EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
eBooks/Management/Theories/Mission Bell Leadership eBooksDatabases - Leadership/Management/TheoriesInternational Resources - Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesAssociations/Business Leaders & CEOs/LinksManagement Research/Government Info. Links
Advertising BookseBooksDatabasesCurrent Issues/Student Resources in ContextInternational Resources - Google Scholar/Writing Resources
eBooksGale Virtual Reference Library eBooksDatabasesInternational Resources - Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesSmall Business Links
eBooksDatabasesCurrent Issues/Student Resources in ContextInternational Resources - Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesLinks
Terms & ConceptsFinanciers & IndustrialistsGlobal ExecutivesLeadershipManagement/Leadeship TheoriesManagement Theorists & Consultants/Leadership Theorists
Human Resources eBooksDatabasesInternational Resources - Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesHuman Resources - Links and Government sites
eBooksGale Virtual Reference Library eBooksDatabasesInternational Resources - Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesCredo ReferenceIndustry Links
Advertising Ads by TopicHistoric/Vintage, History of Advertising, and Marketing LinksRadio and Television Links
This is the "Mgmt." page of the "Business Research Human Resources - Sport Management" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business Research Human Resources - Sport Management  

How to conduct business research part 3.
Last Updated: Nov 16, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/business3 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Mgmt. Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Mangement Books

Cover Art
Twenty-One Ideas for Managers: practical wisdom for managing your company and yourself - Charles Handy
Call Number: HD 31 .H31259 2000
ISBN: 0787952192
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
Celebrated the world over for his gentle wit and keen insight into human behavior, Charles Handy is widely regarded as one of today's best social and business philosophers. This latest collection of Handy's work groups twenty-one of the revered BBC commentator's best essays on why organizations and the people in them behave the way they do. Beginning with "A World of Differences," which voices Handy's fresh take on diversity in the workplace, each essay is a bite-sized bit of humor and wisdom that sheds new light on what motivates people on the job. As useful as they are incisive, these twenty-one ideas should be heard by anyone seeking fresh perspectives on how better to manage themselves and others. Available for sale in the U.S. and Canada only.

Cover Art
The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership: follow them and people will follow you - John C. Maxwell
Call Number: HD 57.7 .M3937 2007
ISBN: 9780785288374
Publication Date: 2007-09-18
If you've never read The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership, you've been missing out on one of the best-selling leadership books of all time. If you have read the original version, then you'll love this new expanded and updated one.  Internationally recognized leadership expert, speaker, and author John C. Maxwell has taken this million-seller and made it even better:  Every Law of Leadership has been sharpened and updated Seventeen new leadership stories are included Two new Laws of Leadership are introduced New evaluation tool will reveal your leadership strengths-and weaknesses New application exercises in every chapter will help you grow Why would Dr. Maxwell make changes to his best-selling book?    "A book is a conversation between the author and reader," says Maxwell. "It's been ten years since I wrote The 21 Laws of Leadership. I've grown a lot since then. I've taught these laws in dozens of countries around the world. This new edition gives me the opportunity to share what I've learned."  

Cover Art
21 Leaders for the 21st Century: how innovative leaders manage in the digital age - Fons Trompenaars; Charles Hampden-Turner
Call Number: HD 38.2 .T76 2002
ISBN: 0071362940
Publication Date: 2001-09-30
With a client list that includes Motorola, Daewoo, AT&T, and Volvo, Fons Trompenaars and Charles Hampden-Turner are considered today's most knowledgeable, innovative management consultants. In "21 Leaders for the 21st Century, they tap into the wisdom of high-performing leaders from around the globe--from Michael Dell to Richard Branson--who candidly discuss their own views and experiences in analyzing and solving business dilemmas. More than just a prescriptive list of leadership skills, this invaluable guide uses case studies, examples, charts, tables, and graphs to show today's business leaders how to: Understand--and act upon--the 7 major dilemmas of leadership Identify major business dilemmas in the transnational community Implement strategies for sustaining emerging entrepreneurship

Cover Art
30 Key Questions That Unlock Management - Brian Sutton; Robina Chatham
Call Number: HD 31 .S88 2012
ISBN: 9781849283441
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
No-nonsense answers to the real problems faced by today's busy managers. Let's be honest. No matter how good we are at our jobs, we're constantly being pushed to do things more effectively and efficiently, more productively and profitably. We go on training courses, read training manuals and study self-improvement books. Is this just another self-help guide, full of good ideas and theories that are too difficult or time-consuming to put into practice? No. This book is different. 30 Key Questions that Unlock Management is not designed to be read from cover to cover; rather, it is a manual that provides the answers to your particular problems. It is a direct response to real questions posed by real people doing real jobs. Each section contains practical advice and immediate steps to deal with the issue at hand. This book will help you build better working relationships and enhance your reputation. You will understand how to obtain the best from your staff and improve the productivity of both yourself and your team. You will learn how to manage your boss, to recognise and use new opportunities to your full advantage, to deal with difficult political situations and achieve a healthy work-life balance without damaging your career prospects. Dr Brian Sutton has over 30 years' management and leadership experience and has worked in both the public and private sector on both sides of the Atlantic. He is currently a visiting professor with the Institute for Work Based Learning at Middlesex University and runs his own learning consultancy focused on increasing the effectiveness of senior leaders. Dr Robina Chatham has held a variety of positions, ranging from Project Manager within the shipbuilding industry to European CIO for a merchant bank. She is currently a visiting fellow at Cranfield School of Management and Managing Director of her own training consultancy which specialises in helping senior managers to increase their personal impact at board level. 'This is a book for real managers grappling with real managerial problems' (Robert Ruehl, Director, Pan-European Retail Multiple).

 

More Management Books

Cover Art
Accountability Leadership: how to strengthen productivity through sound managerial leadership - Gerald Kraines
Call Number: HD 57.7 .K725 2001
ISBN: 1564145514
Publication Date: 2001-07-01
Helps you revive lost but once-effective traditional principles of management and mate them with turn-of-the-millennium managerial advancements.

Cover Art
The Advice Business: essential tools and models for management consulting - Charles J. Fombrun; Mark D. Nevins
Call Number: HD 69 .C6 F66 2004
ISBN: 0130303739
Publication Date: 2003-07-11
The dramatic growth of the consulting industry in the last 20 years can, in part, be traced to rapid changes in technology that have provoked dramatic changes in the ways companies compete. Consultants provide companies facing such rapidly changing environments with an important means of developing, acquiring, and processing much-needed know-how. Increasingly, consultants have proved to be a vital strategic weapon that companies rely on to improve their competitiveness in a world characterized by technological convergences, strategic consolidations, and growing interdependence. The Advice Business introduces readers to the art, the practice, and the problems that consultants face. The book sheds light on the complex roles that consultants and consulting firms play in enhancing the effectiveness of their clients. Contributions of both academics and practitioners to this emerging field include original case descriptions based on real consulting assignments, and career advice. For consultants in varying areas of expertise, and for the clients and potential clients in need of their services.

Cover Art
Black Entrepreneurs in America: stories of struggle and success - Michael D. Woodard
Call Number: HD 62.7 .W66 1997
ISBN: 0813523680
Publication Date: 1996-12-01
Beginning with a summary of 200 years of entrepreneurship among African Americans, then moving to in-depth interviews with contemporary entrepreneurs, Michael Woodard provides a powerful record of entrepreneurial vitality in a market that is often hostile and exclusive. The book covers businesses nationwide, representing diverse industries. Woodard ends on a practical note with resources and advice for anyone contemplating an entrepreneurial future.

Cover Art
Manager's Handbook: everything you need to know about how business and management work - Robert Heller
Call Number: HD 38.15 .M36 2002
ISBN: 0789484226
Publication Date: 2002-04-03
Everything you need to know about working in business and management. From reading a balance sheet to leading a high-performance team, the Manager's Handbook provides all the information you need for managing effectively. A Comprehensive guide to learning key management skills, understanding core business concepts, and planning a successful career, Manager's Handbook is both an introduction for new managers and an up-to-date reference for experienced managers and those working in small businesses. From understanding business finance, the impact of new technology, and the roles of sales and marketing to learning to communicate effectively, manage change, and work with international colleagues and customers, this book is an essential guide to all-around management knowledge and excellence. Each contributor to the Manager's Handbook is an expert in their field, bringing hands-on experience and an extensive range and depth of knowledge to other managers. A Business Directory provides an invaluable resource of principal management organizations and institutions.

Cover Art
Managing Across Cultures: the seven keys to doing business with a global mindset - Charlene Solomon; Michael S. Schell
Call Number: HD 62.4 .S6779 2009
ISBN: 9780071605854
Publication Date: 2009-04-27
hether you run a giant corporation or workin a small business, it's more than likely thatyou regularly deal with people of differentcultures--from customers and suppliers tosalespeople and colleagues. It simply can't be overstated: You will havetrouble succeeding in business today if youdon't appreciate and know how to activelymanage global cultural diversity. ManagingAcross Cultures examines why people aroundthe world behave as they do and providesactionable tactics for succeeding in today'sglobal business environment. Experts in the field of cross-cultural training,Michael Schell and Charlene Solomondescribe seven readily recognizable behaviorsand explain what they mean, how tointerpret them, and most importantly, howto respond to them. Managing Across Cultures is filled with casestudies illustrating the importance of understandingand dealing with cultural differencesin all aspects of business. You'll learn how: Intel's powerful global corporateculture is a critical element of itshistoric success Colgate-Palmolive integratescultural understanding into itsglobal marketing programs GE adapts its effectivemanagement style to localbusiness cultures You'll also find out how underestimatingcultural influence caused serious problemsfor organizations like DaimlerChrysler andWal-Mart. Managing Across Cultures takes you far beyondother books that simply catalog thecustoms, gestures, and language vagaries ofother cultures. This in-depth, strategic guidewill help in every facet of business--fromhiring and motivating employees to developingwinning sales pitches and marketingcampaigns.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip