EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
DatabasesAgriculture Videos/Birds of North AmericaHot Topics/Britannica Image Quest/Palmm Digital CollectionsReferenceInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesLinks
Individual eBooksIndividual eBooks: Agriculture/AnimalsFlorida Agriculture/Chidlren's: Agiculture/Food
eBooksDatabasesCredo Reference/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesLinks/Khan Academy: Chemistry/Organic Chemistry
More Ecology BookseBooksDatabasesReferenceInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesEcology and Weather Links
HabitatsNatural PhenomenaThreats to the EnvironmentMovements and Environmentalists
eBooksIndividual eBooksCredo Reference: Science Overview
More Animals BookseBooksDatabasesReferenceCredo Reference/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesHabitatsAnimals, etc. Links
DatabasesReferenceGoogle Scholar/International/Writing ResourcesKhan Academy: Health and Medicine/ScienceLinks
Dry FoodsFruits & VegetablesVegetationFood Science
This is the "Agriculture" page of the "Agricultural Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Agricultural Research  

Last Updated: Nov 21, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/agriculture3 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Agriculture Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Agriculture Books

Cover Art
Agri-Culture - Jules Pretty; Malin Falkenmark; Johan Rockstrom
Call Number: S 494.5 .S86 P738 2002
ISBN: 1853839205
Publication Date: 2002-08-01
Something is wrong with our agriculture and food systems. Despite great progress in increasing productivity in the last century, hundreds of millions of people remain hungry and malnourished. Can nothing be done or is it time for the expansion of another sort of agriculture, founded on more ecological principles, and in harmony with people, their societies and cultures?

Cover Art
Agricultural and Food Controversies - F. Bailey Norwood; Michelle S. Calvo-Lorenzo; Sarah Lancaster; Pascal A. Oltenacu
Call Number: BJ 52.5 .N67 2015
ISBN: 9780199368426
Publication Date: 2014-12-05
The world is more interested in issues surrounding agricultural and food issues than ever before. Are pesticides safe? Should we choose locally grown food? Why do some people embrace new agricultural technologies while others steadfastly defend traditional farming methods? In the debates about organic food, genetically modified organisms, and farm animal welfare, it's not always clear what the scientific studies are actually telling us. To understand these controversies and more, the authors of Agricultural and Food Controversies: What Everyone Needs to Know begin by encouraging readers to develop an understanding of how two well-educated people can form radically different opinions about food. Sometimes the disputes are scientific in nature, and sometimes they arise from conflicting ethical views. This book confronts the most controversial issues in agriculture by first explaining the principles of each side of the debate, guiding readers through the scientific literature so that they can form their own educated opinions. Questions asked: - Are organic foods truly better for your health? - Are chemical fertilizers sustainable, or are we producing cheap food at the expense of future generations? - What foods should we eat to have a smaller carbon footprint? - Does buying local food stimulate the local economy? - Why are so many farm animals raised indoors? - Should antibiotics be given to livestock? - Is genetically-modified food the key to global food security, and does it give corporations too much market power? - Is the prevalence of corn throughout the food system the result of farm subsidies? Providing a combination of research and popular opinions on both sides of the issue, Agricultural and Food Controversies: What Everyone Needs to Know allows readers to decide for themselves what they personally value and believe to be important when it comes to their food.

Cover Art
American Agriculture in the Twentieth Century - Bruce L. Gardner
Call Number: HD 1761 .G2447 2002
ISBN: 0674007484
Publication Date: 2002-07-31
"Gardner documents both the economic difficulties that have confronted farmers and the technological and economic transformations that have lifted them from relative poverty to economic parity with the nonfarm population. He provides a detailed analysis of the causes behind these trends, with emphasis on the role of government action. He reviews how commodity support programs, driven by interest-group politics, have spent hundreds of billions of dollars to little purpose. Nonetheless, Gardner concludes that by reconciling competing economic interests while fostering productivity growth and economic integration of the farm and nonfarm economies, the government played an overall role in American agriculture that is fairly viewed as a triumph of democracy."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Cover Art
Bringing It to the Table: on farming and food - Wendell Berry; Michael Pollan (Introduction by)
Call Number: S 441 .B472 2009
ISBN: 9781582435435
Publication Date: 2009-08-18
Only a farmer could delve so deeply into the origins of food, and only a writer of Wendell Berry’s caliber could convey it with such conviction and eloquence. Long before Whole Foods organic produce was available at your local supermarket, Berry was farming with the purity of food in mind. For the last five decades, Berry has embodied mindful eating through his land practices and his writing. In recognition of that influence, Michael Pollan here offers an introduction to this wonderful collection. Drawn from over thirty years of work, this collection joins bestsellers The Omnivore’s Dilemma, by Pollan, and Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, by Barbara Kingsolver, as essential reading for anyone who cares about what they eat. The essays address such concerns as: How does organic measure up against locally grown? What are the differences between small and large farms, and how does that affect what you put on your dinner table? What can you do to support sustainable agriculture? A progenitor of the Slow Food movement, Wendell Berry reminds us all to take the time to understand the basics of what we ingest. "Eating is an agriculture act,” he writes. Indeed, we are all players in the food economy.

Cover Art
Exploring Agriscience - Ray V. Herren
Call Number: qS 495 .H62 2011
ISBN: 9781435439665
Publication Date: 2010-02-24
Exploring Agriscience, fourth edition, is a middle school text for students in agricultural education programs who are enrolled in their first agriculture or agriscience class. Contents center on an exploration of agricultural industry as well as an explanation of how science concepts are used in agriculture. Topics covered include the history of agriculture; soils; plant structures; entomology; floriculture; nursery and landscaping; fruit and nuts; row crops; forestry; the environment; organic agriculture; animal science (including dairy and poultry); aquaculture; companion animals; ethics; biofuels; biotechnology; careers; agricultural mechanics; food science; and agricultural education programs. The text is illustrated with full color images that help clarify text material. Each chapter contains an insert that provides a description of an FFA-sponsored event that relates directly to the chapter topic. Each chapter contains student learning activities that help students relate the text concepts to real life. In addition, each chapter ends with True/False, Multiple Choice and discussion questions to help evaluate student learning. An extensive teaching/learning package for the text is available. This package includes an instructor's guide, a lab manual, lab manual instructor's guide, lab manual CD-ROM, ClassMaster CD-ROM and Classroom Interactivity CD-ROM.

Cover Art
Fields of Learning : the student farm movement in North America - Laura Sayre (Editor); Sean Clark (Editor); Frederick L. Kirschenmann (Foreword by)
Call Number: S 533 .F49 2011
ISBN: 9780813133744
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Where will the next generation of farmers come from? What will their farms look like? Fields of Learning: The Student Farm Movement in North America provides a concrete set of answers to these urgent questions, describing how, at a wide range of colleges and universities across the United States and Canada, students, faculty, and staff have joined together to establish on-campus farms as outdoor laboratories for agricultural and cultural education. From one-acre gardens to five-hundred-acre crop and livestock farms, student farms foster hands-on food-system literacy in a world where the shortcomings of input-intensive conventional agriculture have become increasingly apparent. They provide a context in which disciplinary boundaries are bridged, intellectual and manual skills are cultivated together, and abstract ideas about sustainability are put to the test. Editors Laura Sayre and Sean Clark have assembled a volume of essays written by pioneering educators directly involved in the founding and management of fifteen of the most influential student farms in North America. Arranged chronologically, Fields of Learning illustrates how the student farm movement originated in the nineteenth century, gained ground in the 1970s, and is flourishing today -- from the University of California--Davis to Yale University, from Hampshire College to Central Carolina Community College, from the University of Montana to the University of Maine.

Cover Art
Fundamentals of Weed Science - Robert L. Zimdahl
Call Number: SB 611 .Z54 2013
ISBN: 9780123944269
Publication Date: 2013-08-14
This book addresses herbicides and their use as an important aspect of modern weed management and strives to place them in an ecological framework. Many weed scientists believe agriculture is a continuing struggle with weeds--without good weed control, good and profitable agriculture is impossible. Each agricultural discipline sees itself as central to agriculture's success and continued progress, and weed science is no exception. While not denying the importance of weed management to successful agriculture, this book places it in a larger ecological context. The roles of culture, economics, and politics in weed management are also discussed, enabling scientists and students to understand the larger effects on society. * Information on New herbicides included, along with the old herbicides that are important for understanding the history * New section on weed resistance to herbicides and genetic engineering * New information on invasive plants * Expanded chapters on Biological Control, Pesticide Legislation and Regulation, Weed Management Systems, and more * Instructor resources can be found at http://textbooks.elsevier.com/web/Login.aspx, and it is password protected. Please contact your sales representative at textbooks@elsevier.com for access to the instructor resources. The insturctor site consists of chapter questions, essay questions, an exam and images from the book.

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

More Agriculture Books

Cover Art
GMO Food : a reference handbook - David E. Newton
Call Number: TP 248.65 .F66 N49 2014
ISBN: 9781610696852
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
Providing an exhaustive background on the history of genetically modified organism (GMO) crops and foods as well as the controversies surrounding these products, this book allows readers to develop their own particular viewpoint on the production and use of GMO substances. * Presents both historical and current views of the topic that provide readers with a neutral presentation of the hard science as well as the social issues in question * Includes perspective essays written by individuals with expertise in issues related to the production and distribution of GMO foods in the United States and other parts of the world * Assesses the long-existing differences in attitudes toward the development and commercialization of GMO foods and crops in the United States versus in the European Union * Addresses the ongoing debate regarding whether and how genetically modified products should be labeled for sale

Cover Art
Principles of Agribusiness Management - James G. Beierlein; Kenneth C. Schneeberger; Donald D. Osburn
Call Number: HD 9000.5 .B416 2014
ISBN: 9781478605669
Publication Date: 2013-08-01

Cover Art
Sustainable Market Farming: intensive vegetable production on a few acres - Pam Dawling
Call Number: SB 321 .D39 2013
ISBN: 9780865717169
Publication Date: 2013-01-25
Across North America, an agricultural renaissance is unfolding. A growing number of market gardeners are emerging to feed our appetite for organic, regional produce. But most of the available resources on food production are aimed at the backyard or hobby gardener who wants to supplement their family's diet with a few homegrown fruits and vegetables. Targeted at serious growers in every climate zone, "Sustainable Market Farming" is a comprehensive manual for small-scale farmers raising organic crops sustainably on a few acres. Informed by the author's extensive experience growing a wide variety of fresh, organic vegetables and fruit to feed the approximately one hundred members of Twin Oaks Community in central Virginia, this practical guide provides: Detailed profiles of a full range of crops, addressing sowing, cultivation, rotation, succession, common pests and diseases, and harvest and storage Information about new, efficient techniques, season extension, and disease resistant varieties Farm-specific business skills to help ensure a successful, profitable enterprise Whether you are a beginning market grower or an established enterprise seeking to improve your skills, "Sustainable Market Farming" is an invaluable resource and a timely book for the maturing local agriculture movement. Pam Dawling is a contributing editor with "Growing for Market" magazine. An avid vegetable grower, she has been farming as a member of Twin Oaks Community in central Virginia for over twenty years, where she helps grow food for around one hundred people on three and a half acres, and provides training in sustainable vegetable production.

Cover Art
The Ecology of Agricultural Landscapes: long-term research on the path to sustainability - Stephen K. Hamilton (Editor); Julie E. Doll (Editor); G. Philip Robertson (Editor)
Call Number: S 444 .E25 2015
ISBN: 9780199773350
Publication Date: 2015-04-02
Evidence has been mounting for some time that intensive row-crop agriculture as practiced in developed countries may not be environmentally sustainable, with concerns increasingly being raised about climate change, implications for water quantity and quality, and soil degradation. This volume synthesizes two decades of research on the sustainability of temperate, row-crop ecosystems of the Midwestern United States. The overarching hypothesis guiding this work has been that more biologically based management practices could greatly reduce negative impacts while maintaining sufficient productivity to meet demands for food, fiber and fuel, but that roadblocks to their adoption persist because we lack a comprehensive understanding of their benefits and drawbacks. The research behind this book, based at the Kellogg Biological Station (Michigan State University) and conducted under the aegis of the Long-term Ecological Research network, is structured on a foundation of large-scale field experiments that explore alternatives to conventional, chemical-intensive agriculture. Studies have explored the biophysical underpinnings of crop productivity, the interactions of crop ecosystems with the hydrology and biodiversity of the broader landscapes in which they lie, farmers' views about alternative practices, economic valuation of ecosystem services, and global impacts such as greenhouse gas exchanges with the atmosphere. In contrast to most research projects, the long-term design of this research enables identification of slow or delayed processes of change in response to management regimes, and allows examination of responses across a broader range of climatic variability. This volume synthesizes this comprehensive inquiry into the ecology of alternative cropping systems, identifying future steps needed on the path to sustainability.

Cover Art
The Ecology of Agroecosystems - John H. Vandermeer
Call Number: S 589.7 .V36 2010
ISBN: 9780763771539
Publication Date: 2009-12-29
Agroecology is the science of applying ecological concepts and principles to the design, development, and management of sustainable agricultural systems. The Ecology of Agroecosystems highlights a collection of alternative agricultural methodologies and philosophies and provides an interdisciplinary approach that bridges the sociopolitical and historical context of agriculture. It includes the technical issues in a serious and ecological fashion and captures the complex merging of ecology, agriculture, politics and economics in both a historical and contemporary context. Readers will learn not only about the ethical and moral elements related to producing food of questionable quality while possibly impairing the environment, but also about the soil chemistry involved.

Cover Art
The Economics of American Agriculture: evolution and global development - Steven C. Blank
Call Number: HD 1761 .B564 2008
ISBN: 9780765622280
Publication Date: 2014-11-07
This book answers the questions: What is happening to American agriculture, and why? Steven C. Blank uses portfolio theory to analyze both macro- and microeconomic data that paints a clear picture of the trends in agriculture, and explains why these trends are consistent with market evolution and global economic development. He clarifies agriculture's specific role in economic development with a focus on the current and future globalizing commodity markets.The book features empirical research that demonstrates the link between farm-level investment decisions and regional and national economic trends. It shows how the dynamic environment of industrialization and globalization of agriculture is part of a continuing development that is driven by technological innovation. This all points to a future with a very different agricultural production sector and some extremely important policy choices that will face the entire country.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip