EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
DatabasesHistorical NewspapersProQuest US NewspapersNewspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesOther Electronic ResourcesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesCommunication Arts LinksDrama/Plays/Rhetoric, Photography, and Movie/TV LinksKhan Academy - GrammarInternational Resources
Communication TheoryIntercultural CommunicationJournalism 1Journalism 2Business CommunicationThe MediaBooks 1Books 2
Media BooksNewspapers BooksPhotography BookseBooks
This is the "Communication Arts Books/eBooks" page of the "Communication Arts Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communication Arts Research  

Last Updated: Aug 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/communication1 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Communication Arts Books/eBooks Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Communication Arts Books

Cover Art
Communication Arts in the Ancient World - Eric A. Havelock (Editor); Jackson P. Hershbell (Editor)
Call Number: P 92 .G75 C65
ISBN: 0803812523
Publication Date: 1978-10-01

Cover Art
Crucial Confrontations tools for resolving broken promises, violated expectations, and bad behavior - Kerry Patterson; Joseph Grenny; Ron McMillan; Al Switzler; Tom Peters (Foreword by)
Call Number: HM 1121 .C78 2005
ISBN: 0071446524
Publication Date: 2004-08-26
The authors of the New York Times bestseller Crucial Conversations show you how to achieve personal, team, and organizational success by healing broken promises, resolving violated expectations, and influencing bad behaviour Discover skills to resolve touchy, controversial, and complex issues at work and at home now available in this follow-up to the internationally popular Crucial Conversations. Includes scripts modelling the best way to deal with confrontations.

Cover Art
Dialogue: a pioneering approach to communicating in business and in life - William B. Isaacs; Peter Senge (Introduction by)
ISBN: 0385479999
Publication Date: 1999-09-14
The Director of the Dialogue Project at MIT has written a powerful tool for managers, leaders, & individuals on how dialogue - the art of talking & thinking together - can build insight, bridge differences, & revitalize our companies, our organizations, & ourselves.

 

More Communication Arts Books

Cover Art
Dictionary of Mass Communication - O. Charles Okwelume
Call Number: P 87.5 .D449 2006
ISBN: 9781845491420
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
.journalists, broadcasters, public relations and advertising practitioners as well as mass communication scholars will find this a useful reference material. Chukwuemeka Chikelu, Minister, Information and National Orientation, Nigeria, 2004. This book is a valuable resource; a guide through the jargon and terminology of the world of media and mass communication.(it) provides students, professionals and academics alike with a way to comprehend the world of mass communication, and to ensure that they are clear and precise in their understanding of the world around them. Mark Bikerton, Director, Student Recruitment, Marketing and Communications, London Metropolitan University. .an invaluable reference hub for PR practitioners and others in related fields of communication. from a brilliant author who knows his onions. Joe Itah, Chapter Chairman, Nigerian Institute of Public Relations, Abuja, 2006. Dictionary of Mass Communication is an introductory text that invites scholars of the subject or related disciplines to the terminologies used in the field. It creates a clear understanding of these jargons to facilitate apprehension both for new comers in the field and old players.Organised in such a way for easy reference, it covers terminologies in public relations, advertising, communication and marketing research, journalism, photojournalism, broadcasting, etc. No media or communication studies will absolute without this text. O. CHARLES OKWELUME JNR. is a scholar of mass communication and international relations. Erstwhile Editor-in-Chief of NYSC FCT Editorial Board, he is author of Drumbeats of Black Africa and is presently at the University of Birmingham.

Cover Art
Handbook of Research on Teaching Literacy Through the Communicative and Visual Arts - James Flood (Editor); Shirley Brice Heath (Editor); Diane Lapp (Editor)
Call Number: qP 91.3 .H36 2005 v.1 - qP 91.3 .H36 2005 v.2
ISBN: 0805853790
Publication Date: 2004-08-30
In an era characterized by the rapid evolution of the concept of literacy, the Handbook of Research on Teaching Literacy Through the Communicative and Visual Arts focuses on multiple ways in which learners gain access to knowledge and skills. The handbook explores the possibilities of broadening current conceptualizations of literacy to include the full array of the communicative arts (reading, writing, speaking, listening, viewing) and to focus on the visual arts of drama, dance, film, art, video, and computer technology. The communicative and visual arts encompass everything from novels and theatrical performances to movies and video games. In today's world, new methods for transmitting information have been developed that include music, graphics, sound effects, smells, and animations. While these methods have been used by television shows and multimedia products, they often represent an unexplored resource in the field of education. By broadening our uses of these media, formats, and genres, a greater number of students will be motivated to see themselves as learners. In 64 chapters, organized in seven sections, teachers and other leading authorities in the field of literacy provide direction for the future: I. Theoretical Bases for Communicative and Visual Arts Teaching Paul Messaris, Section Editor II. Methods of Inquiry in Communicative and Visual Arts Teaching Donna Alvermann, Section Editor III. Research on Language Learners in Families, Communities, and Classrooms Vicki Chou, Section Editor IV. Research on Language Teachers: Conditions and Contexts Dorothy Strickland, Section Editor V. Expanding Instructional Environments: Teaching, Learning, and Assessing the Communicative and Visual Arts Nancy Roser, Section Editor VI. Research Perspectives on the Curricular, Extracurricular, and Policy Perspectives James Squire, Section Editor VII. Voices from the Field Bernice Cullinan and Lee Galda, Section Editors The International Reading Association has compiled in the Handbook of Research on Teaching Literacy Through the Communicative and Visual Arts an indispensable set of papers for educators that will enable them to conceptualize literacy in much broader contexts than ever before. The information contained in this volume will be extremely useful in planning literacy programs for our students for today and tomorrow.

Cover Art
The Complete Graphic Designer a guide to understanding graphics and visual communication - Ryan Hembree
Call Number: NC 997 .H44 2006
ISBN: 9781592535026
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Offers insight and information to help design students apply their skills to the commercial industry.   Graphic design is a fast growing industry with thousands of new designers and students joining its ranks every year. The explosion of the graphic design field has resulted in the release of hundreds of new books, with subjects ranging from logo design to web design, design history to design criticism; today there are very few subjects related to the industry that have not been written about in one form or another. While the wealth of information and resources available to the graphic designer is extensive, it makes it hard to gain an overall perspective of graphic design and its practical applications in the field, as the content and subject matter of most books is very specialized. Design educators, especially at the collegiate level, have an increasingly difficult task of teaching a well-rounded course in graphic design, as they have to pull curriculum ideas from many sources, and require the students to purchase numerous texts.   The Complete Graphic Designer is that well-rounded course in graphic design.  It is not an instructional "how to" book, nor will it feature a series of suggested curriculum or problems for designers or students to solve. Rather, this book will be a concise overview of the many facets of graphic design, such as communication theory and why it is important; various types of problems that designers confront on a daily basis; and the considerations that must be made when trying to solve those visual problems. In addition, it features prominent designers and design firms that are renown for work in a certain type of design, and frequent "sidebars" or articles that include useful information on graphic design.   This book provides a complete an comprehensive look at what graphic design is and what it means to be a graphic designer from an applied perspective, with chapters including Design for Communication, The Design Process, Page Layout, Visual Problems, Corporate Identity, and Branding.

Cover Art
The Graphic Designer's Guide to Better Business Writing - Barbara Janoff; Ruth Cash-Smith
Call Number: NK 1173 .J36 2007
ISBN: 9781581154726
Publication Date: 2007-05-15
Visual-thinking graphic designers sometimes struggle to express themselves clearly and effectively in writing. Now there’s help! The Graphic Designer’s Guide to Better Business Writing teaches graphic designers how to write compelling business communications. Created especially to address the needs of graphic designers, this handy guide breaks the writing process down into simple, easy-to-understand stages and offers practical writing and presentation models that designers can put to use immediately. Real-life examples cover an array of essential topics: writing winning resumes and cover letters, landing accounts, writing polished letters and reports, creating design briefs, and much more. As a bonus, the authors include time-saving insider tricks of the trade, gleaned from interviews with design professionals and creative directors from across the country.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip