of how the specimens might have appeared in the crushing pressure of their alien environment. Compton dubbed the series of deep-water paintings "Fire in the Sea” because of the shimmering bioluminescence common to these deep-water species. Then, along with taxonomic descriptions, he drafted fanciful narratives to accompany the paintings: quirky, humorous, and sometimes cryptic stories of the fishes in their unreachable habitat. Professor, researcher, and author David A. McKee has taken Compton’s work, discovered in cardboard boxes following his death, and, along with others, provided chapters on bioluminescence, life in the deep, taxonomic arrangement, and life history information.
Freshwater Fungi : And Fungal-like Organisms.
Publication Date: 2014-07-14
Freshwater habitats are rich in fungi with some 3,000 described species, most literature focussing on their identification, substrata they grow on and world distribution. However, these fungi play an important role in the freshwater ecosystem, and are primarily involved in the breakdown of leaf litter contributing food for detritus feeders. This book will bring together a wide range of acclaimed mycologists to review recent developments on the biology and ecology of freshwater fungi, particularly their molecular phylogeny, biodiversity, causative diseases of freshwater amphibians, fishes and invertebrate animals, decomposition of leaf litter, stream pollution and their potential role in bioremediation.
Gulf of Mexico Origin, Waters, and Biota : Volume 4, Ecosystem-Based Management.
Publication Date: 2013-06-03
The fourth volume in the Harte Research Institute's landmark scientific series on the Gulf of Mexico provides a comprehensive study of ecosystem-based management, analyzing key coastal ecosystems in eleven Gulf Coast states from Florida to Quintana Roo and presenting case studies in which this integrated approach was tested in both the US and in Mexico. Two overview chapters cover related information on Cuba and on coastal zone management in Mexico. The comprehensive data on management policies and practices in this volume give researchers, policy makers, and other concerned parties the most up-to-date information available, supporting and informing initiatives to sustain healthy ecosystems so that they can, in turn, sustain human social and economic systems in this important transnational region. Combined with the second volume in this series, which examines the coastal and ocean-based economy of the Gulf region, Ecosystem-Based Management provides pivotal empirical information on how human activity can be managed in an environmentally sustainable way. This important research points the way to better stewardship of the Gulf's valuable natural resources, ensuring their availability for future generations.
Gulf of Mexico Origin, Waters, and Biota Volume 3, Geology
Publication Date: 2011-05-30
Volume 3 of Gulf of Mexico Origin, Waters, and Biota; a series edited by John W. Tunnell Jr., Darryl L. Felder, and Sylvia A. Earle nbsp; A continuation of the landmark scientific reference series from the Harte Research Institute for Gulf of Mexico Studies, Gulf of Mexico Origin, Waters, and Biota, Volume 3, Geology provides the most up-to-date, systematic, cohesive, and comprehensive description of the geology of the Gulf of Mexico Basin. The six sections of the book address the geologic history, recent depositional environments, and processes offshore and along the coast of the Gulf of Mexico. nbsp; Scientific research in the Gulf of Mexico region is continuous, extensive, and has broad-based influence upon scientific, governmental, and educational communities.nbsp;This volume is a compilation of scientific knowledge from highly accomplished and experienced geologists who have focused most of their careers on gaining a better understanding of the geology of the Gulf of Mexico.nbsp;Their research, presented in this volume, describes and explains the formation of the Gulf Basin, Holocene stratigraphic and sea-level history, energy resources, coral reefs, and depositional processes that affect and are represented along our Gulf coasts.nbsp;It provides valuable synthesis and interpretation of what is known about the geology of the Gulf of Mexico. nbsp; Five years in the making, this monumental compilation is both a lasting record of the current state of knowledge and the starting point for a new millennium of study.
Gulf of Mexico Origin, Waters, and Biota: Volume 2, Ocean and Coastal Economy.
Publication Date: 2008-12-07
The many economic factors affecting sustainability of the Gulf of Mexico region are perhaps as important as the waves on its shores and its abundant marine life. This second volume in Gulf of Mexico Origin, Waters, and Biota (a multivolumed work edited by John W. Tunnell Jr., Darryl L. Felder, and Sylvia A. Earle) assesses the Gulf of Mexico as a single economic region. The book provides information and baseline data useful for assessing the goals of economic and environmental sustainability in the Gulf. In five chapters, economists, political scientists, and ecologists from Florida, California, Louisiana, Texas, Maine, and Mexico cover topics such as: the idea of the Gulf as a transnational community; the quantitative value of its productivity; a summary of the industries dependent on the Gulf, including shipping, tourism, oil and gas mining, fisheries, recreation, and real estate; the human uses and activities that affect coastal economies; and the economic trends evident in Mexico's drive toward coastal development. This first-of-its-kind reference work will be useful to scientists, economists, industry leaders, and policy makers whose work requires an understanding of the economic issues involved in science, business, trade, exploration, development, and commerce in the Gulf of Mexico.
Gulf of Mexico Origin, Waters, and Biota: Volume I, Biodiversity.
Publication Date: 2009-06-29
This landmark scientific reference for scientists, researchers, and students of marine biology tackles the monumental task of taking a complete biodiversity inventory of the Gulf of Mexico with full biotic and biogeographic information. Presenting a comprehensive summary of knowledge of Gulf biota through 2004, the book includes seventy-seven chapters, which list more than fifteen thousand species in thirty-eight phyla or divisions and were written by 138 authors from seventy-one institutions in fourteen countries. This first volume of Gulf of Mexico Origin, Waters, and Biota, a multivolumed set edited by John W. Tunnell Jr., Darryl L. Felder, and Sylvia A. Earle, provides information on each species' habitat, biology, and geographic range, along with full references and a narrative introduction to the group, which opens each chapter.
Marine Biology eBooks
Imaging Marine Life : Macrophotography and Microscopy Approaches for Marine Biology (1)
Publication Date: 2014-02-17
Written by an international team of experts from the Tara Oceans Marine Biology Imaging Platform (TAOMI), this is the first and only compendium on marine imaging technologies, and includes all known underwater as well as on-land techniques. TAOMI is imaging the largest collection of marine organisms in recent history, ranging from viruses to corals, and is duplicated on land to perform high throughput confocal analysis of plankton, X-ray tomography as well as cryo-electron microscopy. This unique platform combines underwater imaging with cytometry, stereomicroscopy, fluorescence microscopy and 3D microscopy - all of which are covered in this practical book, along with remote sensing, MRI, and optical projection tomography. The definitive resource for every marine biologist who is planning to image marine species, whether underwater or on land.
Life in Extreme Environments : Microbial Life of the Deep Biosphere
Publication Date: 2014-03-31
this book brings together a variety of topics, covering the broad range of issues that are associated with deep biosphere exploration. In order to explain our observations from deep subsurface ecosystems it is necessary to develop interdisciplinary approaches, ranging from microbiology and geochemistry to physics and modeling. This volume will be of high interest to biologists, chemists and earth scientists all working on the deep biosphere.
Marine Fungi : And Fungal-like Organisms.
Publication Date: 2012-08-17
Understanding how higher fungi with their spectrum of cellulolytic and ligninolytic enzymes degrade wood tissue, while labyrinthuloids and thraustochytrids further contribute to the dissolved organic matter entering the open ocean is essential to marine ecology. This work provides an overview of marine fungi including morphology and ultrastructure, phylogeny and biogeography. Biotechnology is also turning to these organisms to develop new bioactive compounds and to address problems such as decomposition of materials in the ocean and bioremediation of oil spills.
Marine Historical Ecology in Conservation: Applying the Past to Manage for the Future (1)
Publication Date: 2014-12-24
This pioneering volume provides a blueprint for managing the challenges of ocean conservation using marine historical ecology--an interdisciplinary area of study that is helping society to gain a more in-depth understanding of past human-environmental interactions in coastal and marine ecosystems and of the ecological and social outcomes associated with these interactions. Developed by groundbreaking practitioners in the field, Marine Historical Ecology in Conservation highlights the innovative ways that historical ecology can be applied to improve conservation and management efforts in the oceans. The book focuses on four key challenges that confront marine conservation: (1) recovering endangered species, (2) conserving fisheries, (3) restoring ecosystems, and (4) engaging the public. Chapters emphasize real-world conservation scenarios appropriate for students, faculty, researchers, and practitioners in marine science, conservation biology, natural resource management, paleoecology, and marine and coastal archaeology. By focusing on success stories and applied solutions, this volume delivers the required up-to-date science and tools needed for restoration and protection of ocean and coastal ecosystems.
Methods for Study of Marine Benthos
Publication Date: 2013-06-10
The continuing global decline of the health of the sea, and the increasing depletion of marine resources and biodiversity, caused by human activity and climate change, have led to ever-increasing international concern. These changes in the marine environment highlight the importance of effective monitoring of the ecology of the benthos which has been shown to be a sensitive index of such alterations. Completely revised and updated to include many new methods and technologies, this Fourth Edition of Methods for the Study of Marine Benthos provides comprehensive coverage on the tools and techniques available to those working in the area. Commencing with an overview of the design and analysis of benthic surveys, the book continues with chapters covering the sedimentary environment, imaging and diving techniques, macro- and meiofauna techniques, deep sea sampling, energy flow and production. An additional new chapter provided in this edition covers phytobenthos techniques. Written by many of the world s leading authorities in marine sampling techniques and use, and edited by Professor Anastasios Eleftheriou, this comprehensive Fourth Edition is an essential tool for all marine and environmental scientists, ecologists, fisheries workers and oceanographers. Libraries in all research establishments and universities where these subjects are studied and taught will find this book to be a hugely valuable addition to their collections.
Publication Date: 2011-11-10
The ocean helps moderate climate change thanks to its considerable capacity to store CO2, through the combined actions of ocean physics, chemistry, and biology. This storage capacity limits the amount of human-released CO2 remaining in the atmosphere. As CO2 reacts with seawater, it generatesdramatic changes in carbonate chemistry, including decreases in pH and carbonate ions and an increase in bicarbonate ions. The consequences of this overall process, known as "ocean acidification", are raising concerns for the biological, ecological, and biogeochemical health of the world's oceans,as well as for the potential societal implications. This research level text is the first to synthesize the very latest understanding of the consequences of ocean acidification, with the intention of informing both future research agendas and marine management policy. A prestigious list of authors has been assembled, among them the coordinators ofmajor national and international projects on ocean acidification.
Ocean Solutions, Earth Solutions
Publication Date: 2015-07-10
What affects the oceans affects terra firma. Ocean Solutions, Earth Solutions gathers the insights of more than 50 ocean and coastal science researchers exploring ocean components and their relationships, patterns, and trends over time and space. The book's 16 chapters feature geographic information system (GIS) best practices and include additional online resources.The book is edited by oceanographer and Esri chief scientist Dawn J. Wright and features a foreword by oceanographer David Gallo, director of special projects for the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution in Massachusetts.
Oceans and Human Health : Implications for Society and Well-Being (1)
Publication Date: 2014-05-27
Human health and well-being are tied to the vitality of the global ocean and coastal systems on which so many live and rely. We engage with these extraordinary environments to enhance both our health and our well-being. But, we need to recognize that introducing contaminants and otherwise altering these ocean systems can harm human health and well-being in significant and substantial ways. These are complex, challenging, and critically important themes. How the human relationship to the oceans evolves in coming decades may be one of the most important connections in understanding our personal and social well-being. Yet, our understanding of this relationship is far too limited. This remarkable volume brings experts from diverse disciplines and builds a workable understanding of breadth and depth of the processes both social and environmental that will help us to limit future costs and enhance the benefits of sustainable marine systems. In particular, the authors have developed a shared view that the global coastal environment is under threat through intensified natural resource utilization, as well as changes to global climate and other environmental systems. All these changes contribute individually, but more importantly cumulatively, to higher risks for public health and to the global burden of disease. This pioneering book will be of value to advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students taking courses in public health, environmental, economic, and policy fields. Additionally, the treatment of these complex systems is of essential value to the policy community responsible for these questions and to the broader audience for whom these issues are more directly connected to their own health and well-being. "The seas across this planet and their effects on human society and its destiny are a fascinating subject for analysis and insights derived from intellectual inquiry. This diverse and complex subject necessarily requires a blending of knowledge from different disciplines, which the authors of this volume have achieved with remarkable success." "The following pages in this volume are written in a lucid and very readable style, and provide a wealth of knowledge and insightful analysis, which is a rare amalgam of multi-disciplinary perspectives and unique lines of intellectual inquiry. It is valuable to get a volume such as this, which appeals as much to a non-specialist reader as it does to those who are specialists in the diverse but interconnected subjects covered in this volume."<br /> (From the "Foreword" written by, R K Pachauri, Director General, TERI and Chairman, IPCC)
Outstanding Marine Molecules
Publication Date: 2014-06-09
Using a number of outstanding examples, this text introduces readers to the immense variety of marine natural compounds, the methodologies to characterize them and the approaches to explore their industrial potential. Care is also taken to discuss the function and ecological context of the compounds. Carefully produced and easy to read, this book serves students and professionals wishing to familiarize themselves with the field, and is ideally suited as a course book for both industry to academia.
Sea ice : physics and remote sensing
Publication Date: 2015-03-16
Sea Ice: Physics and Remote Sensing addresses experiences acquired mainly in Canada by researchers in the fields of ice physics and growth history in relation to its polycrystalline structure as well as ice parameters retrieval from remote sensing observations. The volume describes processes operating at the macro- and microscale (e.g., brine entrapment in sea ice, crystallographic texture of ice types, brine drainage mechanisms, etc.). The information is supported by high-quality photographs of ice thin-sections prepared from cores of different ice types, all obtained by leading experts during field experiments in the 1970s through the 1990s, using photographic cameras and scanning microscopy. In addition, this volume presents techniques to retrieve a suite of sea ice parameters (e.g. ice type, concentration, extent, thickness, surface temperature, surface deformation, etc.) from space-borne and airborne sensor data. The breadth of the material on this subject is designed to appeal to researchers and users of remote sensing data who want to develop quick familiarity with the capabilities of this technology or detailed knowledge about major techniques for retrieval of key ice parameters. Volume highlights include: * Detailed crystallographic classification of natural sea ice, the key information from which information about ice growth conditions can be inferred. Many examples are presented with material to support qualitative and quantitative interpretation of the data. * Methods developed for revealing microstructural characteristics of sea ice and performing forensic investigations. * Data sets on radiative properties and satellite observations of sea ice, its snow cover, and surrounding open water. * Methods of retrieval of ice surface features and geophysical parameters from remote sensing observations with a focus on critical issues such as the suitability of different sensors for different tasks and data synergism. Sea Ice: Physics and Remote Sensing is intended for a variety of sea ice audiences interested in different aspects of ice related to physics, geophysics, remote sensing, operational monitoring, mechanics, and cryospheric sciences.
The American Sea: A Natural History of the Gulf of Mexico: Harte Research Institute for Gulf of Mexico Studies Series, Sponsored by the Harte Research Institute for Gulf of Mexico Studies, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
For more than a decade, Rezneat Darnell worked on this major synthesis of what is known about the Gulf of Mexico. His goal: to bring a deeper understanding of "the American Sea" to students, scientists, managers, and educated citizens of the public at large. The American Sea builds on Darnell's own research, the research of his graduate students, government agency research reports, data synthesis reports, and literature summaries to present a holistic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Although he is recognized as a pioneer in the study of continental shelf ecology, Darnell largely resisted specialization, remaining throughout his career "the writer and bringer together of things." Here, he has written a book that embraces history, geology, geography, meteorology, chemistry, biology, ecology, and human relations in one comprehensive reference. Although it is thorough and meticulous in coverage, what comes through in these pages is the enormity, complexity, and mystery of the world that lies just beyond the Texas vacation beach, the Louisiana wetland, or the Mexico fishing village. In addition to photographs of deep water and other organisms that are included in the book, a number of illustrations have been added to provide excellent visual material, including historical and ocean floor maps and many works of original art depicting marine species, sea turtles, fish, and crustaceans.
The Biology and Ecology of Giant Kelp Forests
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
The largest seaweed, giant kelp (Macrocystis) is the fastest growing and most prolific of all plants found on earth. Growing from the seafloor and extending along the ocean surface in lush canopies, giant kelp provides an extensive vertical habitat in a largely two-dimensional seascape. It is the foundation for one of the most species-rich, productive, and widely distributed ecological communities in the world. Schiel and Foster’s scholarly review and synthesis take the reader from Darwin’s early observations to contemporary research, providing a historical perspective for the modern understanding of giant kelp evolution, biogeography, biology, and physiology. The authors furnish a comprehensive discussion of kelp species and forest ecology worldwide, with considerations of human uses and abuses, management and conservation, and the current and likely future impacts of global change. This volume promises to be the definitive treatise and reference on giant kelp and its forests for many years, and it will appeal to marine scientists and others who want a better appreciation and understanding of these wondrous forests of the sea.
The Future of Aquaculture Feeds
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Fish meal and fish oil are important components in the feeds for many farm-raised species, from pigs and poultry to farmed fish. As ingredients in aquaculture feed, fish meal and fish oil supply essential amino acids and fatty acids required for normal growth for cultured species, including carp, salmon, tilapia, trout, catfish, shrimp and others. Fish meal and oil also help maintain the important human health benefits of seafood. However, the relatively high cost of fish meal and fish oil -- and growing pressure on the wild fisheries that supply the fish meal and fish oil -- are adding up to make alternative feeds one of the top issues facing the global aquaculture industry, fuelling research on suitable alternative feed ingredients. This book provides a comprehensive review of aquaculture feeds and the challenges and opportunities associated with development of various alternatives while suggesting areas for future research.
Value and Economy of Marine Resources
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Marine resources and their exploitation, recovery and economic networks they generate are here from the perspective now inevitable growing environmental constraints, policy management and technical innovation. The recent development of marine biotechnology , the discovery of a great pharmacopoeia especially in reef environments , the development of marine renewables , are examples which show that man can develop through these new technologies property and services of the ocean. But this development resources under pressure of global change requires not only taking into account technical, but also social and political. This is the price that the analysis of maritime activities will assess the sustainability and development of various economic sectors and coastal populations, faced with the objectives of a "blue growth" associated with a return to the "good state "of the marine environment.
Zooplankton and Phytoplankton : Types, Characteristics, and Ecology.
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
In this book, the authors present current research in the study of the types, characteristics and ecology of zooplankton and phytoplankton. Topics discussed include the bioaccumulation of cyanobacterial toxins in aquatic organisms and their public health consequences; the use of microalgae for aquaculture; the annual cycle of plankton biomass in the Gulf of Mexico; grazer-periphyton interactions; spatial and temporal distribution patterns of zooplankton in a shallow lowland coastal lake and phytoplankton composition in fish farms..