How to conduct business research part 2.
- Biznar - A Deep Web Free Aggregator Website
Deep Web Technologies’ free databases offer sources by broad subjects. The Deep Web contains hundreds of thousands of sources which are not accessible to Google and Bing.
- Global Insights (GlobalEdge - Michigan State University)
Global Insights provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs. Use the drop-down boxes below to find the country, state, industry, or trade bloc you desire, or simply hit "Go" and begin exploring.
- Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb - U.S. International Trade Commission
Covers 1989 to two months from the present. This database provides specific U.S. export and import information on commodities throughout the world.
There is no charge for registration and use. Completion of a brief user registration form is required.
With state-by-state guides on how to start or advance a career in international relations, detailed explanations of international relations efforts made at the state and national levels, and feature pieces that answer many of the most important questions aspiring international relations students are likely to have, InternationalRelationsEDU.org offers a unique platform from which to explore career opportunities and education options in international relations
- Market Intelligence (export.gov)
U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Library containing more than 100,000 industry and country-specific market reports, authored by our specialists working in overseas posts.
The Library Includes:
• Country Commercial Guides (read latest “Doing Business In” guides)
• Industry Overviews*
• Market Updates*
• Multilateral Development Bank Reports*
• Best Markets*
• Industry/Regional Reports*
* These market research reports are available only to U.S. companies and students/researchers that are registered with Export.gov. Register above to get access.
- Open Culture - The Best Free Cultural & Educational Media on the Web
Description: Free, open access resources organized by category. Resources listed include: Online Courses, MOOCS (Massive Open Online Courses), Movies, Audio Books, eBooks, Textbooks, Language Lessons, Business Courses, etc.
- The Economist - Intelligence Unit
Country, Industry, and Risk Analysis
- The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.
- The World Bank - Data and Research
Data - High quality national and international statistics, and global statistical programs.
Research - Cross-country, cross-sector, thematic research outputs from the World Bank's main research department.
Prospects - Information, analysis, and advice on global trends in the world economy.
- UN (United Nations) Business: Browse
Search by: GLOBAL ISSUE, REGION / COUNTRY, PARTNERSHIP TYPE, BUSINESS SECTOR, UN ORGANISATION, and OTHER ORGANISATION.
- A-Z List of Country and Other Area Pages (U.S. Dept. of State)
- Background Notes and Country Information (Department of State)
Description: Individual country information updated from the regional bureaus of the Department of State. Information includes: economy, foreign relations, geography, government, history, people, political conditions, travel information, and U.S. relations.
- CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
- Country Commercial Guides (U.S. Department of State)
On the right hand side, under Country Profiles, Select a Country or Other Area to search
- Country Profiles (Library of Congress)
This series of profiles of foreign nations is part of the Country Studies Program, formerly the Army Area Handbook Program. The profiles offer brief, summarized information on a country’s historical background, geography, society, economy, transportation and telecommunications, government and politics, and national security.
- Country Studies/ Area Handbook Series - Library of Congress
This Web site contains the online versions of books previously published (1988-98) in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army. Because the original intent of the series' sponsor was to focus primarily on lesser-known areas of the world or regions in which U.S. forces might be deployed, the series is not all-inclusive. At present, 101 countries and regions are covered. The date of information for each country appears on the title page of each country and at the end of each section of text.
- Datafinder - Population Reference Bureau's Hub for U.S. and International Data
Search hundreds of indicators, thousands of locations, and easily create custom reports to print, download, and share.
- Doing Business (The World Bank)
The Doing Business project provides objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 189 economies and selected cities at the subnational level.
- Doing Business in ... Booklets (HLB International)
Lists several Doing Business in Booklets for various countries.
- The World Bank - Countries
Browse by Country or Country Group
- World Buiness Culture
The culture-focused country profiles contained in the World Business Culture website are your passport to international business expertise.
Each country profile contains information on a range of topics of immediate commercial relevance to anybody working in a global organisation or studying international trade. The information contained in this site has been compiled by some of the world's leading experts on global business culture who have many years of practical international experience. Our experts have business experience across sectors and across functions – from banking to the internet, from consumer electronics to computers.
- ARDA (Association of Religion Data Archives)
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. View religious data by country.
- Foreign Trade (U.S. Census Bureau)
FOREIGN TRADE is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States. If you're searching for import or export statistics, information on export regulations, commodity classifications, or a host of other trade related topics, this is the place to get the information you need.
- Statistics Sites on the World Wide Web (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Sites covered include International Statistics Organizations and National Statistical Agencies of Other Countries
- United Nations Statistical Yearbook - Fifty-sixth Issue
Covers: World Region Summary, Population and Social Status, Economic Status, and International Economic Relations.
- United Nations Statistics
The Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. We compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries’ efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems. We facilitate the coordination of international statistical activities and support the functioning of the United Nations Statistical Commission as the apex entity of the global statistical system.