Useful Law Research Resources
- Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) - The United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics
BJS mission is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded. Sections include: Topics, Publications & Products, Data Collecting, Funding, and Data Analysis Tools.
- Careers in Criminal Justice - Criminal Justice
Information about starting a career in Criminal Justice.
- Criminal Law – Justia.com
Justia provides primary legal materials and community resources free and easy to find on the Internet. The company provides Internet users with free case law, codes, regulations, legal articles and legal blog and twitterer databases, as well as additional community resources. Justia works with educational, public interest and other socially focused organizations to bring legal and consumer information to the online community.
- Data Collection: National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) - Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
NCVS is the nation's primary source of information on criminal victimization. Each year, data are obtained from a nationally representative sample of about 90,000 households, comprising nearly 160,000 persons, on the frequency, characteristics, and consequences of criminal victimization in the United States. Each household is interviewed twice during the year. The survey enables BJS to estimate the likelihood of victimization by rape or sexual assault, robbery, aggravated and simple assault, theft, household burglary, and motor vehicle theft for the population as a whole as well as for segments of the population such as women, the elderly, members of various racial or ethnic groups, city dwellers, and other groups. The NCVS provides the largest national forum for victims to describe the impact of crime and characteristics of violent offenders.
- Federal Justice Statistics Program (FJSP) – Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
Provides annual data on workload, activities, and outcomes associated with federal criminal cases. Information is acquired on all aspects of processing in the federal justice system, including the number of persons investigated, prosecuted, convicted, incarcerated, sentenced to probation, released pretrial, and under parole or other supervision; initial prosecution decisions, referrals to magistrates, court dispositions, sentencing outcomes, sentence length, and time served. The program collects data from the Executive Office for U.S. Attorneys (EOUSA), the Pretrial Services Agency (PSA), the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts (AO), the U.S. Sentencing Commission (USSC), and the Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP).
- Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure (Cornell University Law School – Legal Information Institute [LII])
- Federal Sentencing Statistics by District, Circuit & State (U.S. Sentencing Commission)
- FindLaw - Criminal Litigation
This is FindLaw's collection of Criminal Litigation articles, part of the Litigation and Disputes section of the Corporate Counsel Center. Law articles in this archive are predominantly written by lawyers for a professional audience seeking business solutions to legal issues. Start your free research with FindLaw.
- National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
The mission of the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
- National Institute of Corrections- Online Resource Library
The library provides access to over 18,000 corrections-related resources including training plans, research reports, program evaluations and more.
- National White Collar Crime Center (NW3C) - Research
Publications, White Papers, Request Research, Resource Bookmarks, and Cyber Crime Links.
- Race and Justice Clearinghouse – The Sentencing Project
Welcome to the Race and Justice Clearinghouse, a resource for information, analysis, and commentary on race and ethnicity as they interact with the criminal justice and juvenile justice systems. The Clearinghouse contains information and tools for policymakers, practitioners, and advocates to understand racial disparities so they can be addressed, and make the criminal justice system more fair and effective.
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics (Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center - School of Criminal Justice: University of Albany)
The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Since 1973, the project has been located at the University at Albany, School of Criminal Justice, and compiled and managed by staff at the Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center in Albany, New York.
- Topical Index: State Statutes – Cornell University Law School – Legal Information Institute [LII]
- U.S. Code: Title 18 - CRIMES AND CRIMINAL PROCEDURE(Cornell University Law School – Legal Information Institute [LII])
- U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) - Statistics & Facts
- Uniform Crime Reports (FBI – Federal Bureau of Investigation)
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program has been the starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking information on crime in the nation. Today, four annual publications, Crime in the United States, National Incident-Based Reporting System, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, and Hate Crime Statistics are produced from data received from over 18,000 city, university/college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies voluntarily participating in the program. The crime data are submitted either through a state UCR Program or directly to the FBI’s UCR Program.