Bilingual eBooksBilingual Individual eBooksDatabasesHot TopicsOther Electronic ResourcesNewspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesESL and Language Help Links
Dictionaries, Grammar, etc. - Spanish/EnglishSpanish Literature/PoetryK-12 Spanish/English Books and KitsK-12 Spanish/English Books - TopicsEspañol/Spanish Language eBooksLinks - Languge Help, Learning Engish, Gov. Sites/Other in Spanish
eBooksDatabases - Country InformationInternational ResourcesDatabases - GeneralReference - Library Electronic ResourcesCredo Reference - Corporate BusinessCredo Reference - Global ExecutivesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesInternational Business LinksCurrency and TravelCustoms and CultureFlags, Images, and Maps
Credo Reference - Asia & the Middle East CountriesCredo Reference - The United KingdomCredo Reference - EuropeCredo Reference - Latin AmericaCredo Reference - North America
Human Trafficking eBooksCurrent IssuesDatabasesInternational ResourcesHuman Trafficking Links
This is the "Bilingual Resources" page of the "International Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Resources  

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/IR Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Bilingual Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Bilingual and ESL Books

Cover Art
40 Reading Intervention Strategies for K-6 Students: research-based support for RTI - Elaine K. McEwan-Adkins
Call Number: LB 1573 .M3913 2010
ISBN: 9781934009505
Publication Date: 2009-10-23
This book provides a well-rounded collection of research-based reading intervention strategies that can be used by classroom teachers, interventionists, Title I, special educators, and ELL teachers seeking to support struggling readers in their classrooms and schools. It also provides teacher-friendly sample lesson plans and miniroutines that the classroom teacher can readily understand and adapt. Finally, the book offers citations and descriptions of current research that educators can use to substantiate their strategy choices.
Most educators are deeply concerned with literacy levels in their schools. Everyone is feeling the relentless pressure of high-stakes tests and the need to provide the highest levels of instruction. Specifically, this book is intended for elementary teachers of all kinds and levels, literacy coaches, interventionists, speech pathologists, other educational specialists, special education, bilingual, and Title I administrators, and even college and university professors who are looking for a research-based collection of intervention strategies as a resource in their classrooms.
The intervention strategies are numbered one to forty and are grouped into seven sections: instruction, phonemic awareness, word identification, fluency, vocabulary, comprehension, and reading a lot. Highly effective teachers often use these ?intervention strategies? during whole-group instruction, since many of them will not only scaffold struggling readers but will also motivate and accelerate average and above-average students. Many of the interventions gain exponential power when implemented across a grade-level team or throughout the school. Each of the seven topical sections is preceded by a short research summary, and each of the forty intervention strategies is presented in the following format:
? A description
? A brief discussion of essential background knowledge and more specific research
? Sample lessons, think-alouds, mini teaching routines, or instructional aids to support instruction

Cover Art
A better chance to learn, bilingual bicultural education - U.S. Commission on Civil Rights
Call Number: LC 3731 .U5 no. 51
Publication Date: 1975
Subject: 1. Education, Bilingual--United States.

Cover Art
A Sociolinguistic Approach to Bilingual Education : experiments in the American Southwest - Andrew Cohen
Call Number: LC 3732 .S59 .C64
ISBN: 0912066342
Publication Date: 1975-10-01

Cover Art
Bilingual and ESL Classrooms: teaching in multicultural contexts - Carlos Julio Ovando; Virginia P. Collier; Mary Carol Combs
Call Number: LC 3731 .O96 2003 /
ISBN: 0072407379
Publication Date: 2002-09-06
Integrating theory and practice, this title provides comprehensive coverage of bilingual and ESL issues. It integrates the fields of ESL, bilingual, and multicultural education, and provides examples of effective practices and their underlying research knowledge base. It also includes chapters on authentic assessment and special needs.

Cover Art
Bilingual Book of Rhymes, Songs, Stories, and Fingerplays: el libro bilingue de rimas, canciones, cuentos y juegos - Pam Schiller; Rafael Lara-Alecio; Beverly J. Irby; Deborah Wright (Illustrator)
Call Number: qPE 1129 .S8 S35 2004
ISBN: 0876592841
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
With Spanish and English on each page, this collection of over 450 rhymes, songs, stories, and fingerplays provides the opportunity for building vocabulary and exploring the sounds of language-important skills for beginning readers! Organized by theme for easy use, these selections provide a springboard for teaching a second language and for working in a bilingual classroom.

Cover Art
Describing Bilingual Education Classrooms : the role of the teacher in evaluation - Andrew D. Cohen
Call Number: LC 3705 .C678 1980
ISBN: 0897630505
Publication Date: 1980-11-01

Cover Art
Forbidden Language: English learners and restrictive language policies - Patricia Gandara (Editor); Megan Hopkins (Editor)
Call Number: LC 2672.4 .F67 2010
ISBN: 9780807750452
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Pullling together the most up-to-date research on the effects of restrictive language policies, this timely volume focuses on what we know about the actual outcomes for students and teachers in California, Arizona, and Massachusettes, states where these policies have been adopted. Prominent legal experts in bilingual education analyse these policies and specifically consider whether the new data undermine their legal viability. Other prominent contributors examine alternative policies and how these have fared. Finally, Patricia Gandar, Daniel Losen, and Gary Orfield suggest how better policies, that rely on empirical research, might be constructed.

Cover Art
Improving Access to Mathematics : diversity and equity in the classroom - Na'ilah Suad Nasir; Paul Cobb
Call Number: QA 13 .I467 2007
ISBN: 9780807747285
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Key experts with extensive research and classroom experience examine how the multiple dimensions of race, class, culture, power, and knowledge interact in mathematics classrooms to foster and create inequities. Chapters explore new theoretical perspectives, describe successful classroom practices, and offer insights into how we might develop an effective sociocultural approach to equity in math education.

Cover Art
Integrating the ESL Standards into Classroom Practice - Suzanne Irujo (Editor); Barbara J. Agor; Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: PE 1128 .A2 I576 2000
ISBN: 0939791862
Publication Date: 2000-01-01

Cover Art
Language and Cultural Diversity in U. S. Schools: democratic principles in action - Terry A. Osborn
Call Number: LC 1099.3 .L37 2005
ISBN: 0275982025
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Diversity is at the heart of today's education debates. Often, school policies and programs designed to encourage and embrace diversity are met with public ire and a deep misunderstanding of how diversity serves learning. This work explains how diversity is an essential element in classroom settings. As children from around the world continue to pour into U.S. classrooms, an understanding of cultural and linguistic diversity in its broadest sense moves to the foreground. In a post 9/11 world, the benefits of understanding diversity take on urgent meaning. The introdutory chapter, Participating in Democracy Means Participating in Schools, sets the tone for the discussion to follow. As the geographic backgrounds of immigrants becomes increasingly diverse, religion must be added to previous discussions of race, ethnicity, and language. Thus, the need for the public to understand how shifts in population affect schools, makes this work a vital resource for anyone concerned with education today.

Cover Art
Latino College Students - Michael A. Olivas (Editor)
Call Number: LC 2670.4 .L37 1986
ISBN: 0807727989
Publication Date: 1986-07-01
Examines the obstacles faced by Hispanic students in obtaining quality education

Cover Art
Learning and Not Learning English : Latino students in American schools - Guadalupe Valdés; Larry Cuban
Call Number: PE 1129 .S8 V26 2001
ISBN: 0807741051
Publication Date: 2001-08-07
Focusing on the lives and experiences of four Mexican children in an American middle school, the critically acclaimed author of Con Respeto examines both the policy and the instructional dilemmas that surround the English language education of immigrant children in this country. Using samples and analysis of the children's oral and written language as well as an examination of their classrooms, school, and community, this book addresses the difficulties surrounding the teaching and learning of English for second language learners. This comprehensive volume discusses: * classroom activities * the amount of time it takes to ""learn"" English * how English language learning affects learning in other areas * the consequences of linguistic isolation * how ESL students are tested It also presents exclusive data on academic English development at various stages in a two-year process that raise important questions about current ESL teaching policies.

 

Bilingual and ESL Books

Cover Art
Literacy and Bilingualism: a handbook for all teachers - Maria E. Brisk; Margaret M. Harrington
Call Number: LC 3731 .B684 2000
ISBN: 0805831657
Publication Date: 1999-11-01
This handbook covers different approaches focusing on aspects of literacy and bilingualism. Topics include: approaches focusing on writing; approaches focusing on reading; approaches with a choice of focus; implementation and assessment; and learning from students' performance.

Cover Art
Literacy for America's Spanish Speaking Children - Eleanor Thonis
Call Number: LC 3731 .T53
ISBN: 0872072215
Publication Date: 1976-01-01
Series Title: Reading aids series An IRA service bulletin.

Cover Art
Literacy Through Language Arts : teaching and learning in context - Sharon Murphy (Editor); Curt Dudley-Marling (Editor)
Call Number: LB 1576 .L565 2003
ISBN: 0814129668
Publication Date: 2003-01-01

Cover Art
Puzzling Moments, Teachable Moments: practicing teacher research in urban classrooms - Cynthia Ballenger; Dixie Goswami
Call Number: LC 5141 .B35 2009
ISBN: 9780807749937
Publication Date: 2009-09-30
In her new book, bestselling author Cynthia Ballenger explores the intellectual strengths of "puzzling children", poor, urban, immigrant, or bilingual children who do not traditionally excel in school. Ballenger challenges the assumption that these children whose families have less formal education, read fewer storybooks, and talk less with their children about school-like topics, have fewer of what we might call "intellectual" or academically relevant experiences. This practical book offers a detailed roadmap for traversing the daily work of teaching today's diverse population, helping educators to refine their work as it unfolds in the classroom. Ballenger guides the reader as she thinks out loud about what children said, what it indicated about their thinking, and how the dialogue informed her teaching.

Cover Art
Rethinking Multicultural Education: teaching for racial and cultural justice - Wayne Au (Editor)
Call Number: LC 1099.3 .R494 2009
ISBN: 9780942961423
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Moving beyond a simplistic focus on heroes and holidays, foods and festivals, Rethinking Multicultural Education demonstrates a powerful vision of anti-racist social justice education. Practical, rich in story, and analytically sharp, Rethinking Multicultural Education reclaims multicultural education as part of a larger struggle for justice and against racism, colonization, and cultural oppression-in schools and society. The book features 40 chapters, split into 4 sections: Anti-Racist Orientations; Language, Culture, and Power; Transnational Identities; Multicultural Classrooms; and Confronting Racism in the Classroom. Winner of the 2010 Skipping Stones Honor Award.

Cover Art
Studying Diversity in Teacher Education - Arnetha F. Ball (Contribution by, Editor); Thandeka K. Chapman (Contribution by); Marilyn Cochran-Smith (Contribution by); David E. Kirkland (Contribution by); Donna Y. Ford (Contribution by); Carl A. Grant (Contribution by); Patricia D. Quijada Cerecer (
Call Number: LB 1715 .S798 2011
ISBN: 9781442204416
Publication Date: 2011-01-16
Studying Diversity in Teacher Education is a collaborative effort by experts seeking to elucidate one of the most important issues facing education today. First, the volume examines historically persistent, yet unresolved issues in teacher education and presents research that is currently being done to address these issues. Second, it centers on research on diverse populations, bringing together both research on diversity and research on diversity in teacher education. The contributors present frameworks, perspectives and paradigms that have implications for reframing research on complex issues that are often ignored or treated too simplistically in teacher education literature. Concluding the volume with an agenda for future research and a guide for preparing teachers for diversity education in a global context, the contributors provide a solid foundation for all educators. Studying Diversity in Teacher Education is a vital resource for all those interested in diversity and education research.

Cover Art
Taking Sides: No Child Left Behind - Clashing views on Educational Issues
Call Number: LA 217.2 .T35 2007
ISBN: 9780073514970
Publication Date: 2006-03-01
This fourteenth edition of Taking Sides: Educational Issues presents current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. Each issue is thoughtfully framed with an issue summary, an issue introduction, and a postscript. An instructor's manual with testing material is available for each volume. Using Sides in the Classroom is also an excellent instructor resource with practical suggestions on incorporating this effective approach in the classroom. Each Taking Sides reader features an annotated listing of selected World Wide Web sites.

Cover Art
The Literacy Curriculum and Bilingual Education: A Critical Examination - Karen Cadiero-Kaplan
Call Number: LC 151 .C33
ISBN: 0820467154PAP
Publication Date: 2004-03-25
This book focuses on how ideologies of literacy influence literacy instruction and bilingual education policies. While classroom teachers in both English and other languages are given a wealth of curriculum guides and texts and are coached and trained as to how to best teach their subjects, issues of policy, ideology, or politics are rarely engaged or explored. The Literacy Curriculum and Bilingual Education offers a critical look at how literacy is defined, by whom, and for what purposes - illustrating not only how ideology influences policy and curriculum, but how our own ideologies relate to curriculum and teaching. Utilizing critical theory, this book demonstrates how functional, cultural, progressive, and critical ideologies - informed by particular social, political, and historical contexts - develop and situate policies for literacy programs and bilingual education.

Cover Art
Towards quality in bilingual education/ Bilingual education in the integrated school - Gonzalez, Jouse M.
Call Number: LC 3705 .G643 1979
Publication Date: 1979
Subject: 1. Education, Bilingual--Integrated schools.

Cover Art
Workforce Education for Latinos : politics, programs, and practices - Ana G. Huerta-Macias
Call Number: LC 149.7 .H84 2002
ISBN: 0897898087
Publication Date: 2002-04-30
The author provides a comprehensive discussion of the political, economic, curricular, and instructional issues relevant to workforce education for Latinos with low levels of literacy and formal education. Of particular significance is an examination of recent federal legislation that has impacted Latino adults who are unemployed, displaced, and/or seeking to advance personally and economically. Instructors, as well as administrators and policymakers, will benefit from the succinct yet comprehensive discussion of federal policies, best practices in classroom instruction for bilingual adults, and program assessment and accountability. This study is most timely given the current social and demographic realities of this country as well as the changing economy of the 21st century, and is a powerful voice for Latino adults seeking to better their lives through education.

Cover Art
Young Bilingual Learners at Home and School: researching multilingual voices - Rose Drury
Call Number: P 115.2 .D78 2007
ISBN: 9781858563558
Publication Date: 2007-04-04
Official documents on early education tend to gloss over the experience of children who are learning English as an additional language in generalized terms. Because their learning situation is not well understood, bilingual children may be given few opportunities to display their abilities at school. Based on the author's ethnographic study, this book examines the experiences of three four-year-old bilingual children as they begin school in three English nursery classes. It thus provides insights into young children's use of first languages as well as English and consequently provides a fuller and richer picture of bilingual children's learning. The book reveals some of the ways in which young bilingual children experience preschool as they begin to learn the language required for formal schooling. It demonstrates how they take control of their own learning at home. And it asks questions: How do Samia, Maria, and Nazma find their own way through preschool? What are their individual strategies for getting by and, beyond that, for learning during their first year of formal schooling? How do they syncretize home and school learning? The detailed picture that emerges will fill in the detail missing from the current over-generalized view of bilingual children in the early years and provide an important new perspective to a growing body of literature on young bilingual children. It will be essential reading for all teachers, early childhood practitioners and early years policymakers operating in multilingual environments.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip