EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
Music History BooksMusic History/Composers eBooksSubscription eBooks
Christian Music/Hymns and Classical/ComposersFlorida Music and JazzMedieval, Musical Instruments, and OperaMusic Links and Scores/SheetProject Gutenberg - Music and Theory
Google Scholar/Writing Resources and Khan Academy - Music
Band Music/Big Band/BluesChoral/ClassicalChristian MusicCountry/FolkGospel/Hip Hop and RapJazz/Musical InstrumentsMusic in American Life/Music TheoryMusic Psychology/Music and Math/Music TherapyMusicals/Film and Television/OperaPiano/Pop/RockTeacing Music/Music Education/U.S. Music
Other Electronic Resources/Hot TopicsInternational Resources
This is the "Books/eBooks" page of the "Music Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music Research  

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/MU Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Books/eBooks Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Music Books

Cover Art
2014 Songwriter's Market - James Duncan (Editor)
Call Number: MT67 .S657 2014
ISBN: 9781599637310
Publication Date: 2013-10-31
The Most Trusted Guide to Songwriting Success We live in a golden age of DIY artistry, and songwriters and musicians are no strangers to pulling themselves up by their bootstraps, or guitar straps, and blazing a trail toward their own success. Songwriter's Market has been there with songwriters every step of the way for more than 37 years, providing the most complete and up-to-date information songwriters need to place their songs with music publishers, record companies, producers, managers, booking agents, fellow musicians, and more. This comprehensive guide gives you the tools and first-hand knowledge you need to launch, manage, and advance your songwriting career right now! In the 2014 edition, you'll also gain access to: Newly updated information about using crowd-funding, social media, press-kits, grants, and smart phone apps to boost your creative independence. Songwriting tips from the experts, including Grammy-winning producers, songwriting instructors, and fellow musicians. Hundreds of songwriting placement opportunities. Listing for songwriting organizations conferences, workshops, retreats, colonies, contests, venues, and grant sources (helpful for indie artists looking to record and tour on their own). Now is the time to achieve your goals and make your way toward a rewarding career in the music business. All the tools you need are right here in this book. Combined with the drive, creativity, and heart you already possess, the sky is the limit for your success! "Songwriter's Market is a valuable resources for songwriters, especially those living away from traditional music centers. It's stuffed with useful information." --Pat Pattison, author of Songwriting Without Boundaries

Cover Art
A Concise History of Western Music - Paul Griffiths
Call Number: ML160 .G75 2006
ISBN: 0521842948
Publication Date: 2006-06-29
Engaging, clear and informative, this is the story of western music - of its great composers and also of its performers and listeners, of changing ideas of what music is and what it is for. Paul Griffiths shows how music has evolved through the centuries, and suggests how its evolution has mirrored developments in the human notion of time, from the eternity of heaven to the computer's microsecond. The book provides an enticing introduction for students and beginners, using the minimum of technical terms, all straightforwardly defined in the glossary. Its perspective and its insights will also make it illuminating for teachers, musicians and music lovers. Suggestions for further reading and recommended recordings are given for each of the 24 short chapters.

Cover Art
A Dictionary for the Modern Clarinetist - Jane Ellsworth; David Daniels
Call Number: qML102 .C54 E45 2014
ISBN: 9780810886476
Publication Date: 2014-12-23
Titles in Dictionaries for the Modern Musician series offer both the novice and the advanced artist key information designed to convey the field of study and performance for a major instrument or instrument class, as well as the workings of musicians in areas from conducting to composing. Unlike other encyclopedic works, contributions to this series focus primarily on the knowledge required by the contemporary musical student or performer. Each dictionary covers topics from instrument parts to playing technique and major works to key figures. A must-have for any musician s personal library The clarinet has played an important role in all kinds of music, ranging from classical to jazz to the traditional music of varying ethnicities and traditions. A beloved band instrument to thousands of school children, the clarinet is also capable of capturing some of the most sublime musical moments in the hands of professional artists. It has found a home in any number of venues, from the great symphonic concert halls to local jazz clubs, from the streets of New Orleans to the film studios of Hollywood. In A Dictionary for the Modern Clarinet, scholar and musician Jane Ellsworth offers lovers of the clarinet the premiere reference book for information about this remarkable instrument. Containing over 400 terms, Ellsworth covers the clarinet's history (including both modern and historical instruments, common and rare), acoustics, construction, fingering systems and mechanisms, and techniques, as well as its more important performers, makers, and scholars. A Dictionary for the Modern Clarinetist will delight clarinet aficionados at all levels. For knowledgeable professionals it will serve as a quick and handy reference guide, useful in the high school or college library and the home teaching studio alike; students and amateurs will find it accessible and full of fascinating information about the world of the clarinet."

Cover Art
A Dictionary for the Modern Clarinetist - Jane Ellsworth; David Daniels
Call Number: qML102 .C54 E45 2014
ISBN: 9780810886476
Publication Date: 2014-12-23
Titles in Dictionaries for the Modern Musician series offer both the novice and the advanced artist key information designed to convey the field of study and performance for a major instrument or instrument class, as well as the workings of musicians in areas from conducting to composing. Unlike other encyclopedic works, contributions to this series focus primarily on the knowledge required by the contemporary musical student or performer. Each dictionary covers topics from instrument parts to playing technique and major works to key figures. A must-have for any musician s personal library The clarinet has played an important role in all kinds of music, ranging from classical to jazz to the traditional music of varying ethnicities and traditions. A beloved band instrument to thousands of school children, the clarinet is also capable of capturing some of the most sublime musical moments in the hands of professional artists. It has found a home in any number of venues, from the great symphonic concert halls to local jazz clubs, from the streets of New Orleans to the film studios of Hollywood. In A Dictionary for the Modern Clarinet, scholar and musician Jane Ellsworth offers lovers of the clarinet the premiere reference book for information about this remarkable instrument. Containing over 400 terms, Ellsworth covers the clarinet's history (including both modern and historical instruments, common and rare), acoustics, construction, fingering systems and mechanisms, and techniques, as well as its more important performers, makers, and scholars. A Dictionary for the Modern Clarinetist will delight clarinet aficionados at all levels. For knowledgeable professionals it will serve as a quick and handy reference guide, useful in the high school or college library and the home teaching studio alike; students and amateurs will find it accessible and full of fascinating information about the world of the clarinet."

Cover Art
African American Music : an introduction - Mellonee V. Burnim (Editor); Portia K. Maultsby (Editor)
Call Number: ML3556 .A34 2006
ISBN: 0415941377
Publication Date: 2005-10-31
African American Music: An Introduction is a collection of thirty essays by leading scholars whch survey major African American musical genres, both sacred and secular, from slavery to the present. The work brings together, in a single volume, treatments of African American music that have existed largely independent of each other. The research is based in large part on ethnographic fieldwork, which privileges the voices of the music-makers themselves, while interpreting their narratives through a richly textured mosaic of history and culture. The book is replete with references to seminal recordings and recording artists, musical transcriptions, photographs, and illustrations that bring the music to life as expressions of human beings. At the same time, it includes the kind of musical specificity that brings clarity to the structural, melodic, and rhythmic characteristics that both distinguish and unify the music of African-Americans.

Cover Art
All Music Guide to Classical Music: the definitive guide to classical music - Chris Woodstra; Gerald Brennan; Allen Schrott
Call Number: ML100 .A42 2005
ISBN: 0879308656
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
(Book). This is the definitive source for composers, compositions, and genres. The book contains over 500 composer and 800 performer biographies. Each artist entry includes vital statistics and album recommendations. The book covers thousands of compositions, including operas, symphonies, concertos, and ballets, and it includes 23 essays devoted to classical music's major eras, forms, and genres. Choral works, songs, keyboard works, chamber music, and film scores receive dedicated sections. Includes 4,000 descriptions of composers' works and 12,000 recordings recommended by All Music Guide editors.

Cover Art
All Things Strings: an illustrated dictionary - Jo Nardolillo; T. M. Larsen (Illustrator)
Call Number: qML108 .N373 2013
ISBN: 9780810884434
Publication Date: 2014-03-14
String players face a bewildering array of terms related to their instruments. Because string playing is a living art form, passed directly from master to student, the words used to convey complex concepts such as bow techniques and fingering systems have developed into an extensive vocabulary that can be complicated, vague, and even contradictory. Many of these terms are derived from French, Italian, or German, yet few appear in any standard music dictionary. Moreover, the gulf separating classical playing from fiddle, bluegrass, jazz, and other genres has generated style-specific terms rarely codified into any reference work. All Things Strings: An Illustrated Dictionary bridges this gap, serving as the only comprehensive resource for the terminology used by the modern string family of instruments. All of the terms pertaining to violin, viola, cello, and double bass, inclusive of all genres and playing styles, are defined, explained, and illustrated in a single text. Entries include techniques from shifting to fingerboard mapping to thumb position; the entire gamut of bowstrokes; terms found in orchestral parts; instrument structure and repair; accessories and equipment; ornaments (including those used in jazz and bluegrass); explanations of various bow holds; conventions of orchestral playing; and types of strings, as well as information on a select number of famous luthiers, influential pedagogues, and legendary performers. All Thing Strings is expertly illustrated with original drawings by T. M. Larsen and musical examples from the standard literature. Appendixes include an extensive bibliography of recommended reading for string players and a detailed chart of bowstrokes showing notation and explaining execution. As the single best source for understanding string instruments and referencing all necessary terminology, All Things Strings is an essential tool for performers, private teachers, college professors, and students at all levels. It is also an invaluable addition to the libraries of orchestra directors and composers wishing to better understand the complexities of string playing. With the inclusion of terms relevant to all four modern string instruments played in all genres from jazz to bluegrass to historically informed performance this resource serves the needs of every string musician."

Cover Art
All You Need to Know about the Music Business - Donald S. Passman
Call Number: ML3790 .P35 2012
ISBN: 9781451682465
Publication Date: 2012-12-04
The definitive, essential guide to the music industry, now in its eighth edition—revised and updated with crucial information on the industry’s major changes in response to rapid technological advances and economic uncertainty. The past two decades have seen file-sharing technology and digital streaming services transform the music business from top to bottom, and the changes keep coming at breakneck speed. How are record labels adapting to the demand for instantly accessible, low-cost music while coping with piracy? And what does it all mean for aspiring and established artists today? Donald Passman, one of the most trusted music lawyers in the country, offers his sage advice for creating, selling, sharing, and protecting your music in the Information Age in this updated eighth edition of All You Need to Know About the Music Business. Called “the industry bible” by the Los Angeles Times, Passman’s comprehensive guide—which has sold hundreds of thousands of copies over the past twenty years—draws on his unparalleled experience and up-to-the-minute knowledge of industry trends. Executives and artists, experts and novices alike, will benefit from Passman’s detailed yet easy-to-understand explanations of the latest technology, legalities, and practices shaping the music business, such as: • Royalties for music transmitted via digital down- loads, streaming services, cloud lockers, and apps • Updated licensing regulations and industry agreements • The most recent recording and music publishing deals • The new challenges for performing rights societies He also gives guidance on the basics, such as how to: • Select and hire a winning team of advisors—personal and business managers, agents, and attorneys—and structure their commissions, percentages, and fees in a way that will protect you and maximize these relationships • Master the major and finer points of contract negotiations • Navigate the ins and outs of songwriting and music publishing • Maximize concert, touring, and merchandising agreements Anyone interested in making and marketing music—musicians, songwriters, agents, promoters, publishers, managers, and record company executives—needs this crucial text to keep up with the frenetic pace of technological and legal change. No one understands the music business better than Passman. Let him show you how to “make it” in one of the world’s most dynamic and challenging industries.

Cover Art
Black Women and Music - Eileen M. Hayes (Editor); Linda F. Williams (Editor); Ingrid Monson (Foreword by)
Call Number: ML82 .A37 2007
ISBN: 9780252031847
Publication Date: 2007-03-16
This collection is the first interdisciplinary volume to examine black women's negotiation of race and gender in African American music. Contributors address black women's activity in musical arenas that pre- and postdate the emergence of the vaudeville blues singers of the 1920s. Throughout, the authors illustrate black women's advocacy of themselves as blacks and as women in music. Feminist? Black feminist? The editors take care to stress that each term warrants interrogation: "Black women can and have forged, often, but not always--and not everywhere the same across time--identities that are supple enough to accommodate a sense of female empowerment through 'musicking' in tandem with their sensitivities to black racial allegiances."   Individual essays concern the experiences of black women in classical music and in contemporary blues, the history of black female gospel-inflected voices in the Broadway musical, and "hip-hop feminism" and its complications. Focusing on under-examined contexts, authors introduce readers to the work of a prominent gospel announcer, women's music festivals (predominantly lesbian), and to women's involvement in an early avant-garde black music collective. In contradistinction to a compilation of biographies, this volume critically illuminates themes of black authenticity, sexual politics, access, racial uplift through music, and the challenges of writing (black) feminist biography. Black Women and Music is a strong reminder that black women have been and are both social actors and artists contributing to African American thought.

Cover Art
Blues: the basics - Dick Weissman
Call Number: ML3521 .W45 2004
ISBN: 0415970679
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
Blues: The Basics offers a concise introduction to a century of the blues. Organized chronologically, it focuses on the major eras in the growth and development of this popular musical style. Material includes: a definition of the blues and the major genres within it key artists such as Ma Rainey, Bessie Smith, Robert Johnson and Blind Lemon Jefferson key recordings Complete with timelines and suggestions for further investigation, this fascinating overview is ideal for students and interested listeners.

Cover Art
Choral Masterworks : a listener's guide - Michael Steinberg
Call Number: MT110 .S74 2005
ISBN: 0195126440
Publication Date: 2005-04-22
Michael Steinberg's highly successful listener's guides--The Symphony and The Concerto--have been universally praised for their blend of captivating biography, crystal clear musical analysis, and delightful humor. Now Steinberg follows these two greatly admired volumes with Choral Masterworks: A Listener's Guide, the only such guide available to this most popular of musical forms. Here are more than fifty illuminating essays on the classic choral masterworks, ranging from Handel's Messiah, Bach's Mass in B Minor, and Beethoven's Missa Solemnis, to works by Haydn, Brahms, Mendelssohn, and many others. Steinberg spans the entire history of classical music, from suchgiants of the Romantic era as Verdi and Berlioz, to leading modern composers such as Elgar, Rachmaninoff, Vaughan Williams, and Stravinsky, to contemporary masters such as John Adams and Charles Wuorinen. For each piece, Steinberg includes a fascinating biographical account of the work's genesis,often spiced with wonderful asides, such as the true story of Mozart's Requiem--Salieri had nothing to do with the composition of it, nor did he poison Mozart, who most likely died of rheumatic fever. The author also includes an astute musical analysis of each piece, one that casual music lovers caneasily appreciate and that musicians and more serious fans will find invaluable. The book also includes basic information such as the various movements of the work, the organization of the chorus and orchestra, and brief historical notes on early performances. More than twenty million Americans perform regularly in choirs or choruses. Choral Masterworks will appeal not only to concert goers and CD collectors, but also to this vast multitude of choral performers, an especially engaged and active community.

Cover Art
Church and Worship Music: an annotated bibliography of contemporary scholarship : a research and information guide - James Michael Floyd; Avery T. Sharp
Call Number: ML128 .C54 S43 2005
ISBN: 0415966477
Publication Date: 2005-08-24
Church music is a rich field of study. This book contains a bibliography of books, recordings, videos, and websites in the field of church music. With multiple indices, it serves as a useful tool for librarians, researchers, and scholars in sorting through the massive amount of material that has appeared in the field.

Cover Art
Classic American Popular Song: the second half-century, 1950-2000 - David Jenness; Donald Velsey
Call Number: ML3477 .J46 2005
ISBN: 9780415970563
Publication Date: 2005-11-15
"Classic American Popular Song: The Second Half-Century addresses the question: What happened to American popular song after 1950? While 1950 is seen as the end of an era, the top of popular song creation hardly ran dry after that date. This book tackles the issue head on, answering questions such as: Was there a decline in quality or quantity of pop song after 1950? Were the highly successful writers who emerged after 1950 working in an antiquated style? Did they adopt new musical and verse techniques, and thus shape a new genre to be judged in retrospect as a new classic style? Are the post-1950 songs as memorable, viewed now after another 50 years, as those that came before? Will they last as long, and mean as much? Finally, if indeed there is still a great tradition, how vital is this tradition as of 2000?" "Discussing briefly or in greater detail over 1300 songs from the post-1950 period, Classic American Popular Song: The Second Half-Century presents a compelling history at the development of one of our greatest national treasures. For anyone interested in the development of American popular song - and its survival - this book will make fascinating reading."--Jacket.

Cover Art
Cool Jobs in the Music Business - Jeffrey Rabhan
Call Number: AV Kit ML3790 .R28 2013 DVD ROM, AV Kit ML3790 .R28 2013 Book
ISBN: 9781458420961
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
(Book). In Cool Jobs in the Music Business , industry veteran and chair of NYU's Clive Davis Recorded Music program Jeffrey Rabhan explains career options within and connected to today's music business through the experiences of some of the industry's top DJs, educators, engineers, executives, journalists, managers, music supervisors, producers, promoters, publicists, publishers, and technicians. Starting from his own experience helping to guide the careers of such artists as Kelly Clarkson, Lil' Kim, Michelle Branch, DMX and Jermaine Dupri, Rabhan outlines the essentials of today's business while looking into the future. Conducting dozens of exclusive interviews, he draws unique insights from the people currently in the business, who detail their own paths to success and offer career and educational advice specifically targeted at young people. Rabhan starts with an overview of various categories in the industry, then details all of the jobs within that category, from entry level to top executive. The DVD includes audio and video footage of the author and additional interviews.

Cover Art
Dictionary for the Modern Singer - Matthew Hoch
Call Number: qML102 .V6 H63 2014
ISBN: 9780810886551
Publication Date: 2014-04-28
Titles in the Dictionaries for the Modern Musician series offer both the novice and the advanced artist key information designed to convey the field of study and performance for a major instrument or instrument class, as well as the workings of musicians in areas from conducting to composing. Each dictionary covers topics from instrument parts to technique, major works to key figures a must-have for any musician s personal library A Dictionary for the Modern Singer is an indispensable guide for students of singing, voice pedagogues, and lovers of the art of singing. In addition to classical singing, genres, and styles, musical theatre and popular and global styles are addressed. With an emphasis on contemporary practice, this work includes terms and figures that influenced modern singing styles. Topics include voice pedagogy, voice science, vocal health, styles, genres, performers, diction, and other relevant topics. The dictionary will help students to more fully understand the concepts articulated by their teachers. Matthew Hoch s book fills a gap in the singer s library as the only one-volume general reference geared toward today s student of singing. An extensive bibliography is invaluable for students seeking to explore a particular subject in greater depth. Illustrations and charts further illuminate particular concepts, while appendixes address stage fright, tips on practicing, repertoire selection, audio technology, and contemporary commercial music styles. A Dictionary for the Modern Singer will appeal to students of singing at all levels. For professionals, it will serve as a quick and handy reference guide, useful in the high school or college library and the home teaching studio alike; students and amateurs will find it accessible and full of fascinating information about the world of the singing."

Cover Art
Dictionary of Music Education: a handbook of terminology - Mark C. Ely; Amy E. Rashkin
Call Number: MT4 .E37 2005
ISBN: 1579994660
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
This landmark book provides students, teachers, professionals, and practicioners with a quick, easy-to-us reference for music education terminology."--Publisher's description.

Cover Art
First Lessons Bongo - Trevor Salloum
Call Number: AV Kit MT663.8 .S2556 2013 CD Audio, AV Kit MT663.8 .S2556 2013 Book
ISBN: 9780786684991
Publication Date: 2013-05-24
This book and accompanying audio are a perfect introduction to the bongo drum. The book includes lessons on music notation, posture, positioning, tuning and hand strokes. There are also many exercises, examples of Latin rhythms, andeven some history of the instrument. Written by best-selling Mel Bay author Trevor Salloum, this method is all you need to start playing the bongo drum today!

Cover Art
Handel - Donald Burrows
Call Number: ML410 .H13 B94 2012
ISBN: 9780199737369
Publication Date: 2012-06-15
Handel is one of the most remarkable figures in the history of western music. His compositions form one of the peaks of creative achievement in the Baroque period, and cover a remarkable range: full-scale Italian operas and English oratorios (including Messiah), but also shorter works such asthe Water Music and the Coronation Anthem Zadok the Priest. His compositional processes were often complex, but could result in accessible and memorable "hit tunes", such as the aria that subsequently became famous as "Handel's Largo".His life and career were as remarkable as his music. Born in Germany to a family that reputedly tried to discourage his initial interest in music, he broke away to seek his fortune in Italian opera, and proceeded to gain first-hand experience of the latest Italian styles in Rome, Florence, Veniceand Naples. A series of career moves brought him via Hanover to London, where he eventually settled and dominated the city's musical life for half a century. There he quickly made his mark in English church music as well as Italian opera, and eventually created two new musical genres - Englishtheatre oratorio and the organ concerto.Handel is important also because, as a musician, he also became a significant public figure. In Rome he attracted the patronage of princes and cardinals; soon after his arrival in London he appeared at the court of Queen Anne, and he subsequently enjoyed substantial support from the "Hanoverian"royal family. He survived turbulent periods in the musical and political life of London, reached a wider public through publications of his music, died a rich man and was buried in Westminster Abbey. This biography provides a comprehensive and balanced account of both the man and his music, drawing on the unusually rich legacy of documentary and musical sources from Handel's lifetime. This new edition of a book that has been recognized as a "classic" biography of Handel, reliable on the factualdetails of the composer's life and comprehensive in the coverage of his music, incorporates a great deal of new material. The last half century has seen a great renewal of research on the circumstances of Handel's life, and a major expansion in performances and recordings of his music. The bookbrings together the results of this scholarly activity, and is informed by wide experience of modern performances of Handel's music, including the revival of his operas and experimentation with "authentic" performance practices.

Cover Art
Hip Hop Culture - Emmett G. Price
Call Number: ML3531 .P75 2006
ISBN: 1851098674
Publication Date: 2006-05-19
This work is a revealing chronicle of Hip Hop culture from its beginnings three decades ago to the present, with an analysis of its influence on people and popular culture in the United States and around the world. * An extensively researched narrative of the history of Hip Hop in four informative, richly detailed chapters * More than 50 photographs of Hip Hop's major players, scenes, and styles * An extensive annotated bibliography of print and online resources, plus listings of important organizations, associations, and programs dedicated to Hip Hop culture * A comprehensive glossary of terms and phrases such as "bling bling" and "thuglife" * Sidebars on fascinating topics, reflecting the latest research and statistical data * Analyses of the 50 most influential Hip Hop songs and the 30 most influential Hip Hop albums

Cover Art
Louis Armstrong : the soundtrack of the American experience - David Stricklin
Call Number: ML419 .A75 S86 2015
ISBN: 9781442245990
Publication Date: 2015-02-12
In the twentieth century, African Americans not only helped make popular music the soundtrack of the American experience, they advanced American music as one of the preeminent shapers of the world's popular culture. Vast numbers of black American musicians deserve credit for this remarkable turn of events, but a few stand out as true giants. David Stricklin's superb new biography explores the life of one of them, Louis Armstrong. The life story of this great instrumentalist and bandleader illustrates much of the black entertainer's impact on American culture and illuminates how popular culture often intersects with politics and economics. Armstrong emerged from a precarious background and triumphed over almost impossible odds, becoming a transcendent public figure and an international icon. Mr. Stricklin concentrates on Armstrong's musical talent, something many observers called a thing of genius. But he also pays special attention to Armstrong's identity a black man in America and the ways in which he triumphed over the mistreatment and disrespect dealt countless people like him. The creativity and exuberance he shared with the world came from his unique vantage as an artist and as an African American with a striking and lively spirit of freedom. He might have been able to demonstrate that determination in any line of work, but his story has special urgency because he expressed his creative power through music. With 16 black-and-white photographs.

Cover Art
Music 3. 0: a survival guide for making music in the new music industry - Bobby Owsinski
Call Number: qML3790 .O968 2011
ISBN: 9781458402899
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
(Music Pro Guide Books & DVDs). Music 3.0: A Survival Guide for Making Music in the Internet Age is a completely updated edition of the original best seller, featuring the latest music business and social media concepts as well as brand-new interviews with a variety of the industry's top movers and shakers. The book not only takes a look at the music industry's evolution and how we got to Music 3.0, but provides the information that today's musician or music business executive needs to take advantage of the new music industry paradigm: What has changed? Who are the new players? Why are traditional record labels, television, and radio no longer factors in an artist's success? How do you market and distribute your music in this new world? How do you make money in this new music world? How do you develop your brand? How do you use Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube as marketing tools? What are the new technologies that are being introduced that will influence how we sell or market? All these questions are answered in the book. This edition also contains new low-cost high- and low-tech tips for marketing and promotion.

Cover Art
Music in American Religious Experience - Philip V. Bohlman (Editor); Edith Blumhofer (Editor); Maria Chow (Editor)
Call Number: ML2911 .M87 2006
ISBN: 9780195173031
Publication Date: 2005-12-15
Since the appearance of The Bay Psalm Book in 1640, music has served as a defining factor for American religious experience. Music and music-making are crucial to the maintenance of the distinctive belief systems that account for the insistent presence of multiculturalism in American denominationalism. The sacred musics of America at once symbolize the unifying factors of worship shaping the historical landscape and give voice to the diversity that distinguishes the religious experiences of that landscape as American. For students and scholars in American music and religious studies, as well as for church musicians, this book is the first to study the ways in which music shapes the distinctive presence of religion in the United States. The sixteen essayists contributing to this book address the fullness ofmusic's presence in American religion and religious history. Sacred music is considered in the broadest aesthetic sense, stretching from more traditional studies of hymnody and worship to new forms of musical expression, such as ritual in nonsectarian religious movements. Musical experienceintersects with religious experience, posing challenging questions about the ways in which Americans, historical communities and new immigrants, and racial and ethnic groups, construct their sense of self. This book features an interdisciplinary approach that includes scholars in both musical andreligious studies; a broad range of methodologies; historical breadth extending beyond denominational and church studies, and beyond Judeo-Christian traditions; and a comparative study of traditional religious communities and of emerging groups representing multiethnic America.

Cover Art
Music of the Peoples of the World - William Alves
Call Number: ML3545 .A48 2006
ISBN: 0534592309
Publication Date: 2005-09-16
Listen to and appreciate music of different cultures with MUSIC OF THE PEOPLES OF THE WORLD! Stunning illustrations help you to better understand the people, music, and the instruments of the nine musical cultures discussed. Active Listening Tools, a free download from the text specific website, enhances listening and understanding by allowing you to view instruments and cultural settings while you listen to musical excerpts.

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Music Books

Cover Art
Music Theory for Dummies® - Michael Pilhofer; Holly Day
Call Number: AV Kit MT7 .P64 2012 CD Audio, AV Kit MT7 .P64 2012 Book
ISBN: 9781118095508
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Grasp the concepts needed to compose, deconstruct, and comprehend music Whether you're a student of music or a music lover, Music Theory For Dummies presents you with essential information on how to read, write, and understand music, as well as helpful hints on composing, arranging, and creating original melodies, harmonies, and chords. Music Theory For Dummies gives you a friendly, unintimidating overview of the material covered in a typical college-level course and makes music theory easy to understand. It includes updated information on current teaching techniques; the newest music examples and genres; information on mastering major and minor scales, using intervals, and recognizing pitches and clefs; the lowdown on rhythms, tempo, dynamics, and navigation; how to transcribe the music you hear and transposing it to other keys; harmonizing and accompanying melodies; composing and arranging for voices and instruments; performing your own music; and much more. Audio CD includes musical excerpts played on a variety of instruments Makes learning music theory as enjoyable as it is useful Tracks to a typical college-level music theory course Don't get discouraged by the seemingly complicated written structure of musical theory. With Music Theory For Dummies, understanding music has never been easier! CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of the e-book file, but are available for download after purchase.  

Cover Art
Musician and Teacher: an orientation to music education - Patricia Shehan Campbell; Steven M. Demorest (Contribution by); Steven J. Morrison (Contribution by)
Call Number: MT1 .C227 2008
ISBN: 9780393927566
Publication Date: 2007-09-19
Designed for the first course in music education, Musician & Teacher surveys the theoretical, philosophical, historical, social, and psychological foundations of teaching music and pays tribute to the local and global realms of music teaching and learning. At the same time, the book examines the developmental issues inherent in teaching music to children and adolescents along with the practicalities of motivating students and managing a classroom, providing the concrete application beginning educators need to successfully teach music to children in grades K-12.

Cover Art
Nobody Knows Where the Blues Come From - Robert Springer (Editor)
Call Number: ML3521 .N63 2006
ISBN: 1934110299
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
Musicians and music scholars rightly focus on the sounds of the blues and the colorful life stories of blues performers. Equally important and, until now, inadequately studied are the lyrics. The international contributors to Nobody Knows Where the Blues Come From explore this aspect of the blues and establish the significance of African American popular song as a neglected form of oral history. "High Water Everywhere: Blues and Gospel Commentary on the 1927 Mississippi River Flood," by David Evans, is the definitive study of songs about one of the greatest natural disasters in the history of the United States. In "Death by Fire: African American Popular Music on the Natchez Rhythm Club Fire," Luigi Monge analyzes a continuum of songs about exclusively African American tragedy. "Lookin' for the Bully: An Enquiry into a Song and Its Story," by Paul Oliver traces the origins and the many avatars of the Bully song. In "That Dry Creek Eaton Clan: A North Mississippi Murder Ballad of the 1930s," Tom Freeland and Chris Smith study a ballad recorded in 1939 by a black convict at Parchman prison farm. "Coolidge's Blues: African American Blues from the Roaring Twenties" is Guido van Rijn's survey of blues of that decade. Robert Springer's "On the Electronic Trail of Blues Formulas" presents a number of conclusions about the spread of patterns in blues narratives. In "West Indies Blues: An Historical Overview 1920s-1950s," John Cowley turns his attention to West Indian songs produced on the American mainland. Finally, in "Ethel Waters: 'Long, Lean, Lanky Mama,'" Randall Cherry reappraises the early career of this blues and vaudeville singer. Robert Springer is a professor of English at the University of Metz in Longeville les Metz, France. Among other works, he is the author of Authentic Blues: Its History and Its Themes and the editor of The Lyrics in African American Popular Music.

Cover Art
Opera : the basics - Denise Gallo
Call Number: ML1700 .G29 2006
ISBN: 0415970717
Publication Date: 2005-11-22
Opera: The Basics provides an excellent introduction to the performers and music that make opera an enduring and well-loved musical style. Featuring sidebars throughout the text that present studies of key operas and place the general discussion in context, this easy-to-use guide is logically organized and concludes with a bibliography, discography, and videography. Divided into two parts, Opera: The Basics: traces the origins of opera, and then introduces the student to its basic terminology; follows the history of major genres in opera, including serious opera, comic opera, semi-serious opera, and vernacular opera. Opera: The Basics gives a brief introduction to four centuries of opera, and is ideal for students and interested listeners who want to learn more about this important musical style.

Cover Art
Researching the Song: a lexicon - Shirlee Emmons; Wilbur Watkin Lewis
Call Number: ML102 .S6 E46 2006
ISBN: 0195152026
Publication Date: 2006-01-19
Singers are faced with a unique challenge among musicians: they must express not just the music, but the lyrics too. To effectively communicate the meaning behind these words, singers must understand the many references embedded in the vast international repertoire of great art songs. Theymust deal with the meaning of the lyrics, frequently in a language not their own and of a culture unfamiliar to them. From Zelter and Schubert to Rorem and Musto, Researching the Song serves as an invaluable guide for performers, teachers, and enthusiasts to the art song repertoire. Its more than 2,000 carefully researched entries supply information on most of the mythological, historical, geographical, andliterary references contained in western art song. The authors explain the meaning of less familiar literary terms, figures, and authors referenced in song while placing songs in the context of larger literary sources. Readers will find entries dealing with art songs from the German, French,Italian, Russian, Spanish, South American, Greek, Finnish, Scandinavian, and both American and British English repertoires. Sources, narratives, and explanations of major song cycles are also given. Organized alphabetically, the lexicon includes brief biographies of poets, lists of composers who seteach poet's work, bibliographic materials, and brief synopses of major works from which song texts were taken, including the plots of all Restoration theater works containing Purcell's vocal music. The more performers know and understand the literary elements of a song, the richer their communication will be. Researching the Song is a vital aid for singers and teachers in interpreting art songs and building song recital programs.

Cover Art
Rockin' the Borders: rock music and social, cultural and political change - Björn Horgby; Fredrik Nilsson
Call Number: ML3534 .R63482 2010
ISBN: 9781443821636
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
Rock music challenges hegemonic orders based on class, gender, nation, ethnicity/race or generation. This volume investigates how rock has played an integral part in the formation of identities and life-styles since the 1950's. Rock music is used as a wide concept, including different genres, e.g. rock 'n' roll, pop, punk, hip hop and blues. Unlike most other books on rock music, this volume focuses on how rock music becomes a part of everyday life and the formation of identities in a variety of European states such as England, Finland, Sweden and Wales, the USA, and also states that used to be on the other side of the Iron Curtain-such as GDR and Czechoslovakia. Thus, it includes a comparative perspective based on temporal as well as spatial aspects that further deepen the understanding of how rock music and society are intertwined. Rockin' the Borders is an interdisciplinary volume; the authors represent a variety of backgrounds: History, Ethnology, Folklore, Sociology and Sociology of Music, thus presenting us with an interesting mix of theoretical perspectives and methods.

Cover Art
Singing in Style: a guide to vocal performance practices - Martha Elliott
Call Number: MT892 .E45 2006
ISBN: 0300109326
Publication Date: 2006-01-10
The first historical overview of vocal performance practice and style ever published, Singing In Style provides an introduction to how such issues as ornamentation, vibrato, rubato, portamento, articulation, tempo, language, and accompaniment with period instruments have been handled since the seventeenth century. Each chapter presents a historical period and gives background information on the singers and composers, the vocal repertoire, and the stylistic conventions of that time. Specific repertoire examples are discussed as well, to show how to use the music itself as a context for making stylistic choices. Each chapter also has an extensive reference list arranged by topic, so the interested reader can pursue a particular subject in more depth.Covering the Baroque period to the present, Elliott casts a wide net, bringing together information from historical treatises, personal accounts from composers, performers, historians, critics, and current scholarly commentary into one convenient handbook for the student and the amateur and professional performer who want to learn more about how vocal works were sung in their day.

Cover Art
Sourcebook for Research in Music - Phillip D. Crabtree; Donald H. Foster; Allen Scott (Revised by)
Call Number: ML113 .C68 2005
ISBN: 0253346118
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
The Sourcebook for Research in Music, in this revised and greatly expanded second edition, is an invaluable guide to the researcher in navigating the vast proliferation of materials in music research. The editors emphasize English-language and recent sources, and also include essential materials in other languages. An opening chapter of introductory materials, including a list of common bibliographical terms with definitions, German and French bibliographical terms, and the plan of the Library of Congress and the Dewey Decimal music classification systems, is followed by seven bibliographical chapters, covering lists of sources as well as collective annotations that introduce and identify specific items. A reference tool containing varied information relating to research in music, the Sourcebook will serve as a classroom text and as a resource for individual music researchers, librarians, faculty members, students, performing and teaching musicians, and musical amateurs. Phillip D. Crabtree and Donald H. Foster are both retired from the faculty at the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music. D. University.

Cover Art
Starting Your Career as a Musician - Neil Tortorella
Call Number: ML3795 .T657 2013
ISBN: 9781581159288
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Whether you dream about becoming a rock star or a sought-after talent playing local gigs, Starting Your Career as a Musician will guide you along the path to success. Author Neil Tortorella explores the myriad opportunities in music today and details proven strategies for seeking them out. He reveals the common pitfalls and traps that are often encountered and provides aspiring musicians with time-tested advice on how to avoid them.  Jam-packed with the practical know-how you need for success in the music business, Starting Your Career as a Musician is brought to life and made easy-to grasp through the wisdom and experiences shared by numerous working musicians. While it won’t show you how to be a better musician, this indispensable guide will teach you how to make a living with your music, promote yourself or your band, get booked, and maximize additional revenue streams.

Cover Art
Symmetric Solutions: The Whole Tone Workbook. - Bruce Saunders
Call Number: AV Kit MT582 .S2863 2011 CD ROM, AV Kit MT582 .S2863 2011 Book
ISBN: 9780786683628
Publication Date: 2011-12-14
In a similar format to his other Mel Bay Publications, in Symmetric Solutions: The Whole Tone Workbook author Bruce Saunders uses exercises, etudes and chord progressions from jazz standards to explore the sound of the whole-tone scale, the augmented scale and drop-2, drop-3 and drop-2/4 chord voicings applicable to them. Blues, rhythm changes, Giant Steps, patterns, approachnotes, across the bar line phrasing, examples from jazz greats such as Joe Henderson, Wes Montgomery, Mike Stern and Wayne Krantz among others. This book is full of great sounds that you can use on standard jazz progressions, vamps, funk tunes, Brazilian tunes -- whole-tone can be used just about anywhere

Cover Art
Teaching Percussion: with DVD - Gary D. Cook
Call Number: AV Kit MT655 .C67 2006 Disc 1, AV Kit MT655 .C67 2006 Disc 2, AV Kit MT655 .C67 2006 Book
ISBN: 0534509908
Publication Date: 2005-12-12
Become a better music teacher with TEACHING PERCUSSION with accompanying 2-DVD set! Providing a comprehensive introduction to every aspect of percussion education, technique, and performance, this music text guides you towards a greater musical awareness and improved technique. Illustrations, examples, and exercises acquaint you with the special needs of all percussion instruments. You will gain a greater insight into music learning and performance through the inclusion of up-to-date techniques and numerous exercises.

Cover Art
The Christian West and Its Singers: the first thousand years - Christopher Page
Call Number: ML2902 .P34 2010
ISBN: 9780300112573
Publication Date: 2010-05-18
A renowned scholar and musician presents a new and innovative exploration of the beginnings of Western musical art. Beginning in the time of the New Testament, when Christians began to develop an art of ritual singing with an African and Asian background, Christopher Page traces the history of music in Europe through the development of Gregorian chant—a music that has profoundly influenced the way Westerners hear—to the invention of the musical staff, regarded as the fundamental technology of Western music. Page places the history of the singers who performed this music against the social, political and economic life of a Western Europe slowly being remade after the collapse of Roman power. His book will be of interest to historians, musicologists, performing musicians, and general readers who are keen to explore the beginnings of Western musical art.

Cover Art
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Conducting Music - Michael Miller
Call Number: qMT85 .M55 2012
ISBN: 9781615641680
Publication Date: 2012-06-05
The complex art of conducting may look effortless to the casual onlooker; however, it requires a great deal of knowledge and skill. The success of a performance hinges on the director's ability to keep the group playing together and interpreting the music as the composer intended. The Complete Idiot's Guide#65533; to Conducting Music shows student and novice conductors how to lead bands, orchestras, choirs, and other ensembles effectively through sight-reading, rehearsals, and performances. Bonus online video content shows expert conductors conducting various time signatures, tempos, downbeats, cues, articulations, dynamics, and more.

Cover Art
The Definitive Illustrated Encyclopedia of Rock - Michael Heatley; Richard Buskin
Call Number: qML102 .R6 D44 2007
ISBN: 9781844519965
Publication Date: 2008-05-25
This is the ultimate guide to the most popular form of music, which at its widest interpretation covers a spectrum of genres, from rock 'n' roll and soul to pop and funk.

Cover Art
The Disney Song Encyclopedia - Thomas S. Hischak; Mark A. Robinson
Call Number: ML102 .M68 H58 2009
ISBN: 9780810869370
Publication Date: 2009-07-29
Songs written for Disney productions over the decades have become a potent part of American popular culture. Since most Americans first discovered these songs in their youth, they hold a special place in one's consciousness. The Disney Song Encyclopedia describes and discusses hundreds of famous and not-so-famous songs from Disney films, television, Broadway, and theme parks from the 1930s to the present day. Over 900 songs are given individual entries and presented in alphabetical order. The songwriters and original singers are identified, as well as the source of the song and other venues in which it might have been used over the years. Notable recordings of the song are also listed. But most important, the song is described and what makes it memorable is discussed. This is not a reference list but a true encyclopedia of Disney songs. The book also contains a preface describing the criteria for selecting the songs, a glossary of song terms, a list of all the Disney songs and their sources, a songwriter's directory in which every song by each composer/lyricist is listed, a bibliography, a guide to recordings and DVDs of Disney productions, and an index of people and titles.

Cover Art
The Music of Silence - Andrea Bocelli
Call Number: ML420 .B655 A3 2011
ISBN: 9781574671971
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
(Amadeus). Few singers have touched as many hearts as has Andrea Bocelli. This golden-voiced tenor has sung to sold-out audiences all over the world, and his legions of admirers have included popes, presidents, and monarchs as well as some of the greatest stars of classical and popular music. In The Music of Silence , Bocelli tells his own story in the form of an autobiographical novel, naming his alter ego "Amos Bardi." He writes of a loving family that encouraged his musical gifts from an early age, and of the dedication that led to his professional breakthrough and his meteoric rise to stardom. The first edition of Bocelli's memoir was published in 1999 and focused on the success and difficulties at the beginnings of his astonishing career. This newly revised and updated edition is an even deeper and more intimate analysis of his life, loves, and losses the result of wisdom gained from the increased personal and artistic maturity gained in the subsequent decade of his life. This book will touch and captivate all Bocelli fans and those who admire perseverance in the face of great challenges.

Cover Art
The Musician's Way: a guide to practice, performance, and wellness - Gerald Klickstein
Call Number: MT75 .K74 2009
ISBN: 9780195343120
Publication Date: 2009-09-03
In The Musician's Way, veteran performer and educator Gerald Klickstein combines the latest research with his 30 years of professional experience to provide aspiring musicians with a roadmap to artistic excellence. Part I, Artful Practice, describes strategies to interpret and memorizecompositions, fuel motivation, collaborate, and more. Part II, Fearless Performance, lifts the lid on the hidden causes of nervousness and shows how musicians can become confident performers. Part III, Lifelong Creativity, surveys tactics to prevent music-related injuries and equips musicians to taptheir own innate creativity. Written in a conversational style, The Musician's Way presents an inclusive system for all instrumentalists and vocalists to advance their musical abilities and succeed as performing artists.

Cover Art
The Oxford Dictionary of Music - Michael Kennedy; Joyce Bourne (Editor)
Call Number: ML100 .K35 2006
ISBN: 9780198614593
Publication Date: 2006-08-04
The Oxford Dictionary of Music is the indispensable guide for all music lovers and performers, both amateur and professional. It brings together an unrivalled collection of entries - 12,500 in all - covering musical subjects of all kinds in an authoritative and accessible way. There areentries on composers, performers, conductors, musical terms and forms, instruments, works, venues, and a host of other topics. There are 5,000 entries on composers, most with worklists that have now been brought right up to date. The entries on conductors and performers, which include contemporary musicians in all fields: John Mark Ainsley, Daniel Barenboim, Kathleen Battle, Marilyn Horne, Sumi Jo, Trevor Pinnock, SimonRattle, Bryn Terfel, Michael Tilson Thomas, have also been updated. There are entries on directors and critics, producers and designers of international repute from across the centuries, on writers and scholars, and on musical journals and other publications. There are entries on individual works, including operas and ballets, on orchestras and companies from around the world, and on famous opera houses, concert-halls, and musical festivals, including Salzburg and Edinburgh. Musical terms and styles such as musique concrete, chromaticism, and tutti, andforms ranging from operatic, vocal, and film scores, to song cycles, chamber, hymns, barbershop, and oratorios are covered, as are general themes such as musicology, acoustics, and absolute pitch, and historical periods such as the Byzantine era. Finally come instruments from the familiar - strings,wind, and brass - to the less familiar - aeolian harp, bamboula and sackbut.

Cover Art
The Oxford History of Western Music - Richard Taruskin
Call Number: ML160 .T18 2005 v.1 - v.6
ISBN: 0195169794
Publication Date: 2005-01-06
Sweepingly ambitious, The Oxford History of Western Music will illuminate, through a representative sampling of masterworks, those themes, styles, and currents that give shape and direction to each musical age. Taking a critical perspective that challenges the received wisdom of the field, Richard Taruskin sets the details of music, the chronological sweep of figures, works, and musical ideas, within the larger context of world affairs and cultural history. Written by an authoritative, opinionated, and controversial figure in musicology, The Oxford History of Western Music provides a critical aesthetic position with respect to individual works, a context in which each composition may be evaluated and remembered. Taruskin combines an emphasis onstructure and form with a discussion of relevant theoretical concepts in each age, to illustrate how the music itself works, and how contemporaries heard and understood it. It also describes how the context of each stylistic period-key cultural, historical, social, economic, and scientificevents-influenced and directed compositional choices. Unlike earlier surveys, Taruskin provides greater attention to the full range of 20th century music, including American music as part of the mainstream tradition of western music, women in music, and popular musics. The main five volumes are filled with helpful illustrations that enhance the historical context of musical composition, as well as musical examples and black-and-white pictures throughout. The sixth volume provides a comprehensive chronology, further reading and other source material, and an indexto the entire set. Laced with brilliant observations, memorable musical analysis, and a panoramic sense of the interactions between history, culture, politics, art, literature, religion, and music, The Oxford History of Western Music will be essential reading for anyone who wishes to understand this rich and diversetradition. Pre-publication price until 12/31/04. $699.00 thereafter.

Cover Art
The Worship Band Book: training and empowering your worship band - Tom Lane
Call Number: qML3001 .L36 2012
ISBN: 9781458418173
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
(Worship Musician Presents). Whether you're in a band yourself or part of a ministry involved with teams, this book can help you on your journey. For 30 years, musician, songwriter, and worshipper Tom Lane has worked in the Christian worship music industry and alongside churches, ministries, and movements around the world associated with worship. In this collection of articles, Lane encourages honesty and clear communication from all sides while aiming for the right thing to be a band that worships, first and foremost. Spiritual, relational, professional, and practical issues relevant for individuals and groups in worship ministry of any kind are addressed head on. Historically, bands have helped lead revolutions, crusades, campaigns, churches, rallies, and entire nations. The role bands play in worship, though important, is not the pinnacle of the calling or mandate according to Jesus. While it's okay to have a good rock band and want to go places, many creatively gifted Christians miss the mark entirely and are derailed by their own quests for something other than God. Likewise, worship teams sometimes miss the mark by placing too much emphasis on performance and not enough on relationships. This book will help lay the foundation for a healthier pursuit of creative dreams and a closer walk with God.

Cover Art
Tips for Tight Teams: high performance help for today's worship musician - Sandy Hoffman
Call Number: qML3187.5 .H64 2012
ISBN: 9781458402912
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
(Worship Musician Presents). Tips for Tight Teams instructs and equips today's worship musician to function on the musical, relational, and technical levels expected of 21st-century worship team leaders and members. Rooted in Sandy Hoffman's "Ten Top Tips for Tight Teams" curriculum, the book covers a myriad of timeless and relevant worship topics, such as: * Worship team mission, unity, and focus * Worship warm-ups * Getting your worship band "out of the garage" * Applying worship chord voicings and vocal harmonies * Comfortable worship keys for vocal range * Reading and writing worship charts * Arranging hymns to fit contemporary settings * Using worship modulations * Implementing free worship chord progressions * Flowing with seamless worship set lists * Leading worship * Worship "do's and don'ts" * Removing distractions from worship * Facilitating worship improvisation * and many more! The goal of Tips for Tight Teams is to elevate skill levels to the point where the worship team is no longer a distraction to the very people it endeavors to lead into worship.

Cover Art
Why Classical Music Still Matters - Lawrence Kramer
Call Number: ML3800 .K72 2007
ISBN: 0520250826
Publication Date: 2007-05-02
"What can be done about the state of classical music?” Lawrence Kramer asks in this elegant, sharply observed, and beautifully written extended essay. Classical music, whose demise has been predicted for at least a decade, has always had its staunch advocates, but in today’s media-saturated world there are real concerns about its viability. Why Classical Music Still Matters takes a forthright approach by engaging both skeptics and music lovers alike. In seven highly original chapters, Why Classical Music Still Matters affirms the value of classical music--defined as a body of nontheatrical music produced since the eighteenth century with the single aim of being listened to--by revealing what its values are: the specific beliefs, attitudes, and meanings that the music has supported in the past and which, Kramer believes, it can support in the future. Why Classical Music Still Matters also clears the air of old prejudices. Unlike other apologists, whose defense of the music often depends on arguments about the corrupting influence of popular culture, Kramer admits that classical music needs a broader, more up-to-date rationale. He succeeds in engaging the reader by putting into words music’s complex relationship with individual human drives and larger social needs. In prose that is fresh, stimulating, and conversational, he explores the nature of subjectivity, the conquest of time and mortality, the harmonization of humanity and technology, the cultivation of attention, and the liberation of human energy.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip