EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
eBooksDatabasesCredo Reference/Abnormal Psychology LinksInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing Resources
eBooksDatabasesCredo Reference/Sports Psychology LinksInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing Resources
DatabasesEBSCO: Individual Psychology DatabasesReferencePsychology LinksInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesKhan Academy: Health and Medicine
Cognitive BiologyMental HealthMental Illness & TreatmentPsychological Disorders Part OnePsychological Disorders Part TwoPsychologists
Individual and Other Reference SourcesFields & InfluencesTerms & ConceptsHistory Theories and General HistoryHistorical Disorders and Historical Treatments
More Psychology BookseBooksIndividual eBooks
This is the "Mental Health" page of the "Psychology Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology Research  

Psychology Research - Library physical and electronic resources.
Last Updated: Nov 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/psychologyresearch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Mental Health Print Page
  Search: 
 

Testing

  • Beck Depression Inventory II
    From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
    The Beck Depression Inventory-II (BDI-II; Beck, Steer, & Brown, 1996) is a 21-item self-report instrument for measuring the severity of depression in adolescents and adults according to symptoms corresponding to the criteria for diagnosing major depressive disorders.
  • Burks' Behavior Rating
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
    The Burks’ Behavior Rating Scales (BBRS), Preschool and Kindergarten Form and Grades One–Nine Form, are rating inventories used to identify the type and severity of problem behaviors exhibited by referred children ages 2 to 15.
  • Child Behavior Checklist
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
    The purpose of the Child Behavior Checklist (CBCL 6–18; Achenbach & Rescorla, 2001) is to quickly collect standardized ratings on a broad spectrum of competencies and problems for children aged 6 to 18 years.
  • Intelligence Test: Topic Page
    Test that attempts to measure innate intellectual ability, rather than acquired ability.
  • Myers-Briggs Type Indicator
    From Capstone Encyclpaedia of Business
    The Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) is probably the most frequently used personality inventory in the United States alone. Over 3 million MBTIs are administered each year.
  • Psychological test: Topic Page
    Any of a variety of testing procedures for measuring psychological traits and behavior, or for studying some specialized aspect of ability.
  • Psychometrics
    From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
    The field of psychometrics generally considers quantitative psychological data. Such data normally emerges from test responses, although it may come from other measures.
  • Rorschach test
    From The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
    The grandfather of all PROJECTIVE TESTS, designed and developed by the Swiss psychiatrist Hermann Rorschach. The administration of the test consists of a structured interview using a series of ten standardized, bilaterally symmetrical inkblots.

Mental Health Careers

  • Mental Health Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists
    from 2014-2015 Occupational Outlook Handbook
    Mental health counselors and marriage and family therapists help people manage and overcome mental and emotional disorders and problems with their family and relationships. They listen to clients and ask questions, to help the clients understand their problems and develop strategies to improve their lives.
  • Developmental Counselor
    From Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
    Developmental counseling is a collaborative and catalytic relationship formed between a professional counselor, who is trained in both counseling and human development, and a client, who is currently experiencing or is expected to experience problems that impede progress toward mastering personally and/or culturally valued functions.
  • Pediatric psychologist
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
    The past two decades have been a period of significant professional growth for pediatric psychology. In general, the number of psychologists in medical settings has increased rapidly and the scope of their activities has widened enormously.
  • Psychiatrist
    From The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
    A person trained in medicine who specializes in the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional disorders.
  • Psychologist
    From The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
    Determining to just whom this term applies is no simple matter. The difficulties stem from the fact that some who claim it do so because they practise psychology, others because they apply it, others because they teach it and still others because they research it.
  • Psychotherapist
    From Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology
    A person who professes to carry out psychological treatments according to a particular theoretical model (as in psychodynamic psychotherapist, behavioural psychotherapist, etc.).
  • Social Worker
    From Webster's New World™ Medical Dictionary
    A health professional who assists individuals and families with social or emotional issues.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip