How to conduct business research part 2.
Economics Resources/Research and Statistics Links/Calculators
- Association of Christian Economists (ACE) - Index to articles published in Faith & Economics
ACE posts in the Web site all Faith and Economics articles for which ACE holds the copyright, with a one- year lag between publication and website posting. The subject headings include: •Surveys of thought within theological traditions. •Sub-disciplinary fields: Economic Development/International Trade, Economics and Ethics, Poverty in North America, History of Thought/Methodology, etc.
- Biznar - A Deep Web Free Aggregator Website
Deep Web Technologies’ free databases offer sources by broad subjects. The Deep Web contains hundreds of thousands of sources which are not accessible to Google and Bing.
- Index of Economic Freedom
Index of Economic Freedom is an annual guide published by The Wall Street Journal and The Heritage Foundation. The Index covers 10 freedoms – from property rights to entrepreneurship – in 186 countries.
Provides: “Historical data on important economic aggregates, with particular emphasis on "nominal (current-price) measures, as well as real (constant-price) measures” and “carefully designed calculators (using these data) that explain the many issues involved in making value comparison over time.”
- The Economy/ Global Economic Crisis & Recovery Resource Guide (Middletown Thrall Library- a U.S. Federal Depository Library)
Topics include: Global Economic Crisis & Recovery, News, Statistics, World Economic Indicators, Credit / Financing, Energy, Food, Housing / Mortgages / Subprime, and Related Resources.
- The EH.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History
The EH.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History is designed to provide students and laymen with high quality reference articles in the field. Articles for the Online Encyclopedia are written by experts, screened by a group of authorities, and carefully edited. A distinguished Advisory Board recommends entry topics, assists in the selection of authors, and defines the project’s scope.
- Economagic.com: Economic Time Series Page
This page is meant to be a comprehensive site of free, easily available economic time series data useful for economic research, in particular economic forecasting. At this time, there are more than 200,000 time series for which data and custom charts can be retrieved.
- Economic Census – U.S. Census Bureau
The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, and response is required by law.
- Economics and Personal Finances – Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
- Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA) – U.S. Dept. of Commerce
ESA’s expert economists and analysts produce in-depth reports, fact sheets, and briefings on policy issues and current economic events.
- Federal Reserve – Data Releases (Economic Research and Data)
- FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
Download, graph, and track 213,000 US and international time series from 65 sources.
- Gapminder – For a fact-based world view
Gapminder is a non-profit venture – a modern “museum” on the Internet – promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals. Gapminder is a BRILLIANT way to analyse development indicators. A range of development data can be plotted on a map or chart and animated over time
- National Bureau of Economic Research
Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research in a scientific manner, and without policy recommendations, among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
- RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 81 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers. The collected data is then used in various services as described below.
- Resources for Economists on the Internet - American Economic Association AEA)
This guide is sponsored by the American Economic Association. It lists more than 2,000 resources in 97 sections and sub-sections available on the Internet of interest to academic and practicing economists, and those interested in economics.
- U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis - U.S. Department of Commerce
National, International, Regional, Industry, and Integrated Accounts.
- U.S. Economy at a Glance: Perspective from the BEA Accounts (Bureau of Economic Analysis)
BEA produces some of the most closely watched economic statistics that influence decisions of government officials, business people, and individuals. These statistics provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy.
- YCharts – Economic Data: Economic indicators and releases for the US and the world
Economic reports, data, charts, release dates, and more, covering the US Economy and economies around the world.
- Zanran - Search the Web for Data and Statistics
Free search engine that locates data and statistics.