EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
American Social PolicyClient GroupsHistorySocial IssuesCredo Reference eBooksCredo Reference - Other Reference Resources
More Social Work booksSocial Work - Children booksSocial Work - Elderly/Ethics booksSocial Work - Practice books
Human Trafficking eBooksCurrent IssuesDatabasesInternational ResourcesHuman Trafficking Links
Social Work Subscription eBooks
Social Work DatabasesEBSCO - Individual Social Work DatabasesOther Electronic ResourcesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesSocial Work LinksKhan Academy - Health and MedicineInternational Resources
This is the "Social Work Books" page of the "Social Work Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work Research  

Library's Social Work Research Resources.
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/socialwork Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Social Work Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Social Work Books

Cover Art
101 Careers in Social Work - Jessica A. Ritter; Halaevalu F. Ofahengaue Vakalahi; Mary Kiernan-Stern
Call Number: HV 10.5 .R58 2009
ISBN: 0826154050
Publication Date: 2008-12-01
"This is a vital and necessary guide to the social work profession .This book clarifies the social work mission, goals, and objectives, and strengthens and promotes them as well." --Carmen Ortiz Hendricks, MSW, DSW, ACSW, LCSW Associate Dean, Wurzweiler School of Social Work, Yeshiva University "The authors do an excellent job of illustrating the uniqueness, diversity, and richness of the profession. I strongly recommend this book for use in social work orientation, advising and education." --Saundra Starks, EdD, LCSW Western Kentucky University "101 Careers in Social Work" serves as both a catalog of social work job descriptions as well as a guide to career planning. The authors highlight the interdisciplinary nature of social work, and include unconventional, cutting-edge career options such as forensic social work, entrepreneurship, working in political systems, international careers, community planning, and more. Written in a user-friendly style, each chapter focuses on a specific social work career, and outlines the challenges, core competencies and skills, and educational requirements needed to succeed. This book also includes questionnaires and checklists to help readers choose a career tailored to their unique talents, interests, and passions. Key Features: A catalog of 101 social work careers, including careers in emerging fields Helpful career development tools, including self-assessment checklists, interviews with practicing social workers, and questionnaires Guidance on educational requirements, licensure, and continuing education An entire chapter dedicated to job-hunting tips and career planning advice

Cover Art
Building on Women's Strengths: a social work agenda for the twenty-first century - K. Jean Peterson; Alice A. Lieberman
Call Number: HV 1445 .B85 2001
ISBN: 0789008696
Publication Date: 2001-10-19
Build a woman-centered social work practice for the new millennium! “How do we take the strengths women have--have always had--and use them to build a world that is validating, liberating, and inclusive?” This is the question at the heart of Building on Women's Strengths. This groundbreaking book explores the ways a woman-centered worldview can transform social policy, social services, and direct practice. Updated to honor the memory of Liane V. Davis, who died in 1995, this new edition of Building on Women's Strengths offers updated information to reflect the enormous changes that have occurred since 1994 in women's lives. Many of the original selections have been revised or totally rewritten to reflect those changes and the more integrated policy/practice focus of this edition. New chapters were added on working with women who have been incarcerated, women on welfare who experience violence, and lesbian and bisexual women. Building on Women's Strengths presents a woman-centered approach to understanding and analyzing the issues women must confront in their daily lives, including: family violence welfare reform mental health child welfare aging racism being silenced by society The Journal of the National Association of Social Workers said of the first edition, “Each chapter presents with skill and rigor an opening for respectful and challenging discourse.” This edition of Building on Women's Strengths offers an even more comprehensive view of the ways to overcome oppression in women's lives. It is an essential volume for social workers, policymakers, mental health professionals, and anyone working toward social justice for all women.

Cover Art
Contemporary Human Behavior Theory: a critical perspective for social work - Susan P. Robbins; Pranab Chatterjee; Edward R. Canda
Call Number: HV 40 .R575 2012
ISBN: 0205033121
Publication Date: 2011-02-23
Contemporary Human Behavior Theory: A Critical Perspective for Social Work, 3e approaches HBSE from a comparative theory perspective, providing coverage of the most current and contemporary theories as well as traditional theories.   It includes contemporary developments in traditional lifespan theory, theories of political economy, and a separate chapter on transpersonal theory. Each chapter includes coverage of the research that supports a particular theory, an analysis of the validity of that research, and a discussion of updated "Contemporary Issues."   The text encourages students to develop critical thinking skills in analyzing and comparing theories.

Cover Art
Group Work Practice to Advance Social Competence : a specialized methodology for social work - Norma C. Lang
Call Number: HV 45 .L286 2010
ISBN: 0231151373
Publication Date: 2010-10-14
Small social groups are fundamental for achieving personal growth, social development, socialization, and the skills of sustaining relevance, relationships, and connections to society. Unfortunately, those who would benefit most from small groups often find themselves unable to achieve membership. Lacking the necessary skills for entry, these individuals may never enjoy the advantages of group membership. Advancing a practice methodology that specifically targets the socially unskilled, Norma C. Lang provides much-needed guidance to practitioners helping individuals become part of group life. Grounded in extensive practice, Lang's methodology addresses the special needs and anomalous functioning of individuals who lack the skills to form and use groups. She outlines the unique pregroup processes of socially unskilled populations and provides a methodology for advancing social competence. She also identifies the professional and agency requirements for working with presocial processes. Widely applicable to practice with social work groups, Lang's method greatly expands the literature on social work theory and practice with individuals and groups.

Cover Art
Handbook for Public Health Social Work - Robert Keefe (Editor); Elaine T. Jurkowski (Editor)
Call Number: RA 445 .H36 2013
ISBN: 9780826107428
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
Public health social work is an interdisciplinary, epidemiologically oriented approach to improving human health and well-being. About one quarter of all social workers in the United States currently work in medical or public health settings, a number that is expected to increase significantly in coming years. This handbook, written and edited by respected leaders of the Social Work Section of the American Public Health Association (APHA), describes the rapidly expanding roles of public health social workers as these two disciplines continue to join forces. The handbook describes how the alliance of social work and public health has already made significant progress and ways in which it will further improve health care in the United States. It addresses job opportunities for public health social workers in such fields as disease prevention, health promotion, child welfare, gerontology, disaster response, trauma intervention, substance abuse, outreach services, and advocacy. It also covers public health social work with special populations and in neighborhood, rural, and global settings. Key Features: Authored by highly respected APHA Social Work members Describes the ways in which the alliance of social work and public health is improving health care Highlights key settings and job opportunities for public health social workers Addresses public health social work with special populations and its relationship to such medical topics as chronic conditions, HIV/AIDS, disabilities, and more

Cover Art
Handbook of Social Work with Groups - Charles D. Garvin (Editor); Maeda J. Galinsky (Editor); Lorraine M. GutiƩrrez (Editor)
Call Number: HV 45 .H26 2006
ISBN: 1593854005
Publication Date: 2006-08-22
"This book provides an outstanding resource for group workers. Group work instructors will find the book a comprehensive text covering major theories and models of group work, as well as cutting-edge issues and techniques. The list of chapter authors is a virtual who's who' of social work with groups. This handbook will quickly become the major text in the field."--Richard M. Tolman, PhD, School of Social Work, University of Michigan "A long-needed and satisfying volume from editors and contributors with varying views of the field. Covered are important theoretical perspectives on group work and group dynamics, approaches to group work in different fields of interest and with different populations, and much, much more. By including solid research findings in each chapter, and infusing the volume with clinical wisdom, the editors have helped make this one of the most complete resources of its kind."--Paul Abels, PhD, Department of Social Work (Emeritus), California State University, Long Beach "This superb contribution to the literature assembles a roster of highly skilled social work scholars and practitioners, organizes the breadth of group work applications in a new and viable way, and makes the richness of social work knowledge available to all professionals who work with groups. An unequaled text for master's- and doctoral-level courses."--Catherine Papell, DSW, ACSW, Professor Emerita, Adelphi University School of Social Work "A handbook that provides in one text a comprehensive compilation of knowledge about social work with groups written by many of the field's leading authors. The editors are noted social work authors and educators and they have produced a wonderful resource....As group workers continue efforts to keep group work a prominent part of the practice curriculum, it is terrific to have this new handbook on social work with groups to use in programs at all levels and across all methods....Students will welcome the

Cover Art
Introducing Social Work - Lena Dominelli
Call Number: HV 10.5 .D66 2009
ISBN: 0745640877
Publication Date: 2009-03-16
In this lively introduction suitable for students at any level, Lena Dominelli explores the extraordinary scope and importance of social work. Using engaging examples from contemporary social work practice, she clearly answers questions about what social work is, how social workers work in a variety of settings and the clients they are likely to deal with. She tackles head on the dilemmas social workers face in their day-to-day work and the challenges of working with limited resources and marginalized social groups such as the elderly, the homeless and abused children. This work will affirm the valuable contribution social workers can make to human wellbeing and demonstrate how the promise and potential of social work can be, and is, realized.

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

More Social Work Books

Cover Art
Social work speaks : National Association of Social Workers policy statements, 2012-2014 - National Association of Social Workers.
Call Number: qHV 88 .N686 2012
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Social Work and Mental Health - Kate Karban
Call Number: HV 689 .K37 2011
ISBN: 9780745646114
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Social Work and Mental Health offers a fresh approach to addressing mental health issues across all aspects of social work practice, emphasising the relevance of mental health for all social workers, not just those in specialist mental health settings. The book provides critical engagement with the complexities of contemporary theory, policy and practice in this area, recognising developments in user and carer involvement and interprofessional working. Key chapters focus on issues of inequality and diversity, drawing attention to the social determinants of health and the important contribution of social work in promoting social perspectives in mental health. Practice issues addressed include the mental health of children, young people and families, and older people, as well as a range of mental health conditions that are likely to be encountered. Promoting rights, recovery and social justice - and balancing these with considerations of risk - are core themes that run throughout the text. The book contains a number of practice examples and points for reflection intended to encourage critical thinking and further exploration of the issues raised. Suggestions for additional reading and resources are also offered at the end of each chapter. Overall the book provides a valuable framework for understanding and responding to mental health issues that will be useful for all social work students and practitioners as well as a wider audience.

Cover Art
Social Work and Social Welfare: an introduction - Jerry D. Marx; Fleur A. Hopper; David Worster; C. Anne Broussard
Call Number: HV 91 .S6244 2011
ISBN: 0205502296
Publication Date: 2010-09-24
With its focus on "demonstrated competency,"  Social Work and Social Welfare: An Introduction provides an additional rationale and theme illustrating how social work and social welfare require collaborative efforts in advancing social and economic well-being.). As a historically collaborative profession across broader societal institutions (business and government), students new to social work will be able to learn what social workers do and how their work relates to other professions such as sociology, psychology, human services, and counseling. 

Cover Art
Social Work in a Digital Society - Sue Watling; Jim Rogers
Call Number: HV 40 .W38 2012
ISBN: 9780857256775
Publication Date: 2012-07-06
This book will help students develop their understanding of how the internet is impacting on social work education and practice in 21st century. Essential reading for students interested in the influence of digital technology and social media, including the impact of digital divides, this book looks at how the value-base of social work can have a positive effect on service users and carers who engage with digital services.

Cover Art
Social Work in the 21st Century : an introduction to social welfare, social issues, and the profession - Morley D. Glicken
Call Number: HV 91 .G55 2007
ISBN: 1412913160
Publication Date: 2006-08-14
Using an accessible writing style, author Morley D. Glicken introduces readers to the noble and exciting profession of Social Work with the hope to motivate student interest in BSW and MSW Programs. This engaging text addresses a number of social issues in America, looks at how the social welfare system attempts to resolve these issues, and considers the many roles assumed by professional social workers within the social welfare system.  

Cover Art
Social Work in the Health Field : a care perspective - Lois A. Fort Cowles
Call Number: HV 687 .C68 2003
ISBN: 0789021196
Publication Date: 2003-08-01
Use your social work skills to advocate for more effective health care! Social Work in the Health Field: A Care Perspective, Second Edition updates this comprehensive guide to social work practice and policy issues in the health field. An easy-to-use textbook for graduate and undergraduate courses and a practical guide for social work practitioners, the book will help you meet the demands of the growing population of clients in nursing homes or hospice care and for the decline of traditional hospital-based social work. Complete with an instructor's manual to help you facilitate lectures, class discussions, and tests, this new edition focuses even more strongly than the first on prevention and health promotion at the community level as well as the individual client level, the relevance of social environmental conditions to the health of populations, and the growing importance of social work in the health field. Social Work in the Health Field: A Care Perspective, Second Edition is an overview of social work practice in various health care settings. The book addresses the historical background of social work in health care, theoretical perspectives, organizational considerations, theory and practice of interdisciplinary teamwork, client problems, skill and knowledge requirements, values and ethics considerations, and recent developments in hospital social work. New material in this edition includes: an update on primary health care—how social workers can modify communities and social environmental conditions to reduce social inequities and enhance social supports and integration within populations an updated critique of the health care system in the United States—what social workers need to know and the changes they need to make to advocate effectively updates on research findings and statistical data Praise for the first edition of Social Work in the Health Field: “VERY USEFUL TO STUDENTS. . . . One of the few works available that includes a useful discussion of social work practice in nursing homes.” —Choice “EFFECTIVE. . . . presents generic and special knowledge requirements for social work practice in health care settings, including values, ethics, and issues of diversity.” —Social Work Agenda “The book is CLEARLY WRITTEN, and is thought-provoking concerning the role of the social work practitioner in health settings and the nature of the linkage between health and social care. Despite the fact that it is American in origin, it is of relevance to multi-disciplinary and international audiences and contains much which will be OF INTEREST TO STUDENTS AND EDUCATORS AS WELL AS PRACTITIONERS.” —Journal of Social Work

Cover Art
Social Work: a profession of many faces - Armando Morales; Bradford W. Sheafor
Call Number: HV 91 .M67 2001
ISBN: 0205317405
Publication Date: 2000-07-12
Presents an overview of social work concepts, terms, roles, professional organizations, and history. Information is included on what it is like to be a social worker, education and experience required for different jobs, places where social workers are employed, and values and competencies require.

Cover Art
The Call to Social Work : life stories - Craig Winston LeCroy
Call Number: HV 40 .L38 2012
ISBN: 1412987938
Publication Date: 2011-10-05
The Call to Social Work, Second Edition is a presentation of narrative descriptions about the work and life of a wide variety of contemporary social workers. The book provides an in-depth understanding of why people choose social work, how they garner meaning from their work, and what they struggle with as they provide needed services. Additionally, it presents more information about the everyday practice of social work, both the challenges and the joys. Instructors who use this book in their courses will be able to contrast their ideals of practice with the realities captured in each life story, while students who read the book will be able to think about whether each story represents good practice, or what principles they would adhere to based on their understanding of social work.

Cover Art
The Many Faces of Social Work Clients - Armando Morales; Bradford W. Sheafor
Call Number: HV 91 .M65 2002
ISBN: 0205342531
Publication Date: 2001-08-22
This book is adapted from the best-selling Social Work: A Profession of Many Faces, 9/e, by Morales and Sheafor. It serves as a brief introduction to social work with special populations. The main focus of the book is on the various groups to whom social workers provide services, including children, older adults, women, disabled persons, and members of minority racial and ethnic groups. For social workers and social work students.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip