Bilingual eBooksBilingual Individual eBooksDatabasesHot TopicsOther Electronic ResourcesNewspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesESL and Language Help Links
Dictionaries, Grammar, etc. - Spanish/EnglishSpanish Literature/PoetryK-12 Spanish/English Books and KitsK-12 Spanish/English Books - TopicsEspañol/Spanish Language eBooksLinks - Languge Help, Learning Engish, Gov. Sites/Other in Spanish
eBooksDatabases - Country InformationInternational ResourcesDatabases - GeneralReference - Library Electronic ResourcesCredo Reference - Corporate BusinessCredo Reference - Global ExecutivesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesInternational Business LinksCurrency and TravelCustoms and CultureFlags, Images, and Maps
Credo Reference - Asia & the Middle East CountriesCredo Reference - The United KingdomCredo Reference - EuropeCredo Reference - Latin AmericaCredo Reference - North America
Human Trafficking eBooksCurrent IssuesDatabasesInternational ResourcesHuman Trafficking Links
This is the "Country" page of the "International Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Resources  

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/IR Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Country Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Country Books

Cover Art
Best Practices for Managers and Expatriates - Stan Lomax
Call Number: HF 5549.5 .E45 L658 2001
ISBN: 0471392065
Publication Date: 2001-08-20
A Wealth of Practical Advice and Expert Insight on the Expatriate Experience Former human resources manager and expatriate Stan Lomax shares his considerable experience and innovative ideas on best practices for overseas assignees and their managers. He discusses common problems and answers tough questions for parties on both sides of the expatriate issue. He provides tips and advice on issues from choosing and training candidates to applying for overseas positions and getting the best compensation package possible. Expert advice on these subjects, and more, is included: Overcoming the challenges faced by managers and expatriates Furthering your professional goals through overseas assignments Becoming selected as an expatriate Training and preparing expatriate candidates Negotiating reasonable expatriate compensation and benefits packages Matching personal and professional goals with your company's business strategy Best practices case studies Effective repatriation and sound career path planning Whether you're an expatriate, a candidate, or a manager of expatriates, Best Practices for Managers and Expatriates provides the practical and reliable advice you need.

Cover Art
Doing Business 2009 - World Bank Staff
Call Number: HD 3612 .D65 2008
ISBN: 9780821376096
Publication Date: 2008-09-10
The Doing Business series provides research, data, and analysis on regulationin 181 economies across 10 areas of the business life cycle. Doing Business2009 identifies top reformers in business regulation and highlights bestpractices and global reform trends. This year’s report builds upon the fiveprevious editions, adding new economies and updating all indicators. This year’s report covers 3 additional economies,bringing the total number of economiescovered to 181. Now included are the Bahamas,Bahrain, and Qatar. The report also adds apreface on Doing Business methodology, aswell as in-depth analysis throughout the reporton the main trends and findings of the past sixyears of Doing Business.Doing Business is an invaluable resource forentrepreneurs, investors, advisors, academics,professionals, and policymakers. The indicatorsbenchmark regulation across 10 areas ofa typical business lifecycle, and are usedto analyze economic and social outcomesthat matter such as equal opportunity,unemployment, poverty, and growth. Thisannually-published report gives policymakersthe ability to measure regulatory performancein comparison to other economies, and learnfrom best practices.

Cover Art
Empires of Profit - Daniel Litvin
Call Number: HD 60.5 .D44 L58 2003
ISBN: 1587991160
Publication Date: 2003-02-13
"Daniel Litvin traces the clashes of culture and unexpected social problems encountered by a series of powerful companies past and present. Beginning with the English East India Company and Cecil Rhodes in southern Africa, Empires of Profit goes on to tell a range of stories, from the ruthless exploits of United Fruit in Central America (which helped give rise to the term "Banana Republics"), and the expulsion of U.S. oil firms from the Middle East in the 1970s, the modern examples including Shell in Nigeria and Rupert Murdoch in China. In every chapter, the characters, incidents and the sometimes shocking behavior that has helped shape much of today's anti-globalization sentiments are brought starkly to life."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Business in Today's World - Charles Wankel (Editor)
Call Number: qHF 1001 .E4665 2009 v.1-v.4
ISBN: 9781412964272
Publication Date: 2009-06-12
2009 RUSA Outstanding Business Reference Business in todaye(tm)s world is increasingly diverse. Undertaking commerce, even by an individual, can mean working globally through a welter of new media with opportunities of all kinds rapidly appearing. The boundaries, scope, content, structures, and processes of a business activity can morph into completely different ones in the course of a project. Contemporary businesses, and certainly future businesses, find it incumbent upon them to fit within the requirements of environmental and economic sustainability of the others who inhabit our world. With more than 1,000 entries, the Encyclopedia of Business in Today's World is packed with essential and up-to-date information on the state of business in our world. Not only does it reflect where business is, it also conveys the trajectory of business farther into the 21st century. These four volumes provide clear overviews of the important business topics of our time, ranging from culture shock to currency hedging, political risk, offshoring, and transnational corporations. The wealth of topics represent an integrated vision by the editor of a perplexity of functions, technologies, and environmental factors. Key Features Provides insight into the development and current business situation globally through articles on many individual countries Examines the processes, responsibilities, and ethics of business in the global market Offers entries written by experts from diverse fields Includes an appendix that looks at World Trade Organization statistics Presents a vast range of topics, including key companies, business policies, regions, countries, dimensions of globalization, economic factors, international agreements, financial instruments, accounting regulations and approaches, theories, legislation, management practices and approaches, and much more Key Themes Competitive Forces Countries Corporate Profiles Cultural Environments Economics of International Business Economic Theories of International Business Ethics, Corruption, and Social Responsibility Export/Import Strategies Foreign Direct Investment Globalization and Society Human Resource Management International Accounting International Finance International Monetary System International Trade Legal and Labor Issues Management and Leadership Manufacturing and Operations Marketing Political Environments Regional Economic Integration Supranational and National Organizations The Encyclopedia of Business in Todaye(tm)s World serves as a general, nontechnical resource for students, professors, and librarians seeking to understand the development of business as practiced in the United States and internationally.

Cover Art
Global Literacies - Robert Rosen; Patricia Digh; Marshall Singer; Carl Phillips
Call Number: HD 38.2 .G58 2000
ISBN: 0684859025
Publication Date: 2000-01-11
Throughout the world, languages differ, but the business questions are the same. In French and Japanese, Hebrew and English, executives are asking, "How can I survive and thrive in the borderless, global marketplace?"For answers, the authors ofGlobal Literacieswent straight to the leaders themselves -- the CEOs of thousands of corporations around the globe.Two lessons emerged. First, there are leadership universals that every executive and manager needs to practice in order to be world-class at home and abroad. The second defied conventional wisdom: in the borderless economy, culture doesn't matterless,it mattersmore.Around the world, business leaders apply their own experiences -- personal, professional, and cultural -- to an ever-expanding world of Dutch colleagues, Brazilian suppliers, Taiwanese manufacturers, and Chinese competitors. These leaders are trying to become globally literate...andGlobal Literaciesis for, and about, them.No one knows this better than CEOs of successful global companies such as Japan's Canon, Sweden's Ericsson, Taiwan's Acer Computers, the U.K.'s British Telecommunications, and U.S.-based Coca-Cola.InGlobal Literacies,a team of researchers led by Robert Rosen, Ph.D., of Healthy Companies International, and Watson Wyatt Worldwide have produced the first model of international business success based on a wide-ranging landmark study of global leaders and their world-class companies.Global Literaciesdocuments the exclusive results of a worldwide survey of over one thousand senior executives and in-depth interviews with CEOs of seventy-eight companies -- companies representing 3.5 million employees in more than 200 countries, and with more than $725 billion in annual sales.Global Literaciesoffers compelling new insights and business tools:The Global Leadership UniversalsLearn the new literacies of business:* Personal Literacy -- understanding and valuing yourself* Social Literacy -- engaging and challenging people* Business Literacy -- focusing and mobilizing your business* Cultural Literacy -- valuing and leveraging cultural differenceThe Global Success QuotientLearn which are the most globally active, financially successful companies -- and countries -- in the world, understand how they got there, and apply those learnings to your own organization.The Cultures of Twenty-first-Century BusinessDevelop ways toseeglobal challenges and opportunities,thinkwith an international mindset,actwith fresh global-centric leadership behaviors, andmobilizeworld-class companies -- whether you're a multinational giant, a domestic manufacturer, or a local community organization.National ProfilesWith sophisticated profiles of thirty countries, and survey data from eighteen national cultures -- from the Tolerant Traders of the Netherlands to China's Ancient Modernizers and the Optimistic Entrepreneurs of the United States,Global Literaciesis a groundbreaking and fascinating work on the most important issues in the world of business today.

 

More Country Books

Cover Art
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands - Sales and Marketing: the essential cultural guide--from presentations and promotions to communicating and closing - Terri Morrison; Wayne A. Conaway
Call Number: HF 5389 .M674 2012
ISBN: 9780071714044
Publication Date: 2011-11-15
How do you break the ice in the UAE? When do you present a contract in China? How close should you stand to a South Korean? Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: Sales and Marketing is an informative, entertaining guide that shows you what to do--and what to avoid--in any given sales or marketing situation, from Argentina to South Africa. It provides the expert knowledge you need to gather data in diverse cultures, properly present your products, and close deals around the world. "As the global community comes closer together, Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: Sales & Marketing will be a valuable resource to every person in every industry around the world." --Gil A. Cardon, Convention Manager, Japan National Tourism Organization "Just as you can be a connoisseur of wine, Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands: Sales and Marketing can help make you a connoisseur of cultures, philosophies, business behaviors, and social practices. Read it not just for work, but for the human side as well." --Giuseppe G. B. Pezzotti, Senior Lecturer, Cornell University School of Hotel Administration "Terri has accurately and succinctly captured the key issues that businesspeople or tourists need to know when traveling. It is spot-on, and a very valuable resource!" --Thomas M. Feifar, Director of Foreign Military Sales, NAVISTAR Defense

Cover Art
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands - Terri Morrison; Wayne A. Conaway
Call Number: HF 5389 .M67 2006
ISBN: 1593373686
Publication Date: 2006-07-24
Your Passport to International Business Etiquette The most authoritative and comprehensive text of its kind, Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands, 2nd Edition is your must-have guide to proper international business protocol. With countries such as China and India taking on a more significant role in the global business landscape, you can't afford not to know the practices, customs, and philosophies of other countries. Now fully revised, updated, and expanded with over sixty country profiles, Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands, 2nd Edition provides invaluable information on how to handle common business interactions with grace, respect, and an appreciation for different cultures.

Cover Art
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: Latin America - Terri Morrison; Wayne A. Conaway
Call Number: HF 5389.3 .L3 M67 2007
ISBN: 1598692178
Publication Date: 2006-11-15
- New and expanded edition, including important security information, additional countries, and culture IQ tests - The first edition has been adopted by The Wharton School, Cornell, Oxford, and featured in the Wall Street Journal, USA Today, the Washington Post, and National Geographic Adventure, among others - The first edition has sold more than 100,000 copies! More than a decade after establishing itself as the number-one book on international business etiquette, Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands has been fully revised to reflect the profound global transformation that has occurred since its debut. In this new edition, author Terri Morrison--the leading expert in this field--has included: - Comprehensive updates for each of the book's 60-plus country chapters - Several brand-new sections, including Cultural IQ tests, "Know Before You Go" tips, and alerts on international security issues - Additional chapters on Austria, Belize, Ireland, South Africa, Vietnam, and the Vatican

Cover Art
Success for the New Global Manager - Maxine A. Dalton; Jennifer Deal; Christopher T. Ernst; Jean Leslie
Call Number: HD 38.2 .S83 2002
ISBN: 078795845X
Publication Date: 2002-04-02
As globalization has evolved from being the latest corporate buzzword to a basic economic reality, more and more organizations are realizing that they need managers with skills that translate well to the international arena. But unfortunately many organizations do not know how to identify and develop people for such complex responsibilities. This book-from the Center for Creative Leadership, ranked #1 worldwide in leadership education in a BusinessWeek survey-shows how. Success for the New Global Manager explains what new global managers-those who manage across distance, countries, and cultures- look like and presents four explicit skills they must have to succeed in this new reality. It shows managers how to identify and grow these new capabilities and how to adapt the skills they already possess to a broader global context. And it advises organizations on how they can help managers acquire these important capabilities.

Cover Art
Understanding Emerging Markets - Stefano Pelle
Call Number: HC 59.7 .P42 2007
ISBN: 0761935576
Publication Date: 2007-01-12
This book provides an overall perspective of the rising power of emerging economies. It focuses on Brazil, Russia, India and China (the BRIC countries) in order to understand market opportunities and issues relevant to doing business in such emerging economies. The book defines an emerging market, analyses the operative environment of emerging countries and points out some common difficulties and mistakes. The author describes key elements of a successful and profitable business model in these countries and in doing so, focuses on some important issues: – Cultural Gaps and extensive dependence on expatriates – The main characteristics of the workforce – External factors influencing business – Red tape and corruption – Corporate social responsibility – Sustainability of economic development

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip