Useful Links 1Useful Links 2
Books/EBooks from the Warner University Library
Books from the Warner University Library
Books/eBooks from the Warner University Library
Books from the Warner University Library
Books from the Warner University Library
Florida Teacher Certification Examinations (FTCE) - Subject AreasBooks from the Warner University Library
Science
This is the "Books/eBooks from the Warner University Library" page of the "Academic Testing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Academic Testing  

Contains links to useful resources pertaining to academic testing.
Last Updated: Aug 7, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/academictesting Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Books/eBooks from the Warner University Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Restricted Access Note

 The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.

Log-in: Warner email account.

 

GRE eBooks

Cover Art
Gre 4000: the 4000 words essential for the GRE - Jeff Kolby
ISBN: 1889057800
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
The verbal section of the GRE is essentially a vocabulary test. With a few exceptions, if you know the word, you will probably be able to answer the question correctly. Thus, it is crucial that you improve your vocabulary. Even if you have a strong vocabulary, you will still encounter unfamiliar words on the GRE. Many students write off questions, which contain words, they don't recognize. This is a mistake. This book introduces numerous techniques that decode unfamiliar words and prod your memory of words you only half-remember. With these techniques, you will often be able to squeeze out enough meaning from an unfamiliar word to answer a question correctly. Nevertheless, don't rely on just these techniques--you must study word lists. Obviously, you cannot attempt to memorize the dictionary, and you don't need to. The GRE tests a surprisingly limited number of words, and this book has 4000 prime candidates. Granted, memorizing a list of words is rather dry, but it is probably the most effective way of improving your performance on the verbal section. All the words you need for success on the GRE Features: * 4000 Words Defined * Word Analysis section * 200 Prefixes, Roots, and Suffixes * Concise, practical definitions

Cover Art
GRE Math Tests - Jeff Kolby; Derrick Vaughn
ISBN: 188905741X
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Twenty-three GRE Math Tests! The GRE math section is not easy. There is no quick fix that will allow you to "beat" the section. But GRE math is very learnable. If you study hard and master the techniques in this book, your math score will improve--significantly! The GRE cannot be "beaten." But it can be mastered--through hard work, analytical thought, and by training yourself to think like a test writer. Many of the problems in this book are designed to prompt you to think like a test writer. For example, you will find "Duals." These are pairs of similar problems in which only one property is different. They illustrate the process of creating GRE questions. * If your target is a 700+ score, this is the book!

Cover Art
GRE Prep Course - Jeff Kolby
ISBN: 9781889057613
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Comprehensive, Rigorous Prep for the New GRE.

Fully revised for the new test.

Every year, students pay $1,000 and more to test prep companies to prepare for the GRE. Now you can get the same preparation in a book. GRE Prep Course provides the equivalent of a 2-month, 50-hour course.

Although the GRE is a difficult test, it is a very learnable test. GRE Prep Course presents a thorough analysis of the GRE and introduces numerous analytic techniques that will help you immensely, not only on the GRE but in graduate school as well.

Features:
* Math: Twenty-two chapters provide comprehensive review of GRE math.
* Verbal: Develop the ability to spot places from which questions are likely to be drawn as you read a passage (pivotal words, counter-premises, etc.). Also, learn the 4000 essential GRE words.
* Writing: Comprehensive analysis of the writing task, including writing techniques, punctuation, grammar, rhetoric, and style.
* Mentor Exercises: These exercises provide hints, insight, and partial solutions to ease your transition from seeing GRE problems solved to solving them on your own.

Cover Art
Nova's GRE Math Bible - Jeff Kolby; Derrick Vaughn
ISBN: 1889057525
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Comprehensive Prep for GRE MathEvery year, students pay $1,000 and more to test prep companies to prepare for the math section of the GRE. Now you can get the same preparation in a book.Although the GRE math section is difficult, it is very learnable. GRE Math Bible presents a thorough analysis of GRE math and introduces numerous analytic techniques that will help you immensely, not only on the GRE but in graduate school as well.Features: * Comprehensive Review: Twenty-three chapters provide complete review of GRE math.* Practice: Includes 164 examples and more than 600 exercises Arranged from easy to medium to hard to very hard.* Diagnostic Test: The diagnostic test measures your strengths and weaknesses and directs you to areas you need to study more

 

Books

Cover Art
1,014 Practice Questions for the New GRE - Princeton Review Staff
Call Number: qLB2367.4 .S45 2011
ISBN: 0375429689
Publication Date: 2011-04-26
The best way to prepare for standardized tests is to practice, and this resource offers you plenty of opportunities to do just that. 1,014nbsp;Practice Questions for the New GRE, 2nd Edition has been completed updated for thenbsp;changes coming to the GREnbsp;in August 2011, and includes: *over 1,000 practice questions for the new GRE, including hundreds of questionsnbsp;covering the new question types *detailed answer explanations for all practice questions *math drills broken down by geometric shape, such as circles, triangles, and 3-D figures *verbal drills that include the new Text Completion and Sentence Equivalence question types

Cover Art
Algebra: GRE strategy guide - Manhattan Prep Staff
Call Number: QA157 .A433 2014
ISBN: 1937707830
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
Manhattan Prep’s 4th Edition GRE Strategy Guides have been redesigned with the student in mind. With updated content and new practice problems, they are the richest, most content-driven GRE materials on the market. Written by Manhattan Prep’s high-caliber GRE instructors, the Algebra GRE Strategy Guide provides thorough coverage of this fundamental branch of math. Focused on the ways in which Algebra is tested on the GRE, this book will help you grasp core concepts and nuanced approaches for solving every type of algebraic problem. Each chapter provides comprehensive coverage of the subject matter through rules, strategies, and in-depth examples to help you build confidence and content mastery. In addition, the Guide contains “Check Your Skills†quizzes as you progress through the material, complete problem sets at the end of every chapter, and mixed drill sets at the end of the book to help you build accuracy and speed. All practice problems include detailed answer explanations written by top-scorers!Purchase of this book includes one year of access to 6 Manhattan Prep online section-adaptive GRE exams.

Cover Art
Fractions, Decimals, and Percents: GRE strategy guide - Manhattan Prep Staff
Call Number: QA117 .F724 2014
ISBN: 1937707849
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
Manhattan Prep’s 4th Edition GRE Strategy Guides have been redesigned with the student in mind. With updated content and new practice problems, they are the richest, most content-driven GRE materials on the market. Written by Manhattan Prep’s high-caliber GRE instructors, the Fractions, Decimals, & Percents GRE Strategy Guide provides an in-depth look at the variety of GRE questions that test this surprisingly tricky area of math. Learn to see the connections among these part-whole relationships as you hone the skills you need to manipulate digits, decimals, fractions, percents, and ratios so that you can implement strategic shortcuts on exam day.Each chapter provides comprehensive coverage of the subject matter through rules, strategies, and in-depth examples to help you build confidence and content mastery. In addition, the Guide contains “Check Your Skills†quizzes as you progress through the material, complete problem sets at the end of every chapter, and mixed drill sets at the end of the book to help you build accuracy and speed. All practice problems include detailed answer explanations written by top-scorers!Purchase of this book includes one year of access to 6 Manhattan Prep online section-adaptive GRE exams.

Cover Art
Geometry: GRE strategy guide - Manhattan Prep Staff
Call Number: QA459 .G463 2014
ISBN: 1937707857
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
Manhattan Prep’s 4th Edition GRE Strategy Guides have been redesigned with the student in mind. With updated content and new practice problems, they are the richest, most content-driven GRE materials on the market. Written by Manhattan Prep’s high-caliber GRE instructors, the Geometry GRE Strategy Guide equips you with powerful tools to comprehend and solve every geometry problem on the GRE. Refresh your knowledge of shapes, planes, lines, angles, objects, and more. Learn to understand the concepts and grasp their applications, mastering not only fundamental geometric principles, but also nuanced strategies for tackling the toughest questions.Each chapter provides comprehensive coverage of the subject matter through rules, strategies, and in-depth examples to help you build confidence and content mastery. In addition, the Guide contains “Check Your Skills†quizzes as you progress through the material, complete problem sets at the end of every chapter, and mixed drill sets at the end of the book to help you build accuracy and speed. All practice problems include detailed answer explanations written by top-scorers!Purchase of this book includes one year of access to 6 Manhattan Prep online section-adaptive GRE exams.

Cover Art
GRE Premier 2017 with 6 Practice Tests - Kaplan
Call Number: LB2367.4 .G747 2017
ISBN: 9781506203225
Publication Date: 2016-06-07
GRE Premier 2017 is a comprehensive prep system that includes both book and mobile-enabled online components. Get access to in-depth strategies, test information, and practice questions to help you score higher on the GRE. GRE Premier 2017 features: * 2,200+ practice questions with detailed explanations * 6 full-length practice tests (5 realistic Multi-Stage Tests available online and 1 in the book) * 500-question online Quiz Bank for customized quiz creation and review of GRE practice questions * Mobile-enabled online resources: study anywhere on any device with an Internet connection * Videos on stress management and the graduate school application process * Academic support from Kaplan faculty via our Facebook page: facebook.com/KaplanGradPrep        Kaplan guarantees that if you study with this book and online resources, you will score higher on the GRE--or you'll receive a full refund. Looking for more prep? Our GRE Complete 2017 includes GRE Premier 2017, GRE workbooks, and more.

Cover Art
Master the GRE 2015 - Margaret Moran
Call Number: qLB2367.4 .M38 2014
ISBN: 0768938651
Publication Date: 2014-04-15
The most comprehensive resource for students who want to earn top scores on the new GRE revised General Test. This comprehensive guide offers 4 full-length practice tests with expert test-prep tips on exam questions PLUS access to 3 additional practice tests online. Seven full-length GRE practice tests including access to 3 online tests In-depth review of the GRE's format and structure, including detailed information on the new test design Extensive review of all subject areas: Quantitative Reasoning, Verbal Reasoning, and Analytical Writing Thorough explanations of the new on-screen calculator and answer formats Analysis of new score scale and score reporting Detailed answer explanations for every question

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill's GRE: Graduate Record Examination general test - Steven Dulan
Call Number: AV Kit LB 2367.4 .M39 2014 Book; AV Kit LB 2367.4 .M39 2014 CD ROM
ISBN: 0071817476
Publication Date: 2013-04-11
Gives you the essential skill building techniques and strategies that are developed by a team of renowned test-prep tutors. This title includes facts about the exam, hundreds of practice questions, model GRE essays, and eight full-length practice tests.

Cover Art
Number Properties: GRE strategy guide - Manhattan Prep Staff
Call Number: QA241 .N86 2014
ISBN: 1937707865
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
Manhattan Prep’s 4th Edition GRE Strategy Guides have been redesigned with the student in mind. With updated content and new practice problems, they are the richest, most content-driven GRE materials on the market. Written by Manhattan Prep’s high-caliber GRE instructors, the Number Properties GRE Strategy Guide provides a comprehensive analysis of the properties and rules of integers tested on the GRE. Rebuild the skills you need with thorough coverage of divisibility and primes, odds and evens, positives and negatives, exponents, roots, and more. Each chapter provides comprehensive coverage of the subject matter through rules, strategies, and in-depth examples to help you build confidence and content mastery. In addition, the Guide contains “Check Your Skills†quizzes as you progress through the material, complete problem sets at the end of every chapter, and mixed drill sets at the end of the book to help you build accuracy and speed. All practice problems include detailed answer explanations written by top-scorers!Purchase of this book includes one year of access to 6 Manhattan Prep online section-adaptive GRE exams.

Cover Art
Official GRE Verbal Reasoning Practice Questions - Educational Testing Service Staff
Call Number: LB2367.4 .O35 2014
ISBN: 007183429X
Publication Date: 2014-08-14
150 REAL GRE Verbal Reasoning questions--direct from the test maker! The best way to prepare for the Verbal Reasoning measure of the GRE revised General Test is with real GRE test questions--and that is what you will find in this unique guide! Specially created for you by ETS, it offers 150 actual GRE Verbal Reasoning questions with complete explanations. Plus, this guide includes an authoritative overview of the GRE Analytical Writing measure, completewith sample writing tasks and scored sample responses. Only ETS can show you exactly what to expect on the test. So for in-depth practice and accurate, reliable test preparation for the GRE Verbal Reasoning measure, this guide is your best choice! Look inside to find: Real GRE Verbal Reasoning test questions arranged by question type and difficulty level--to help you build your test-taking skills. Plus, mixed practice sets. Answers and explanations for every question! ETS's own test-taking strategies: Valuable hints and tips that can help you do your best on the test. Official information on the GRE Verbal Reasoning measure: The facts about test content, structure, and scoring--straight from ETS. Plus: An overview of the GRE Analytical Writing measure with writing strategies, sample writing tasks, and sample scored essays.

Cover Art
Quantitative Comparisons and Data Interpretation - Manhattan Prep Staff
Call Number: QA43 .Q36 2014
ISBN: 9781937707873
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
Manhattan Prep’s 4th Edition GRE Strategy Guides have been redesigned with the student in mind. With updated content and new practice problems, they are the richest, most content-driven GRE materials on the market. Written by Manhattan Prep’s high-caliber GRE instructors, this Guide is really two books in one, thoroughly covering two of the quantitative question types on the GRE. The Guide to Quantitative Comparisons provides you with a framework for understanding what Quantitative Comparisons questions test. Most importantly, it discusses time-saving strategies specific to the Quantitative Comparisons format so that you can know when to solve rigorously, when to estimate, and when to test numbers.The Guide to Data Interpretation presents an overview of the types of graphs students can expect to see on the GRE. It also discusses the different types of questions typically seen on the GRE and provides guidelines for reading graphs and combining information from different graphs to answer questions.Each chapter provides comprehensive coverage of the subject matter through rules, strategies, and in-depth examples to help you build confidence and content mastery. In addition, the Guide contains “Check Your Skills†quizzes as you progress through the material, complete problem sets at the end of every chapter, and mixed drill sets at the end of the book to help you build accuracy and speed. All practice problems include detailed answer explanations written by top-scorers!Purchase of this book includes one year of access to 6 Manhattan Prep online section-adaptive GRE exams.

Cover Art
Reading Comprehension and Essays: GRE strategy guide - Manhattan Prep Staff
Call Number: LB1050.45 .R43 2014
ISBN: 1937707881
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
Manhattan Prep’s 4th Edition GRE Strategy Guides have been redesigned with the student in mind. With updated content and new practice problems, they are the richest, most content-driven GRE materials on the market. Written by Manhattan Prep’s high-caliber GRE instructors, the Reading Comprehension & Essays GRE Strategy Guide provides a comprehensive approach to Reading Comprehension passages and questions on the GRE. It contains practical techniques for perceiving passage structures rapidly and for grasping difficult, unfamiliar content. This Guide teaches you how to attack questions through effective classification and analysis, following a clear process for answering both general and specific questions and avoiding common traps along the way. Furthermore, you will learn how to master dynamic outlining and writing techniques for tackling the essays. Each chapter provides comprehensive coverage of the subject matter using rules, strategies, and in-depth examples to help you build confidence and content mastery. In addition, the Guide contains complete problem sets, with detailed answer explanations written by top-scorers, and numerous exercises that you can use to train yourself in reading and writing more efficiently.Purchase of this book includes one year of access to 6 Manhattan Prep online section-adaptive GRE exams.

Cover Art
Text Completion and Sentence Equivalence: GRE strategy guide - Manhattan Prep Staff
Call Number: PE1449 .T49 2014
ISBN: 193770789X
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
Manhattan Prep’s 4th Edition GRE Strategy Guides have been redesigned with the student in mind. With updated content and new practice problems, they are the richest, most content-driven GRE materials on the market. Written by Manhattan Prep’s high-caliber GRE instructors, the Text Completion & Sentence Equivalence GRE Strategy Guide provides a comprehensive approach to the vocabulary-based questions on the GRE. Learn core principles and useful techniques for taking cues from the given sentence, anticipating correct answers, and eliminating wrong answers.Delving deeply into both of the GRE’s vocabulary question types, this Guide provides straightforward step-by-step processes, detailed examples, and built-in exercises to hone particular skills. It is designed to ensure that, not only do you know the vocabulary being tested, but you can also use those words in context with ease and efficiency. Each chapter provides comprehensive coverage of the subject matter through rules, strategies, and in-depth examples to help you build confidence and content mastery. In addition, the Guide contains complete problem sets, with detailed answer explanations written by top-scorers, and numerous exercises that you can use build accuracy and speed. Purchase of this book includes one year of access to 6 Manhattan Prep online section-adaptive GRE exams.

Cover Art
The 5 Lb. Book of GRE® Practice Problems: GRE® strategy guide supplement. - Manhattan Prep Staff
Call Number: LB2367.4 .F58 2015
ISBN: 1941234518
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
The best-selling 5 lb. Book of GRE Practice Problems has been updated to offer more advanced online resources and hundreds of new questions. It contains over 1,800 practice problems covering every topic tested on the GRE, making it an essential resource for students at any level. Manhattan Prep's 5 lb. Book of GRE Practice Problems is an essential resource for students of any level who are preparing for the GRE revised General Exam. Recently updated to more closely reflect the nuances of the GRE exam, this book offers more than 1,800 questions across 33 chapters and online to provide students with comprehensive practice. Developed by our expert instructors, the problems in this book are sensibly grouped into practice sets and mirror those found on the GRE in content, form, and style. Students can build fundamental skills in math and verbal through targeted practice while easy-to-follow explanations and step-by-step applications help cement their understanding of the concepts tested on the GRE. In addition, students can take their practice to the next level with online question banks that provide realistic, computer-based practice to better simulate the GRE test-taking experience. Purchase of this book includes access to an online video introduction, online banks of GRE practice problems, and the GRE Challenge Problem Archive.

Cover Art
Word Problems: GRE strategy guide - Manhattan Prep Staff
Call Number: QA63 .W67 2014
ISBN: 1937707903
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
Manhattan Prep’s 4th Edition GRE Strategy Guides have been redesigned with the student in mind. With updated content and new practice problems, they are the richest, most content-driven GRE materials on the market. Written by Manhattan Prep’s high-caliber GRE instructors, the Word Problems GRE Strategy Guide analyzes the GRE’s complex math word problems and provides structured frameworks for attacking each question type. Master the art of translating challenging word problems into organized data through a complete review of algebraic translations, ratios, statistics, probability, and more.Each chapter provides comprehensive coverage of the subject matter through rules, strategies, and in-depth examples to help you build confidence and content mastery. In addition, the Guide contains “Check Your Skills†quizzes as you progress through the material, complete problem sets at the end of every chapter, and mixed drill sets at the end of the book to help you build accuracy and speed. All practice problems include detailed answer explanations written by top-scorers!Purchase of this book includes one year of access to 6 Manhattan Prep online section-adaptive GRE exams.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip