EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful Resources
eBooksDatabasesLinks/Khan Academy: PhysicsInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing Resources
DatabasesHot Topics/ReferenceInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesCredo Reference
AstrophysicsDynamicsMechanicsNuclear PhysicsObservational AstronomyOptics, Magnetism, & ElectricityRelativity
eBookseBooks: IndividualMore eBooks: Individual
eBooksDatabasesCredo Reference/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesLinks/Khan Academy: Chemistry/Organic Chemistry
More Ecology BookseBooksDatabasesReferenceInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesEcology and Weather Links
HabitatsNatural PhenomenaThreats to the EnvironmentMovements and Environmentalists
This is the "Marine Biology" page of the "Science Research 2" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science Research 2  

Last Updated: Dec 7, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/ScieRes2 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Marine Biology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Books

Cover Art
An Introduction to the Biology of Marine Life - James L. Sumich
Call Number: QH91 .A1 S83 1980
ISBN: 0697045749
Publication Date: 1980-01-01
This text covers aspects of invertebrate organisms and habitats which include highlighted topics of recent occurrences and studies in marine biology. It is accompanied by three laboratory and field investigations in marine biology containing discussions and dissections of organisms.

Cover Art
Conservation Biology: research priorities for the next decade - Michael E. Soulé (Editor); Gordon H. Orians (Editor); P. Dee Boersma (Foreword by)
Call Number: QH75 .C6616 2001
ISBN: 1559638680
Publication Date: 2001-07-01
This work covers the field of conservation biology and discusses where the discipline stands and how to prioritize research options for the next decade. It is an outgrowth of a conference sponsored by the Society for Conservation Biology.

Cover Art
Coral reefs : secret cities of the sea - Anne Sheppard
Call Number: QH 541.5 .C7 S43 2015
ISBN: 9780565093563
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Written by a reef ecology expert, this beautifully illustrated guide to coral reefs provides a timely reminder of the beauty and importance of these essential ecosystems Home to a quarter of all marine species, coral reefs are one of the most spectacular and diverse habitats on the planet. Drawing on the latest scientific research taking place across the globe, this book discusses the importance of coral reefs for sea and coastal life. It describes the diverse varieties of coral reef and their many and varied inhabitants, and explains how they adapt to their ever-changing environment. It also looks at how they provide a food resource, livelihood, and coastal protection for many millions of people, as well as examining the threats to their existence and the latest conservation methods. It's illustrated with images of live reefs from around the world and specially photographed specimens from the Natural History Museum, London, including corals of great significance collected on early and more recent expeditions.

Cover Art
Deep: freediving, renegade science, and what the ocean tells us about ourselves - James Nestor
Call Number: GV838.672 .N47 2014
ISBN: 9780547985527
Publication Date: 2014-06-24
An Amazon Best Book of 2014 While on assignment in Greece, journalist James Nestor witnessed something that confounded him: a man diving 300 feet below the ocean's surface on a single breath of air and returning four minutes later, unharmed and smiling. This man was a freediver, and his amphibious abilities inspired Nestor to seek out the secrets of this little-known discipline. InDeep,Nestor embeds with a gang of extreme athletes and renegade researchers who are transforming not only our knowledge of the planet and its creatures, but also our understanding of the human body and mind. Along the way, he takes us from the surface to the Atlantic's greatest depths, some 28,000 feet below sea level. He finds whales that communicate with other whales hundreds of miles away, sharks that swim in unerringly straight lines through pitch-black waters, and seals who dive to depths below 2,400 feet for up to eighty minutes--deeper and longer than scientists ever thought possible. As strange as these phenomena are, they are reflections of our own species' remarkable, and often hidden, potential--including echolocation, directional sense, and the profound physiological changes we undergo when underwater. Most illuminating of all, Nestor unlocks his own freediving skills as he communes with the pioneers who are expanding our definition of what is possiblein the natural world, and in ourselves.

Cover Art
Diving & snorkeling Florida Keys - William Harrigan
Call Number: GV838.673 .U6 H37 2001
ISBN: 0864427743
Publication Date: 2001-08-01
A 107-mile ribbon of highway spans the lime-green waters and more than 200 islands comprise the Florida Keys. Just offshore, a necklace of 60 dive sites parallels the archipelago. Visitors to the Keys can swim with dolphins, celebrate the sunset or stay in an underwater lodge.

Cover Art
Explorations in the Life of Fishes - N. B. Marshall
Call Number: QL618.2 .M37
ISBN: 9780674279513
Publication Date: 1971-01-01
Focusing on fish biology, the author examines the body form and characteristi of deep-sea fishes, the convergent evolution of fish, and the reasons underlying the success of the teleostean species.

Cover Art
Marine Biology - Peter Castro; Michael E. Huber
Call Number: qQH91 .C37 2000
ISBN: 0070121974
Publication Date: 1999-06-30
This introductory text takes a global approach in demonstrating how the oceans function as a part of a global, integrated system. Using examples from numerous regions and ecosystems worldwide, the book seeks to illustrate the ocean's importance to humanity.

Cover Art
Marine Mammals: evolutionary biology - Annalisa Berta; James L. Sumich; Kit M. Kovacs
Call Number: QL713.2 .B478 2015
ISBN: 9780123970022
Publication Date: 2015-04-23
Marine Mammals: Evolutionary Biology, Third Edition is a succinct, yet comprehensive text devoted to the systematics, evolution, morphology, ecology, physiology, and behavior of marine mammals. Earlier editions of this valuable work are considered required reading for all marine biologists concerned with marine mammals, and this text continues that tradition of excellence with updated citations and an expansion of nearly every chapter that includes full color photographs and distribution maps. Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of the biology of all marine mammals Provides a phylogenetic framework that integrates phylogeny with behavior and ecology Features chapter summaries, further readings, an appendix, glossary and an extensive bibliography Exciting new color photographs and additional distribution maps

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology - Elizabeth Geller; McGraw-Hill Staff
Call Number: qQ121 .M3 2002 v.1-20
ISBN: 0079136656
Publication Date: 2002-04-01
Acts as a reference that surveys the state-of-the-art in the physical, earth, life and applied sciences. This book addresses the needs for a complete encyclopedia after the scientific and technical revolutions during the second world war, set off an avalanche of advances in areas such as genetics, chemistry, and electronics.

Cover Art
Memoirs of the Hourglass cruises. - Florida. Marine Research Laboratory
Call Number: QH92.3 .M45 v.1-v.4

Cover Art
Ocean Sustainability in the 21st Century - Salvatore Aricò (Editor)
Call Number: GC1018 .O238 2015
ISBN: 9781107100138
Publication Date: 2015-03-18
Describing the emerging and unresolved issues related to the oceans and the marine environment, this book presents the developments made in marine science and policy since the implementation of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS), and implications for the sustainable management of ocean areas and resources. This comprehensive volume also provides a number of scientific, policy, and legal tools to address such issues, and to ensure better science-based management of the oceans. Topics covered include the impacts of human-induced climate change on the oceans, the marine genetic resources debate, the current legal framework for the oceans, and a comparative study of the legal issues associated with outer space. Including practical examples and worldwide case studies, this book is a valuable resource for policy makers, students and academics, in marine science and policy, ocean affairs, and the law of the sea.

Cover Art
Oceanography: an invitation to marine science - Tom S. Garrison
Call Number: qGC11.2 .G37 2013
ISBN: 9781111990848
Publication Date: 2012-07-31
Cengage Learning in partnership with National Geographic Society brings course concepts to life with interactive learning, study, and exam preparation tools along with market leading text content for introductory oceanography courses. OCEANOGRAPHY provides a basic understanding of the scientific questions, complexities, and uncertainties involved in ocean use, as well as the role and importance of the ocean in nurturing and sustaining life on the planet. Bestselling author Tom Garrison emphasizes the interdisciplinary nature of marine science, stressing its links to biology, chemistry, geology, physics, meteorology, astronomy, ecology, history, and economics.Whether you use a traditional printed text or all digital Oceanography CourseMate alternative, it's never been easier to better understand the complexities involved in how we study and use the ocean.

Cover Art
Oceans : a Scientific American reader. - University of Chicago Press Staff (Created by); Scientific American Staff (Editor)
Call Number: GC21 .O28 2007
ISBN: 9780226740928
Publication Date: 2007-03-15
Covering nearly three-quarters of our planet, the world’s oceans are a vast and unique ecosystem from which all life on Earth originated. But each year the marine realm is more susceptible to harm by careless exploitation, and as demands for food, waste disposal, transport, and travel increase, the fate of the world’s oceans hangs in the balance. This timely guide offers the nonscientist an opportunity to appreciate the importance of this expansive—and fragile—frontier. With selections chosen for their value in identifying the multiple uses of oceans, their resources, and the hurdles they face as the world’s population continues to expand and consume their resources at a staggering rate, Oceans collects more than thirty thematically arranged articles from the past decade, including recent pieces written in the wake of the 2004 tsunami. The bookfeatures articles that investigate the origins of the world’s oceans, the diversity of life in the water, the state of global fisheries, the dangers of natural disasters, and the perils oceans face, whether induced by nature or by humans. With breadth of topics as wide as the ocean is deep, this Scientific American reader will engage general readers interested in the evolution, ecology, and conservation of the oceanic ecosystem and can be used in courses on introductory oceanography, environmental science, and marine biology.

Cover Art
Oceans: an illustrated reference - Dorrik Stow
Call Number: qGC11.2 .S76 2006
ISBN: 0226776646
Publication Date: 2006-04-21
Four billion years old, the oceans formed as the Earth's scorching surface cooled, the primordial atmosphere condensed, and torrential rains fell. Their color is the unique signature of our blue planet, their composition a chemical cocktail of remarkable variety, their waters a theater of constant change.  Oceans: An Illustrated Reference tells the story of this last great frontier. With hundreds of beautiful full-color photographs and explanatory diagrams, charts, and maps, Oceans combines the visual splendor of ocean life with up-to-date scientific information to provide an invaluable and fascinating resource on this vital realm. Covering all major areas of oceanographic knowledge and research, Oceans is divided into two parts. The first, "Ocean Systems," examines the physical nature of the oceans, including plate tectonics, temperature and climate, waves and tides, natural resources and much more. The second, "Ocean Life,"explores biodiversity, evolution and adaptation, marine ecosystems and complex communities, and the preservation of fragile marine environments. Oceans also offers readers a host of tools to better understand the magnificent world of the sea. A special section of bathymetric maps-made possible by satellite observation, deep-towed surveying craft, and remotely operated submarine vessels-provides a view of the depth and texture of ocean floors around the globe, giving us a glimpse of worlds rarely seen. And throughout the book, engagingly written special features delve into specific marine environments and phenomena such as the lost Tethys Ocean, from which the Himalayas were born. Cross-references and a detailed index help readers navigate this multifaceted volume, and a glossary provides clear definitions of scientific vocabulary. Although the oceans are vast, their resources are finite. Oceans clearly presents the future challenge to us all-that of ensuring that our common ocean heritage is duly respected, wisely managed, and carefully harnessed for the benefit of the whole planet. Lavishly illustrated and filled with current research, Oceans is a step in that direction: a rich, magnificent, and illuminating volume for anyone who has ever heard the siren song of the sea.

Cover Art
The American Sea: a natural history of the Gulf of Mexico - Rezneat Milton Darnell
Call Number: qQH92.3 .D37 2015
ISBN: 9781623492823
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
For more than a decade, Rezneat Darnell worked on this major synthesis of what is known about the Gulf of Mexico. His goal: to bring a deeper understanding of "the American Sea" to students, scientists, managers, and educated citizens of the public at large. The American Sea builds on Darnell's own research, the research of his graduate students, government agency research reports, data synthesis reports, and literature summaries to present a holistic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Although he is recognized as a pioneer in the study of continental shelf ecology, Darnell largely resisted specialization, remaining throughout his career "the writer and bringer together of things." Here, he has written a book that embraces history, geology, geography, meteorology, chemistry, biology, ecology, and human relations in one comprehensive reference. Although it is thorough and meticulous in coverage, what comes through in these pages is the enormity, complexity, and mystery of the world that lies just beyond the Texas vacation beach, the Louisiana wetland, or the Mexico fishing village. In addition to photographs of deep water and other organisms that are included in the book, a number of illustrations have been added to provide excellent visual material, including historical and ocean floor maps and many works of original art depicting marine species, sea turtles, fish, and crustaceans.

Cover Art
The Biology of the Deep Ocean - Peter Herring
Call Number: QH91 .H44 2002
ISBN: 0198549563
Publication Date: 2002-02-21
The deep ocean environment is the most extensive on our planet. Its denizens are normally unseen but whenever they are exposed to view they are regarded as bizarre aliens from a different world. The Biology of the Deep Ocean takes a close look at this apparently hostile world and explains howits inhabitants are exquisitely adapted to survive and flourish within it. The book begins with an analysis of how conditions in the oceanic environment differ from those in the familiar terrestrial world and then describes the techniques (and ingenuity) required to reveal the populations inhabiting the colossal volume of the deep oceans. A section on primary productionemphasizes how almost all deep-sea life depends ultimately on the phytoplankton at the surface and the export flux to deeper water. The ultimate beneficiaries of this export, the populations on the deep-sea floor, are then discussed, together with the unique features of life fuelled bychemosynthesis at hydrothermal vents and cold seeps. The horizontal and vertical distribution patterns of deep-sea animals, and their changes in time and space, are controlled by physical, biological and historical factors. The rapid reduction of biomass with depth puts a high priority on efficientprey capture and energy conservation. Chapters on energy efficiency, mechanoreception, chemoreception and vision reveal the extraordinary adaptations necessary for success. Accounts of the effector systems involved in colour, camouflage and bioluminescence heighten the concept of a different world.A chapter on animal life styles emphasizes the links between size, sex, and seasonality, visible in the contrasting benefits of gigantism, dwarf males and the ability to respond to a periodic influx of food from the surface. The final chapter and appendix deal with the unique and exciting varietyof life in the deep ocean, formalized as biodiversity. Its different expression on the sea floor and in midwater invites both comparisons with the rain forest and concerns about its fragility, taking the reader back to the emphasis in the first chapter on how little we still know about this criticalhabitat. The Biology of the Deep Ocean complements the two companion volumes on the biology of littoral and estuarine habitats and is designed to be accessible to all marine scientists, student and professional.

Cover Art
The chemistry and fertility of sea waters. - by Hildebrande Wolfe Harvey
Call Number: GC116 .H3
Publication Date: 1969

Cover Art
The Enchanted Braid: coming to terms with nature on the coral reef - Osha Gray Davidson
Call Number: QH95.8 .D38 1998
ISBN: 047117727X
Publication Date: 1998-04-13
"There is a word for what Darwin and the rest of us have felt when in the presence of the reef: ′awe.′ Confronted with the reef, awe is the most appropriate response. It is probably in our nature. It is also, apparently, in our nature to destroy that which we hold in awe." --from The Enchanted Braid<br /> <br /> Of the myriad ecosystems populating the underwater world, coral reefs are by far the most complex. While their stunning beauty has been extolled for centuries, the intricate workings of reef environments remained largely hidden from view. In fact, until the advent of scuba diving just fifty years ago, corals have been among the last natural histories to be extensively explored. The high passion with which scientists have greeted this particular investigation --beginning with the foundational theories of Charles Darwin in 1842--is perhaps unprecedented, but hardly difficult to understand. A phenomenon of both awesome beauty and vital importance, the coral reef is home to the most diverse range of species of any environment on the planet, including fish, shrimps, worms, snails, crabs, sea cucumbers, sea stars, urchins, anemones, and sea squirts.<br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> The crux of reef life, scientists have discovered, lies in nature′s most intimate example of symbiosis: the mutually beneficial relationship between the coral polyp and its "tenant," the zooxanthellate algae. Davidson′s history begins with this deceptively diminutive hybrid, the engine behind the construction of the limestone-based coral structure. Together, the three elements comprise a unique zoophytalite (animal-plant-mineral) form, or an "enchanted braid."<br /> <br /> Aided by an eight-page, full-color photographic insert demonstrating the incredible intricacies of the reef and its unique inhabitants, The Enchanted Braid identifies the approximately 240,000 square miles of coral reef on the planet today as indispensable not only to the livelihood of the oceans but also to humans. The reef is, after all, the "soul of the sea," the spawning ground for tens of thousands of marine species. As sources of food (many islands rely on reefs for all their protein), medicine (corals are used in bone grafts and to fight cancer and leukemia), and detailed insight into the history of climatic conditions, coral reefs are critically important to human life on Earth. However, in a world of oil tanker disasters, global warming, and dwindling natural resources, they are also in grave danger of extinction.<br /> <br /> Osha Gray Davidson′s urgent clarion call to halt today′s man-made degradation of coral reefs is both alarming and persuasive, effectively underscored by the rich historical context of passages from Darwin′s captivating diary of his seminal work on reefs 150 years ago. Like the coral reef, The Enchanted Braid is itself a rare hybrid, a graceful combination of aesthetic appreciation, scientific inquiry, and environmental manifesto.

Cover Art
The Living Sea - Jacques Cousteau; James Dugan
Call Number: QH91 .C628 c.1 and c.2
ISBN: 9780060108755
Publication Date: 1963-01-01
True adventure book describes some of the discoveries and progress made by Captain Cousteau and his team of Marine science explorers.

Cover Art
The sea-beach at ebb-tide; a guide to the study of the seaweeds and the lower animal life found between tidemarks. - Augusta Foote Arnold
Call Number: QH95.7 .A7 1968
Publication Date: 1968

Cover Art
The Silent World - Jacques Cousteau; Frederic Dumas
Call Number: QH91 .C66
ISBN: 9780060108908
Publication Date: 1953-02-01
Before becoming the man who introduced us to the wonders of the sea through his beloved television series, Jacques Cousteau was better known as an engineer and the inventor of scuba. He chronicled his early days of underwater adventure in The Silent World—a memoir that was an instant, international bestseller upon its publication in 1954. Now, National Geographic presents a 50th anniversary edition of this remarkable book, allowing readers to once again travel under the sea with Cousteau during the turbulent days of World War II.

Cover Art
The World Is Blue: how our fate and the ocean's are one - Sylvia A. Earle; Bill McKibben (Foreword by)
Call Number: GC21 .E28 2009
ISBN: 9781426205415
Publication Date: 2009-09-29
A Silent Spring for our era, this eloquent, urgent, fascinating book reveals how just 50 years of swift and dangerous oceanic change threatens the very existence of life on Earth. Legendary marine scientist Sylvia Earle portrays a planet teetering on the brink of irreversible environmental crisis. In recent decades we’ve learned more about the ocean than in all previous human history combined. But, even as our knowledge has exploded, so too has our power to upset the delicate balance of this complex organism. Modern overexploitation has driven many species to the verge of extinction, from tiny but indispensable biota to magnificent creatures like tuna, swordfish, and great whales. Since the mid-20th century about half our coral reefs have died or suffered sharp decline; hundreds of oxygen-deprived "dead zones" blight our coastal waters; and toxic pollutants afflict every level of the food chain. Fortunately, there is reason for hope, but what we do--or fail to do--in the next ten years may well resonate for the next ten thousand. The ultimate goal, Earle argues passionately and persuasively, is to find responsible, renewable strategies that safeguard the natural systems that sustain us. The first step is to understand and act upon the wise message of this accessible, insightful, and compelling book.

Marine Biology Links

  • Animal Diversity Web – ADW (University of Michigan Museum of Zoology)
    Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
  • Ben Portal - Digital Library Portal for Teaching and Learning in the Biological Sciences: National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
    The BEN Collaborative mission is not only to provide seamless access to e-resources but to also serve as a catalyst for strengthening teaching and learning in the biological sciences. Materials that users find via the BEN portal are unique in several ways. First, BEN resources have been reviewed by the individual societies for standards of quality and accuracy. Although each BEN collaborator has unique review criteria, users find resources that are scientifically accurate and educationally sound.
  • Catalog of Fishes Online Database (Institute of Biodiversity Science and Sustainability, California Academy of Sciences)
    The Catalog of Fishes is the authoritative reference for taxonomic fish names, featuring a searchable on-line database.
  • Coral Reef Database System (CoRis) Coral Data & Publications Catalog
    Coral Reef Database System (CoRIS) Coral Data & Publications Catalog, also known as the CoRIS virtual library, offers scientists, resource managers, and other coral enthusiasts direct and indirect access to coral ecosystem datasets and products. The Catalog is home to thousands of metadata records, citations of peer-reviewed journal articles, NOAA scientific publications and technical memoranda, conference proceedings, educational and outreach materials, and much more. It also provides direct links to other coral ecosystem websites, both internal to and outside of NOAA. Online access to literature is provided as available.
  • FishBase - A Global Information System on Fishes
    FishBase is a relational database with information to cater to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more. FishBase on the web contains practically all fish species known to science.
  • Fisheries and Aquaculture Department: Statistics – Introduction (Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
    The FAO Fisheries and Aquaculture Department provides advice and objective information to Members to help promote responsible aquaculture and fisheries. To fulfil this role, the Department compiles, analyses and disseminates fishery data, structured within data collections.
  • Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
    Mission: Managing fish and wildlife resources for their long-term well-being and the benefit of people. Look for useful resources in: Wildlife & Habitats. Research, Education, and Conservation.
  • MarLin: The Marine Life Information Network
    MarLIN provides information to support marine conservation, management and planning. Our resources are based on available scientific evidence and designed for all stakeholders, from government agencies and industry to naturalists and the public. MarLIN hosts the largest review of the effects of human activities and natural events on marine species and habitats yet undertaken.
  • National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) – National Oceanographic and Atmosphere Administration (NOAA)  
      
    Contains: Ocean Climatology, Parameters, and Project Data Sets.
  • NOAA Fisheries
    NOAA Fisheries is responsible for the stewardship of the nation's ocean resources and their habitat. We provide vital services for the nation: productive and sustainable fisheries, safe sources of seafood, the recovery and conservation of protected resources, and healthy ecosystems—all backed by sound science and an ecosystem-based approach to management.
  • OBIS (Ocean Biogeographic Information System)  
      
    VISION - To be the most comprehensive gateway to the world’s ocean biodiversity and biogeographic data and information required to address pressing coastal and world ocean concerns.
  • SeaLifeBase
    Search by: Common Name, Scientific Name, Glossary, Country/Island, Ecosystem, Topic, Tools, and References.
  • Tree of Life Web Project
    Description: The Tree of Life Web Project is a collection of information about biodiversity compiled collaboratively by hundreds of expert and amateur contributors. Its goal is to contain a page with pictures, text, and other information for every species and for each group of organisms, living or extinct.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip