Physical Education Books
Adapted Physical Activity, Recreation, and Sport : crossdisciplinary and lifespan
Call Number: qGV 445 .S53 2004
Publication Date: 2003-12-12
Offering the most comprehensive coverage available and broadening the audience scope to include students majoring in exercise science or coaching who are preparing for nonteaching positions, this new edition features a lifespan, cross-disciplinary approach valuable for both teaching and non-teaching professionals. Adapted Physical Activity, Recreation, and Sport emphasizes attitude change, inclusion, and psychosocial perspectives for understanding individual differences.
Anatomy for Strength and Fitness Training for Speed
Call Number: GV 711.5 .A53 2010
Publication Date: 2009-11-25
Speed training-the most essential skill for any sport Whatever the sport, speed is what sets rising stars apart from the rest of the competition. No longer a trait that some have and others want, speed is what makes the difference between first-string starter and a bench-warming backup. Speed-training techniques represent the latest trends in exercise science and knowing what it takes to be fast is the quickest way to get off the bench and into the starting lineup. Anatomy for Strength and Fitness Training for Speed takes an in-depth and illustrated look at the most necessary of athletic skills and shows you not only how to achieve greater bursts of speed but also its' effects as you push yourself to outpace the competition. Gain the edge over the opposition Get the ultimate inside look at what happens to your body during speed-training, along with plyometric and agility exercises, general lower-body and core development, and stretching activities-each accompanied by a four-color illustration highlighting which muscles are being worked and how. Focus on Primal Pattern ® Movement and gait improvement for precise and effective results Develop a year-round custom conditioning program perfect for your needs and goals Increase and maintain speed in any sport with the help of 90 full-color anatomical illustrations detailing engaged muscles If you have the need for speed, then Anatomy of Strength and Fitness Training for Speed gives you everything you need to know to utilize and sustain speed the smart way.
Developmental and Adapted Physical Activity Assessment
Call Number: qGV 445 .H665 2007
Publication Date: 2006-12-19
Educators and clinicians have long needed an authoritative and comprehensive resource to help them clarify assessment-related issues. Developmental and Adapted Physical Activity Assessment fills that need. This text helps the general physical educator, adapted physical educator, and administrator accurately and authentically assess people with disabilities. The book includes the following features: -Case studies that reinforce understanding of real-world challenges and foster decision-making skills in identifying the right tests to use -An analysis of existing assessment tools through which teachers can collect a wealth of information -Assessment of the social and affective domains as well as the physical domain so that teachers can help students develop to their potential -Textbook features such as key terms, key concepts, and review questions Developmental and Adapted Physical Activity Assessment guides readers in developing written recommendations regarding placement and instructional programming, and it includes sample assessment cases. This interactive text, in which information is presented and readers generate a response to specific questions, also shows teachers and clinicians how to use the teaching–learning–assessing cycle to their fullest advantage. Through application of this cycle, they can place children in the appropriate programs, and students can develop their abilities to their fullest. The authors also explore the relationship of assessment to grading, testing, and measurement and provide guidelines for the assessment environment. In addition, they give advice on how to work with children, parents, and colleagues. The book moves logically through the assessment cycle. The authors first address whom the reader is assessing and why the assessment is necessary; then they address the importance of and ways of getting to know the child. From there, they explore issues related to assessment instruments and selecting and administering tests. They devote entire chapters to these assessments: -Motor development and motor skill performance -Physical fitness -Posture and gait -Behavior and social competencies In the final chapter, the authors discuss a team approach in interpreting the assessment information and making decisions. Written by three of the most experienced and trusted specialists in adapted physical activity, this book will help both the novice and veteran be effective and accountable for placement and learning.
History of American Physical Education and Sport
Call Number: GV 429 .W44 2004
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
"Both the first and second editions of this book were extremely well received for use in undergraduate and graduate courses in physical education and allied fields of recreation. This success has brought about this third edition which updates each chapter into the twenty-first century, thoroughly tracing the sources and development of today's games, sports, dances, and physical education programs. This updated text is not only exceedingly comprehensive but is further enhanced with many new illustrations. Physical education professionals and students as well as those in allied recreation fields will find this book to be an essential reference."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Inclusive Physical Activity : a lifetime of opportunities
Call Number: qGV 443 .K36 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-07
Inclusive Physical Activity: A Lifetime of Opportunities provides practitioners with practical strategies and hands-on applications for physical activity programming to include all people. In doing so, it bridges the gap between school-based and community-based programs to help people with differences in ability become and remain physically active throughout their lives. This book has many unique features in addition to the life-span approach. The authors use an ability-based, noncategorical approach that is on the cutting edge. In doing so, they maintain a program emphasis on performance and skill components rather than on labels and general disability guidelines. The authors recognize that knowledge of common conditions is necessary for safe program design and have therefore included this information in the appendix. This book prepares practitioners to do the following: -Become critical thinkers and problem solvers as they develop the knowledge and skills to provide meaningful, inclusive physical activity -Prepare and plan individualized physical activity programs for four major content areas: movement skills and sports, games design, health-related fitness, and adventure and outdoor recreation -Develop strategies and techniques to increase awareness of varying abilities, foster more positive attitudes of peers, and increase advocacy efforts aimed at inclusive physical activity -Overcome barriers associated with inclusive programming Throughout, the authors emphasize how to modify instruction and provide activity alternatives for differing abilities via their FAMME (functional approach to modifying movement experiences) model. This unique model provides a conceptual framework and a four-step process for accommodating all participants in physical activity. Assessment considerations across the life span are integrated in the planning process, and each skill component (such as eye–hand coordination, strength, attention span) is presented in chart form with information on influencing factors and a number of effective modifications to accommodate varied skill levels. Each chapter features the following reader-friendly sections: -Including All Individuals presents opening scenarios that set the stage for the topics in the chapter. -Did You Know? contains helpful facts and information. -Think Back is a list of reflection questions related to the opening scenario or to the previous text. -What Do You Think? contains reflective questions related to the chapter content. -What Would You Do? offers two sample scenarios at the end of each chapter detailing situations for readers to address. Part I addresses historical and sociological aspects of inclusive physical activity and the changing perspectives as they relate to individuals with differences in ability. Strategies to overcome barriers associated with inclusive programming are also discussed. Part II focuses on how, when, and why practitioners should make modifications in instructional settings. This section offers insight into effective collaborative partnerships, determination of programming focus and related assessment, and individualized program planning. Part III illustrates examples of inclusive practices as they relate to commonly implemented physical activities. This part focuses on modifying instruction and providing activity alternatives in four major content areas: movement skills and sports, games design, health-related fitness, and adventure and outdoor recreation. Among the appendixes is a Person-Related Factors Reference Guide that presents definitions of specific conditions, selected facts of the common conditions and general considerations and contraindications as they relate to physical activity participation. Inclusive Physical Activity: A Lifetime of Opportunitiesprogresses from understanding the profession and professional responsibilities to practical strategies for programming. This book is based on the philosophy that all people, with all their distinctive abilities and interests, can and should benefit from participation in physical activity. This involvement should be lifelong, empowering, and inclusive of the range of possible programs, settings, and activities available to everyone.
More Physical Education Books
Physical Activity Instruction of Older Adults
Call Number: qGV 447 .P575 2005
Publication Date: 2004-11-24
Physical Activity Instruction of Older Adults is the first book to detail the fundamental knowledge and skills associated with the training modules outlined in the International Curriculum Guidelines for Preparing Physical Activity Instructors of Older Adults. The curriculum guidelines, published in 2004, were developed by an international coalition of senior fitness specialists. Physical Activity Instruction of Older Adults presents the competency-based objectives that fitness instructors should know and be able to perform to lead safe and effective physical activity programs for older adults with diverse functional capabilities. A comprehensive blend of theory, practical content, and detailed instruction, the text is organized into five parts: Part I introduces the new field of gerokinesiology; provides an overview of the aging process; and discusses the benefits of an active lifestyle in disease prevention, health promotion, and quality of life. Part II provides information and guidelines for preexercise screenings and assessments, client feedback, and goal setting. Part III focuses on the core fitness and skill components of a well-rounded physical activity program for older adults, including warm-up and cool-down, flexibility and resistance training, aerobic exercise, and balance and mobility training. Part IV introduces specialty program and training methods, including exercise such as yoga, aquatic exercise, and master athlete training. Part V covers how to apply principles of motor learning to program design; teaching, leadership, and motivational skills; special considerations for specific medical conditions; and legal and professional ethics and standards for instructors. Application activities at the end of each chapter help the reader to synthesize the information and prepare them to design well-rounded physical activity programs for older adults. Other student-friendly elements include chapter objectives, introductions, summaries, study questions, key terms, and key points. In addition, numerous photos, figures, and tables make the book not just interesting, but visually appealing as well. This book is ideal for undergraduate students, and it is an excellent reference for physical activity instructors of older adults, fitness specialists, personal trainers, and activity directors.
Physical Education for Lifelong Fitness
Call Number: qGV 365 .P4992 2005
Publication Date: 2004-07-30
Through this guide, teachers can do the following: -Revitalize their curriculum with cutting-edge information -Learn to implement health-related fitness education in a comprehensive manner -Get up to date on the latest guidelines for teaching health-related fitness -Build their personal toolbox for student motivation, goal setting, curriculum integration, and assessment of fitness -Learn the foundational knowledge for teaching health-related fitness Just as there are no shortcuts to health and fitness, there are no shortcuts taken in this authoritative guide. Physical Education for Lifelong Fitness: The Physical Best Teacher's Guide, Second Edition, covers all the bases that teachers need for implementing a health-related physical education curriculum to promote lifelong fitness. This text helps teachers benefit from experienced physical educators' wisdom and knowledge of real-world physical education. In doing so, teachers can do the following: -Set realistic but challenging goals for their program and students -Revitalize their curriculum with cutting-edge information -Plan their curriculum to meet national and state health-related fitness standards. The only text of its kind in the field of physical education, this revised edition offers the latest information on important health-related physical fitness teaching and physical education issues. This edition includes the following features in a streamlined, easy-to-use format emphasizing the development of lifelong fitness: -Discussion of the revised national physical education standards (NASPE 2004) -Enhanced and updated information on physical activity guidelines, assessment, nutrition, inclusion, and goal setting -Practical examples for teaching and assessment, applying the proven concepts in real-world physical education settings -Ready-to-use worksheets, charts, and other educational tools, including a glossary Physical Education for Lifelong Fitness: The Physical Best Teacher's Guide, Second Edition, provides teachers with the clear philosophical foundation for the Physical Best program and presents a framework for implementing a health-related physical education curriculum to promote lifelong fitness. More about Physical Best Resources Physical Best is the complete package teachers need to help students gain the knowledge, skills, appreciation, and confidence to lead physically active, healthy lives. No other set of resources comes close to delivering the amount of practical information teachers will find here. And it's versatile. Teachers can use Physical Best resources to refine their programs or to develop new programs at the school, district, or state level, including teacher training and certification. Physical Best is composed of these resources: -Physical Best Activity Guide: Elementary Level, Second Edition -Physical Best Activity Guide: Middle and High School Levels, Second Edition -Physical Education for Lifelong Fitness: The Physical Best Teacher's Guide, Second Edition -Educational workshops available through NASPE that enable teachers to become certified as Physical Best health-fitness specialists and instructors. Visit www.naspeinfo.org for more information. For more information on the other Physical Best books, please see Companion Resources, below.
Principles and Methods of Adapted Physical Education and Recreation
Call Number: GV 445 .P75 2010 / 00122228
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Provides physical educators with up-to-date knowledge and skills to deal with all levels of students' abilities. It is the only text in the adapted physical education market that provides both task-specific and developmental teaching approaches. With the national movement to include most students with disabilities into the general curriculum, the text is designed to enable adapted and regular physical education teachers to successfully address those students’ needs in the regular physical education class.
Service Learning for Health, Physical Education, and Recreation : a step-by-step guide
Call Number: qGV 365 .S57 2008
Publication Date: 2008-08-22
This unique workbook puts students in control by providing guidance through the process of planning, implementing, and evaluating service-learning projects. Service Learning for Health, Physical Education, and Recreation: A Step-by-Step Guide directs university and high school students through an easy-to-follow five-step process for completing service-learning projects. Consistent with principles from student-centered learning and organizational development, this process begins with choosing a project and building a team and progresses to development, execution, and assessment—teaching students best practices they can replicate in subsequent projects, classes, and their future jobs. Service Learning for Health, Physical Education, and Recreation highlights the skills students will need for a project as well as strategies for preventing common problems and dealing constructively with difficulties. Students learn how to work as a team, present themselves as professionals, and master the challenges of a variety of service-learning projects. Designed for learning and fun, Service Learning for Health, Physical Education, and Recreation keeps students focused and positive. This all-in-one resource has the following features: -A practical, customizable process that offers students unlimited creativity in project design and execution -Group projects, activities, and worksheets to guide students through the planning process -Tools, tips, and techniques that enable students to navigate the complexities of their projects -Reflection activities, journal assignments, and student checklists to help establish and maintain progress -Instructions for designing a needs assessment and evaluation survey -Icebreakers and group activities that will help build group cohesiveness In addition to the student resources, there is also an online teacher resource guide to assist teachers in supporting their students through each step in the process. The result of the author's own experiences in conducting complex service-learning projects, Service Learning for Health, Physical Education, and Recreation presents a practical and proven process that ensures both successful projects and student-centered service learning. Connecting to their communities through service-learning projects teaches students invaluable hands-on lessons and creates new volunteer and community development opportunities. Service Learning for Health, Physical Education, and Recreation: A Step-by-Step Guide empowers students to become an integral part of a service-learning experience where they can learn communication, leadership, and problem-solving skills while enjoying the unique personal power that comes from helping others.
Sport and Physical Education : the key concepts
Call Number: GV 567 .C43 2002
Publication Date: 2002-06-07
First published in 2002. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.