EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful Resources
eBooksDatabasesCredo Reference/Abnormal Psychology LinksInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing Resources
eBooksDatabasesCredo Reference/Sports Psychology LinksInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing Resources
DatabasesEBSCO: Individual Psychology DatabasesReferencePsychology LinksInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesKhan Academy: Health and Medicine
Cognitive BiologyMental HealthMental Illness & TreatmentPsychological Disorders Part OnePsychological Disorders Part TwoPsychologists
Individual and Other Reference SourcesFields & InfluencesTerms & ConceptsHistory Theories and General HistoryHistorical Disorders and Historical Treatments
More Psychology BookseBooksIndividual eBooks
This is the "Credo: Overview" page of the "Psychology Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology Research  

Psychology Research - Library physical and electronic resources.
Last Updated: Dec 7, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/psychologyresearch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Credo: Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Restricted Access Note

 The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.

Log-in: Warner email account.

Schools of Psychology

  • Behaviorism
    From World of Sociology
    Behaviorism, an approach to psychological study based philosophically on logical-positivism that denies the relevance of consciousness in understanding behavior, explains human behavior entirely in terms of observable and measurable responses to environmental stimuli.
  • Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT)
    From Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology
    CBT is an extremely successful and popular method of psychotherapy, loosely based on cognitive principles.
  • Functionalism
    From The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
    The view that mental states are defined by their causes and effects. As a metaphysical thesis about the nature of mental states, functionalism holds that what makes an inner state mental is not an intrinsic property of the state, but rather its relations to sensory stimulation (input), to other inner states, and to behavior (output).
  • Gestalt: Topic Page
    School of psychology that interprets phenomena as organized wholes rather than as aggregates of distinct parts, maintaining that the whole is greater than the sum of its parts.
  • Moral Psychology
    From The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
    The subfield of psychology that traces the development over time of moral reasoning and opinions in the lives of individuals.
  • Organizational Psychology
    From The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
    A branch of applied psychology covering organizational, military, economic and personnel psychology and including such areas as tests and measurements, the study of organizations and organizational behaviour, personnel practices, human engineering, human factors, the effects of work, fatigue, pay, consumer surveys and market research.
  • Psychoanalysis: Topic Page
    Name given by Sigmund Freud to a system of interpretation and therapeutic treatment of psychological disorders.
  • Structuralism
    From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
    As a school or system of psychology, structuralism had its antecedents in British philosophy of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Organizations & Institutions

  • American Psychological Association
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
    The American Psychological Association (APA) is the nation’s major psychology organization. The APA works to advance psychology as a science and a profession, and to promote human welfare.
  • Bellevue Psychiatric Hospital
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
    The history of psychiatric care at Bellevue Hospital Center and the history of psychiatric care in the United States are closely interwoven.
  • Halfway Houses
    From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
    Halfway houses are locales where all activities and interactions may be viewed as having potentially healing, rehabilitative, and supportive properties and where all members may consciously or unconsciously contribute to therapy.
  • Harvard University: Topic Page
    Mainly at Cambridge, Mass., including Harvard College, the oldest American college.








  • Hospital: Topic Page
    An institution in which certain kinds of illness are investigated and treated.
  • Oxford University
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    At Oxford, England, one of the oldest English-language universities in the world.
  • Total institution
    From World of Sociology
    Total institutions are residential establishments designed to break down prior socialization and instill a new set of norms, values, and beliefs.
  • University: Topic Page
    Institution of higher learning for those who have completed primary and secondary education.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip