EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
eBooksDatabasesCredo Reference - Economic and Finance TermsCredo Reference - Financiers & IndustrialistsCredo Reference - Executives & EntrepreneursCredo Reference - Corporate BusinessCredo Reference - Global ExecutivesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesFinance - Introduction, Research, and Statistics LinksInvestment Links and Useful LinksKhan Academy - Economics and Finance
eBooksGale Virtual Reference Library eBooksDatabasesDatabases - GeneralCredo ReferenceGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesIndustry LinksInternational Resources
Library Electronic ResourcesDatabases - GeneralCredo ReferenceGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesEthics Links
Human Resources eBooksOther DatabasesDatabases - GeneralGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesHuman Resources - Links and Government sites
eBooksDatabases - Country InformationDatabases - GeneralReference - Library Electronic ResourcesCredo Reference - Corporate BusinessCredo Reference - Global ExecutivesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesInternational Business LinksCurrency and TravelCustoms and CultureFlags, Images, and MapsInternational Resources
Credo Reference - Asia & the Middle East CountriesCredo Reference - The United KingdomCredo Reference - EuropeCredo Reference - Latin AmericaCredo Reference - North America
E-BooksDatabases - eCommerceDatabases - GeneralCredo Reference - Corporate BusinessGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesLinks
Economics eBooks/Current IssuesBusiness DatabasesCredo Reference - General InformationCredo Reference - Terms and ConceptsCredo Reference - Economic HistoryCredo Reference - Early EconomistsCredo Refeference - 20th Century EconomistsGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesEconomics Resources/Research and Statistics Links/CalculatorsInternational Economics Links and Useful Economics TutorialsKhan Academy - Economics and Finance
This is the "Economics" page of the "Business Research Country - Industry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business Research Country - Industry  

How to conduct business research part 2.
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/business2 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Economics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Economics Books

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Economics - John Black; Nigar Hashimzade; Gareth D. Myles
Call Number: HB 61 .B554 2009
ISBN: 9780199237050
Publication Date: 2009-03-05
An authoritative and comprehensive dictionary containing 2,500 key economic terms with clear, concise definitions. It covers all aspects of economics including economic theory, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and public finance, monetary economics, environmental economics, and many others. There is strong coverage of international trade and many entries on economic organizations and institutions from around the world. This edition contains expanded coverage of common econometric concepts and highlights major theoretical concepts including agency, competition, equilibrium.Fully revised and updated, this edition now features recommended web links at entry level. These links are a valuable source of extra information and they are conveniently accessed and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Economics companion web page. The new appendix of institutional acronyms provides details for each organization, including the website of each to aid further research. With an A-Z format, this book is as ideal for browsing as it is useful for quick reference, and it remains an essential guide for students and teachers of economics, business, and finance, as well as professional economists and anyone who has to deal with economic data.

Cover Art
Boomer Bust? Economic and PoliticalIissues of the Graying Society - Robert B. Hudson
Call Number: HQ 1064 .U5 B66 2009
ISBN: 0275995496
Publication Date: 2008-11-03
All his life, Gabe Riley has heard about sightings of ghosts and swamp monsters at Blood Red Pond, but he knows the green, scaly creature that attacks Ray McPherson's old Buick one night isn't real. It's just crazy Rosasharn, getting carried away with his leading role in the horror movie Gabe and his friend Bo are making for their Gifted and Talented project. But it's not so easy to explain some of the other curious things that start happening in Gabe's neighborhood. Why is his father more melancholy than usual? What secret is his younger brother, Ethan, hiding from him? Why are food and clothes disappearing from their home? And who or what is behind the strange lights in old Mr. Lindstrom's supposedly empty farmhouse? Gabe is determined to find the answers to these questions. But Gabe discovers there are far deeper questions involved, and he will have to confront more than ghosts before he understands the significance of the mysterious events. With his trademark humor and flawless ear for the language and concerns of young adults, Daniel Hayes has created an unforgettable cast of characters in a story that is part comedy, part mystery, and part a thought-provoking exploration of friendship, family relationships, love, and death.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Economics - Graham Bannock; R. E. Baxter; Evan Davis
Call Number: HB 61 .B33 2003
ISBN: 1576601463
Publication Date: 2003-11-01
This new edition of the Dictionary of Economics has been extensively revised and expanded and now contains more than fifteen hundred entries covering common and less usual economic terms, the contributions made by noted economists such as Ricardo, Marx, Keynes, Galbraith, Hayek, and Friedman, and the historical development of economics over the years. With its comprehensive cross-referencing, this authoritative yet concisely written dictionary is an essential source of reference for anyone who needs to understand this large and growing subject.

Cover Art
Economic Literacy: basic economics with an attitude - Frederick Weaver
Call Number: HB 171.5 .W3 2011
ISBN: 1442204222
Publication Date: 2010-09-16
In its third edition, Economic Literacy Basic Economics with An Attitude, explains the logic, language, and worldview of economic theory, in a continuation of the engaging style that made earlier editions so accessible to the reader. While covering the fundamentals of the discipline, the author also includes a wide range of new material focusing on the structure, causes and results of the Great Recession. From microeconomics and macroeconomics to the composition of international and domestic economies, Economic Literacy also makes the key distinction between economics as an academic discipline and the economy as a practical reality. Never grim, often witty, and frequently insightful into our turbulent financial times, Economic Literacy's third edition is a must for students of economics everywhere.

Cover Art
Economics Demystified - Melanie Fox; Eric Dodge
Call Number: HB 171.5 .F698 2012
ISBN: 0071782834
Publication Date: 2012-05-29
All the information you need—quick, easy, and ON THE MONEY ECON. Do these letters make you sweat? You’re not alone. From college freshmen to PhD students, economics tops the list of panic-inducing classes. But help has arrived. Economics DeMYSTiFieD is a curriculum-based, self-teaching guide that makes learning this important business topic easier than ever. Filled with illustrations, plain-English explanations, and real-life examples, it starts with the fundamentals and eases you into the more complicated theories, concepts, and mathematical formulas. When it comes to making this complex topic easy to grasp, Economics DeMYSTiFieD corners the market. This fast and easy guide features: Expert overviews of key topics, including supply and demand, macro- and microeconomics, consumer price index, and monetary policy Chapter-ending quizzes and a final exam for charting your progress Math equations you can work out to bolster your comprehension Special-focus chapters on the environment, healthcare, and insurance Simple enough for a beginner, but challenging enough for an advanced student, Economics DeMYSTiFieD is your shortcut to mastery of this otherwise perplexing subject.

Cover Art
The Federal Budget - Amanda Hiber
Call Number: HJ 2051 .F388 2010
ISBN: 0737747692
Publication Date: 2010-04-23
This volume explores the topics relating to the federal budget of the United States by presenting varied expert opinions that examine many of the different aspects that comprise these issues. The viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find sources and publications. Allows the reader to attain the higher-level critical thinking and reading skills that are essential in a culture of diverse and contradictory opinions.

Cover Art
The Future of US Economic Relations : Mexico, Cuba, and Venezuela. - H.W. Wilson Company
Call Number: HF 1456.5 .M6 F88 2013
ISBN: 0824212142
Publication Date: 2013
Series Title: The reference shelf volume 85, number 3 .
This volume continues the series coverage of the National Debate Topic for the National Forensic League, the largest debate honor society in the country. Following the topic set by the league, the volume reveals the diversity of United States economic relations in Latin America, particularly given the different political conditions of many countries. Topics begin with a survey of perspectives on Latin American political, social, and economic life. Another chapter reviews the debates on the North American Free Trade Act (NAFTA), the single major economic policy in the Americas. News stories on Mexico, Cuba, and Venezuela reveal common concerns for fostering productive economies, while negotiating the complexities of politics. Cuba and Venezuela represent two of the most argued about nations in the hemisphere, while Mexico continues to serve as one of the most important economic partners for the United States.

 

More Economics Books

Cover Art
Handbook of Sports Economics Research - John Fizel (Editor)
Call Number: GV 716 .H36 2006
ISBN: 0765615940
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Fizel (director of Penn State U.'s online MBA program, the iMBA) presents an overview of economic sports research and theory development. After an introduction to the state of the discipline, eight contributions analyze specific sports leagues in the US and Europe in terms of such topics as revenues and costs, labor markets, market structure, market outcomes, and public and league policy. These are followed by discussion of product market and competitive balance across the sports theory. A section on econometrics and theory in sports economics concludes the volume and contains treatments on team sports efficiency estimation and stochastic frontier models, econometrics models in sports economics, and the theory of contests. Annotation ©2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Cover Art
Resilient City: the Economic Impact of 9/11 - Howard Chernick (Editor)
Call Number: HC 108 .N7 R47 2005
ISBN: 0871541602
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
The strike against the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001, was a violent blow against the United States and a symbolic attack on capitalism and commerce. It shut down one of the world s busiest commercial centers for weeks, destroyed or damaged billions of dollars worth of property, and forced many New York City employers to slash their payrolls or move jobs to other areas. The immediate economic effect was substantial, but how badly did 9/11 affect New York City s economy in the longer term? InResilient City, Howard Chernick and a team of economic experts examine the city s economic recovery in the three years following the destruction of the Twin Towers. Assessing multiple facets of the New York City economy in the years after 9/11, Resilient City discerns many hopeful signs among persistent troubles. Analysis by economist Sanders Korenman indicates that the value of New York based companies did not fall relative to other firms, indicating that investors still believe that there are business advantages to operating in New York despite higher rates of terrorism insurance and concerns about future attacks. Cordelia Reimers separates the economic effect of 9/11 from the effects of the 2001 recession by comparing employment and wage trends for disadvantaged workers in New York with those in five major U.S. cities. She finds that New Yorkers fared at least as well as people in other cities, suggesting that the decline in earnings and employment for low-income New York workers in 2002 was due more to the recession than to the effects of 9/11. Still, troubles remain for New York City. Howard Chernick considers the substantial fiscal implications of the terrorist attacks on New York City, estimating that the attack cost the city about $3 billion in the first two years alone; a sum that the city now must make up through large tax increases, spending cuts, and substantial additional borrowing, which will inevitably be a burden on future budgets. The terrorist attacks of September 11 dealt a severe blow to the economy of New York City, but it was far from a knock-out punch. Resilient City shows that New York s dynamic, flexible economy has absorbed the hardships inflicted by the attacks, and provides a thorough, authoritative assessment of what, so far, has been a strong recovery."

Cover Art
The Travels of a T-Shirt in the Global Economy - Pietra Rivoli
Call Number: HD 9969 .S6 R58 2006
ISBN: 0470039205
Publication Date: 2006-06-30
Praise for The Travels of a T-Shirt in the Global Economy"Engrossing... [Rivoli] goes wherever the T-shirt goes and there are surprises around every corner....full of memorable characters and vivid scenes." -Time"An engaging and illuminating saga . . . Rivoli follows her T-shirt along its route, but that is like saying that Melville follows his whale . . . Her nuanced and fair-minded approach is all the more powerful for eschewing the pretense of ideological absolutism, and her telescopic look through a single industry has all the makings of an economics classic." -The New York Times"Rarely is a business book so well written that one would gladly stay up all night to finish it. Rivoli′s The Travels of a T-Shirt in the Global Economy is just such a page-turner." -CIO magazine"Succeeds admirably...T-shirts may not have changed the world, but their story is a useful account of how free trade and protectionism certainly have." -Financial Times"A readable and evenhanded treatment of the complexities of world trade... As Rivoli repeatedly makes clear, there is absolutely nothing free about free trade except the slogan." -San Francisco Chronicle"A fascinating exploration of the history, economics, and politics of world trade...The Travels of a T-Shirt in the Global Economy is a thought-provoking yarn that exhibits the ugly, the bad, and the good of globalization, and points to the unintended positive consequences of the clash between proponents and opponents of free trade." -Fort Worth Star-Telegram

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip