EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
eBooksDatabases - PhysicsGeneral InformationAstrophysicsDynamicsMechanicsNuclear PhysicsObservational AstronomyOptics, Magnetism, & ElectricityRelativityGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - PhysicsKhan Academy Physics Links
eBooksDatabasesCredo ReferenceConcepts and TermsAstrophysicsAdvances in AstronomyAncient AstronomyEarly AstronomyModern AstronomyThe Night SkyObservational AstronomyGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - AstronomyKhan Academy - Cosmology and Astronomy Links
eBooks - IndividualMore eBooks - IndividualSubscription eBooksDatabasesHot Topics/ReferenceMarine Biology Links
More Animals BookseBooksDatabases - AnimalsOther Electronic ResourcesCredo Reference/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesHabitatsUseful links - Animals, etc. (Birds) Links
eBooksDatabasesCredo Reference/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesBiology ABiology B and CAnatomy & PhysiologyBiochemistryEcology & BiodiversityScientists AScientists BZoologyUseful Links - Biology and Plant LinksKhan Academy - Biology
eBooksDatabasesCredo Reference/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - ChemistryKhan Academy - Chemisty/Organic Chemistry
More Ecology BookseBooksDatabases - EcologyOther Electronic ResourcesConcepts - Credo ReferenceHabitatsNatural PhenomenaThreats to the EnvironmentMovements and EnvironmentalistsGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - Ecology and Weather Links
eBooksIndividual eBooksScience Current Issues/ebrary Searchable Information CentersDatabasesScience - Other Electronic ResourcesGoogle Scholar/International/Writing ResourcesCredo Reference - Science OverviewKhan Academy - Health and Medicine/ScienceScience LinksScience Videos
This is the "Advances in Astronomy" page of the "Science Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science Research  

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/mainscience Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Advances in Astronomy Print Page
  Search: 
 

Space Exploration

  • Apollo Project: Topic Page
    US space project to land a person on the Moon, achieved on 20 July 1969, when Neil Armstrong was the first to set foot there.
  • Challenger
    From Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
    The name of the US space shuttle that on 28 January 1986 exploded 73 seconds after blast-off from Cape Canaveral, instantly killing all seven astronauts, including a high-school teacher, Christa McAuliffe, the first private citizen to take part in the US shuttle programme.
  • Gemini project
    From Collins Dictionary of Astronomy
    A series of US space missions that extended the knowledge gained from the Mercury project and preceded the Apollo program. The project demonstrated that humans could function effectively over long periods of weightlessness, both inside and outside a spacecraft.
  • International Space Station: Topic Page
    430-tonne orbiting space station being constructed by the USA, Russia, Japan, Canada, Brazil, and the 17 member nations of the European Space Agency.
  • Mir Space Station: Topic Page
    Russian space station, the core of which was launched on 20 February 1986.
  • NASA: Topic Page
    US government agency for space flight and aeronautical research.
  • Skylab
    From Astronomy Encyclopedia
    First US SPACE STATION . Skylab was developed from the third stage of the SATURN V rocket. The 75-tonne station was launched into a near circular orbit 433 km (270 mi) above the Earth's surface on 1973 May 14.
  • Soyuz program
    From Collins Dictionary of Astronomy
    A series of Soviet crewed spacecraft, the first of which – Soyuz 1 – was launched Apr. 23 1967. The flight of Soyuz 1 ended tragically when its parachute became entangled during reentry and it crashed in Kazakhstan, killing its cosmonaut pilot Vladimir Komarov, the first person to die during a space mission.
  • Space Shuttle: Topic Page
    A reusable manned vehicle that takes off like a rocket but lands on a runway like an aircraft and which is designed to travel into space.
  • Space Station: Topic Page
    A large orbiting artificial satellite, where crews of astronauts can live and carry out scientific and technological research in space over periods of weeks or months.
  • Sputnik
    From Collins Dictionary of Astronomy
    Any of a series of Soviet artificial satellites, the first of which – Sputnik 1 – was the first spacecraft to be placed in orbit. This 58-cm diameter sphere, weighing 84 kg, was launched on Oct. 4 1957; it burnt up in the Earth's atmosphere 92 days later.

Astronauts

  • Buzz Aldrin (1930 - )
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    (Edwin Eugene Aldrin, Jr.), American astronaut, b. Montclair, N.J. After graduating from West Point (1951), Aldrin joined the U.S. air force and flew 66 combat missions during the Korean War.
  • Neil Armstrong (1930 - ): Topic Page
    American astronaut, born in Wapakoneta, Ohio. A U.S. Navy fighter pilot during the Korean War, Armstrong became a test pilot for what was then the National Advisory Committee on Aeronautics in 1955.
  • Yuri Gagarin (1934 - 1968)
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    Russian astronaut (cosmonaut), b. near Gzhatsk, RSFSR. He was the first in history to be rocketed into orbital space flight. His flight on Apr. 12, 1961, lasted 1 hr. 48 min. and circled the earth once.
  • John Glenn (1921 - )
    From The Crystal Reference Encyclopedia
    Astronaut, the first American to orbit the Earth, born in Cambridge, Ohio, USA. He studied at the University of Maryland, joined the US Marine Corps (1943), served in the Pacific during World War 2, and later served in Korea.
  • James Lovell Jr. (1928 - )
    From The Crystal Reference Encyclopedia
    Astronaut, born in Cleveland, Ohio, USA. After attending the Naval Academy, Annapolis, he became a test pilot, and in 1963 was selected for the manned space programme.
  • Christa McAuliffe (1948 - 1986) and Judith Resnik (1949 - 1986)
    From Notable American Women: Completing the Twentieth Century
    When the space shuttle Challenger exploded on January 28, 1986, seven crew members lost their lives, including Christa McAuliffe, the first teacher in space, and Judith Resnik, who was making her second shuttle flight after becoming the second American woman in space.
  • Sally Ride (1951 - )
    From The Penguin Biographical Dictionary of Women
    In 1983 Sally Ride became the first American woman in space – a distinction she earned on account of her scientific record, good team work, and talent for calm problem solving.
  • Alan Shepard (1923 - 1998)
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    American astronaut. He served on a destroyer during World War II and later had extensive experience as a test pilot. On May 5, 1961, under the U.S. space program Project Mercury, he became the first American to be launched into space.
  • Valentina Tereshkova (1937 - )
    From The Penguin Biographical Dictionary of Women
    Valentina Tereshkova made history in 1963 when she became the first woman ever to fly in space. Born near Yaroslavl, the daughter of a farmer, she worked in a cotton mill and was an avid amateur parachutist with 126 jumps to her credit.
  • Wernher von Braun (1912 - 1977): Topic Page
    U.S. rocket engineer, born in Germany, where he designed the V-2 missile used in World War II. In the U.S. he worked on the Apollo project.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip