Useful Links 1Useful Links 2
Books/EBooks from the Warner University Library
Books from the Warner University Library
Books/eBooks from the Warner University Library
Books from the Warner University Library
Books from the Warner University Library
Florida Teacher Certification Examinations (FTCE) - Subject AreasBooks from the Warner University Library
Science
This is the "Books from the Warner University Library" page of the "Academic Testing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Academic Testing  

Contains links to useful resources pertaining to academic testing.
Last Updated: Aug 7, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/academictesting Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Books from the Warner University Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

SAT eBooks

 The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.

Log-in: Warner email account.

Cover Art
Ace the SAT Writing Even If You Hate to Write - Tamra B. Orr
ISBN: 9781932662306
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
From the seemingly hopeless to the almost perfect, high school students learn how to master the timed essay in this guide to the SAT's writing portion. Based on the premise that timed writing is a skill that anyone can learn, this handbook breaks down the essay-writing process into an easily mastered regimen that includes brainstorming, writing an outline, and time-management strategies. Thirty mediocre sample essays are analyzed, improved, and scored to help students recognize what graderslook for and understand how to improve their own writing. In a detailed question-and-answer section, top tutors and former SAT graders share their thoughts on what they like to see in an essay and give advice on creating the strongest piece. A basic overview of grammar and vocabulary and handy writing shortcuts are included.

Cover Art
Bob Miller's SAT Math for the Clueless 2nd ed - Robert Miller
ISBN: 0071465251
Publication Date: 2005.
Everything you need to know to ace the math sections of the NEW SAT He's back And this time Bob Miller is helping you tackle the math sections of the new and scarier SAT Backed by his bestselling "Clueless" approach and appeal, Bob Miller's second edition of SAT Math for the Clueless once again features his renowned tips, techniques, and insider strategies for complete mastery of this often-feared portion of the test. Acting as your personal tutor, Miller guides you through all the puzzling elements of mathematics, making even the most complicated material clear and easy to handle. Features include: Completely updated coverage of the new SAT I, with added topics such as Algebra II A sample exam for the new SAT I math sections developed especially for this book Sample problems with fully explained answers

Cover Art
How to Survive the SAT (And ACT) - Jay Brody
ISBN: 9781933512068
Publication Date: 2007-07-20
This guide seeks to encourage and instruct students faced with the daunting first step of the college admissions process: the SAT and ACT tests. More than just a test-prep guide, How to Survive the SAT is a compendium of anecdotes and tips from past test-takers with high scores. From advice on everything from getting into the frame of mind, to crucial test-day rituals, this guide offers practical help for those ready to achieve their best possible scores.

Cover Art
Master the SAT 2014 - Peterson's Publishing Staff
ISBN: 9780768937541
Publication Date: 2013-08-06
Peterson's Master the SAT provides a wealth of test-taking strategies and helps students prepare for the SAT with extensive reviews and 9 full-length practice tests to help sharpen math, writing, and critical reading skills. In addition, "Parents' Guide to College Admission Testing," provides advice for parents on subjects such as what tests your high school student should take, how to motivate your child, and what role to play in the college admissions process. 9 full-length practice tests (including access to 3 online), with detailed answer explanations for each exam question "Parents' Guide to College Admission Testing," provides advice on how parents can motivate their children, what tests high school students should take, and what role parents should play in the college admissions process Access to hundreds of in-depth college and university descriptions online, offering information on degrees, student life, admission requirements, and application information Extensive reviews of all subjects appearing on the SAT, including essay writing, higher-level math, and reading comprehension. User-friendly design, with bulleted roadmaps and chapter summaries formulated so that high school students can work through the exercises at their own pace Vocabulary review with exercises and practice test questions in the free download of Peterson's Ultimate Word Success eBook .


Cover Art
Sat 4000 - Jeff Kolby
ISBN: 9781889057811
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
The reading section of the SAT is essentially a vocabulary test. With a few exceptions, if you know the word, you will probably be able to answer the question correctly. Thus, it is crucial that you improve your vocabulary. Even if you have a strong vocabulary, you will still encounter unfamiliar words on the SAT. Many students write off questions, which contain words, they don't recognize. This is a mistake. This book introduces numerous techniques that decode unfamiliar words and prod your memory of words you only half-remember. With these techniques, you will often be able to squeeze out enough meaning from an unfamiliar word to answer a question correctly. Nevertheless, don't rely on just these techniques--you must study word lists. Obviously, you cannot attempt to memorize the dictionary, and you don't need to. The SAT tests a surprisingly limited number of words, and this book has 4000 prime candidates. Granted, memorizing a list of words is rather dry, but it is probably the most effective way of improving your performance on the verbal section. All the words you need for success on the SAT Features: * 4000 Words defined * Word Analysis section * 200 Prefixes, Roots, and Suffixes * Concise, practical definitions

Cover Art
SAT Critical Reading and Writing Prep Course - Jeff Kolby
ISBN: 9781889057859
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Comprehensive Prep for SAT Critical Reading and Writing.

Every year, students pay $1,000 and more to test prep companies to prepare for the Critical Reading and Writing sections of the SAT. Now you can get the same preparation in a book.

Although the SAT Reading and Writing sections sections are difficult, they are very learnable. SAT Critical Reading and Writing Prep Course presents a thorough analysis of SAT reading and writing and introduces numerous analytic techniques that will help you immensely, not only on the SAT but in college as well.

Features:

* Reading: Develop the ability to spot places from which questions are likely to be drawn as you read a passage. (pivotal words, counter-premises, etc.)

* Writing: Comprehensive analysis of the essay, including writing techniques, punctuation, grammar, rhetoric, and style.

* Vocabulary: Learn the essential 4000 SAT words and the 400 high-frequency words. Also, learn how to conjure the meaning of words that you barely recognize.

* Performance: If your target is a 700+ score, this is the book!

Cover Art
SAT Math Bible - Jeff Kolby; Derrick Vaughn
ISBN: 9781889057484
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Comprehensive Prep for SAT Math Every year, students pay $1,000 and more to test prep companies to prepare for the math section of the SAT. Now you can get the same preparation in a book. Although the SAT math section is difficult, it is very learnable. SAT Math Bible presents a thorough analysis of SAT math and introduces numerous analytic techniques that will help you immensely, not only on the SAT but in college as well. Features: * Comprehensive Review: Twenty-three chapters provide complete review of SAT math. * Practice: Includes 164 examples and more than 500 exercises! Arranged from easy to medium to hard to very hard * Diagnostic Test: The diagnostic test measures your strengths and weaknesses and directs you to areas you need to study more.

Cover Art
SAT Math Tests - Jeff Kolby
ISBN: 9781889057910
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Ten Full-length SAT Math Tests with 540 Problems! Integrated Solutions: Because it can be boring to review math properties for days or weeks before taking practice tests, we have carefully integrated a review of all the math properties you need for the new SAT into the solutions to the test problems. The new SAT math section is not easy. There is no quick fix that will allow you to "beat" the section. But SAT math is very learnable. If you study hard and master the techniques in this book, your math score will improve--significantly! The SAT cannot be "beaten." But it can be mastered--through hard work, analytical thought, and by training yourself to think like a test writer. Many of the problems in this book are designed to prompt you to think like a test writer. For example, you will find "Duals." These are pairs of similar problems in which only one property is different. They illustrate the process of creating SAT questions. * If your target is a 700+ score, this is the book!

Cover Art
SAT Prep Course - Jeff J. Kolby
ISBN: 9781889057460
Publication Date: 2015-08-10
Comprehensive, Rigorous Prep for the SAT Every year students pay $600 and more to test prep companies to prepare for the new SAT. Now you can get the same SAT preparation in a book. SAT Prep Course provides the equivalent of a 2-month, 50-hour course. The new SAT is challenging but it can be mastered through hard work, analytical thought, and by training yourself to think like an SAT test writer. Many of the exercises in this book are designed to prompt you to think like an SAT test writer. For example, in the SAT math section, you will find Duals. These are pairs of similar SAT problems in which only one property is different. They illustrate the process of creating SAT questions. Features: * Math: Twenty-two chapters provide comprehensive review of SAT math, including the new concepts from Algebra II. * Reading: Develop the ability to spot places from which questions are likely to be drawn as you read a passage. (pivotal words, counter-premises, etc.)* Writing: Comprehensive analysis of the essay, including writing techniques, punctuation, grammar, rhetoric, and style. * Vocabulary: Learn the essential 4000 SAT words and the 400 high-frequency words.* Mentor Exercises: These exercises provide hints, insight, and partial solutions to ease your transition from seeing SAT problems solved to solving them on your own. Also includes SAT test-prep software! Software features: Mentor Mode: In Mentor Mode, you are immediately told whether you answered a problem correctly, and you can immediately view a detailed solution of the problem. Test Mode: In Test Mode, you can take an SAT test timed and scored by the program.

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Books

Cover Art
6 Practice Tests for the SAT, 2017 Edition - Princeton Review
Call Number: LB2353.57 .A152 2016
ISBN: 1101919795
Publication Date: 2016-06-14
YOU'LL NEED EXTRA PRACTICE TO ACHIEVE AN EXCELLENT SCORE. The new SAT is still an unknown quantity for many students--and we all know that practice is one of the best ways to get comfortable with any exam. 6 Practice Tests for the SAT provides six complete opportunities to assess whether your skills are up to the mark on the new SAT's higher-level math questions and reading comprehension passages. Detailed answer explanations for every practice problem support your progress, and help you to master every aspect of the test. Practice Your Way to Perfection. * 6 full-length practice tests and answers for the new SAT * Hands-on exposure to the test, with over 900 questions * Self-scoring reports to help you assess your test performance Work Smarter, Not Harder. * Diagnose and learn from your mistakes with in-depth answer explanations * See The Princeton Review's techniques in action and solidify your SAT knowledge * Learn fundamental approaches for achieving content mastery

Cover Art
8 Practice Tests for the SAT 2017 - Kaplan
Call Number: LB2353.57 .A18 2017
ISBN: 1506202276
Publication Date: 2016-05-24
Practice makes perfect! Prep Smarter. Now that the College Board's redesigned SAT is in effect, there's nothing like a lot of practice to help build the necessary edge to increase your score. 8 Practice Tests for the SAT 2017 provides more practice tests than any other guide on the market. 8 Practice Tests for the SAT 2017 features: * 8 realistic full-length practice tests with detailed answer explanations * 450+ Math Grid-Ins and Multiple-Choice questions * 400+ Evidence-Based Reading questions * 350+ Writing and Language questions * 8 Essay Prompts, complete with model essays and a self-grading guide * Detailed answer explanations written by test experts to help you determine your strengths and weaknesses and improve your performance. Prepare for the SAT with confidence! With more than 75 years of experience and more than 95% of our students getting into their top-choice schools, Kaplan knows how to increase your score and get you into your top-choice college! Kaplan guarantees that if you study with the 8 Practice Tests for the SAT 2017, you will score higher on the SAT--or you'll receive a full refund.

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill's SAT with CD-ROM, 2014 Edition - Christopher Black; Mark Anestis
Call Number: AV Kit LB 2353.57 .M38 2014 Book; AV Kit LB 2353.57 .M38 2014 CD ROM
ISBN: 9780071817363
Publication Date: 2013-06-12
WE WANT TO HELP YOU SUCCEED ON THE SAT Weive put all of our proven expertise into McGraw-Hill'sSAT to make sure you're ready for this difficult exam. With this book, you'll get essential skill-buildingtechniques and strategies developed by professional SAT instructors who have helped thousands of students just like you succeed on this important test. You'll get online help, 10 full-length practice tests, hundreds of practice problems, and all the facts about the current exam. With McGraw-Hill's SAT, we'll guide you step by step through your preparation program--and give you the tools you need to succeed. Features include: 10 full-length practice SATs: 4 in the book, 4 on CD-ROM, and 2 interactive tests online at MHPracticePlus.com New free interactive Test Planner app available for download (see inside front cover for details) Online videos illustrating SAT problemsolvingtechniques Hundreds of sample questions with explanations

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip