EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
eBooksDatabasesCredo ReferenceGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links
eBooksMission Bell Media Leadership eBooksDatabasesCredo ReferenceGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful Links
More Psychology BookseBooksIndividual eBooksCurrent IssuesDatabasesEBSCO - Individual Psychology DatabasesCredo ReferenceCredo Reference - Psychology OverviewOther Electronic ResourcesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesPsychology LinksKhan Academy - Health and MedicineInternational Resources
Fields & InfluencesTerms & ConceptsHistory Theories and General HistoryHistorical Disorders and Historical TreatmentsCognitive BiologyMental HealthMental Illness & TreatmentPsychological Disorders Part OnePsychological Disorders Part TwoPsychologistsPsychoanalysis
This is the "Historical Disorders and Historical Treatments" page of the "Psychology Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology Research  

Psychology Research - Library physical and electronic resources.
Last Updated: Aug 23, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/psychologyresearch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Historical Disorders and Historical Treatments Print Page
  Search: 
 

Historical Disorders

  • Hysteria: Topic Page
    In psychology, a disorder commonly known today as conversion disorder, in which a psychological conflict is converted into a bodily disturbance.
  • Lunacy
    From Chamber's Dictionary of the Unexplained
    A form of insanity once thought to come with the changes in the moon.
  • Idiot
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
    Idiot is an archaic term used from the turn of the century through the 1950s to denote an individual with mental retardation whose measured IQ fell below 25 or 30. It (...) was used comparatively with lesser degrees of retardation (i.e., imbecile and moron).
  • Madness
    From Science in the Enlightenment: An Encyclopedia
    Neither theories of madness nor treatment of the mad changed greatly for most of the eighteenth century, but a series of rapid changes around the beginning of the nineteenth century led to the founding of “psychiatry.”
  • Melancholia
    From The Edinburgh International Encyclopaedia of Psychoanalysis
    In his very first works between 1895 and 1897, Freud understood melancholia as a form of depression of variable intensity, linked to a loss of mental energy – he mainly drew on the popular theory of neurasthenia.
  • Neurasthenia
    From The Royal Society of Medicine Health Encyclopedia
    An old-fashioned term based on an early and unsophisticated notion that psychological fatigue, loss of motivation and energy and other associated symptoms were, in some unspecified way, caused by a disorder of the nerves.

Historical Treatments

  • Acupuncture: Topic Page
    Technique of traditional Chinese medicine, in which a number of very fine metal needles are inserted into the skin at specially designated points.
  • Bloodletting
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    Also called bleeding, practice of drawing blood from the body in the treatment of disease. General bloodletting consists of the abstraction of blood by incision into an artery (arteriotomy) or vein (venesection, or phlebotomy).
  • Electroconvulsive Therapy (ECT): Topic Page
    In psychiatry, treatment of mood disorders by means of electricity; the broader term "shock therapy" also includes the use of chemical agents.
  • Exorcism
    From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
    An exorcism is a ritual, formalized by the Catholic Church during the seventeenth century, performed on a person exhibiting signs of demonic possession. Possession is said to occur when the Devil enters and takes over the physical and mental faculties of the victim.
  • Hydrotherapy
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    Use of water in the treatment of illness or injury. Although the medicinal and hygienic value of water was recognized by the early Greeks, hydrotherapy attained its widest use in the 18th and 19th cent. through the practice of the British physician Sir John Floyer and an Austrian peasant, Vincenz Priessnitz.
  • Insulin coma therapy
    From Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology
    A now defunct form of physical treatment, at one time advocated for schizophrenia patients, in which patients were repeatedly administered insulin (see s. 2) in order to induce a comatose state.
  • Lobotomy
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    Surgical procedure for cutting nerve pathways in the frontal lobes of the brain. The operation has been performed on mentally ill patients whose behavioral patterns were not improved by other forms of treatment.
  • Psychosurgery
    From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
    Psychosurgery, by definition, implies the destruction of brain tissue for the relief of severe, persistent, and debilitating psychiatric symptomatology.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip