EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
eBooksDatabasesInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesLinks/Khan Academy: Cosmology and Astronomy Links
eBooksDatabasesInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesBiology and Plant LinksKhan Academy: Biology
Biology ABiology B and CAnatomy & PhysiologyBiochemistryEcology & BiodiversityScientists AScientists BZoology
Concepts and TermsAstrophysicsAdvances in AstronomyAncient AstronomyEarly AstronomyModern AstronomyThe Night SkyObservational Astronomy
DatabasesReferenceGoogle Scholar/International/Writing ResourcesKhan Academy: Health and Medicine/ScienceLinks
eBooksIndividual eBooksCredo Reference: Science Overview
More Animals BookseBooksDatabasesReferenceCredo Reference/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesHabitatsAnimals, etc. Links
This is the "Astronomy" page of the "Science Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science Research  

Last Updated: Nov 21, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/mainscience Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Astronomy Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Astronomy Books

Cover Art
A Companion to Astronomy and Astrophysics : chronology and glossary with data tables - Kenneth R. Lang
Call Number: QB 14 .L36 2006
ISBN: 0387307346
Publication Date: 2006-07-13
Astronomy and Astrophysics is a comprehensive, fundamental, and up-to-date reference book. It is filled with vital information and basic facts for amateur astronomers and professional astrophysicists, and for anyone interested in the Universe, from the Earth and other planets to the stars, galaxies and beyond. An exceptionally thorough Index cross-references concepts, discoveries and individuals in both the Timeline section and Dictionary section. The combined result is a unique stand-alone reference volume in which the reader can quickly locate information, while also discovering new and unexpected knowledge.

Cover Art
Astronomy for the Utterly Confused - Terry Jay Jones; Jeanne K. Hanson
Call Number: QB 44.3 .J66 2007
ISBN: 0071471588
Publication Date: 2006-12-22
A fun, fascinating, accessible introduction to astronomy basics In this latest installment in the bestselling Utterly Confused series, an astronomy professor and a popular science writer team up to fill you in on all the essentials of modern astronomy. From the solar system and the constellations to space-time, gravity, and quantum physics, you'll go on a fascinating journey through the cosmos, becoming acquainted with the most recent astronomical phenomena and concepts, and dozens of fun facts.

Cover Art
Color and Light in Nature - David K. Lynch; William Livingston
Call Number: QC 355.2 .L96 1995
ISBN: 0521468361
Publication Date: 1995-06-29
We live in a world of optical marvels - from the commonplace, but beautiful rainbow, to the rare and eerie superior mirage. Have you ever asked yourself how a rainbow is formed, why the setting sun is red and flattened, or even why the sky at night is not absolutely black? If so, then allow David Lynch to provide you with the answers. This beautiful and informative guide provides clear explanations to all naturally occurring optical phenomena seen with the naked eye. It offers complete and easy-to-understand insights into shadows, halos, water optics, mirages and a host of other spectacles. Separating myth from reality, it outlines the basic principles involved, and supports them with many figures and references. A wealth of rare and spectacular photographs, many in full colour, illustrate these phenomena throughout, with many helpful hints on how you can best observe and photograph them. Color and Light in Nature provides a complete, well-illustrated, and authoritative guide to seeing, photographing and understanding nature's optical delights.

Cover Art
Companion to the Cosmos - John Gribbin
Call Number: QB 14 .G73 1996
ISBN: 0316328359
Publication Date: 1996-12-01
"At the end of the twentieth century, scientists understand better than ever before the scope of the Universe and its origins; the variety of objects it contains, from quasars and pulsars to galaxies; and the inner workings of our own Sun. But such has been the pace of progress, especially in the past couple of decades, that the story has been fragmented, with no single, user-friendly guide to present the broad sweep as well as the detailed discoveries." "Companion to the Cosmos tells the whole story of the Universe and the people who made the discoveries." "The Companion begins with an extended introduction in which Gribbin sets out the present state of knowledge and explains the key discoveries of twentieth century cosmology: the Universe is evolving and growing. The main section of the book, an A-Z encyclopedia, is a mixture of lengthy feature articles on major subjects (for example, black holes, gravity, our Galaxy, life in the Universe, supernovae), shorter entries, and biographies of the scientists. In the final section, "Timelines," cosmological discoveries are set out alongside key dates in general history and the history of science, from the time of the ancient astronomers of Greece up to the present day."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Cover Art
Copernicus and Modern Astronomy - Angus Armitage
Call Number: QB 36 .C8 A7 2004
ISBN: 0486439070
Publication Date: 2004-11-17
Masterly and authoritative, this book by the foremost scholar on the 16th-century astronomer provides lucid accounts of the development and progress of the Copernican theory as well as a fascinating portrait of the man who clarified the basis for modern cosmology. 41 figures. 6 halftones.

Cover Art
Cosmic Horizons: astronomy at the cutting edge - Steven Soter (Editor); Neil deGrasse Tyson (Editor)
Call Number: QB 51 .C735 2001
ISBN: 1565846028
Publication Date: 2001-05-01
Leading experts explain the discoveries of modern astrophysics in an illustrated companion to the American Museum of Natural History's newly renovated Rose Center for Earth and Space. With 80 full-color images, a resource section, a bibliography and a glossary, "Cosmic Horizons" offers a greater understanding of our fragile planet and the universe beyond. Illustrations.

Cover Art
The Backyard Astronomer's Guide - Terence Dickinson; Alan Dyer
Call Number: qQB 64 .D53 2002
ISBN: 155209507X
Publication Date: 2002-11-02
What type of telescope is best for beginners? Can I use my camera to take photographs through a telescope? How good are the new computerized telescope mounts? What charts, books, software and other references do I need? These questions are asked time and again by enthusiastic new amateurs as they take up recreational astronomy. But accurate, objective and up-to-date information can be hard to find. Throughout the 1990s, the first edition of The Backyard Astronomer's Guide established itself as the indispensable reference to the equipment and techniques used by the modern recreational stargazer. Now, authors Terence Dickinson and Alan Dyer have produced an expanded and completely updated edition that again sets the standard for accessible and reliable information on one of the world's most popular hobbies. Dickinson and Dyer -- both full-time astronomy writers -- bring decades of experience to their task. They explain why telescopes often perform much differently from what the novice expects. They recommend the accessories that will enhance the observing experience and advise what not to buy until you become more familiar with your equipment. They name brands and sources and compare value so that you can be armed with the latest practical information when deciding on your next purchase. Sections on astrophotography, daytime and twilight observing, binocular observing and planetary and deep-sky observing round out this comprehensive guide to personal exploration of the universe. Dickinson and Dyer's elegant yet straightforward approach to a complex subject makes this book an invaluable resource for astronomers throughout North America. With more than 500 color photographs and illustrations, The Backyard Astronomer's Guide is also one of the most beautiful -- and user-friendly -- astronomy books ever produced.

Cover Art
The Cambridge Dictionary of Space Technology - Mark Williamson
Call Number: TL 788 .W54 2001
ISBN: 0521660777
Publication Date: 2001-03-29
The Cambridge Dictionary of Space Technology provides a comprehensive source of reference to the most important aspects of this fast-developing field, from basic concepts to advanced applications. With some 2300 entries, it lists the fundamental terms of the area and includes a selection of historical and highly specific entries adding context and depth. The unprecedented breadth of coverage ensures that there are entries on all major subject areas. While the emphasis is on defining the meaning of a word or phrase, entries have been written with the intention of enhancing the understanding of the subject, both for the practising specialist and the interested layman. To assist the reader in research on a given topic, related entries are highlighted in the text and other important entries are cross-referenced. The Cambridge Dictionary of Space Technology will be indispensable to anyone with an interest in space activity.

Cover Art
The Characteristics and the Life Cycle of Stars : an anthology of current thought - Larry Krumenaker (Editor)
Call Number: QB 801 .C45 2006
ISBN: 1404203958
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Examines the life of stars, following their formation, and looking at their characteristics and planetary systems, and the end of their lives.

 

Astronomy Books

Cover Art
Astronomy - Ian Ridpath; Giles Sparrow (Contribution by); Carole Stott (Contribution by)
Call Number: QB 15 .R542 2006
ISBN: 0756617332
Publication Date: 2006-04-03
Offers detailed cutaway views, maps, photographs, informative captions, and text covering the basics of astronomy. Presenting a series of innovative visual manuals on a wide variety of popular subjects, these richly illustrated companions offers detailed cutaway views, maps, specially commissioned photographs, informative captions, and a fact-filled text as they cover the basics of different topics of interest.

Cover Art
Astronomy Dictionary - John Woodruff (Editor)
Call Number: QB 14 .F47 2003
ISBN: 1552978370
Publication Date: 2003-10-04
Complete guide to astronomers and astronomical terms and theories. The Firefly Astronomy Dictionary is an invaluable reference for understanding the major terms and theories used in astronomy. There are 1,000 up-to-date entries that are extensively cross-referenced. This dictionary also provides concise coverage of the many new developments in space exploration. Two hundred color illustrations and 35 tables provide concise details about the planets and stars. Written in a style that is both interesting and accessible, its compact size is ideal for a handy reference and study guide. As well as defining scientific terms and explaining theories, the dictionary provides brief biographies of over 100 famous astronomers including Ptolemy, Galileo, Johann Kepler, Copernicus and Edwin Hubble. An appendix provides tables of symbols and mathematical units and calculations used in astronomy. From aberration to Zwicky, the Firefly Astronomy Dictionary is an invaluable reference for active observers, armchair enthusiasts and students.

Cover Art
Deep Sky Objects: the best and brightest from four decades of comet chasing - David Levy; Stephen James O'Meara (Foreword by)
Call Number: QB 64 .L478 2005
ISBN: 1591023610
Publication Date: 2005-11-07
Veteran comet hunter and eloquent popular astronomy writer David H. Levy takes amateur sky-watchers on a fascinating journey into deep space in this enthusiastic and informative survey of the many far distant yet observable objects in the night sky. Light years beyond our solar system, deep sky objects include such intriguing phenomena as double and triple stars, nebulae, galaxies, and quasars. Designed to be accessible for even beginners, Levy’s clear, elegant descriptions will guide astronomy buffs in any hemisphere and locale (light-polluted cities as well as dark countryside) to the wonders of our enormous universe. As the discoverer or codiscoverer of twenty-one comets, including the famous Shoemaker-Levy 9 that crashed into Jupiter in 1994, Levy has devoted many decades of experience to observing the night sky. Over the years he has located over 300 deep sky objects, of which more than 100 "best and brightest" are featured in this book. Levy offers a physical description and a discussion of each object’s history and beauty, as well as a star atlas to aid in finding the objects. Proceeding from objects closest to our solar system to those farthest away, Levy gives readers an awe-inspiring glimpse into the structure of the cosmos. Complete with both color and black-and-white photos, plus many helpful illustrations, Deep Sky Objects is the ideal guide to the wonders of the universe for both experienced and novice star gazers.

Cover Art
Florida Starwatch: the essential guide to our night sky - Mike Lynch
Call Number: qQB 64 .L896 2007
ISBN: 0760328463
Publication Date: 2007-02-15
With the down-to-earth style and far-ranging knowledge that have made him America's favorite stargazing instructor, Mike Lynch guides amateur and expert alike through the wonders of Florida's night sky. Whether watching the sky from a backyard lawn chair or manning a high-powered telescope, Florida stargazers of all levels will learn how and when to identify the major constellations at their state's latitude. With chapters on the origins and movements of stars, the mythology of constellations, the phases of the moon, the planets, and even buying a telescope, this book also serves as an accessible and in-depth beginner's guide to the night sky. It includes 12 monthly star maps for Florida skies, 21 constellation diagrams, a local resources guide, a list of the brightest stars in the state, and more than 80 beautiful color photographs of the heavens.

Cover Art
From Here to Infinity: a beginner's guide to astronomy - John Gribbin; Mary Gribbin
Call Number: QB 44.3 .G75 2008
ISBN: 1402765010
Publication Date: 2009-02-03
Renowned science writers John and Mary Gribbin team up with one of the most historic scientific sites in the world#151;the Royal Observatory, Greenwich#151;to take readers on a stunning visual tour of the universe. This riveting journey moves from our home planet outwards to the Moon, Sun, Inner and Outer Solar Systems, Milky Way, and other galaxies. Not only do the Gribbins discuss the always-intriguing topic of alien life, but they divulge little-known facts (Venus is the only planet in our solar system to rotate backwards), as well as all the basics beginning armchair astronomers need to know. Dramatic four-color photographs complement the informative text, giving readers a sense of what it might be like to be an astronaut#133;and go where no one has gone before. nbsp;

Cover Art
How Life on Earth Is Affected by Earth's Unique Placement and Orientation in Our Solar System: an anthology of current thought - Eric M. Monier (Editor)
Call Number: QB 503 .H69 2006
ISBN: 1404203923
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Explores how life on earth has formed and been influenced by where earth is in relation to the sun and other planets.

Cover Art
How Mathematical Models, Computer Simulations, and Exploration Can Be Used to Study the Universe : an anthology of current thought - Heather Hasan (Editor)
Call Number: QB 47 .H68 2006
ISBN: 1404203931
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Anthology focusing on the various tools astronomers use to understand the universe, including computers, satellites, telescopes, and spacecrafts.

Cover Art
Hubble Vision: astronomy with the Hubble Space Telescope - Carolyn Collins Petersen; John C. Brandt
Call Number: qQB 500.268 .P48 1995
ISBN: 0521496438
Publication Date: 1995-10-27
The refurbished Hubble Space Telescope has revealed spectacular and intriguing details in every object it has turned its acute gaze upon. What discoveries has the HST made so far? And how does this telescope actually work? This lavishly illustrated volume is the first to answer these questions in a complete review of the most exciting science to come from the Hubble Space Telescope. From the local Solar System and nearby stars, to the most distant quasars and early Universe, this volume presents a superb collection of the most dramatic images taken by the HST, supported by a lively and informative, but non-technical guide. Hubble Vision offers a view of the Universe as never seen before and will capture the imagination of all those interested in the astronomical quest of understanding our Universe - from the general reader and amateur astronomer through to the professional scientist.

Cover Art
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Amateur Astronomy - Michael E. Bakich
Call Number: qQB 64 .B36 2003
ISBN: 0521812984
Publication Date: 2003-07-10
Being an amateur astronomer is great fun, with many different and interesting areas to get involved in. This complete reference provides a wealth of practical information covering all aspects of amateur astronomy. Organised thematically for ease of use, it covers observing techniques, telescopes and observatories, Internet resources, and the objects that can be studied. Those new to the field will find tips, techniques and plans on how to begin their quest, and more advanced observers will find lots of useful advice on how to get more out of their hobby. Containing the most recent data, the book is highly accurate, and is illustrated throughout with stunning colour images and graphics. It is an essential guide for both beginning stargazers and more advanced observers.

Cover Art
The First Copernican : Georg Joachim Rheticus and the rise of the Copernican Revolution - Dennis Richard Danielson
Call Number: QB 36 .R38 D36 2006
ISBN: 0802715303
Publication Date: 2006-10-31
In May, 1539, a young, German mathematician named Georg Joachim Rheticus traveled hundreds of miles across Europe in the hopes of meeting and spending a few days with the legendary astronomer, Nicolas Copernicus, in Frombork, Poland. Two and a half years later, Rheticus was still there, fascinated by what he was discovering, but largely engaged in trying to convince Copernicus to publish his masterwork—De revolutionibus(On the Revolutions of the Heavens), the first book to posit that the sun was the center of the universe.  That he was finally able to do so just as Copernicus was dying became a turning point for science and civilization.  That he then went on to a legendary career of his own—he founded the field of trigonometry, for example—will be one of the many surprises in this eye-opening book, which will restore Rheticus to his rightful place in the history of science.

Cover Art
The Handy Space Answer Book - Phillis Engelbert; Diane L. Dupis
Call Number: QB 52 .E54 1998
ISBN: 1578590175
Publication Date: 1998-12-01
Focusing on space and related topics, this text examines hundreds of technical concepts - quasars, black holes, NASA missions and probes, planets and the possibility of alien life - in everyday language. it addresses such questions as; is there life on Mars? what is a dwarf galaxy? and did an asteroid cause the extinction of dinosaurs?

Cover Art
The Solar System - David G. Fisher (Editor); Richard R. Erickson (Editor); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: QB 501 .S627 2010 V.1 - V. 3
ISBN: 9781587655302
Publication Date: 2009-07-06
Designed to meet the needs of both general readers and students, The Solar System covers 180 major topics on Earth's solar system as it is understood from the latest perspectives. Essays fall into one or more of the following categories: the Cosmological

Cover Art
USA in Space - Russell R. Tobias (Editor); David G. Fisher (Editor); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Coordinator); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: TL 789.8 .U5 U83 1996 v.1 - v. 3
ISBN: 1587652595
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
USA in Space collects 280 essays on the major space programs, piloted and robotic missions, satellites, space centers, space planes, and issues from the earliest missions to 2006. Coverage reflects both new missions and expansions upon previous ones. Two

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip