Social Work eBooks - Restricted Access Note
The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.
Log-in: Warner email account.
Child Care/Day Care
Handbook of Early Childhood Education: Education in a Competitive and Globalizing World :
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
At this time in our nation's history, the establishment of a solid foundation upon which to build a student's educational framework and basic skills is imperative. Teachers, parents, administrators and policy makers are all focusing on test scores, standardised measurement of growth, annual yearly progress and "value added" issues. While education begins in the home, it is the early educational environment in which children are exposed to licensed certified professionals whose charge is to provide students with exposure to the basics and to identify those with developmental needs, and assist in the intervention process. This book provides an overview of the field of early childhood education as well as ancillary issues that permeate the field.
Managing Infectious Diseases in Child Care and Schools
Publication Date: 2013-06-15
Completely revised and updated to reflect the latest guidance and recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics, the new third edition of this award-winning quick reference guide provides the latest information on the prevention and management of infectious diseases. Presented in an easy-to-use format, this 'must-have' guide provides: Content from AAP's premier source of information on infectious diseases, the Red Book Quick reference fact sheets on more than 50 common infectious diseases and symptoms that occur in children in group settings Easy-to-read explanations on how infectious diseases spread Strategies for limiting the spread of infection When exclusion is indicated and not indicated Guidance about which situations require immediate help Immunization schedules Ready-to-use sample letters and forms for parents or referrals
Preparedness, Response, and Recovery Considerations for Children and Families
Publication Date: 2014-04-21
"Preparedness, Response and Recovery Considerations for Children and Families" is the summary of a workshop convened in June, 2013 by the Institute of Medicine Forum on Medical and Public Health Preparedness for Catastrophic Events to discuss disaster preparedness, response, and resilience relative to the needs of children and families, including children with special health care needs. Traditional and non-traditional medical and public health stakeholders from across federal, state, and local government health care coalitions, community organizations, school districts, child care providers, hospitals, private health care providers, insurers, academia, and other partners in municipal planning met to review existing tools and frameworks that can be modified to include children's needs; identify child-serving partners and organizations that can be leveraged in planning to improve outcomes for children; highlight best practices in resilience and recovery strategies for children; and raise awareness of the need to integrate children's considerations throughout local and state emergency plans. Communities across the United States face the threat of emergencies and disasters almost every day, natural and man-made, urban and rural, large and small. Although children represent nearly 25 percent of the U.S. population, current state and local disaster preparedness plans often do not include specific considerations for children and families. The preparedness and resilience of communities related to children will require a systems framework for disaster preparedness across traditional and non-traditional medical and public health stakeholders, including community organizations, schools, and other partners in municipal planning. This report examines resilience strategies that lead to successful recovery in children after a disaster and discusses current approaches and interventions to improve recovery in children.
Sexual Abuse of Children: State and Federal Efforts Aimed at School Personnel and Child Care Facilities.
While all child abuse is troubling, sexual abuse by school personnel raises particular concerns because of the trust placed in schools. Federal laws prohibit sexual harassment, including sexual abuse, in federally-funded education programs and set minimum standards for state laws on reporting suspected child abuse. This book examines states' and school districts' steps to help prevent such abuse, their reporting requirements and approaches for investigating allegations, and federal agencies' efforts to address such abuse.
Transforming the Workforce for Children Birth Through Age 8
Publication Date: 2015-08-23
Children are already learning at birth, and they develop and learn at a rapid pace in their early years. This provides a critical foundation for lifelong progress, and the adults who provide for the care and the education of young children bear a great responsibility for their health, development, and learning. Despite the fact that they share the same objective - to nurture young children and secure their future success - the various practitioners who contribute to the care and the education of children from birth through age 8 are not acknowledged as a workforce unified by the common knowledge and competencies needed to do their jobs well. "Transforming the Workforce for Children Birth Through Age 8" explores the science of child development, particularly looking at implications for the professionals who work with children. This report examines the current capacities and practices of the workforce, the settings in which they work, the policies and infrastructure that set qualifications and provide professional learning, and the government agencies and other funders who support and oversee these systems. This book then makes recommendations to improve the quality of professional practice and the practice environment for care and education professionals. These detailed recommendations create a blueprint for action that builds on a unifying foundation of child development and early learning, shared knowledge and competencies for care and education professionals, and principles for effective professional learning. Young children thrive and learn best when they have secure, positive relationships with adults who are knowledgeable about how to support their development and learning and are responsive to their individual progress. "Transforming the Workforce for Children Birth Through Age 8" offers guidance on system changes to improve the quality of professional practice, specific actions to improve professional learning systems and workforce development, and research to continue to build the knowledge base in ways that will directly advance and inform future actions. The recommendations of this book provide an opportunity to improve the quality of the care and the education that children receive, and ultimately improve outcomes for children.
Young Children, Parents and Professionals : Enhancing the links in early childhood
Publication Date: 1996-10-01
As early year education and very early child care increase, parents and professionals face many difficult questions. What are the effects of early education on children? Are parents fulfilling their roles? What should teachers' roles be? Seldom asked are more basic questions: What are the fundamental needs of young children? Or parents? Or professionals? How can these differing sets of needs be met? Margaret Henry proposes three dimensions of caregiving behaviour through which parents and professionals not only help young children to develop, but can also help one another's development. Evidence of positive change comes both from her own research in family day care and from the work of her students, practicing teachers and child care personnel. Their examples involve often hard-to-reach parents - those who are tired, employed, alienated, bossy and culturally and ethnically diverse. There are practical suggestions here for professionals and parents interested in enhancing their relationships with one another and the outcomes for young children.
Social Work eBooks
Aging in Rural Places Programs, Policies, and Professional Practice.
Publication Date: 2014-06-01
Research documents that rural elders are poorer, live in less adequate housing, and have far fewer health and service options available to them than their urban counterparts, yet there is a critical lack of current and detailed information on the problems facing rural elders and on the professional practices that serve this population. This text fills this gap by introducing readers to rural areas and their residents and discussing the issues, programs, and policies designed to meet their needs. Through a multidisciplinary lens, it examines and defines specific competencies required for successful work with older adults and their families in these communities. The text presents a research-driven, competency-based approach for the health and human service professionals who work with older rural residents. It discusses both the problems facing older adults and their families and evidence-based solutions regarding policy and best practices. Key issues examined include health and wellness, transportation, housing, long-term care, income, employment, and retirement, along with the needs of special populations (ethnic minorities, immigrants, and the LGBT population). Case examples reinforce an interdisciplinary model that addresses practice with rural elders that encompasses professional competencies, values and ethics, and the roles of a spectrum of health and human service professionals. The text also examines current policies affecting health and social services to rural elders and recommendations for policy change to build an effective health and human service workforce in rural communities. Links to Podcast interviews with scholars and respected professionals working in the field and "Spotlight" excerpts from the text reinforce information. In addition, the text provides discussion questions, PowerPoint slides, a test question bank, and suggested activities and exercises. Key Features: Fills a vacuum regarding information on health and social services for rural elders Provides current and comprehensive knowledge about issues besetting this population and programs and policies designed to meet their needs Examines and defines specific competencies required for effective health and social services Based on a research-driven, competency-based, interdisciplinary approach to policy and best practice Includes links to Podcast interviews with scholars and respected professionals in the field
Applying Theory to Generalist Social Work Practice
Publication Date: 2014-11-25
The social worker's guide to integrating theory and practice Applying Theory to Generalist Social Work Practice teaches aspiring social workers how to apply theory in real world practice. Fully aligned with the Council on Social Work Education's 2015 Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards, the book links theory to practice with clear, concise instruction including a discussion of evidence-based practice. Twelve commonly-used theories are thoroughly explained, with discussion of the strengths and limitations of each, and applied to real work with individuals, groups, families, communities, and organizations. The book includes case studies and first-person contributions from practicing social workers to illustrate the real-world scenarios in which different concepts apply. Critical thinking questions help students strengthen their understanding of the ideas presented. Tools including a test bank, PowerPoint slides, and an instructor's manual are available to facilitate classroom use, providing a single-volume guide to the entire helping process, from engagement to termination. Practice is a core foundational course for future social workers, but many practice texts focus on skills while neglecting the theoretical basis for social work. Applying Theory to Generalist Social Work Practice fills that gap by covering both skills and theory in a single text. Examines the applications of prevailing social theories Covers the most common theories used in micro, mezzo, and macro practice Helps readers understand well-established approaches like strengths perspective, humanistic and client-centered, task-centered, and solution-focused brief therapy Shows how to apply major theories including ecological/system, cognitive/behavioral, conflict, empowerment, narrative, crisis, critical, and feminist An effective social worker recognizes the link between theory and practice, and how the two inform each other to culminate in the most effective intervention and most positive outcome for the client. Applying Theory to Generalist Social Work Practice provides students with a roadmap to the full integration of philosophy and application in social work.
Careers in Human Services
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Careers in Human Services contains twenty-five alphabetically arranged chapters describing specific fields of interest in this broad industry segment. Merging scholarship with occupational development, this single comprehensive guidebook provides human services students with the necessary insight into potential careers, and provides instruction on what job seekers can expect in terms of training, advancement, earnings, job prospects, working conditions, relevant associations, and more. Careers in Human Services is specifically designed for a high school and undergraduate audience and is edited to align with secondary or high school curriculum standards.
Clinical Gerontological Social Work Practice
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Written by an expert in gerontological social work and curriculum development, this book provides a wealth of clinical information for social workers and other health care professionals who counsel older adults. It describes a strengths-based, empowerment approach to treatment that integrates theory, technique, advocacy, and social policy, and encompasses the tenets of human rights. The book's content has been tested in the classroom setting for a three-year period with advanced social work undergraduate and graduate students. The book examines various theories of aging including a contrast between the strengths-based person-in-environment theory and the pathologically based medical model of psychological problems. It advocates truly engaging with the older client during the assessment phase, and discusses a variety of intervention modalities. The psychological construct of stigma regarding aging is examined, along with the major psychopathological problems common to older adults. The book also considers Alzheimer's disease and dementia, medical problems of older adults and co-occurring psychological problems, substance abuse, older adult sexuality, elder abuse, and the vulnerabilities of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender older adults. Additionally, the book addresses mental health issues pertaining to residential settings and the aspects of death and dying that give older people concern. Extensive case studies, learning objectives, and discussion questions are featured in each chapter. The book also includes an instructor packet, PowerPoint slides, and an interactive PDF. Key Features: Provides a wealth of classroom-tested clinical information; Espouses a strengths-based approach to treatment that integrates theory, technique, advocacy, and social justice; Consistent with social work mandates for a human rights focus; Presents extensive case studies, learning objectives, and discussion questions in each chapter; Includes an instructors packet, PowerPoint slides, and interactive PDF
Communicating Hope: An Ethnography of a Children's Mental Health Care Team
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
Kevin is a sometimes-violent teenager with severe emotional disturbance in a family environment of poverty and stress. In this ethnography of a children's mental health care team, communication scholar Christine Davis delves deeply into how members of the team create hope for themselves, for Kevin, and for his family using a strengths orientation and future focus. A rich, evocative narrative that highlights multiple voices and interpretations, Davis provides a multilayered study of how social service workers can motivate and heal troubled families in challenging environments. The volume includes clinical and practice considerations for those working in the social welfare system.
Disasters and Vulnerable Populations Evidence-Based Practice for the Helping Professions.
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
Offers the most current, evidence-based information for helping specific populations affected by disasters Vulnerable populations such as children, older adults, and people with disabilities are disproportionately affected by large-scale disasters. This hands-on resource for students and professionals in social work, counseling, nursing, and mental health encompasses the best and most current evidence-based interventions for effectively responding to the needs of vulnerable populations following disasters. Using an all-hazards perspective, the book also provides a dedicated section containing population-specific personal preparedness considerations and discusses the role of preparedness in mitigating negative consequences. The resource is unique in its provision of vital information for locating requisite assessment tools, preparedness checklists, and forms. It also provides a list of mobile applications offered through national organizations. The resource addresses the specific psychosocial needs of vulnerable populations after a disaster. It delivers best practices for crisis intervention with specific populations including children, older adults, people with disabilities, people with mental health issues, and people with substance abuse issues. The authors present a theoretical foundation for understanding disasters, response systems, common guidelines for preparedness, and basic crisis theory. This is a resource that will be valuable not only to practitioners in a great variety of health disciplines, but also to volunteer professionals and paraprofessionals involved in disaster preparedness and response. Case vignettes are included in each chapter to illustrate issues particular to each population Key Features: Offers the highest quality, best available evidence for choosing appropriate interventions Focuses on vulnerable populations including children, older adults, and people with disabilities, mental health issues and substance abuse issues Comprises a practical, hands-on manual for mental health and medical professionals and volunteers regarding disaster preparedness and response Provides assessment tools and preparedness checklists and forms Includes case vignettes to illustrate issues specific to each population
Evidence-Based Practice and Intellectual Disabilities
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
Evidence-Based Practice and Intellectual Disabilities responds to the recent increased focus on, and need for, the use of evidence-based practice (EBP) in treating intellectual disabilities. The first book wholly dedicated to addressing EBP specifically in relation to intellectual disabilities Provides clinical guidelines based on the strength of evidence of treatments for a given problematic behavioral topography or disorder Highly relevant to a wide-ranging audience, including professionals working in community services, clinicians and parents and carers
Forgotten Girls: Stories of Hope and Courage (Expanded)
Publication Date: 2014-06-28
2014 Readers' Choice Award WinnerThink of the little girls you know: your daughter, a niece, a friend's child.Then think about this: little girls are tossed away every day.All over the world, women and girls face troubles such as starvation, displacement, illiteracy, sexual exploitation and abuse. In fact, statistics show that the world's most oppressed people are overwhelmingly female.Moved by the plight of these neglected girls, advocates Kay Marshall Strom and Michele Rickett took a trip across continents to interview girls and to partner with ministries working to help females in some of the most difficult places in the world.These pages hold those girls' stories: stories of deep pain and suffering, inspiring courage, and incredible hope. They are the stories of girls who have discovered their value in God's eyes, in the midst of cultures that have rejected them. They are stories of rescue and redemption by God working through compassionate people--people like you.These pages might hold pieces of your story as well, as the authors invite you to pray and speak on behalf of the millions of women and girls who still need to know how much they're worth. For each of the five sections of the book--physical suffering, education, sexual protection, prison and war, and spiritual life--the authors provide specific, practical action steps and prayer points that allow you to get involved as God leads.This expanded edition includes updated statistics throughout and a discussion guide to accompany each section of the book, as well as a new preface.
From the Dust
Publication Date: 2008-12-18
'She was dirty and dusty. Her curly hair had seen neither a comb nor water for months. In one hand she carried a package of cigarettes and in the other a solvent rag.' Young Namusisi had no home, no family, no money for schoolfees, and no one to love her or care for her. She survived in the culture of the buyaye on the streets, parking lots, and porches of the city of Kampala, Uganda. But one day she met Daddy Kefa and her life was changed. He took her to his children's home where she was provided for and was shown the love of Christ. Namusisi was just one of more than 6,000 Ugandan street children who were rescued from a meaningless and hopeless life by the efforts of a compassionate, selfless, and godly man. The book contains the poignant stories of many of those destitute children ' stories of how they came to live on the streets and of how their lives were changed. Here are stories of a people ravaged by a demonic dictator, a people who had lost all sense of humanity and were struggling under emotional, physical, and spiritual poverty. From the Dust tells how the efforts of one man made a difference to so many who were groping in a dark world of sin and hopelessness. It is the story of the love of God to the lost and dying, and of how that love made a difference to so many Africans and can still make a difference to those who will trust in him.
Handbook of Social Work Practice with Vulnerable and Resilient Populations
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
Every day, social workers deal with individuals, families, and groups struggling with problems that are often chronic, persistent, acute, and/or unexpected. When community and family support systems are weak or unavailable, and when internal resources fail, these populations become vulnerable to physical, cognitive, emotional, and social deterioration. Yet despite numerous risk factors, a large number of vulnerable people do live happy and productive lives. This best-selling handbook examines not only risk and vulnerability factors in disadvantaged populations but also resilience and protective strategies for managing and overcoming adversity. This third edition reflects new demographic data, research findings, and theoretical developments and accounts for changing economic and political realities and immigration and health care policy reforms. Contributors have expanded their essays to include practice with individuals, families, and groups, and new chapters consider working with military members and their families, victims and survivors of terrorism and torture, bullied children, and young men of color.
Publication Date: 2014-03-27
Little has been reported about "military caregivers"--the population of those who care for wounded, ill, and injured military personnel and veterans. This report summarizes the results of a study designed to describe the magnitude of military caregiving in the United States today, as well as to identify gaps in the array of programs, policies, and initiatives designed to support military caregivers.
Indigenous Social Work Around the World Towards Culturally Relevant Education and Practice
Publication Date: 2008-09-28
This volume brings together prominent international scholars involved in both Western and indigenous social work across the globe OCo including James Midgley, Linda Briskman, Alean Al-Krenawi and John R. Graham OCo to discuss some of the most significant global trends and issues relating to indigenous and cross-cultural social work."
Long-Term Care in an Aging Society: Theory and Practice.
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
""The authors' knowledge of long-term care is obvious and they provide professional perspectives of the challenges and choices long-term care stakeholders face... Score: 92 - 4 Stars "" --Nicky Martin, BS, LNHA, MU Sinclair School of Nursing, "Doody's Reviews" This is a comprehensive graduate textbook focusing on the full spectrum of long-term care settings ranging from family and community-based care through supportive housing options to a variety of institutional long-term care alternatives. Integrating theory and practice, the book features the perspectives of diverse fields regarding current long-term care options and new directions for the future. Prominent scholars from history, environmental design, family caregiving, social service delivery, clinical care, health service delivery, public policy, finance, law, and ethics explore such themes as: Relationships among independence, dependence, and interdependence Ethical considerations woven into the provision of long-term care Decision making in long-term care Fluidity in long-term care The lived experience of long-term care A micro--macro perspective ranging from the individual to societal institutions The book examines future directions for long-term care, considering such factors as the interface of technology and long-term care, cultural diversity, and relationships between voluntary and paid services. Each chapter includes case examples, study questions, exercises, additional resources, and website links. An extensive glossary of terms is also provided, and instructors' resources are available. KEY FEATURES: Focuses on the full array of long-term care options Integrates theory and practice Incorporates the perspectives of diverse fields including history, environmental design, family caregiving, social services, public policy, and more Includes numerous case examples, study questions, exercises, and additional resources Considers new approaches to long-term care, incorporating technology and considering cultural diversity and voluntary versus paid services
Narrative Gerontology in Research and Practice.
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
"This book will no doubt support a growing number of us who see narrative gerontology] as a field with much potential, within and outside of academia. -- Kathy D. Lohr, Ed.D., East Carolina University, "Educational Gerontology What is meant by narrative? How can one elicit a narrative or analyze it in research? How can narrative work best be facilitated among older adults? This is the only text to provide comprehensive information about the applications of narrative approaches in community and long-term settings, writing in the virtual world, and such individual work as journaling or poetry. The book explores the theories of narratives across many disciplines, research practices and analytical strategies, and applications in work with older adults. It has been written by a prominent researcher of the narrative construction of self in old age, whose studies have been funded by the NIH, the Brookdale Foundation, and the Alzheimer's Association, among other related achievements. The book brings together a unique blend of interdisciplinary perspectives and practices not found in other books on life stories, autobiography, and/or narrative approaches to understanding one's experiences. Specifically, it focuses on the myriad theoretical underpinnings of narrative, provides a developmental history of narrative use in gerontology, and details various ways to use narratives in a variety of research settings. Each chapter includes step-by-step guides on who to analyze and report on, and how to write up narrative data. It also discusses ways to incorporate narratives in varied practice settings such as writing workshops in retirement communities, individual writing projects, and others. Key Features: Offers a "hands on" research tool that guides the reader from theory to research to practice Describes the theoretical underpinnings and practical applications of narrative with older adults Illustrates how narrative gerontology is fundamentally different in practice than narrative research with younger participants Addresses the breadth of available narrative methods and how to apply them in a research settings Designed for use in qualitative methods, service learning, and gerontological research courses.
Perspectives on Stalking: Victims, Perpetrators, and Cyberstalking.
Publication Date: 2015-10-23
Each year an estimated 3.4 million men and women become victims of stalking. While a man in a black coat following a girl in a dark alley is the media's stereotypical portrayal of stalking, there is actually a wide range of behavior that can be defined as such. Stalkingocharacterized by harassment, repeated calling, sending inappropriate letters or gifts, unsuitable use of social media, confrontation, and other unwanted behaviorsois a worldwide problem that is on the rise, especially the incidence and prevalence of cyberstalking. This book presents a collection of prominent articles published in the peer-reviewed journal Violence and Victims, written by experts on stalking from a variety of social science disciplines. Authors present research related to stalking victims and perpetrators, cyberstalking, how to identify stalking, and stalking in a variety of settings with a focus on college campuses. College students, many of whom are relatively new to intimate relationships, are especially prone to becoming stalked or perpetrating stalking. Several articles in this collection address stalking within the college population, including an empirical study of stalking victimization in men and women and a discussion of coping strategies at a Finnish university. Authors examine varying perceptions and attitudes toward stalking on campus, and discuss how to draw the line between courtship behavior and stalking. Personality attributes of stalkers include, according to one study, less social competence and a greater tendency to display borderline behaviors. Studies also address the relationship between stalking and gender, the stalking experiences of battered women, and the growing incidence of cyberstalking. This book will provide a solid research foundation toward understanding and controlling stalking behaviors, which can potentially lead to more serious abuse. Key Features: Disseminates the most acclaimed research articles on stalking from the peer-reviewed journal Victims and Violence Authored by well-known stalking experts from varied social science disciplines Explores stalking in numerous settings including college campuses Presents research on perpetrators and victims of stalking Examines cyberstalking "
Racial Disproportionality in Child Welfare
Publication Date: 2014-05-06
The number of children of color entering the child welfare system in the United States is disproportionately high. This is especially true among African-American children, who, though they comprise 15% of children in the U.S., account for 37% of the total children placed in foster care. The numbers are also high for Native American and Latino children. Not only are children of color removed from parental custody and placed in care more often than their white counterparts, but they also remain in care longer, receive fewer services, and have less contact with the caseworkers assigned to them. This book identifies the practice and policy changes required to successfully address the unequal treatment of children of color in the child welfare system and their implications for social work education, caseworker training, and institutional change. The work critiques many of the existing social welfare acts and policies in terms of their treatment of children of color, and it provides best practices for each decision point in the child welfare process and for cultural competency measures and training. The text offers extensive measurement instruments that agencies can use to assess and correct institutional racism. To improve social work education, the book includes several model syllabi for the social work curriculum, and to deepen the discipline's engagement with this issue, the text concludes with a discussion of future directions for research and policy.
School Social Work: Current Practice and Research.
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The primary aim of this book is to examine the role of social workers in schools with respect to fostering children's rights and creating better outcomes for children and young people in seven selected countries or places: China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Australia, New Zealand, Canada and the United States. In this edited volume, a number of scholars, researchers and social work practitioners share their insights on school social work service or practice in their respective countries or places, and discuss how school social work service can further be improved to address the needs and problems of children and young people. School social work is a specialised area of youth work around the world. It has been developed for a long time. However, school social work service may take different forms and shapes, thereby affecting how it is delivered. For instance, while some school social workers primarily play the role of a clinical counsellor or caseworker, others see themselves as an advocate for the disabled and disadvantaged young people in schools. Therefore, instead of making comparisons among different practices, each chapter aims to introduce salient features of the school social work service of a specific country or place. In addition to examining the historical development of school social work in their regions, each chapter will also explore the views of school social workers regarding their successes and challenges in their day-to-day practices.
Social Media in Social Work Education
Publication Date: 2014-07-15
There has been a recent growth in the use of social media tools in social work education. This edited text presents a series of chapters which discuss social media activities and how they can contribute to student learning, and social work practice. The contributors, all innovators in the use of social media, introduce the landscape and discuss how social media activities have begun to impact on both social work education and on practice. The professional codes of practice and the values and ethics questions such activities can raise are introduced and explored across the chapters. nbsp; Packed with practical examples and exercises, this innovative textbooks is a useful tool for students, practitioners and academics new to using social media in their teaching.nbsp;
Social Welfare, 2016: Fighting Poverty and Homelessness
Publication Date: 2015-09-28
This volume focuses on the social and moral issues surrounding America's homeless.
Social Work ASWB Clinical Exam Prep Guide
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Dawn gave us the tools we needed to take the exam, and let me tell you she was on point Not only did she cover the content areas we needed to focus in on, but she also showed us how to read and interpret the questions on the exam. Ammu D. Kowolik, LMSW, McSilver Institute for Poverty Policy and Research Students and social workers preparing for the social work clinical licensure exam will find an invaluable study resource in the Social Work ASWB(r) Clinical Exam Guide. Written by a prominent social work leader and trainer for social work licensing exams in the United States, this guide is based on years of time-tested exam prep workshops conducted by the author. It mirrors the ASWB Clinical Knowledge, Skills, and Abilities upon which the exam is based and incorporates information from the DSM(r)-5. The guide is comprehensive yet focuses on the material most likely to be included on the exam, so readers can prioritize information as they study. A self-assessment section helps identify strengths and weaknesses before tackling the material. The author shares her extensive knowledge of the exam by providing useful test-taking strategies and tips for overcoming test anxiety. The 170-question practice test at the end of the guide (with explanations of the correct answers) mirrors the actual exam in both length and structure. Content includes human development, human behavior in the environment, diversity, addictions, assessment and diagnosis, treatment planning, clinical interventions, case management, and professional values and ethics. This book will be a valuable asset for social workers throughout the United States and Canada. Key Features: Developed by a highly respected educator of social work licensure candidates Covers all the content areas on the clinical examination, including new content added in 2015 Begins with a self-assessment section to help identify areas of strength and weakness Offers a wealth of test-taking tips and strategies to foster exam confidence Includes a practice test (with explanations of the correct answers) that mirrors the exam ASWB is a registered service mark of the Association of Social Work Boards, which neither sponsors nor endorses this product."
Social Work Practice with African Americans in Urban Environments
Publication Date: 2015-08-01
The experiences of African Americans in urban communities are distinct from those of other ethnic groups, and to be truly understood require an in-depth appreciation of the interface between micro- and macro-level factors. This sweeping text, an outgrowth of a groundbreaking urban social work curriculum, focuses exclusively on the African American experience through field education, community engagement, and practice. It presents a framework for urban social work practice that encompasses a deep understanding of the challenges faced by this community. From a perspective based on empowerment, strengths, resilience, cultural competence, and multiculturalism, the book delivers proven strategies for social work practice with the urban African American population. It facilitates the development of creative thinking skills and the ability to "meet people where they are" skills that are often necessary for true transformation to take root. The book describes an overarching framework for understanding and practicing urban social work, including definitions and theories that have critical implications for working with people in such communities. It encompasses the contributions of African American pioneers regarding a response to such challenges as poverty, oppression, and racism. Focusing on the theory, practice, and policy aspects of urban social work, the book examines specific subsets of the urban African American population including children, adults, families, and older adults. It addresses the challenges of urban social work in relation to public health, health, and mental health; substance abuse; criminal justice; and violence prevention. Additionally, the book discusses how to navigate the urban built environment and the intersection between African Americans and other diverse groups. Chapters include outcome measures of effectiveness, case studies, review questions, suggested activities, and supplemental readings. KEY FEATURES: Fills a void in the literature on urban social work practice with African Americans Presents the outgrowth of a renowned urban curriculum, field education, research, community engagement, and practice Fulfills the requirements of the CSWE in the Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards regarding diversity Synthesizes micro, mezzo, and macro content in each chapter Provides contributions from African American pioneers in urban social work practice Accompanying Instructor's Manual and PowerPoint Slides
Social Work with Immigrants and Refugees: Legal Issues, Clinical Skills, and Advocacy
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Praise for the First Edition: ""This book is an optimal tool for instructors and students of graduate classes in social work and related disciplines."" "Journal of Immigrant and Minority Health" ""This book is a major contribution to social workers and their clients as it addresses advocacy on behalf of immigrants and refugees during a social, economic, and political period that restricts immigrants' rights and service access."" Dr. Diane Drachman, Associate Professor University of Connecticut School of Social Work ""This text is a great tool toward raising awareness of the many issues immigrants face, and helping them find solutions."" Frank Sharry, Executive Director, America's Voice The leading textbook on social work with immigrants and refugees, this is the only book to address the intersection of legal, policy, and advocacy issues, in addition to the clinical skills needed to help these populations. This second edition has been updated to reflect key policy changes at the state and federal levels affecting social work with immigrants and refugees. The authors have expanded their coverage of transnationalism, microaggressions, and public health and community issues, and each chapter features updated case studies on the most critical issues immigrants face today: legal processes, physical and mental health issues, employment difficulties, family conflicts, and more. Key Features: Completely updated to reflect the latest developments in immigration law and policy Includes updated case studies, discussion questions, and abundant reference material Provides the multidisciplinary perspective of lawyers, social workers, clinicians, administrators, and academics A valuable asset for students and practitioners working in mental health, health care, education, and community settings All-new appendix features sample questions asked at naturalization interviews "
Soul of Society: A Focus on the Lives of Children & Youth.
Publication Date: 2014-09-30
As social scientists, we are called to investigate society. A powerful component of understanding society can be found when researching the lives of children and youth. "There can be no keener revelation of a society's soul than the way in which it treats its children" stated Nelson Mandela. This volume provides a glimpse into the lives of children and youth; thus, The Soul of Society: A Focus on the Lives of Children and Youth.
Streetways: Chronicling the Homeless in Miami.
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Photographs by Lewis P. Wilkerson StreetWays: Chronicling the Homeless in Miami is a collection of interviews with 28 homeless individuals living in downtown Miami and Miami Beach. Besides extensive photographs of these people and their lives on the street, the book also includes interviews with social service providers, as well as a detailed analysis of homelessness in the United States and more specifically in Miami. The work concludes with a policy analysis and suggestions for addressing issues of homelessness in Miami and the nation. StreetWays attempts to make clear how and why homelessness occurs, and what the actual lives and experiences of the homeless are about. Through extensive interviews and extensive documentary photographs, a selected group of homeless Miamians lose their invisibility as their experiences, needs and aspirations are reported. The book calls for a better understanding of the experience of homelessness places such as Miami, and of the need to understand homelessness as an issue of diversity and human rights..
The Changing Face of Health Care Social Work Opportunities and Challenges for Professional Practice
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
This third edition of a best-selling social work text reflects the dramatic changes that have taken place in our health care environment since the second edition was published in 2004-and will likely continue to take place. It is a practical guide for social workers who must navigate our complex health care environment and accept new challenges while adapting to continual change. The book encompasses many facets of professional health care social work within the U.S. health care system, across key health care settings and with numerous different patient populations. The book is also a call to action for social workers, who today must not only be therapeutically effective but must be professionally competitive with other health care providers that claim similar treatment strategies and techniques. Permeating the third edition is a strong emphasis on the importance of developing best practices that are evidence-based, supportive, and ethically accountable while remaining time-limited and cost-effective. Each chapter contains a Glossary, Questions for Further Study, and a list of relevant websites. At the end of each chapter, a Future Directions section helps social workers understand what to expect and how to prepare for changes in order to practice successfully. This third edition additionally encompasses updated professional profiles for diverse arenas of practice and is accompanied by an Instructor's Manual that provides a test bank, activities designed to enhance learning, and a sample syllabus. Completely new or updated sections examine: .: Mental health parity; Changes in billing; Evidence-based practice strategy; Electronic record keeping and other advances in health technology; Information related to the DSM-5; Protecting yourself legally in your documentation; Protecting the privacy of the client; Supervision in the health care setting; The importance of teamwork and collaboration; Social work in the military and VA settings; Safety plannin
The Social Work and Human Services Treatment Planner, with DSM 5 Updates
Publication Date: 2015-08-21
This timesaving resource features: Treatment plan components for 32 behaviorally based presenting problems Over 1,000 prewritten treatment goals, objectives, and interventions--plus space to record your own treatment plan options A step-by-step guide to writing treatment plans that meet the requirements of most insurance companies and third-party payors The Social Work and Human Services Treatment Planner provides all the elements necessary to quickly and easily develop formal treatment plans that satisfy the demands of HMOs, managed care companies, third-party payers, and state and federal review agencies. Saves you hours of time-consuming paperwork, yet offers the freedom to develop customized treatment plans to address clients' psychological and environmental problems and issues Organized around 32 main presenting problems, from family violence and juvenile delinquency to homelessness, chemical dependence, physical/cognitive disability, sexual abuse, and more Over 1,000 well-crafted, clear statements describe the behavioral manifestations of each relational problem, long-term goals, short-term objectives, and clinically tested treatment options Easy-to-use reference format helps locate treatment plan components by behavioral problem or DSM-5(tm) diagnosis Includes a sample treatment plan that conforms to the requirements of most third-party payers and accrediting agencies (including TJC and NCQA)
Understanding Substance Use : Policy and Practice.
Publication Date: 2014-02-14
Changes to drug and alcohol policy post-1995 introduced the partnership style of working and many different routes by which treatment can be accessed. This means that a wide variety of professional groups now work with drug and alcohol users. This book provides an analytical and critical discussion of policy and practice in this area. It lays out the key debates and issues for understanding, exploring, dealing and working with substance misuse issues, users, their families and other professionals. The reader is introduced to the policy framework and why it is important for generic social work and other health and social care practitioners to have an understanding of substance misuse and the issues involved. The reader is assisted to think about how they can use their professional skills and values to inform assessments and interventions with substance users and reflective exercises encourage the reader to consider values issues and examine their own attitudes. This book will be valuable to students and practitioners wishing to update their skills and knowledge.
Confronting Injustice and Oppression: Concepts and Strategies
Publication Date: 2013-07-16
More urgent than ever, David G. Gil's guiding text gives social workers the knowledge and confidence they need to change unjust realities. Clarifying the meaning, sources, and dynamics of injustice, exploitation, and oppression and certifying the place of the social worker in combating these conditions, Gil promotes social-change strategies rooted in the nonviolent philosophies of Mahatma Gandhi and Martin Luther King Jr.. He shares suggestions for transition policies intended to alleviate poverty, unemployment, and discrimination and examines modes of radical social work practice compatible with the UN Universal Declaration of Human Rights and President Roosevelt's proposed "Economic Bill of Rights." For this updated edition, Gil considers the factors driving two crucial developments since his volume's initial publication: the Middle East's Arab Spring and the U.S. Occupy Wall Street movement.
Creative Practitioner Inquiry in the Helping Professions
Publication Date: 2014-07-25
This beautiful volume offers a range of research possibilities for practitioners. Bringing together the work of a community of scholars whose work blurs the edges between the arts and social sciences in the name of practice-based inquiry, Creative Practitioner Inquiry in the Helping Professions offers engaging and accessible exemplars alongside clear explanations of the theoretical understandings and backgrounds to the approaches offered. The book's contributors are teachers, doctors, social workers, counsellors, psychotherapists, health and community workers and organisational consultants; together they passionately engage in arts-based research as an effective and accessible instrument of inquiry, knowledge dissemination and social change.
Crisis Intervention A Handbook of Immediate Person-to-person Help.
Publication Date: 2014-07-28
In this exceptional new sixth edition, the author has retained the practical framework for offering immediate problem-solving assistance to persons in crisis. Therefore, the goal of this updated and expanded edition is to provide knowledge and methods applicable to particular crisis circumstances. Specific topics include: core concepts that are fundamental to all intervention efforts, crisis theory and the philosophy of crisis intervention, basic communication and problem-solving skills, suicide prevention, assistance for terminally ill persons, bereavement counseling, intervention with crime victims, rape counseling, negotiating with armed perpetrators, group strategies, family and marital interventions, disaster relief, case management, physical facilities, modes of contact, community relations, selection, training, and burnout prevention procedures. The handbook also details a review of the research on crisis intervention and how individual intervenors can build upon that knowledge. Numerous case examples presented in the handbook (with fictitious names) are based on actual occurrences the author has encountered. The techniques in this book are applicable to crisis centers, hotlines, Internet-based services, victim-assistance programs, college counseling centers, hospitals, schools, correctional facilities, children and youth programs, and other human service settings. The Study Questions at the end of each chapter are designed to serve as useful applications of crisis intervention theories and principles. Intended for caregivers whose work involves crisis intervention efforts, this is an informative resource for counselors, social workers, psychologists, nurses, physicians, clergy, correctional officers, parole and probation officers, and lay volunteers.
Critical Analysis Skills for Social Workers
Publication Date: 2013-07-01
Analysis is a critical skill for social workers, yet it is a skill that many practitioners find very difficult. This book will help social workers to improve their analysis skills by offering a very basic, step-by-step model to develop an analytical mindset. It shows how analysis can be woven into the whole process of social work engagement, resulting in better decision making, more efficient ways of working and, ultimately, better outcomes for social work service users. The chapters include: Tools for developing a critical mindset Extended case studies Practice dilemmas Research summaries Exercises Reflection points Topics covered include: What analysis is, and why it is such an important skill in practice The skills that underpin critical analysis, e.g. time management, planning, critical understanding, logical thinking, research-mindedness, creativity, communication, reflection and hypothesising The role of emotion and intuition in critical analysis Models to aid critical analysis The importance of supervision, and the idea that good analysis does not happen when social workers try to do it on their own Written for all social workers, regardless of their area of practice, this invaluable resource will be used by students at the outset of their training, and while on placement. It is also a 'must-have' purchase for practitioners involved in continuing professional development, supervision and training. "Successive reports into social work training, as well as their practice after qualification, identify gaps in professionals' capacity for critical analysis. This excellent book contains thought-provoking examples, each derived from an authentic practice-base and theoretically driven models. Here we have a compelling text which social workers at all stages of their careers should view as essential reading." David Shemmings, Visiting Professor of Child Protection Research at Royal Holloway, University of London, UK "A timely and appropriate post-Munro book for social workers at all levels of experience. The chapter on emotion, intuition and critical analysis is a particularly welcome addition to the subject. A really useful book." Dr Jane Reeves, Director of Studies, M.A. Child Protection, Co-Director Centre for Child Protection, University of Kent, UK "This is a quite splendid book. Sane, fresh, accessible, reader-friendly and a pleasure to read. Taking the meaning skills of critical analysis as the spine of good practice, Wilkins and Boahen have given us a book that succeeds in engaging readers equally at different levels - and one different from anything else on the market." Professor Ian Shaw, University of York, UK
Interpersonal Social Work Skills for Community Practice
Publication Date: 2012-07-01
Specifically dedicated to the "skills" that social workers need to advance community practice, this creative book is long overdue. Grounded in the wisdom and evidence of well-honed interpersonal social work skills...Donna Hardina's new text takes community practice to a higher level than ever before developed in book form; indeed she displays the most thorough understanding of research on community practice that I have read in any community practice text."--Journal of Teaching in Social Work Community organization has been a major component of social work practice since the late 19th century. It requires a diverse set of abilities, interpersonal skills being among the most important. This textbook describes the essential interpersonal skills that social workers need in community practice and helps students cultivate them. Drawing from empirical literature on community social work practice and the author's own experience working with community organizers, the book focuses on developing the macro-level skills that are especially useful for community organizing. It covers relationship-building, interviewing, recruitment, community assessment, facilitating group decision-making and task planning, creating successful interventions, working with organizations, and program evaluation, along with examples of specific applications. For clarity and ease of use, the author employs a framework drawn from a variety of community practice models, including social action and social planning, transformative/popular education and community development approaches, and multicultural and feminist approaches. The text is linked to the competencies outlined in the Council of Social Work Education's (2008) Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards (EPAS), as well as ethics and values identified in the National Association of Social Workers' (NASW) Code of Ethics, and the International Federation of Social Workers' statement of ethical principles. Most chapters begin with a quote from a community organizer explaining how interpersonal skills are used in practice, and student exercises conclude each chapter. The text also addresses other important skills such as legislative advocacy, lobbying, and supervision. Key Features: Describes the essential skills social workers need in community practice and how to acquire them Includes examples of specific applications drawn from empirical literature and the author's experience working with community organizers Grounded in social justice, strengths-based, and human rights perspectives Linked to competencies outlined in EPAS and values identified in the NASW Code of Ethics Based on a variety of community practice models
Practical Social Work Ethics
Publication Date: 2013-08-15
This is the first text of its kind to deal exclusively with applied social work ethics. It focuses on an eclectic mix of difficult moral questions or issues encountered in much modern day practice. It is therefore not theoretically driven with some practical elements attached, but is instead is a practice-based book, where any theory introduced is linked to tangible practice situations. It is also thought-provoking, controversial in parts and always engaging. The book is divided into three key sections, each introduced by the editors: Past and Present: Moral Practices with Children and Families Ethical Tensions? Ambivalent Ethics and Adult Social Work Contesting Modernisation Each section covers a range of topics and poses difficult questions which link to ethical dilemmas or anxieties. These are attached to themes such as whether culturally sensitive social work is always a good thing, the implications of secrets and silence within inter-generational families or the use of Controlled Treatment Orders or medical and social models within mental health social work. Other chapters ask whether the many forms of user/carer participation within social work education or practise are ethically viable, explore the moral paradoxes which emerge when vested financial interest sometimes appear to eclipse users' interests, examine the implications of avoiding or uncritically deploying 'touch' in social work/care or consider the many moral implications of institutional abuse within social work. With a focussed and clear writing style, this book will be of interest to all social work students and practitioners interested in the practical yet complex moral ramifications of their applied role.
Reflective Practice for Social Workers: A Handbook For Developing Professional Confidence.
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Reflective practice is at the heart of becoming a competent and confident social work professional. This book demystifies the reflective process and provides a straight forward knowledge base to enhance professional development. Whether you are a qualifying social work student, a practitioner with supervisory responsibilities, or are engaged in professional post qualifying education and training, this book will help you to understand and evidence your development as a reflective practitioner, and guide the assessment of others' ability to reflect. Topics covered include: How to develop a professional identity and an understanding of professional culture A summary of key theoretical explanations of the concepts of 'reflection' and 'reflective practice' The significance of Emotional Intelligence for social work practice and how the reflective process can enhance interpersonal and intrapersonal competence How to overcome common obstacles to reflective practice, including low motivation and lack of confidence in your reflective abilities How to write reflectively in order to evidence development of reflective practice to others How to create a learning environment that enables growth and development through reflection and provides accurate assessment outcomes Written in a straightforward and engaging way, with reflective activities and resources throughout, this key resource will develop your knowledge, understanding and application of reflective practice. "This is a well-written text that provides much-needed clarity around a central process within professional social work. Students, practitioners and managers will learn lots about how to use reflection effectively. Linda Bruce writes with authority and a deep understanding - she has done an excellent job." Steven Hothersall, Head of Social Work Education, Edgehill University, UK "This is an extremely important area of practice in the current complex world of social work practice and social care. It takes students and practitioners through the relevant knowledge and theory base and appropriate tools for reflection. I thoroughly recommend it." Joyce Lishman
Risk Management in Social Work : Preventing Professional Malpractice, Liability, and Disciplinary Action
Publication Date: 2014-11-25
This new text is based on Frederic G. Reamer's key reference for practitioners, Social Work Malpractice and Liability: Strategies for Prevention. Rooted in his own experiences as an expert witness in court and licensing board cases, the volume introduces the concepts of negligence, malpractice, and liability before turning to the subject of risk management. Reflecting on recent legal cases and research, Reamer identifies a variety of problems in the social work field relating to privacy and confidentiality, improper treatment and delivery of services, impaired practitioners, supervision, consultations and referrals, fraud and deception, and termination of service. He also explores the unprecedented ethical challenges created by new digital technologies-such as online counseling, video counseling, and practitioners' use of social networks and social media-and describes current issues relating to HIPAA compliance and access to electronic health records (EHR) and health information exchanges (HIE).He concludes with practical suggestions for social workers named as defendants in lawsuits and respondents in licensing board complaints.
See You in Court, Second Edition: A Social Worker's Guide to Presenting Evidence in Care Proceedings
Publication Date: 2015-01-21
Now fully revised and updated, See You in Court is an accessible guide for social workers on being a witness in care proceedings. This book de-mystifies the court system explaining court structures and procedures, roles and responsibilities and basic rules of evidence. It considers how to present effective written evidence as well as preparing for the court day itself. It answers questions frequently asked by social workers on how to present oral evidence including how to deal with cross-examination. The material is supported by case studies and checklists. Updates to the second edition reflect recent changes to the family court system, a revised Public Law Outline and the increased recognition of social workers as experts in their own right. An essential addition to every social worker's bookshelf, particularly those working with children and families.
Social Work Values and Ethics
Publication Date: 2013-07-02
For more than a decade, teachers and practitioners have turned to Frederic G. Reamer's Social Work Values and Ethics for its comprehensive introduction to ethical decision making and practical guidance regarding professional misconduct. This new edition incorporates the legal and technological realities now facing individuals in the field, featuring a discussion of the ethical issues that arise from practitioner use of online services and social networking sites, as well as an overview of ethical standards that protect confidential information transmitted electronically. Reamer also adds a discussion on potential conflicts between ethical standards and legal guidelines and a section defining statutory law, regulatory law, case law, and constitutional law. He expands his coverage of boundary issues and dual relationships and includes new material exploring the complexities of practitioner self-disclosure and the challenges of living and working within small and rural communities. Revised content and case materials include an investigation into the ethics of practitioner engagement with social justice and advocacy, as well as updates to the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) Code of Ethics. Reamer compares NASW's ethics to those of other human service professions, and he pursues an in-depth analysis of the relevance of cultural difference to ethical dilemmas and decision making.
Starting Social Work : Reflections of a Newly Qualified Social Worker.
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Social Work often receives a bad press but it is an intellectually, emotionally and practically challenging profession which, in order to help people effectively, needs to attract the best candidates. This book takes a personal and human approach and presents a Newly Qualified Social Worker's experience, reflections and gentle advice on the training process and early years of a Social Work career. Written in an accessible and honest style, it gives a fresh perspective at a time when there is a national turning-point in Social Service reform. It highlights the positive and negative aspects of becoming a Social Worker and is grounded in real service user cases. For those embarking on or thinking about a career in social work, this book will be an invaluable read.
Teamworking Skills for Social Workers
Publication Date: 2013-06-01
Social workers are members of teams and need to work in collaboration with colleagues and other professionals in order to practice effectively. This book explores the dynamics present when people work together, the roles individuals play and the skills necessary for effective teamworking in the context of social work practice. It provides a practical and applied overview of the different types of teams social workers encounter. The chapters include: Specific links to the new Professional Capabilities Framework for Social Workers Checklists to help the reader rate their capability and plan ways of developing skills for which they score low Reflection points Activities Case examples Topics covered include: What teamwork is and the kind of teams that involve social workers Characteristics of individuals who are part of a team and the formal and informal roles they play, including the role of leadership The importance of emotional intelligence and resilience and the concept of self-leadership and personal development How being part of a team relates to working in organisations Working in multidisciplinary teams Interagency collaboration and partnership Teamwork as a social work student Written for all social workers, regardless of their area of practice, this is a 'must-have' for students and practitioners involved in continuing professional development, supervision and training. "At a time when social workers are being castigated for failures in team-working in recent child abuse enquiries, this book is extremely timely. I am not aware of a similar book which is able to convey the basic tenets of team-working as well as the necessary skills to do team working well. It is an important book which should be on the course lists of all early stage social workers. The book brings together social work theory relating to team work within an ecological framework. Students are given activities to reflect on their current level of skills. Excellent case studies illustrate the issues. The book is totally up-to-date, linking into recent material from the College of Social Work. I strongly recommend this book. I think students will find the material engaging and accessible, but they will also learn much about the essential team working skills for social work." Ann Buchanan, Emeritus Professor of Social Work, University of 0xford, UK "This is a very readable and informative text on an essential element of social work practice. As the author says, social workers do not work autonomously but in teams, whether social work or multidisciplinary. The theoretical base is clearly presented and it is useful to reflect on unconscious processes in teams and organisations. I highly recommend it to practitioners, students and academics." Joyce Lishman, Professor Emeritus, Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen, UK "All social workers practise in teams of some description, yet there is little literature to guide that teamwork. This book fills that gap, whilst at once being theoretically informed and accessible. It is a book that can be read through as a whole or dipped into according to need. As such, it will be appreciated by busy practitioners as well as students of social work." Professor Jonathan Parker, Bournemouth University, UK "Good social workers develop very personal and private relationships with service users. But they also usually work in teams. Ruben Martin's book blends familiar and contemporary insights on how teams work, but with the focus very clearly on the specific roles and tasks of social care practitioners." David Shemmings, Visiting Professor of Child Protection Research at Royal Holloway, University of London, UK