How to conduct business research part 2.
Finance - Introduction, Research, and Statistics Links
- Big Charts from MarketWatch
BigCharts is the world's most comprehensive and easy-to-use investment research Web site, providing access to professional-level research tools such as interactive charts, quotes, industry analysis and intraday stock screeners, as well as market news and commentary. These tools combine with a graphical interface and our intuitive navigation to make your research experience productive, entertaining and fun. Best of all, BigCharts is a free service supported entirely by our site sponsors.
- Biznar - A Deep Web Free Aggregator Website
Deep Web Technologies’ free databases offer sources by broad subjects. The Deep Web contains hundreds of thousands of sources which are not accessible to Google and Bing.
- FFIEC Central Data Repository's Public Data Distribution
Through this site you can obtain financial and structural information for most FDIC-insured institutions. The information available on this site is updated to reflect the most recent data for both prior and current periods. The earliest data provided is from March 31, 2001.
- Financial Scandals: A Guide with Links to Information Sources
The Financial Scandals site contains links to sources of information on various frauds, scams, swindles or corporate scandals in banking, finance and related areas, and on corruption involving governments and business. It is maintained by Roy Davies.
- Financial Web
FinWeb.com is your independent source for personal finance information, education and advice. We have thousands of articles written to help individuals, families and small businesses better manage their money. Whether you're buying your first home, rebuilding your credit, formulating an investment strategy, or simply opening a checking account, we're here to supply you with quality content and resources to help you get the job done.
- FINRA - Financial Industry Regulatory Authority
FINRA is dedicated to investor protection and market integrity through effective and efficient regulation of the securities industry. FINRA is not part of the government. We’re an independent, not-for-profit organization authorized by Congress to protect America’s investors by making sure the securities industry operates fairly and honestly.
- Google Finance
Includes: Market Summary, Top Stories, Trends, Sector Summary, World Markets, Currencies, and Bonds.
- Open Culture - The Best Free Cultural & Educational Media on the Web
Description: Free, open access resources organized by category. Resources listed include: Online Courses, MOOCS (Massive Open Online Courses), Movies, Audio Books, eBooks, Textbooks, Language Lessons, Business Courses, etc.
- OTC Bulletin Board (OTCBB)
Includes: Market News, Statistics, and OTCBB Companies in the News, etc.
Recovery.gov is the U.S. government's official website that provides easy access to data
related to Recovery Act spending and allows for the reporting of potential fraud, waste, and abuse
- SIFMA (Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association)
SIFMA brings together the shared interests of hundreds of securities firms, banks and asset managers. These companies are engaged in communities across the country to raise capital for businesses, promote job creation and lead economic growth.
- The Economy/ Global Economic Crisis & Recovery Resource Guide (Middletown Thrall Library- a U.S. Federal Depository Library)
Topics include: Global Economic Crisis & Recovery, News, Statistics, World Economic Indicators, Credit / Financing, Energy, Food, Housing / Mortgages / Subprime, and Related Resources.
- Banking, Finance, & Insurance - U.S. Census Bureau
This section presents data on the nation's finances, various types of financial institutions, money and credit, securities, insurance, and real estate.
- Federal Recovery Programs and BEA Statistics - U.S. Dept. of Commerce
Shows tables for the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) and other tax provisions.
- Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) Statistics - OECD Data, Analysis and Forecasts
The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.
- Survey of Current Business. Business Statistics (Biennial Supplement) - FRASER (Federal Reserve Archive)
Business Statistics is a basic reference publication designed to provide historical perspective to the statistical data published originally in the Survey of Current Business, the monthly magazine of the Department of Commerce. A wide range of economic data is presented including price and production indices for all sectors of the United States business sector. Major sections of the publication include indexes, prices, employment, finance, trade, and production by sector.
- UNCTAD Statistics (United Nations Conference on Trade and Development)
Statistics is an inherent part of UNCTAD. Being the United Nations' focal point for the integrated treatment of trade and development and the interrelated issues in the areas of finance, technology, investment and sustainable development, UNCTAD compiles, validates and processes a wide range of data collected from national and international sources. Most of the time series cover long periods, with some dating back to 1948, for almost all economies of the world.
- Zanran - Search the Web for Data and Statistics
Zanran helps you to find ‘semi-structured’ data on the web. This is the numerical data that people have presented as graphs and tables and charts. For example, the data could be a graph in a PDF report, or a table in an Excel spreadsheet, or a barchart shown as an image in an HTML page. This huge amount of information can be difficult to find using conventional search engines, which are focused primarily on finding text rather than graphs, tables and bar charts.