How to conduct business research part 2.
- Academic Earth (Free Online College Courses) - Entrepreneurship
Since 2008, Academic Earth has worked diligently to compile an ever-growing collection of online college courses, made available free of charge, from some of the most respected universities.
- Free Video Lectures (FVL) - Entrepreneurship
FVL is the worlds biggest class room recorded video lectures collection with more than 740+ courses, 18,000+ video lectures from more than 20 top universities. Most of the videos are down-loadable in various formats and updated almost everyday.
- How to Learn About an Industry or a Specific Company (Polson Enterprises)
An organized procedure to research an industry OR a specific company is provided below along with the links and resources to actually do the research. Our site is frequently used by those considering entering new industries, competitive intelligence professionals, research librarians, market researchers, economic development professionals, students, investors, bankers and many others.
- How to Research an Industry (Ithaca College Library)
Useful sections include: Getting Started, Questions Often Asked- Industry Analysis, Industry Codes, etc.
- Biznar - A Deep Web Free Aggregator Website
Deep Web Technologies’ free databases offer sources by broad subjects. The Deep Web contains hundreds of thousands of sources which are not accessible to Google and Bing.
- Current Industrial Reports (U.S. Census Bureau)
The Current Industrial Report (CIR) program has been providing monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity for many years. The primary objective of the CIR program is to produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products. The data are used to satisfy economic policy needs and for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector.
- Economic Census: Industry Snapshots (U.S. Census Bureau)
- Industry Data Finder - Rensselaer Hartford
Description: Numerous research sources by industry (*Some sources are restricted).
- Industry Economic Accounts - Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Department of Commerce)
Annual Industry Accounts, Benchmark In-Output Accounts, Prototype Quarterly Gross Domestic Product (GDP) by Industry, Integrated Industry-level Production Account, Gross Domestic Product (GDP) for the U.S. territories, Satellite Accounts, and Supplemental Statistics.
- IndustryNet – The Industrial Search Engine
The industry's trusted guide for sourcing & quoting more than 10,000 types of machinery, parts, supplies & services.
- Open Culture - The Best Free Cultural & Educational Media on the Web
Description: Free, open access resources organized by category. Resources listed include: Online Courses, MOOCS (Massive Open Online Courses), Movies, Audio Books, eBooks, Textbooks, Language Lessons, Business Courses, etc.
- U.S. Department of Commerce
Covers: Business, Exports, Innovation, Secretary of Commerce, Find Data – Key Economic Indicators, Get News – Press Releases, Facts Sheets, Speeches, etc.
- Zanran - Search the Web for Data and Statistics
Zanran helps you to find ‘semi-structured’ data on the web. This is the numerical data that people have presented as graphs and tables and charts. For example, the data could be a graph in a PDF report, or a table in an Excel spreadsheet, or a barchart shown as an image in an HTML page. This huge amount of information can be difficult to find using conventional search engines, which are focused primarily on finding text rather than graphs, tables and bar charts.
- BLS Statistics by Industry (Bureau of Labor Statistics – U.S. Dept. of Labor)
Workplaces (establishments) are classified into industries based on their principal product or activity, as determined from information on annual sales volume. Statistics include: Employment, Hours, Wages, etc.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
Includes: Inflation & Prices, Pay & Benefits, Spending and Time Use, Unemployment, Work place injuries, Unemployment, Productivity, International, and Regional Offices
- Business & Industry - Census Bureau Economic Statistics (U.S. Census Bureau)
Covers: Sales, employment, and payroll for establishments.
- Industry Statistics Portal (U.S. Census Bureau)
This application provides access to the Census Bureau programs that provide economic data for a user-selected industry.