More Exercise /Exercise for Children BookseBooksIndividual Weight Issues eBooksCurrent IssuesJAMA and PubMedDatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesExercise and Exercise Career LinksFlorida Health and Exercise Calculators LinksInternational Resources
eBooksCurrent IssuesDatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesCredo Reference - NutritionGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesNutrition
Physical Education - K-12 BookseBooksCurrent IssuesDatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesCredo ReferenceGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesPhysical Education/Health and Sports Medicine LinksInternational Resources
DatabasesOther Electronic ResourcesCredo ReferenceGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesSports - Careers, Media, Research LinksSports - Individual Sports LinksMore Sports Links/Sports StatisticsHealth & Sports Medicine/Health Statistics LinksInternational Resources
Christian Sports/History of Sports BooksCoaching/Sports Injuries & Sports Medicine booksIndividual Sports/Issues in Sports bookseBooksIndividual eBooksMission Bell Media Leadership eBooks
eBooksAnatomy - Library's Subscription DatabasesReference Electronic ResourcesHuman AnatomyHuman Anatomy - OrgansHealth VideosAnatomy/Health LinksInternational Resources
International ResourcesHistorical NewspapersProQuest US NewspapersNewspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesKhan Academy - Health and Medicine
This is the "Anatomy" page of the "Physical Education and Sports Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physical Education and Sports Research  

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/PEsports Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Anatomy Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Anatomy Books

Cover Art
Human Anatomy - Benjamin A. Rifkin; Michael J. Ackerman; Judith Folkenberg (Contribution by)
Call Number: NC760 .R54 2006
ISBN: 0810955458
Publication Date: 2006-05-02
Starting in the 15 century, artists and anatomists began to dissect the bodies of the dead to discover how the human mechanism actually operated. This book illustrates the history of anatomical illustration and is useful for libraries of artists, art students, doctors, and those interested in the history of science.

Cover Art
Inside the body : fantastic images from beneath the skin - Windsor Chorlton; Victoria Alers-Hankey; Joanna Chisholm; Science Photo Library.
Call Number: qQH582 .C46 2004
ISBN: 9781844035007
Publication Date: 2004
Takes you on a photographic journey, beginning with individual cells - the tiny building blocks of life. This title helps you see the extraordinary patterns created by red blood cells. The images then reveal the startling architecture of tissues and complex organs that make up the body's network of systems

Cover Art
Kinetic Anatomy - Robert S. Behnke
Call Number: qQM100 .B445 2006
ISBN: 9780736059091
Publication Date: 2005-11-30
Created expressly for those who will work in physical activity fields, the thoroughly revised and updated edition of Kinetic Anatomycontinues to address how anatomy affects movement—how the human body is constructed and how it moves—by discussing bones, tying the bones together to make articulations, placing muscles on the bones, and observing how the joints move when the muscles contract. In addition to retaining the best features from the first edition, the new edition of Kinetic Anatomycontains the following new features: -Photos and images in a four-color format for easier visual recognition and comprehension -An instructor guide and test package that make it easier for instructors to deliver the course content to students -Additional summary tables that list articulations including type of joint, bones, ligaments, and movements -The Primal IFA Essentials CD bound into the book to provide users with a superior anatomical learning tool Kinetic Anatomy, Second Edition,encourages students to learn anatomy through hands-on experiments. The text also provides learning activities, practice questions, and suggested readings to assist in comprehension. The new edition makes it easy for future athletic trainers, physical education teachers, kinesiologists, and coaches to learn the fundamentals of anatomy—and to retain their knowledge for future application in advanced courses or on the job. Part I discusses the basic concepts of anatomy while the remainder of the text is divided into sections devoted to regions of the body: the upper extremity in part II; the spinal column, pelvis, and thorax in part III; and the lower extremity in part IV. The organization of the topics is parallel to that in more advanced texts on the subject, allowing students an easy transition from the material covered in this book to higher-level courses. The thoroughly revised and updated edition of Kinetic Anatomylays the foundation for students to learn how anatomy affects movement of the human body. Never before has learning anatomy been this easy. Kinetic Anatomy, Second Edition,is an outstanding introductory resource for those who plan to specialize in any field related to physical activity. Readers will be able to apply the knowledge from this resource as they work with, treat, and train the physically active. Interactive Anatomy CD Included! Students and instructors alike will benefit from the software program Essentials of Interactive Functional Anatomy (IFA Essentials)by Primal Pictures that is bound into this book. This learning tool allows the user to remove structures layer by layer through 11 layers (from skin to bone) with the strip-away technique. Accompanying text includes information regarding proximal and distal attachments, nerve innervation, blood supply, and primary and secondary actions. Views of any specific structure on the screen can be rotated up to 360 degrees and stopped at any point for viewing. Additionally, the live-action video option allows for observation of muscle actions during walking, standing from a sitting position, and other activities such as push-ups and sit-ups. A zoom control allows the user to zoom in for a closer look at specific details or zoom out for overall views of any structure. Every structure has related text to further define the structure being viewed. The anatomy text of IFA Essentialsincludes bones, ligaments, muscles, tendons, retinacula, capsules, cartilage, discs, membranes, and other miscellaneous structures. The program includes detailed animations for the shoulder, elbow and forearm, wrist and hand, trunk, hip, knee, and ankle and foot. Each joint has a muscle-action analysis of each fundamental movement of every joint. IFA Essentialsprovides excellent learning opportunities for students of human anatomy, kinesiology, and biomechanics.

Cover Art
National Library of Medicine - Atlas of the Visible Human Male - Victor M. Spitzer; David G. Whitlock; Don Linberg (Foreword by)
Call Number: QM25 .S74 1998
ISBN: 0763702730
Publication Date: 1997-06-13
The Atlas of the Visible Human Male reference text completely catalogs the internal human male in a way never before possible. The latest in high definition computers were used to compile cuts taken from one cadaver into three different perspectives: transverse, coronal, and sagittal. It is a visually compelling and scientifically precise collection of nearly 3,000 full color images. Victor M. Spitzer, Ph.D. and David G. Whitlock M.D., Ph.D., who were commissioned by the National Library of Medicine of The National Institutes of Health to make the cuts and compile the images, provide illustrated commentary about how their team obtained, prepared, and captured the images for this unique resource. This text is an invaluable resource for professionals, students, and anyone interested in the fascinating detail of the human body.

 

Anatomy Books

Cover Art
Skeletal Muscle: form and function - Brian R. MacIntosh; Phillip F. Gardiner; Alan J. McComas
Call Number: qQP321 .M127 2006
ISBN: 0736045171
Publication Date: 2005-08-18
Skeletal Muscle: Form and Function, Second Edition,provides readers with a detailed understanding of the different facets of muscle physiology. Meticulously researched and updated, this text examines motoneuron and muscle structure and function. It is intended for those who need to know about skeletal muscle—from undergraduate and graduate students gaining advanced knowledge in kinesiology to physiotherapists, physiatrists, and other professionals whose work demands understanding of muscle form and function. A unique feature of this book is that it combines basic sciences (anatomy, physiology, biophysics, and chemistry) with clinical applications (detection of disease and genetic mutations and training and rehabilitation). Each chapter ends with a section on clinical and other applied aspects of the information presented in that chapter, showing, for example, how specific defects of muscle or nerve cells can result in certain clinical disorders. The result is a thorough understanding of skeletal muscle structure and physiology. This new edition includes the following: -The latest research in all areas of muscle physiology -Major revisions of chapters covering muscle contraction, muscle metabolism, and fatigue -More than 200 drawings (many of them original) and 30 photos (mostly micrographs), all of which clarify and augment the text -Pedagogical aids to facilitate comprehension, including key points in the margins, special interest points, an index, and a greatly expanded glossary Skeletal Muscle: Form and Function, Second Edition,is divided into three parts. Part I presents the structures of the neuromuscular system: muscle, motoneurons, and neuromuscular junctions and sensory receptors as well as the development of these structures. Part II examines muscle function, including neuromuscular transmission, muscle contraction, motor units, and muscle metabolism. Part III focuses on the adaptability of the neuromuscular system. Among the issues it explores are fatigue, loss and recovery of muscle innervation, trophism, muscle training, and injury and repair. The depth and breadth of the contents, combined with the practical applications, make this book the leading authority on the structure, electrophysiology, and adaptability of human skeletal muscle. It is an excellent text for students and a practical and up-to-date reference for professionals.

Cover Art
The Brain - Kenneth Partridge
Call Number: QP376 .B69542 2009
ISBN: 0824210883
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
This Reference Shelf title examines what modern science has taught us about the brain and considers what remains to be discovered.

Cover Art
The Heart - James Peto (Editor)
Call Number: QM181 .P48 2007
ISBN: 0300125100
Publication Date: 2007-09-28
Published upon the opening of the Wellcome Collection, the Wellcome Trust's new public venue in London, this book examines the history of our understanding of the human heart. Encompassing material from Henry Wellcome's own collections in the Wellcome Library and images and artifacts from private and public archives across the world, the book provides a richly illustrated account of changes in our perception of what the heart does and what it means. The book first explores the symbolic significance of the heart in ancient Egypt, China, India, and Greece; its role in Aztec ceremony; and its place in the medieval world. It then considers the centrality of the heart in Christianity and other religions and the literary and artistic views of the heart as the seat of the soul and emotions. The growth of anatomical knowledge of the heart and its treatment through developing technology is fundamental to the volume. Fifteenth-century drawings by Leonardo da Vinci reveal his extraordinary early insight into the heart’s mechanisms, and twentieth-century medical breakthroughs prompt questions about ownership of the heart and the source of life itself. With testimony from surgeons and patients, the book highlights developments in cardiac surgery and considers future alternatives involving gene therapy, stem cell options, and micro-surgery. Contents Louisa Young: The Human Heart Francis Wells: The Renaissance Heart Emily Jo Sargent: The Sacred Heart Fay Bound Alberti: The Emotional Heart Ayesha Nathoo: The Transplanted Heart Melissa Larner: The Healing Heart Ted Bianco: The Animal Heart Michael Bracewell: The Broken Heart Jon Turney: The Future Heart  

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to the Body - Colin Blakemore (Editor); Sheila Jennett (Editor)
Call Number: qQM7 .O96 2001
ISBN: 019852403X
Publication Date: 2002-02-07
Here is a delightfully diverse, informative look at the human body, combining medical and physiological fact with articles that offer cultural, mythological, religious, historical, and artistic perspectives. In over 1200 alphabetically arranged entries, The Oxford Companion to the Body covers every aspect of human anatomy as well as related topics that range from Aggression, Aspirin, and Anxiety, to Warts, Whistling, Yoga, and X-Rays. Attractively designed with over 400 illustrations--including 15 full-color plates focusing on human physiology--this engrossing Companion shows how the body works, how it grows, develops, and ages, how it goes wrong, and even how it has inspired artists through the centuries. There are profiles of historical figures who have made important contributions to our understanding of the body, such as Galen, Vesalius, and da Vinci. There are also concise and readable accounts of the structures of all major systems of the body, their processes, and the diseases that affect them, from the nervous system to the skeleton to the brain. But one of the pleasures of the book is the many unexpected entries to come across: Body Language and Brain Death, Freckles and Frostbite, Potty Training and Phantom Limbs, Sleep Disorders and Survival at Sea. The volume also boasts general essays that describe how the body is seen in Zen Buddhism, Islam, mythology, and other disciplines. Written by over 250 experts, under the guidance of a distinguished editorial board, with full cross-referencing and suggested further reading, The Oxford Companion to the Body is both an authoritative resource and a browser's delight.

Cover Art
Women's Strength Training Anatomy - Frédéric Delavier
Call Number: QM151 .D4513 2003
ISBN: 0736048138
Publication Date: 2002-12-30
With information on strengthening and toning the legs, buttocks, abs, and back, Women's Strength Training Anatomyprovides full-color, detailed anatomical illustrations of exercises for these hard-to-shape areas. What makes this book unique is that readers can see the muscles at work during each exercise, like an X ray of the body in motion. Are there definite anatomical differences in the way men and women should build their bodies? According to the best-selling author and illustrator of Strength Training Anatomy, the answer is an overwhelming yes! Exercise variations based on a woman's unique anatomical features are also covered, helping to isolate muscles and make each exercise more effective. Make your workouts work harder for you! If you work out to strengthen and shape your body or if you help women get stronger and more defined, this is one book you need for understanding the female form and getting the most from your exercises.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip