EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
Legal/Law eBooksGale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Law eBooksTeen Rights and Freedoms (eBooks) - Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)Other DatabasesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesInternational Resources
Criminal Justice eBooksGale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Criminal Justice eBooksIndividual eBooksDatabasesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesFlorida Criminal JusticeNational Criminal JusticeUseful linksInternational Resources
General Information - Credo ReferenceCatching and Convicting - Credo ReferenceCrimes - Credo ReferenceCriminal Profiles - Credo ReferenceJurists - Credo ReferenceLegal Systems - Credo ReferenceNotable Cases - Credo Reference
Florida Law LinksInternational Law LinksUseful links
This is the "Criminal Profiles - Credo Reference" page of the "Law and Criminal Justice Research " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law and Criminal Justice Research  

Useful Law Research Resources
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/law Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Criminal Profiles - Credo Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 

Notable Criminals (A - D)

  • Clyde Barrow (1909 - 1934)
    From Chamber's Biographical Dictionary
    Born in Texas, he was the partner of Bonnie Parker. Despite their popular romantic image, they and their gang were responsible for a number of murders.
  • David Berkowitz (1953 - )
    From World of Criminal Justice
    American murderer David Berkowitz, known as Son of Sam and the.44 Caliber Killer, was born Richard David Falco on June 1, 1953.
  • Kenneth Bianchi (1951 - )
    From World of Criminal Justice
    From October of 1977 until February of 1978, a total of ten young women were abducted and murdered. Many of these young women were also tortured and raped. Their bodies were discovered in the hillsides around the city of Los Angeles, California. The unknown murderer became known as “The Hillside Strangler”.
  • Billy the Kid (1859 - 1881)
    From The New Encyclopedia of the American West
    Outlaw. The conspicuous place Billy the Kid occupies in American folklore almost defies explanation, Even before his death at the hands of Pat Garrett, his name was legendary in New Mexico and had been introduced to a broader audience via the National Police Gazette.
  • Joe Bonanno (1905 - 2002)
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    American crime boss nicknamed "Joe Bananas," b. Castellammare del Golfo, Sicily. He came to the United States illegally in 1924, settled in Brooklyn, and soon became a bootlegger and mob enforcer.
  • John Wilkes Booth (1838 - 1865): Topic Page
    American actor, the assassin of Abraham Lincoln , b. near Bel Air, Md.; son of Junius Brutus Booth and brother of Edwin Booth.
  • Ted Bundy (1946 - 1989)
    From Chamber's Biographical Dictionary
    He was born in Vermont. An articulate and handsome man, he studied psychology and law. In 1974 he began a series of up to 40 murders in which he habitually raped and beat his victims.
  • Al Capone (1899 - 1947)
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    American gangster, b. Naples, Italy. Brought up in New York City, he became connected with organized crime and was involved in murder investigations.
  • Jeffrey Dahmer (1960 - 1994)
    From World of Criminal Justice
    American serial killer Jeffrey Lionel Dahmer was born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, on May 21, 1960. His family moved to Iowa while his father, Lionel, worked on his Ph.D. in chemistry.
  • Albert DeSalvo (1931 - 1973)
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    American serial killer who terrorized the Boston, Mass., area during a killing spree (Jun., 1962–Jan, 1964) that claimed the lives of at least 11 women.
  • John Dillinger (1903 - 1934)
    From World of Criminal Justice
    American gangster John Herbert Dillinger became a national figure during the early 1930s in the Unites States.

Notable Criminals (F - Z)

  • Albert Fish (1870 - 1936)
    From World of Criminal Justice
    Though Albert Fish was often referred to as the most “deranged” killer in American history, his story remained largely untold primarily because of its horrifying content and the fact that it took place in the 1920s.
  • John Wayne Gacy, Jr. (1942 - 1994)
    From World of Criminal Justice
    American mass murderer John Wayne Gacy, Jr. was born in Chicago, Illinois in 1942. Raised in an Irish Catholic family in a working, middle-class neighborhood, Gacy reportedly had a relatively normal childhood.
  • Ed Gein (1906 - 1986)
    From World of Criminal Justice
    Born on August 27, 1906, Edward Gein grew up to become a serial killer. Gein’s story of deviance and murder became the basis for Robert Bloch’s novel, Psycho, which was later adapted to film by Alfred Hitchcock.
  • John Gotti (1940 - )
    From World of Criminal Justice
    American gangster and criminal Named after his father, John Joseph Gotti was born in the Bronx in New York on October 27, 1940. The son... of a construction worker, he had five brothers.
  • Belle Gunness (1859 - ?)
    From World of Criminal Justice
    Belle Gunness was one of the most gruesome mass killers in American history. Her handiwork has been compared to that of the notorious French murderer, known as Bluebeard. She systematically murdered her husband and anywhere from 14 to 30 suitors.
  • Ted Kaczynski (1942 - )
    From Culture Wars: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices
    Dubbed the Unabomber after his early choice of targets (un = universities; a = airlines), recluse and former mathematics professor Ted Kaczynski killed three people and injured twenty-three others in a nationwide bombing spree that spanned nearly two decades (1978–1995).
  • Charles Manson (1934 - ): Topic Page
    The leader of a bizarre, conspiracy-minded cult that committed several murders, Charles Manson (often known simply as “Charlie”) became a notorious figure in the late 1960s, and the center of a great deal of conspiracy-minded speculation about his true motives.

  • Lee Harvey Oswald (1939 - 1963)
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    Presumed assassin of John F. Kennedy, b. New Orleans. Oswald spent most of his boyhood in Fort Worth, Tex. Later, he attended a Dallas high school, and enlisted (1956) in the Marines and served until 1959.
  • Bonnie Parker (1911 - 1934)
    From The Penguin Biographical Dictionary of Women
    As the female half of the notorious Bonnie and Clyde, Bonnie Parker was one of America's most wanted criminals of the mid 1930s.
  • Benjamin "Bugsy" Siegel (1876 - 1943)
    From World of Criminal Justice
    Benjamin “Bugsy” Siegel was born on February 28, 1906, in Brooklyn, New York. His poor Jewish parents lived in a crime-ridden slum known as Hell’s Kitchen—the breeding ground for many criminals of that era.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip