- Biographical Dictionary of Psychology
Provides biographical information and critical analysis of the influences and reception of people who have made a significant contribution to the field of psychology.
- Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine
Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.
- Curriculum Connections Psychology: Abnormal Psychology
This book describes the scientific study of psychological disorders. As well as detailing mental disorders, it examines social attitudes toward them and treatments that have been used through the centuries. Other important issues covered include the way in which the number and type of recognized mental disorders constantly changes, and how psychological difficulties affect a child's learning and social experiences.
- Curriculum Connections Psychology: Cognitive Development
This book discusses the nature of developmental change from conception to adulthood. It considers the most important theories of cognitive development and examines the ingenious methods developed to measure cognitive abilities in young children. It also investigates perceptual, emotional, social, and memory development.
- Curriculum Connections Psychology: History of Psychology
This book explores the development of psychology, from its roots in philosophy and natural science to the scientific research of the 19th century. It also charts the emergence and impact of experimental psychology and the development of psychological theories throughout the 20th century.
- Curriculum Connections Psychology: Intellectual Development
This book explores the workings of the brain, including its ability to identify and interpret important information while discarding other sensory input, and how it stores and retrieves memories. It investigates past and present theories of learning, how we develop language skills and process language, problem solving, and the sources of creativity and inspiration.
- Curriculum Connections Psychology: The Brain
This book looks at how our understanding of the brain and mind has developed. It describes in detail the workings of the brain, and investigates how our perceptual systems and the brain work to interpret the sensations we experience. The concept of mind and consciousness, and the role that emotions play in both mental health and our everyday lives, are also discussed in detail.
- Curriculum Connections Psychology: The Individual and Society
This book examines people as individuals and as social animals. It analyzes the notions of personality and intelligence and considers how people relate to and communicate with each other and society. The chapters discuss the types of social interaction and the rules that guide them, as well as the feelings and thoughts that individuals have about society, social situations, and the people around them.
- Dictionary of Forensic Psychology
Entries (of between 500 and 1500 words) on key terms and concepts in forensic psychology arranged alphabetically.
- Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories
The dictionary contains terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts.
- Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology
Presents entries grouped into 8 thematic topic areas, and on a range of levels from brief definitions to more substantial discussions which allow the reader to obtain a fuller grasp of important terms and concepts.
- Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
An authoritative publication that reviews and evaluates the numerous applications of professional psychology.
- Encyclopedia of Consciousness.
Encompasses a summary of major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness, the neural circuitry involved, how the brain, body, and world interact, and our understanding of subjective states.
- Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
A single source for information on the human brain covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science.
- Handbook of Forensic Psychology: Resource for Mental Health and Legal Professionals
Provides professionals with current, practical, and empirically based information to guide their work in forensic settings
- Key Concepts in Health Psychology
Aims to provide the reader with a comprehensive understanding of the key issues, theories, models, and methods in contemporary health psychology.
- Key Thinkers in Psychology
Contributes to understanding the classic scholars, the classic studies, and the subsequent generations of people and ideas that have come to define the broad discipline that is psychology.
- The Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behaviour
A valuable reference resource dedicated to improving our understanding of the economic mind and economic behaviour.
- The Cambridge Handbook of Sociocultural Psychology
An international overview of the state of our contemporary knowledge in sociocultural psychology - as a discipline located at the crossroads between the natural and social sciences and the humanities.
- The Edinburgh International Encyclopaedia of Psychoanalysis
Contains authoritative entries on all the most important authors, practitioners, concepts, movements, schools, debates and controversies in psychoanalysis and its offspring, past and present.
- The Encyclopedia of Neuropsychological Disorders
This book serves as an A-Z reference that addresses the neuropsychological aspects of 300 neurological, neuropsychiatric, and neuromedical disorders. Each entry follows a 5 section structure that will cover (1) essential features of the disorder (2) physiological basis of the disorder (3) neuropsychological and other clinical presentation (4) assessment and diagnostic practices (5) evidence-based treatments and interventions. This book is written for clinical professionals and students in training to aid in clinical awareness, diagnostic accuracy, and intervention successfulness.The text goes beyond the emotional and behavioral aspects of each disorder and views the broader impacts of the symptoms. This approach emphasizes the importance of looking at the other functional impacts of these manifestations (e.g. cognitive deficits secondary to depression, orthodopaedic ambulation issues). The emphasis on neuropsychological sequelae, physiological basis, and means of diagnosing and treatin
- The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
This updated edition explores the latest developments in psychology, psychiatry and related fields, including new material on neuroscience and social psychology.